Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fellas buyin' drinks for young wans

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Cawk n bawllz

Couldnt tell ya tbh!! Stay in and watch porn. If you are meant to be with somebody, that person will crawl in through your window............................. IF ye are meant to be together

Well it is true that men who stay in and watch porn have the most success with women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

If you wanna ride in the car, you need to put petrol in first!
    Nah, I don't drink :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

It's not totally uncommon for women to con men out of drinks, I've seen this, but taxi fare and night club entrance fees too? Off total randomers? Your girlfriend is full of **** OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Jaxxy wrote: »
    It's not totally uncommon for women to con men out of drinks, I've seen this, but taxi fare and night club entrance fees too? Off total randomers? Your girlfriend is full of **** OP.

No doubt there are guys out there who will fall for that ****, but there are not enough of them in the world for the OP's girlfriend to keep running into them.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"hi!!!! whats your name?"
    "krudler"
    "will you get me a drink?"
    "sure wait here"
    *goes to talk to someone who isnt a freeloading twat*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I would never do that. mind you I would never advise a man to be as **** at me at pulling :c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Siuin wrote: »
    If you wanna ride in the car, you need to put petrol in first!
    Nah, I don't drink :o

And when you've finished dipping your wick you have to pay for the oil too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

I often ask women what they'd like to drink, when they tell me, I show em where their beverage of choice can be got and give them a rough idea of the costs involved. Its a great ice breaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I've never done that. If I'd been talking to a girl for a good while over the course of the night I'd offer to buy one.

Once a girl I'd never set eyes on before came up to me and demanded I buy her a drink, not even a please. Weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

(AH Response: Your girlfriend IS buying her own drinks. By giving all the guys a quickie in the jacks.)

Bollocks to the lot ye.

OP, I have on many occasion had drinks bought for me. I do not in anyway flirt, flutter my eye lashes or in any way insinuate that they will get lucky should they ply me with drink.

It usually happens after you get chatting for a bit. If I'm bought one, I offer the guy one back but 9 times out of 10 that offer is refused.

I will keep on chatting if it's someone I'm getting along with, and to avoid looking like a scabby bitch I will drop that I have a boyfriend as early into conversation so they know I'm not looking for anything extra.

So what if your girlfriend is having drinks for free? It doesn't mean she's doing anything for them.

If a fella wants to buy a girl a drink, where's the harm?! (So long as they know it's just a drink!)

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Loanshark Blues

I can barely afford to buy drinks for myself. I'd give them a sip of my naggin though if they were sound.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

By the sounds of things OP , she's not just your girlfriend ..have you considered stalking following her on her nights out.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

What is this 'the shift'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Cleeo wrote: »

OP, I have on many occasion had drinks bought for me. I do not in anyway flirt, flutter my eye lashes or in any way insinuate that they will get lucky should they ply me with drink.

It usually happens after you get chatting for a bit. If I'm bought one, I offer the guy one back but 9 times out of 10 that offer is refused.

I will keep on chatting if it's someone I'm getting along with, and to avoid looking like a scabby bitch I will drop that I have a boyfriend as early into conversation so they know I'm not looking for anything extra.

If a fella wants to buy a girl a drink, where's the harm?! (So long as they know it's just a drink!)

So you get on well with idiots :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Cleeo wrote: »
    (AH Response: Your girlfriend IS buying her own drinks. By giving all the guys a quickie in the jacks.)

Bollocks to the lot ye.

So what if your girlfriend is having drinks for free? It doesn't mean she's doing anything for them.

His girlfriend maintains she doesn't have to spend any money on drinks. She's also on occasion getting her taxi fare and club entrance fees paid for. What's the harm? Well there's no harm done really, except the harm done to the easily manipulated fool's wallet.

This attitude really pisses me off. When someone I do not know offers to be me a drink I politely decline. I buy my own gargle, thanks. If they come back with one for me anyway (which is rare, since I've already said NO THANK YOU) I don't "offer" to buy them one back to give them the opportunity to refuse my offer, I just go up to the bar and get them one.

Even playing field and paying your own way ftw.

Red21 wrote: »
    So you get on well with idiots :rolleyes:

I'm in after hours am I not?! :p
    Jaxxy wrote: »
    I don't "offer" to buy them one back to give them the opportunity to refuse my offer, I just go up to the bar and get them one.

Unfortunately, I don't know every drink concoction by the look of it.. Hence asking...

And I should of clarified, if I'm straight up offered one, I would decline. If I'm at the bar, and someone buys it before I do, hey ho.

It's harmless IF it is an even playing field ie the guy knows that the girls not gonna get with him for a drink...

