Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hip-Hop 2012

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Posted the track in track of day thread but not it has a video. The album is awesome btw...

The album is better than awesome.

P.O.S has to be up there with one of the most consistent and innovative rappers. He is not afraid to try new things and they pretty much all work out. Even that Get Down track, completely different to anything he has done before, only 2 verses, catchy hook, stupid ERMYGAWD talking to lead out the track. But saying something as well.

I still wouldn't give him one of my kidneys though :D Only for the reason that I would rather keep them in case my kids had troubles in the future.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Anyone else listen to 'Blueprint - Deleted Scenes'

It's a collection of songs that didn't make 'Adventures in Counter Culture' last year, not because they were bad songs, but because they didnt fit the theme of the album.

I was expecting to hear scraps, but it's far from it, it's excellent. I've listened to it a few times today and yesterday evening. Not your standard hip hop album, but if you listened to Adventures in CC you'd expect that.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

Just had my first listen of new P.O.S. loving the new electro type stuff but on first listen it seems a bit muddled in places. I don't really get the 3rd and 4th tracks on the album and think they interupt the flow quite a lot. Seems a lot better on the more up tempo tracks. Few more listens required before final verdict but expected a bit more of the stuff he put out in the vids prior to release.

Couple more listens and really is a quality album. Not really feeling Wanted/Wasted but the only track I feel like that.

The new Rza soundtrack album is very good too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

2chainz has just released a banger :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Andy_rse

Last week was a good week for new albums.

P.O.S. - We Don't Even Live here. Love it. I was a bit worried reading about it beforehand with all the talk of the electronic influence as it's not my cup of tea, but the worrying was for nothing as it wasn't done in an over powering way. Should've known better though, them Rhymesayers boys never let me down. It shows that you can be experimental with dancey/electronic type music without turning it into commercialised auto tuned crap. "They Can't Come" is the stand out track for me so far.

Styles Of Beyond - Reseda Beach. It is what it is, dope album, it's not gonna change the landscape of hip hop or anything like that but dope none the less.

Vinnie Paz - God Of The Serengeti. Dunno how I feel about this one. It's let down by some weak features and hooks, but at the same time has some dope features like Immortal Technique, Scarface and the track with the rest of the AOTP is awesome. I think it'll grow on me after a while, I'll probably leave it in the car stereo and let it do its work. He gets a bit of stick about his subject matter (or lack thereof) but this track is outstanding with a message, I was about to give up on it as I hate that chipmunk voice but glad I left it rolling and am glad it's only on the intro, check it out;

Waiting on the new Abdominal album to come in the post, he's taken a bit of a different approach with his album too, looking forward to it!

Need to get that Blueprint ordered on payday as well. Cheers for reminding me Boom Bap!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Ill Bill's new album "The Grimy Awards" promises to be absolutely amazing and features production from heavyweights like DJ Premier, DJ Muggs, Pete Rock, Large Professor, Beatnuts, El-P, Ayatollah & MoSS

If this track produced by El-P is anything to go by then it should live up to the the hype.

Sean P's long awaited third album "Mic Tyson" is dropping today.

I've been really looking forward to this

• Registered Users Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Andy_rse wrote: »
    Need to get that Blueprint ordered on payday as well. Cheers for reminding me Boom Bap!

Can stream it for free here also.

http://printmatic.bandcamp.com/album/deleted-scenes

Rjd2 wrote: »

Nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

A$AP Rocky's New Song Should've Been in CB4

Terrible terrible verse from Asap, how do you have the worst verse on your own song when Drake is on it?

Dl'd the new Kendrick Lamar album and staying away from that other thread :p I really don't get him at all, didn't like Section 80 and can't bring myself to listen to more than the 1st couple of tunes off this album as think they are very poor. May try have a listen to it at lunch walking the pier tomorrow but not hopeful for much.

