Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connemarathon 1/4/2012

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

his best time was 4hr26 going into clonakilty marathon,hes been running a year and a half now,10marathons and connemara ultra last year in 6hr30 i think,he ran a perfect pacing in clonakilty,stuck to a plan we had an got his 3.55something,the fact his times were slower than what hes capable of, was he didnt no anything about gels etc,he even turned up last year at the ultra with just a bottle of water,he deffintly wont be making that mistake this year,i be very confident he will go under 6hr for sure:D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,470 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Half:
    Dow99 - 2:15
    Thirstywork2 (if training goes well will defer to the full)
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    spurscormac - sub 100 (hopefully)
    hardCopy - 1:50
    OldDogHardRoad - 1:50 ...ish

Full:
    Micilín Muc: 4.30 4.00 - Life is too short for plodding!
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Bugsy2000
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    Cabaal - Sub 3:58
    neilc - 3:30
    HOT TO TROT- finish before cut off .
    Ertred - 3:45
    littlebug- get around...
    diddleyland-just get to the end.....
    Joey.de - Sub 4 and enjoy the Views
    Foxx92 - Finish the damn thing (My first marathon woooo)
    Funrunner95 - Sub 4 (for the craic)

Ultra:
    Mick Rice 4:15
    menoscemo: 5:29:59
    TFBubendorfer: 4:59:59
    Izoard
    Liamo123 : Too early to put my balls on the chopping block
    theboyblunder: sticking to liamo like a limpet for as long as possible
    Marthastew: finish with a smile on my face
    Oisin11178: Sub 6
    Belcarra: Aim is to finish, but it would be nice to be <6.5hrs...I'd be delighted to make the first page of the results (=6:25)!!
    EauRouge79: Just aiming to finish this - but sub 6 hrs hopefully
    ultraman1....not to be chicked by aimman
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5
    Claralara sub 6:30
    Digger sub 6:30
    Canine Marathoner: 5:29:59
    Aimman - Sub 6 and more importantly, Sub Ultraman1
    Grahamor - 6.30 (7.08 in 2011)

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...

Ultra:
    Izoard
    Belcarra: Aim is to finish, but it would be nice to be <6.5hrs...I'd be delighted to make the first page of the results (=6:25)!!
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5

Officially down to the half :(. After running 60miles in the first 2 weeks of 2012 I was happy with my progress but illness & injury has restricted me to 15 miles in the 6 weeks since. I'll be happy just to plod around the half for now. Always next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭corkrunner71

Does anyone know if spectators could drive up and park around or near Maam cross from around 2pm onwards, just to avoid heading back to Clifden on the bus to collect the car. Wife is traveling up with me and it would be great if we could head for home straight away. Think after 6 hours, last thing I will want to do is hop on a bus :-( , Could you park down by the hotel along the side of the road ?

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Reaganomical

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000
    Reaganomical 1'40"

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...

Ultra:
    Izoard
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5

Running the half...not sure what the hills will take out of me in terms of time, I have run sub 80 before but cannae see it on this course

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000
    Reaganomical 1'40"

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...

Ultra:
    Izoard
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5
    Ray Lanigan - sub 4:57:10
    how do i add my name on the ultra list,sub 4hrs57.10,better than last year.

How difficult is it to add one line to a post??? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

Does anyone know if spectators could drive up and park around or near Maam cross from around 2pm onwards, just to avoid heading back to Clifden on the bus to collect the car. Wife is traveling up with me and it would be great if we could head for home straight away. Think after 6 hours, last thing I will want to do is hop on a bus :-( , Could you park down by the hotel along the side of the road ?

You'll be able to get there alright but you sometimes meet with a backlog of traffic on that day. The main Galway - Clifden road is open all day but the roads all round Maam Cross will have cars double parked which always give trouble when you have two tourist buses going opposite directions on a narrow road,

Short answer though is yes, she will be able to get to Maam Cross & park there.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12 matildda

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000
    Reaganomical 1'40"

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...

Ultra:
    Izoard
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5

How difficult is it to add one line to a post??? :confused:

Added my one line to the post but it has disappeared now. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Anyone interested in an XLSR this weekend Saturday 3rd March, there are a bunch of boardsies meeting up at Howth Dart Station at 11am to run 30M to Bray. It will be along the coast road and dart stations will be nearby along the route if you want/need to run a shorter distance. We'll stop off at shops along the way to load up on supplies as needed and the pace should be around 9:30 pace.

