Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BHAA 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

RayCun wrote: »
    The Teachers XC is down for the 13th October in Castleknock (in the calendar posted to the beginning of this thread)
    The Dublin athletics XC fixtures have just been released, and the Dublin Novices are on the 14th of October, so the Teachers race is pretty much ruled out for anyone doing the Novices (or vice versa).
    Any chance that the Teachers date can be changed?
    They always seem to clash. Stop been a wimp and run both, sure you have 24 hours between events:D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

gerard65 wrote: »
    They always seem to clash. Stop been a wimp and run both, sure you have 24 hours between events:D

If it was the other way around I might :)

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Well done BNY Mellon & the BHAA for a grand few laps of Irishtown on a stunning evening. The Morton stadium stole some of our regulars on the night. Liked the bottle of water, banana, twix & mars for the on-track afters.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Anyone know how many race groups they split this into? and whats the Standards split up?

Probably 1-6, 7-9, 10-12, 13-17, 18-30. Most likely have more details closer to the race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Does anyone have info on the 10k on the start of September, doesn't seem to be much on the site.

http://bhaa.ie/members/app/event/index/tag/bhaa10km2012

shels4ever wrote: »
    Does anyone have info on the 10k on the start of September, doesn't seem to be much on the site.

http://bhaa.ie/members/app/event/index/tag/bhaa10km2012

Isn't that the former "run like an animal" 10K where Boards AC had a little internal race a couple of years back?

I think so. Last year Grant Thornton organised a BHAA race on that route in September. I'm guessing this is the same, but not organised by one company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Isn't that the former "run like an animal" 10K where Boards AC had a little internal race a couple of years back?

Yep that what i'm thinking, so prob still the 2x5k loops.

Yeah I did it last year too, twas exactly the same course. Flat enough but wind prone..

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭emerald007

Anyone know how many race groups they split this into? and whats the Standards split up?

We'll have the timetable from Stephen on the website over the weekend.

Can't think of a better way to start September(01/09/12) than running a mile at the magical Morton Stadium where in 1958, 20,000 watched Herb Elliot run 3.54 & break the world record. Don't expect a similar number of spectators or a time that good but you'll have fun, food & happy memories.

This is the time table of races on Saturday Sept 1st

10.45am Race 1 : Zurich Staff (in aid of Jack & Jill Children's Foundation)

11.00am Race 2 : Mens & Ladies Standards 18- 30

11.10am Race 3 : Mens & Ladies Open Sub 9 / 8

11.20am Race 4 : Mens & Ladies Standards 13 - 17

11.30pm Race 5 : Garret Doherty Backward Mile Challenge & Fun Backward 1 Lap Run

11.45am Race 6 : Mens & Ladies Open Sub 7 / 6

11.55am Race 7 : Mens & Ladies Standards 10 - 12

12.05pm Race 8 : Mens & Ladies Standards 7 - 9

12.15pm Race 9 : Mens & Ladies Standards 1 - 6

There are prizes for the first three male/female runners in each race and many spot prizes. Entry is 10euro for all runners.
    12.30pm Race 10 : 4 x 400 Relay (Minimum one female runner)

We still looking for BHAA members to help out with stewarding and handing out goodie bags at the Race Series Frank Duffy 10 Mile this Saturday. Sign up on the web form or PM me if interested. The reward for your help is a ticket to the Summer Social which is on the evening of the Race Series Dublin Half Marathon on Sept 15th, in the Garda Club on Harrington St.

Get your ticket for our spectacular summer social on Saturday September 15th soon. We promise a mighty night from 8 to late at the Garda Club on Harrington Street. There's a hot buffet & great entertainment for €15 on the evening of the Dublin Half Marathon. Go on, have fun after you run! Tickets are available from committee members & at the next race in the Morton Stadium on September 1st.