After not really liking the Murs/Fashawn joint earlier I'm still looking forward to Murs and 9th Wonder in a couple of weeks. Been listening to Love and Rockets a lot again recently and hoping for more of that

The first time I heard the first couple of tracks, I did not like them at all. Same with section.80.

They are massive growers. m.A.A.d city is a fantastic blend of new and old.

Bodhisopha wrote: »
    Killer Mike's latest offering is the best rap album i've heard in some time. Typed his name into the search bar and barely anything comes up, which is a shame. It deserves more attention.

Class , can't Belive I slept on this song and killer mike in general. What's his best work ? Must give him a chance.

For Killer Mike - Start off with the R.A.P. Music album produced by El-P.
    He has plenty of records for you to sink your teeth into.

I mentioned Substantial - Home Is Where The Art Is in an earlier post. Listening again and it's bloody good.

I even found a link where it can be listened to:
    http://www.undergroundhiphop.com/substantial-home-is-where-the-art-is/MMG029CD/

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    He has plenty of records for you to sink your teeth into.

I mentioned Substantial - Home Is Where The Art Is in an earlier post. Listening again and it's bloody good.

I even found a link where it can be listened to:
    http://www.undergroundhiphop.com/substantial-home-is-where-the-art-is/MMG029CD/

cheers boom bap, its on the back burner for the weekend getting pretty sick of gkmc, its just not gripping me at all.

Really?

I had to put it on in work today, to get it the hell out of my head.

Boom_Bap wrote: »

I disagree, I think he should build up through his Killer Mike's back catalogue before listening to R.A.P. Music.

I'd recommend to start off with his debut album Monster, which is heavily influenced by Outkast, then work your way up through his 'Pledge' albums (Pl3gue being the highlight) and listen to R.A.P. Music last.

I say that because R.A.P. Music is by far his best album in my opinion BUT it was an experimental album and it doesn't really give you an insight into Mike's real sound, which is mainly pimped out southernplayalisticadillacmuzik, very similar to his buddy Big Boi.

In saying that I'm glad that he's diversifying and broadening his musically spectrum because his collabo with El-P was absolutely amazing and has me dying to hear R.A.P Music 2 plus Pledge 4 and his next album The Elegant Elephant (which is rumoured to feature Nas, Jay-Z, Ice Cube, Bun B, Scarface & Outkast).

I disagree, I think he should build up through his Killer Mike's back catalogue before listening to R.A.P. Music.

cheers , i was going to search by his most popular youtube videos and go by that. Il give a proper listen the weekend when iv got a chance.
    Really?

I had to put it on in work today, to get it the hell out of my head.

ye i listened to it too death already, keep going back to the same few songs. it grew on me a small bit alright but its no classic imo, just doesnt excite me when listening to it. No where near section 80, there's no hii powers or ronald reagan era's,spiteful chants etc on this album, the story behind it isnt as strong infact its not too much different to that of any gangsta rapper rapping about his hood.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Downloaded R.A.P Music today too, loving it.

cheers , i was going to search by his most popular youtube videos and go by that. Il give a proper listen the weekend when iv got a chance.

No worries man, his albums are as follows:

Monster
    Released: March 11, 2003
    Label: Columbia Records

I Pledge Allegiance to the Grind
    Released: November 21, 2006
    Label: Grind Time Official

I Pledge Allegiance to the Grind II
    Released: July 8, 2008
    Label: Grind Time Official, SMC Recordings

Underground Atlanta
    Released: August 31, 2009

PL3DGE
    Released: May 17, 2011
    Label: Grind Time Official, SMC Recordings, Grand Hustle Records

R.A.P. Music
    Released: May 15, 2012
    Label: Williams Street Records

I'm still trying to form an opinion on GKmC! I've only really given it 2 or 3 listens through and I have some beefs with the album. But i'm still at the stage of trying to figure out if I'm trying not to jump on a band-wagon and knit-picking, or if I have genuine beef. That's why I've been holding off on talking about it much here.