All welcome to join us.

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000
    Reaganomical 1'40"

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...
    matildda - to finish would be good, Sub 5 a dream.

Ultra:
    Izoard
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5
    matildda wrote: »
    Added my one line to the post but it has disappeared now. confused.gif

Re-done

• Registered Users Posts: 12 matildda

Thank you. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭KoemansCC

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000
    Reaganomical 1'40"
    KoemansCC

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...

Ultra:
    Izoard
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I forgot to e mail about changing from full to half, just did it there now. I hope they let me:o

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Running Fool

Interested to hear how peoples 30milers went at weekend?

Wasn’t able to join the group one but did it on Sat by myself.
    City centre, lap of phoenix park, down the quays, out by Ringsend and along the coast to Dun Laoghaire. Then through Dalkey, Killiney(very hilly) and finished in Bray. 5 ½ hours.

Overall was fine and weirdly within a few mins of stopping I felt pretty ok. Tired today but was fine yesterday, really expected to be far worse and when I finished I def had another 10 miles or so in me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

Half
    Corked
    KrustyClown
    Emer911
    RacoonQueen
    Martyoo
    adamski8
    Roddy23 home before dark
    Pansophelia
    marchino
    Nikki2510
    Bugsy2000
    Reaganomical 1'40"
    KoemansCC

Full:
    Alanm
    Jester1980
    Corkrunner71
    Plodder
    Acurno - 3.19
    dx22 Sub 4hrs
    Mithril
    littlebug- get around...

Ultra:
    Izoard: sub 6
    NoGutsNoGlory sub 5

Hoping to latch onto a sub 6 group and hang on for dear life!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Interested to hear how peoples 30milers went at weekend?

Nine of us headed off from Howth on Saturday, some people were doing shorter distances, but stayed with the group until they hit their target miles.

Weather was much better then we expected. Stopped off at a couple of shops to pick up supplies and then we sat down to a big chipper feed in Bray. Finishing times for the 30Miles were between 4:35 - 5hours

• Registered Users Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭seanin4711

looking forward to it

Bus departs Galway City at 9:00am

Mick Rice will hold a Connemarathon Q&A in Oughterard on March 10th following a unique NEW event in Connemara.

The "Connemarathon Choose Your Distance" will offer entrants the ability to take on any distance they choose over the legendary course. Buses will depart Galway City at 9:00am on March 10th and drive the entire Ultra, Full and Half Marathon route allowing entrants to choose their individual starting point with everyone finishing at Maam Cross. There will be three water stations set out on the course with a range of snacks. Connemarathon Race Director Ray O'Connor says this is a great opportunity for everyone to see first hand what "the devil's mother" or "the hell of the west" is actually like without having to take on the full distance. Once the bus arrives a the mile marker that you wish to start at you hop off and run." Everyone is then bussed back to Oughterard for a well earned buffet lunch where a course overview and Q&A session will be hosted by Mick Rice.

Entry including return bus from Galway City, lunch and Q&A session - €35

http://www.runireland.com/events/connemarathon-choose-your-distance

• Registered Users Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭seanin4711

seanin4711 wrote: »
    looking forward to it

Bus departs Galway City at 9:00am

Mick Rice will hold a Connemarathon Q&A in Oughterard on March 10th following a unique NEW event in Connemara.

The "Connemarathon Choose Your Distance" will offer entrants the ability to take on any distance they choose over the legendary course. Buses will depart Galway City at 9:00am on March 10th and drive the entire Ultra, Full and Half Marathon route allowing entrants to choose their individual starting point with everyone finishing at Maam Cross. There will be three water stations set out on the course with a range of snacks. Connemarathon Race Director Ray O'Connor says this is a great opportunity for everyone to see first hand what "the devil's mother" or "the hell of the west" is actually like without having to take on the full distance. Once the bus arrives a the mile marker that you wish to start at you hop off and run." Everyone is then bussed back to Oughterard for a well earned buffet lunch where a course overview and Q&A session will be hosted by Mick Rice.

