Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM Class of 2011- the continuing challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

RayCun wrote: »
    Last year we had three marathon threads through the summer
    Dublin novices
    autumn no-longer-novices
    autumn experienced

Maybe if you all ask nicely, ecoli can be prevailed upon to post up a training plan for people running Dublin again? ;)
    (that's unless everyone is going off to worship at the altar of P&D :) )

Ray, Is Ecoli not a fan of P&D? i have heard great report about them and i was just trying to find a route to the worship trail...but with me, i can change my mind very easily;)

Well Ecoli, what do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Poor E.coli. if he had a penny for every training related question from us.....

We'll all have to buy his book when it comes out entitled "E.coli runs" (sorry its the best i could do)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

With Regards P&D its not that I have anything against the training Idea's its simply one of the books I haven't read and as such I dont know enough to comment on the training set out (I refer to Krusty for all things P&D :D)

In terms of this developing this into one of the DCM training threads if there was enough demand I can probably do it having said that two recent marathoners didn't have the greatest success so guess it depends on whether people feel my style of coaching works for them or not.

BobMac104 wrote: »
    Poor E.coli. if he had a penny for every training related question from us.....

We'll all have to buy his book when it comes out entitled "E.coli runs" (sorry its the best i could do)

Ah book eh:cool:

Think I just found my route to retirement now all I need is someone to take my dictation (as people have probably seen from my posts I am not exactly journalist material:D)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

I would be up for Ecoli to continue with the log. If that's what it take for a 3.59 Dublin Marathon. Count me in.

Ecoli maybe you might run some of it for me that would help thanks:D

Name|Weeks Sessions|Weeks Total|Monthly Total|Yearly total|Comments
    BobMac104|||139.35m|676.9m| |
    rom|||133m|646m| |
    Younganne|4|21.74|63.04m|310.01m|got out 4 runs this week but no long run, again:eek:|
    red face dave |||17|239|
    Nules10 ||||256.3||
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

got my 4 runs in this week including the hills which i really enjoyed as its been about 4 weeks since i did any.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,135 ✭✭✭rom

rom|5|31m|150m|663m|Easy week, 4M race with PB 27:33 on sand |
    Younganne|4|21.74|63.04m|310.01m|got out 4 runs this week but no long run, again:eek:|
    red face dave |||17|239|
    Nules10 ||||256.3||
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

BobMac104|6|44.5|183.85m|721.4m|Step back week. 14m LSR |
    red face dave |||17|239|
    Nules10 ||||256.3||
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

Step back week as prescibed by Anne and E.coli! I still did my speed sessions and felt really strong during the 4 x 1000m's on thursday. Woke up with a sore hip this morning. I think it might be from all the sitting down yesterday watching sport.:confused: Should ease out during the day. Might go for a rub tonight.

BobMac104 wrote: »
    red face dave |||17|239|
    Nules10 ||||256.3||
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

Step back week as prescibed by Anne and E.coli! I still did my speed sessions and felt really strong during the 4 x 1000m's on thursday. Woke up with a sore hip this morning. I think it might be from all the sitting down yesterday watching sport.:confused: Should ease out during the day. Might go for a rub tonight.

I am currently doing 2 hard then one easy week and repeat with the easy weeks before races. I have no injury this year so far touch wood. The easy week is just over 50% mileage of the hard weeks.

rom wrote: »
    I am currently doing 2 hard then one easy week and repeat with the easy weeks before races. I have no injury this year so far touch wood. The easy week is just over 50% mileage of the hard weeks.

Ya I havent been as good as you. I havent taken a step back week in a while which is a bit silly but i have been pulling back the week of races alright.

red face dave |4|24.5|57|279|Woke up this morning to an awful pain in my back. Not good
    Nules10 ||||256.3||
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

we must be getting old dave with your back and my hip!

I know it seems like I am picking up a lot of little injuries lately. I can walk around grand but the problem seems to be lying and sitting down

red face dave |4|24.5|57|279|Woke up this morning to an awful pain in my back. Not good
    Nules10 ||||256.3||
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

Just adding Bob back into the table...
    ah Lads are ye falling apart:p....hope you're both feeling better soon...take it easy and make sure it;s nothing serious before you ge out running again....ice and stretch and see how it goes!!!

I know it seems like I am picking up a lot of little injuries lately. I can walk around grand but the problem seems to be lying and sitting down

Dave i had this a few weeks back, ran 10m no bother on it, but sitting, lying and getting up from those positions...it was just too much one week, i did 2 core classes and ran 6 days, it just took a few days rest to get it sorted an a few stretches..