Route map is up now, looks to be the old route alright
    http://bhaa.ie/article.php?story=bhaa10km2012

This is the time table of races on Saturday Sept 1st

10.45am Race 1 : Zurich Staff (in aid of Jack & Jill Children's Foundation)

11.00am Race 2 : Mens & Ladies Standards 18- 30

11.10am Race 3 : Mens & Ladies Open Sub 9 / 8

11.20am Race 4 : Mens & Ladies Standards 13 - 17

11.30pm Race 5 : Garret Doherty Backward Mile Challenge & Fun Backward 1 Lap Run

11.45am Race 6 : Mens & Ladies Open Sub 7 / 6

11.55am Race 7 : Mens & Ladies Standards 10 - 12

12.05pm Race 8 : Mens & Ladies Standards 7 - 9

12.15pm Race 9 : Mens & Ladies Standards 1 - 6

There are prizes for the first three male/female runners in each race and many spot prizes. Entry is 10euro for all runners.
    12.30pm Race 10 : 4 x 400 Relay (Minimum one female runner)

Anyone know how the relay works in terms of entering teams? Can anyone put a 4 person team together on the day or is it business house teams only?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Just looking for some advice on this. I have recently set up an Athletics/Running Club at work and am now in the process of getting some club gear organised.
    Someone at work questioned if we need to register Club colours/designs with AAI?

My assumption is that as we are just participating in BHAA events that we are unlikely to need to do this since we won't be an AAI affiliated club, just a works club.

Can someone here advise if this assumption is correct?

RedRunner wrote: »
    Just looking for some advice on this. I have recently set up an Athletics/Running Club at work and am now in the process of getting some club gear organised.
    Someone at work questioned if we need to register Club colours/designs with AAI?

My assumption is that as we are just participating in BHAA events that we are unlikely to need to do this since we won't be an AAI affiliated club, just a works club.

Can someone here advise if this assumption is correct?

Yeah BHAA and AAI are totally separate, nothing to worry about.

Don't forget the Zurich Mile this Saturday, start September in style!

Some fantastic races today, with the 4 x 400 relay race the final event & a highlight for many. A huge well done to Stephen Willoughby for picking an exceptional venue & the move to a Saturday morning for track racing was another inspired decision. Thanks to Connor Jennings & all at Zurich for a great day with wagons of food after & of course Paul O'Connell & the BHAA crew plus Garret Doherty our world champion, for a really enjoyable retro running demonstration. September is shaping up to be a good month, roll on Saturday next with the 10k in Firhouse! Good luck to all our people running the half in Athenry tomorrow.

Saturday next is going to be dry & sunny so why not head to Firhouse for a 10k, a possible tan & plenty food after? "Finding the run of Ourselves" does not involve spending huge amounts, it's a mere tenner for members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

AJCOT wrote: »
    Saturday next is going to be dry & sunny so why not head to Firhouse for a 10k, a possible tan & plenty food after? "Finding the run of Ourselves" does not involve spending huge amounts, it's a mere tenner for members.

Is there an oline way of renewing yearly BHAA membership ?

TRR wrote: »
    Is there an oline way of renewing yearly BHAA membership ?

Major revamp of the website is in progress atm and this feature will be there. For the moment just renew at the registration desk at the next race.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Irishman99

Can non-members register on the day?

Irishman99 wrote: »
    Can non-members register on the day?

Yes, you can register online or on the day. Registration opens at 9.30 and closes at 10.30, so get there in plenty of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭pre

Yes, you can register online or on the day. Registration opens at 9.30 and closes at 10.30, so get there in plenty of time.

Would anyone have directions to this race. Im working but i might make it. Is there much parking available.

Registration is at the community centre off ballycullen drive. loads of parking (on the grass).

http://maps.google.com/maps/myplaces?ll=53.27639,-6.339519&spn=0.008853,0.014806&ctz=-60&t=m&z=16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Well done on the organizer seems to have gone off without a hitch. Lovely day for it though (mind you didnt make it easy)

Have to give credit to one of the young guys manning the water station. One of the lead group either missed bottle of water/ dropped one and the steward chased him for a good 200m to ensure that he got a bottle.

This sort of above and beyond gestures are things which should be highlighted so fair play to organizers and the steward in question

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Racman

ecoli wrote: »
    Well done on the organizer seems to have gone off without a hitch. Lovely day for it though (mind you didnt make it easy)

Have to give credit to one of the young guys manning the water station. One of the lead group either missed bottle of water/ dropped one and the steward chased him for a good 200m to ensure that he got a bottle.

This sort of above and beyond gestures are things which should be highlighted so fair play to organizers and the steward in question

Very impressed by my 15 year old son running like this. He must have a bit of speed in him. Will have to get him to give up that football lark and focus on running. Maybe he will be able to stay with the leaders the whole way next year.