The one thing that I will say, the production and mixing on the album is extremely crisp. I think that that is Dre's main footprint on the album....along with MixedByAli. They should get alot of credit for that. That side of production is being forgotten with alot of studio magic that goes on.
    The album sounds extremely good even on my dodgy factory standard car speakers.

I have also been speaking to my buddy about the album and we have nearly exactly the same opinions so far. But we have agreed to listen to it more to see if its a slow burner.

Getting to another EP released this year - Zilla Rocca:

http://5oclockshadowboxers.bandcamp.com/album/party-with-villains-ep

Some of you may recognise the producer of track 7, and even the beat itself! All in all, the EP is great.

• Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

Raekwon wrote: »
    I Pledge Allegiance to the Grind II
    Released: July 8, 2008
    This is probably one of the most overlooked hiphop albums of the 2000s, an absolute banger, Mike's rapping is actually more aggressive on here than on R.A.P Music

Mr. MFN Exquire's new EP looks quality, loving the production credits;

01 CAri ZALloni (Prod. Dot Da Genius)
    02 Cheap ****s & Champagne (Prod. Harry Fraud)
    03 Telephuck (ft. Gucci Mane) (Prod. El-P)
    04 Supa Speaks (Interlude)
    05 AGGIN LAER (ft. Goldie Glo) (Prod. SpaceGhostPurrp)
    06 The Message Pt.1 & 2 (Prod. BSBD)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Big Boi's "Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors" cover art

big-boi-vicious-lies-cover.png

• Registered Users Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Big Boi's "Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors" cover art

The singles so far haven't been amazing but I'm still confident that Big Boi will deliver.

cheers for the killer mike info lads, most def will be giving him a listen sunday night.
    I'm still trying to form an opinion on GKmC! I've only really given it 2 or 3 listens through and I have some beefs with the album. But i'm still at the stage of trying to figure out if I'm trying not to jump on a band-wagon and knit-picking, or if I have genuine beef. That's why I've been holding off on talking about it much here.

Iv noticed your holding off alright, i jumped head first in after the leak and gave my opinion. Its changed slightly for the better but in all my opinion on this album isnt the most positive. If i could describe this album in one word id call it boring, lamar doesnt ride aggressive type beats too well either imo on this album, MC Eiht makes the mad city track.
    The one thing that I will say, the production and mixing on the album is extremely crisp. I think that that is Dre's main footprint on the album....along with MixedByAli. They should get alot of credit for that. That side of production is being forgotten with alot of studio magic that goes on.
    The album sounds extremely good even on my dodgy factory standard car speakers.

agreed on production in terms of the actual sound quality but in terms of everything else compared to section 80, it doesnt hold a candle. Iv said it from day 1 everything has taken a hit on this album, remember pharrell telling him to stick with his production team? he didnt and the result is a debut album thats not as good as his previous in section 80.

Song for song it just cant compete with section 80 and thats what it will always be compared too. The opinion of it mostly stems from the bandwagon train so if its negative people will react just like over on the KL thread.

For those of you who like saigon and enjoyed the greatest story never told, he has the greatest story never told chapter 2 coming out next week.

Hugely under-rated artist

Nice idea by CunninLynguists letting the fans vote on collabs for the new Strange Journey album.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Joey Bada$$ Performs "Waves" on "Late Night with Jimmy Fallon"

Didn't realise he was only 17! The performance was alright, I'd say he was nervous as hell.

Dl'd the new Kendrick Lamar album and staying away from that other thread :p I really don't get him at all, didn't like Section 80 and can't bring myself to listen to more than the 1st couple of tunes off this album as think they are very poor. May try have a listen to it at lunch walking the pier tomorrow but not hopeful for much.

Not for me at all.

did you like section 80? not mad on GKMC myself and im a fan.

watch out for this chap, next one outta queens ? 360 prod by cole

• Registered Users Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Just gave this a shot because it features Hit Boy and I'm giving everything he's on a go...

Absolute banger.