Bob, stepback weeks obviously don't suit you...all that sitting around;)

Rom, congrats on the PB, especially on sand, it can be difficult to run on the sand sometimes.....

Younganne wrote: »
    Dave i had this a few weeks back, ran 10m no bother on it, but sitting, lying and getting up from those positions...it was just too much one week, i did 2 core classes and ran 6 days, it just took a few days rest to get it sorted an a few stretches..

Bob, stepback weeks obviously don't suit you...all that sitting around;)

Must try some stretches after. I just signed up for two races at the weekend and the first one is on this weekend coming so not much time for resting.

Any stretching that you would recommend

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

have to say i think it is really important to do strength exercises for your core/back/glutes. if you can do them at least 3 times a week. I am building it into my training to prevent any further injuries and i am going to keep doing them even if i am injury free :rolleyes: dave can you get to a pilates class or yoga class for a few sessions, pilates is probably better for working on your core yoga is great for stretching. Its good to go to a class for a bit so you know you are doing them right then you can start doing them at home

Nules10 ||||276.3|think i am back on track now 3 runs last week:)|
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

oops i totally messed up the table... its been a while. please help me :o

Nules10 |3|||276.3|think i am back on track now 3 runs last weeksmile.gif
    run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

Just adding Nules in. Welcome back Nules:D

Ya I reckon a good ol stretch should sort me out. welcome back nules!!

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

run44||||297.6m||
    shazkea||||64|
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |0|0|45.6m|158.18m| Zero sessions, back to normal this week

My running time was butchered this week with family stuff up the country for four days, with the rest of my time swallowed up making up for time missing. Next 20 days are for training towards a half marathon, so some LSRs, and some light speed work will be the order of the day(s).

Table's looking a lot fuller these days! Good stuff all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

run44||||297.6m||
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    scriba |0|0|45.6m|158.18m| Zero sessions, back to normal this week

Completely forgot about this table and haven't updated in eons so I'm going to remove myself from it altogether. Some great mileage on it so keep it up.

Sorry about the delay. Here is this weeks plan. Ill go through the other queries asap

|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |Rest|5 mile easy|1 mile easy, 10 min @ MP 10 min HMP (no recovery between), 1 mile easy|5m|rest|1 mile easy, 10 x 1 min hills, 1 mile easy|90 min run

Any questions just ask

Ecoli,
    i know there is a reason why we train at different paces but can you give me a quick explanation of why and the benefits of doing the session at the pace prescribed and not at all out effort...

eg when we do intervals you might say 10k pace or 5k pace but for me it doesn't always seem to go at the 10k or the 5k pace but faster...this is no benefit to me so, is it?
    Hope the question is clear:o

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

^^^

I'm also interested in why this is so.

BobMac104|||183.85m|721.4m| |
    rom|||150m|663m| |
    Younganne|5|37.26|100.29|347.27m|had a great week this week..i did all the runs & hills as prescribed by Ecoli and there was a few extra miles in there too:D|
    red face dave |||57|279|
    Nules10 ||||276.3|
    run44||||297.6m||
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    Scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

I'll be taking it easy this week with the Boyne 10k race on Sunday...looking forward to it to see how much i can improve on my 54.00PB..... hoping for 52ish

BobMac104|||183.85m|721.4m| |
    rom|6|48miles|197m|710m|Missed two planned runs as too busy but other than that ok|
    Younganne|5|37.26|100.29|347.27m|had a great week this week..i did all the runs & hills as prescribed by Ecoli and there was a few extra miles in there too:D|
    red face dave |||57|279|
    Nules10 ||||276.3|
    run44||||297.6m||
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    Scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

BobMac104|6|49.1|0m|770.5m| strange week but still managed my three important sessions. 21mLSR|
    rom|6|48miles|197m|710m|Missed two planned runs as too busy but other than that ok|
    red face dave |||57|279|
    Nules10 ||||276.3|
    run44||||297.6m||
    KittyMittens||||38.8||
    Cutex||||78.8|
    Alitoast||||83.94||
    Scriba |||45.6m|158.18m|

Was a bit of a disjointed week but still got the 3 most important runs in. 4x1000m @ ~ 3:43. Hill session , 3 sets of (1 min on 1min recovery 2min on 2min recovery) this was tough and an lsr of just over 21m @ ~8:04 pace. Feel ok generally.