Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I believe in Kevpants" (S&SS Off Topic thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

COH wrote: »
    The instant injury tsunami bar

What the actual f*ck

http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?m=PD&cid=182&pid=5707

Is like commercialising that bit of an oul stick that Louie Simmons uses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Gloveworm

What the actual f*ck

This has to be a pisstake, no?! It's actually freaking me out, it's like a joke barbell a clown would use in a circus routine.

Destined to go the way of the Shake Weight, the Free Flexor, the Hawaii Chair and, er, the Tug Toner: http://youtu.be/EMs-4fUZd-k

• Registered Users Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

What the actual f*ck

At about 5 and a half mins into the video just as he's about to do the rows, whatever way I looked at the video I thought he was standing on a treadmill:eek:.
    Now if he was on a treadmill doing rows, sadly it wouln't have been the most ridiculous thing in that video.

The guys doing cleans with the bar seem to be putting a bit of effort into not getting smacked in the face with the bar as it rebounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Wait 'till you see ten minutes. Quarter squats in trainers. (:eek:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

What the actual f*ck

I wonder if you put enough weight on the bar could you do a deadlift without the weights leaving the floor :)

• Registered Users Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

I wonder if you put enough weight on the bar could you do a deadlift without the weights leaving the floor :)

Looking at the picture on this page I would say the answer to that would be yes.
    http://www.flexcart.com/members/fatbars/default.asp?cid=195

A quick search gives no technical details on the loading capacity and flexibility of the bar. The patent is the usual vague patent stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

brownej wrote: »
    Looking at the picture on this page I would say the answer to that would be yes.
    http://www.flexcart.com/members/fatbars/default.asp?cid=195

A quick search gives no technical details on the loading capacity and flexibility of the bar. The patent is the usual vague patent stuff.

That is crazy :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Pisstake. They've done this before. Power reservoir is my new favourite fitness term though.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Edwardius

Cool. Fingers crossed for Clarence.

Holding the Europeans in Israel? Seriously?

squod wrote: »
    Holding the Europeans in Israel? Seriously?

It's a bit much alright, apart from the whole "not being in europe" and the "unfriendly neighbours" thing it's a expensive and awkward as **** to get there from anywhere that's actually in Europe.

There's no official live stream either, which is a bit much nowadays.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Dead Ed wrote: »
    It's a bit much alright, apart from the whole "not being in europe" and the "unfriendly neighbours" thing it's a expensive and awkward as **** to get there from anywhere that's actually in Europe.

There's no official live stream either, which is a bit much nowadays.

Stop being anti-semitic!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Got sent "that" link to the Kai Greene grapefruit incident...

Now I know why the lads were laughing about trying to get Kai to sign a grapefruit in Limerick.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,025 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I didn't understand
    I didn't know what happened,
    So I googled,
    I now know what happened,
    But I still don't understand... what the **** has never been more appropriate

http://www.easywl.com/results/index.php

live scoreboard for the junior euros, Ninja's session begins tomorrow at 2pm or noon Irish time :D.

Still no sign of a live stream.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,025 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

http://www.easywl.com/results/index.php

live scoreboard for the junior euros, Ninja's session begins tomorrow at 2pm or noon Irish time :D.

Still no sign of a live stream.
    if you click on the each lift on the score board it gives you the video. It's not as good a live stream, but its something.

Aand we're go. He made the first snatch with 150

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

missed 154 then got it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

2 reds on the C&J not looking good

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

:(

**** it, he went for it. If it paid off he would've had bronze. Not too shabby for an essentially self-coached lifter with about 3 years lifting under his belt vs pro/semi pro Russians Armenians and Belarusians. he's still eligible next year anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭Skull

Did he injure his shoulder in the snatch? Unbelievable talent!

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Griff77

He looked like he did during his last snatch. He was holding his left shoulder anyway. Some ninja!!

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭JoeyDoh

I think the cut might have taken too much out of him, the weigh in was 2 hours before the lifts unless i'm mistaken.

He competed at 84.30kg and his lifts in training are all done at 88kg. It might just be me but he looked a bit light.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

To anyone who's competed before - you'll know how much just getting on the platform changes things. Flying to different countries to do it REALLY f*cks you up.

It's all experience at the end of the day. Fair play to him for getting this far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

I'd love to see his warm ups, gutted for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

JoeyDoh wrote: »
    I think the cut might have taken too much out of him, the weigh in was 2 hours before the lifts unless i'm mistaken.

He competed at 84.30kg and his lifts in training are all done at 88kg. It might just be me but he looked a bit light.

I missed the lifting and didn't see it but that's probably it. It was the first time he's ever cut before also which is a bit of an art in itself.

Anybody know whens the next international comp he'll do?

Giants Live coming to Ireland.......
    The Irish Qualifier for the Giants Live British Championships will be held on 2nd March 2013 at TBC organised by Dave Warner. The winner will also qualify for the Europe Strongest Man Qualifier on 7th April 2013 at Pro Strength & Fitness Gym in Swindon organised by Laurence Shahlaei.

http://www.europestrongestman.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Thud

in case ye missed it..

Former World's Strongest Man to Play Rugby
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056856786