Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V5

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

bluewolf wrote: »
    I like shakespeare :(

I love Shakespeare :D

I took two full courses on Shakespeare in college (only one was required but I liked it so took the next one as well) and so have officially read all of the plays :o

• Administrators Posts: 53,650 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Oh I love Shakespeare. I love wading through the language, floundering out of my depth and then making sense of it all. His writing is extraordinarily beautiful when you take the time to appreciate it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I loved keats
    hated the rest of the ones on the course
    I'm very very picky about my poetry
    my LC poetry essay was about how useless Larkin was

the latest one stuck in my brain recently is:

We are the music makers,
    And we are the dreamers of dreams,
    Wandering by lone sea-breakers,
    And sitting by desolate streams;—
    World-losers and world-forsakers,
    On whom the pale moon gleams:
    Yet we are the movers and shakers
    Of the world for ever, it seems.

And before that was
    The Old Astronomer to his Pupil

Reach me down my Tycho Brahe, I would know him when we meet,
    When I share my later science, sitting humbly at his feet;
    He may know the law of all things, yet be ignorant of how
    We are working to completion, working on from then to now.

Pray remember that I leave you all my theory complete,
    Lacking only certain data for your adding, as is meet,
    And remember men will scorn it, ‘tis original and true,
    And the obloquy of newness may fall bitterly on you.

But, my pupil, as my pupil you will have learned the worth of scorn,
    You have laughed with me at pity, we have joyed at the forlorn.
    What for us are all distractions of men’s fellowship and smiles;
    What for us the Goddess Pleasure with her meretricious wiles!

You may tell that German College that their honor comes too late,
    But they must not waste repentance on the grizzly savant’s fate.
    Though my soul may set in darkness, it will rise in perfect light;
    I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night.

-Sarah Williams

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

IT'S FOUR O CLOCK SCREW YOU GUYS IM GOING HOME

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Albection wrote: »
    Um, that was Wordsworth.

Also, completely different type of English (Old vs. Modern, I believe).

Shakespeare didn't write in Old English, Old English is essentially a different language (see Bluewolf Beowulf):
    HWÆT, WE GAR-DEna in geardagum,
    þeodcyninga þrym gefrunon,
    hu ða æþelingas ellen fremedon!
    oft Scyld Scefing sceaþena þreatum,
    monegum mægþum meodosetla ofteah,
    egsode eorlas, syððanærest wearð
    feasceaft funden; he þæs frofre gebad,
    weox under wolcnum weorðmyndum þah,
    oð þæt him æghwylc ymbsittendra
    ofer hronrade hyran scolde,
    gomban gyldan; þæt wæs god cyning!

Shakespeare's language was actually an early version of Modern English.

And now I can't get this out of my head :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

krudler wrote: »
    same with COD for me, had some hilarious nights playing with the boards lads

ah, I still remember some late night WoW sessions where we played into the wee hours trying to kill some new boss. the sense of achievement when you finally get one down after hours of trying is just... wow.
    bluewolf wrote: »
    does anyone else get a headache from having their hair in a ponytail/bun or am i just a delicate flower

Nope, I get that all the time, which is why I try not to tie it up much at all. there's also risk of traction alopecia :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Thanks very much everyone, I ran out of free texts yesterday and didn't realise and ate all my credit as a result...) so I'll have to wait until tomorrow when I get credit to text him now. Hopefully he'll be free next week so I can meet up with him and talk to him properly, he's leaving in about three weeks so I know he'll be super busy again in a while even though he finishes exams next week too! I know it's not going to turn out well but it's just something I have to do, even if the nerves are killing me and I'm not even close to doing it yet :o:o
    Where do you study law? :) I do it in DCU..