If someone wants to waste their money, let them at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

What is this 'the shift'?

go to Coppers, you'll find out in about 2 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

yes that's why she's a soon to be ex :rolleyes:

So, what are you waiting for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

krudler wrote: »
    go to Coppers, you'll find out in about 2 minutes.

What are coppers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dose one of the free drinks with laxatives for the craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

This is where rohypnol levels the playing field ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Any time I've had the misfortune to end up in a club populated by drink freeloaders I have the good fortune to be unique enough* looking to rarely get bothered by them.

On the off chance that one of them does approach me the exchange usually goes along the following lines:

Her: Hi.
    Me: Hi.
    Her: Would you like to buy me a drink?
    Me: Would you like to buy me a drink?
    Her: Eh.... No
    Me: But how are you gonna sleep with me if you don't get me drunk?
    Her (disgusted): I don't want to sleep with you.
    Me: Then why are you offering to buy me drinks?
    Her (confused): I'm not offering to buy you a drink.
    Me: You probably should - I'm a bit slutty when I'm drunk.
    Her: Ugh. *walks off*
    Me: Ok bye now, thanks for playing!

*ugly enough

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

I've had plenty of lads offer to buy me drinks in the past. Not enough of them to give me a free night out though! I would only accept a drink if I knew the guy well or if I was interested in him. Some guys think if they buy a girl a drink, that they are entilted to something in return.

A guy once went crazy at my sister because she wouldn't shift him after he bought her a drink! She kind of knew him and they were chatting for ages so it wasn't like she just took the drink and left!

OP maybe you're girlfriend is stealing drinks and is just telling you they were bought for her so she doesn't look too scabby? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Any time I've had the misfortune to end up in a club populated by drink freeloaders I have the good fortune to be unique enough* looking to rarely get bothered by them.

On the off chance that one of them does approach me the exchange usually goes along the following lines:

Her: Hi.
    Me: Hi.
    Her: Would you like to buy me a drink?
    Me: Would you like to buy me a drink?
    Her: Eh.... No
    Me: But how are you gonna sleep with me if you don't get me drunk?
    Her (disgusted): I don't want to sleep with you.
    Me: Then why are you offering to buy me drinks?
    Her (confused): I'm not offering to buy you a drink.
    Me: You probably should - I'm a bit slutty when I'm drunk.
    Her: Ugh. *walks off*
    Me: Ok bye now, thanks for playing!

*ugly enough

I would have thought uglier looking guys were an easier target. Maybe you're not as bad looking as you think! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

People are being a little hard on Cleeo. Some people like free drinks even at the expense of self-respect. Who are we to judge? One person's frugality is another person's hooker behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭AstridBean

Personally, I think something is more likely to happen if no drinks are bought for anyone.

In the past, a man buying me a drink whilst out has always made me feel awkward, like I owe him something. Once when I was 18, a thirty-something fella did the whole cheesy sending a drink across the bar to me thing. I've never felt so uncomfortable in all my life. Accept that drink and I'm his bitch. And on the bloke's side, I think men might feel obligated to do it, but they really shouldn't. Sadly there's a small cohort of women who give us a bad name. I've known women to flirt shamelessly with fellas to get free drink, buggering off after they've got what they want. Disgusting behaviour.

Even in my current relationship, my BF and I tend to go halfsies.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Des Carter

Once a girl I'd never set eyes on before came up to me and demanded I buy her a drink, not even a please. Weird.

Similiar thing happened to me, the look on her face when I came back with a pint of water was priceless.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

I can genuinely say in my younger days (Im 34) I rarely paid myself into a nightclub or bought many drinks in there. I never chated people up for a drink but always had fellas insisting on buying me a drink. I think fellas assume that if they buy a girl a drink she is his :confused: I can remember a guy insisting on buying me a drink and I told him in the end fine go ahead but Im leaving with it and he bought it anyway :confused: My conclusion is pissed guys are generally very optimistic and maybe a bit delusional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

There are girls who'd ask a guy they don't know "Would you like to buy me a drink?" :eek:

stovelid wrote: »
    People are being a little hard on Cleeo. Some people like free drinks even at the expense of self-respect. Who are we to judge? One person's frugality is another person's hooker behaviour.

Yes. Accepting free drinks in return for nothing at all, which was made clear to the drink giver, is equal to no self respect and hooker-esqe behaviour.

Nothing at all about the self respect of a man who's willing to more or less waste his money on buying drinks for strangers in the hope of the ride.

I have bought drinks for females I just got talking to, and had drinks bought back in return. Most certainly not looking for anything else. So why when it's people of opposite sexes is it suddenly such a bad thing? (Again, if all concerned there's nothing more to it, yada yada, getting repetitive now.)