I am meant to be in the library studying but I woke up with an awful pounding head :( So I'm gonna take a day off :o

I'm just finishing second year in Trinity now :) Do you do pure law or do you take another subject along with it? Enjoy your day off, everyone knows you can't study with a headache anyway ;)

Studying is not going well. If only this material was slightly more interesting it'd be grand but it's dull as dish water!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Albection

Dolorous wrote: »
    Shakespeare didn't write in Old English, Old English is essentially a different language

Shakespeare's language was actually an early version of Modern English.

Ah ok, it's been quite some time since I've done anything like that and most of the stuff from college has pushed a lot of the stuff out of my head. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Links234 wrote: »
    ah, I still remember some late night WoW sessions where we played into the wee hours trying to kill some new boss. the sense of achievement when you finally get one down after hours of trying is just... wow.

:

leeeerrooooyyyy jeeennnkiiiiinssss

(please tell me you know what that means being a WOW player :pac: )

Leeeroyyy

my fave is still AND WHEN I SAY SLOW I MEAN FCUKING SLOW

MOAR DOTS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

I don't even play WOW and I know what it means...

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I don't even play WOW and I know what it means...

I dont either, its an internet classic though, that and the ingame funeral being ruined by another guild :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

The new Big Bang Theory was quite amazing! :D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Nerds the lot of ya :p

Bring back the durty talk I say :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

the ingame funeral being ruined by another guild :pac:

That was brilliant :D
    Kiera wrote: »

...tits?

they're finally making Sheldon a bit human, bet he gets laid next season :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Dolorous wrote: »
    ...tits?

Teehee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

The buxom young maiden glistened with sweat as she grew ever moist at the thought of the cowboy's engorged member.

(Is that better? :D)

Oh yeah, I know all about Leroy Jenkins ;)

In fact, I was a total Leroy in my playstyle. I was a warrior tank, which could be a bit difficult if I didn't have enough rage (rage is a resource you get to do all your special attacks, and you only get it by having monsters beat on you) and too often I'd have overeager damage dealers attacking stuff before I had a chance to even get any rage. so in order to actually be able to do anything at all, I had to run ahead of everyone and make sure I was the first person to attack. this evolved into me rushing ahead of everyone else, and as I geared up, sometimes having stuff dead before the rest of the group even caught up.

people were astonished I was able to stay alive, because I would often run far out of range of healers, but I was very good at managing cooldowns, self healing and chaining stuns, so I kept my damage intake manageable. it got to the point that I was able to clear 5-man instances at insane speed, chain-pulling mobs and staying ahead of my group. :)

so, so much fun :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

what made me sad today was my bank balance :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Susie_Q wrote: »

The buxom young maiden glistened with sweat as she grew ever moist at the thought of the cowboy's engorged member.

(Is that better? :D)
    No, that's just weird :p

@krudler, I'm the one who pops sheldons cherry. Have the biggest crush on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

i LOVE Sheldon!! One of the best characters ever created to be honest!

he is just so cute and nerdy! I love nerds!! :D:o

• Administrators Posts: 53,650 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'll stop being a WoW-geek for now :)

hehe, one of my favourite T-shirts is the official warrior class T that has the Tier 8 armor (the coolest armor ever!) and the Wall of Terror (one of the cooliest shield designs ever!) on it :) super dorky :p

to move away from the nerd stuff:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

Bluewolf that poem's lovely, I'm not a poetry person really but a sucker for good rhymes and rhythm.

Congrats mariebeth, well done!

Had one of the worst exams today, but it wasn't too bad! Hurray! And no exams til next Thursday, phew.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,832 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Big Bang Theory spoilers in case ye go into in depth discussion!!

No, that's just weird :p

@krudler, I'm the one who pops sheldons cherry. Have the biggest crush on him.

you have odd taste in men :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Was it the season finale? :D I'm super excited for it!

Rotting around now for notes I made out about a month ago and there's no sign of them :( If I can't find them I just won't have time to do the topic and that'd be fairly disastrous. Bah, there are way too many sheets of white/yellow paper to look through at all effectively!

before I stop being a total geek, I really want to get this Diablo III Tshirt:

1934p_0c_1b.jpg

/geek :p