Entry including return bus from Galway City, lunch and Q&A session - €35

http://www.runireland.com/events/connemarathon-choose-your-distance

Im so lonely!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

seanin4711 wrote: »
    Im so lonely!
    Myself and meno are over in blackpool running the marathon this weekend. Otherwise i would have done the ultra course.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Canine Marathoner

How did Blackpool Marathon go?

For the ultra, this weekend back-to-back 15 & 10 milers? too light? too much?

I know I got appreciated feedback on this some pages ago, but anyone had any more thoughts on where & what they're leaving at drop-offs?

any further nuggets of wisdom for the last two pre-ultra weeks from veterans?
    cheers in advance

I know I got appreciated feedback on this some pages ago, but anyone had any more thoughts on where & what they're leaving at drop-offs?

cheers in advance

10&15 is I did last weekend, but I was taking it easy after Ballycotton the week before. Will probably do the same again next weekend, with most of it at planned race pace.

Don't overdo it at this point. From here on too little is definitely preferable to too much.

I'm still trying the decide about the drop-offs. I'll probably go with something like 10/19/22. That's not ideal, but I have heard too many stories about half-marathon runners stealing from the ultra table, and indeed the one time I left something at the 26-mile drop-off my bag got ripped open and parts of the content were missing. As a result I will probably carry stuff from the mile 22 drop-off even though I'm planning on using it later.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

10&15 is I did last weekend, but I was taking it easy after Ballycotton the week before. Will probably do the same again next weekend, with most of it at planned race pace.

Don't overdo it at this point. From here on too little is definitely preferable to too much.

I'm still trying the decide about the drop-offs. I'll probably go with something like 10/19/22. That's not ideal, but I have heard too many stories about half-marathon runners stealing from the ultra table, and indeed the one time I left something at the 26-mile drop-off my bag got ripped open and parts of the content were missing. As a result I will probably carry stuff from the mile 22 drop-off even though I'm planning on using it later.

No probs with drops off last year... Reckon once the bags are slightly sealed no one will go near them....I went with 10, 20 and 30 last year and will probably do the same .... As regards ur pace ; will it b steady all the way or are u hoping to bank time... Still havent a clue what pace im going to go out at :confused:

liamo123 wrote: »
    No probs with drops off last year... Reckon once the bags are slightly sealed no one will go near them....I went with 10, 20 and 30 last year and will probably do the same .... As regards ur pace ; will it b steady all the way or are u hoping to bank time... Still havent a clue what pace im going to go out at :confused:

My bag had been ripped open and about a third of the drink had disappeared from my bottle. :eek: I hope the scumbag who did it ended up with a stress fracture at the least. :mad:

Pace ... you'd need to bank some time if you have a fixed time goal because the final 13 miles are much tougher than the previous ones, and most people will slow down after the marathon mark anyway.

I'm planning on going out at about 7:15 - 7:20 pace and see how I get on. Ray Lanigan has the same idea and if possible we'll head out together. You're more than welcome to join in if that pace suits you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

My bag had been ripped open and about a third of the drink had disappeared from my bottle. :eek: I hope the scumbag who did it ended up with a stress fracture at the least. :mad:

The best thing to do is to wrap up your parcel in such a way that no-one knows what's inside and would be unlikely to take a risk on the contents.

Last year I wrapped my coke bottles in paper with a 'poison' sign on and no-one went near them.

menoscemo wrote: »
    The best thing to do is to wrap up your parcel in such a way that no-one knows what's inside and would be unlikely to take a risk on the contents.

Last year I wrapped my coke bottles in paper with a 'poison' sign on and no-one went near them.

My bag was a nappy bag. It looked rather unappealing, I would have thought. It didn't stop them from ripping it open.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

What are the options for leaving stuff on the route?

The FAQ suggests you can leave "3 items" -is that 3 separate bags?

Also, are there set mile markers where you can leave the bag(s) or can you nominate any mile marker/water station?

I'm planning on going out at about 7:15 - 7:20 pace and see how I get on. Ray Lanigan has the same idea and if possible we'll head out together. You're more than welcome to join in if that pace suits you.

Sounds like a plan...Ran 27 ish miles with Ray last year ( until he sailed into the sunset :pac: )... Hopefully I might b able to keep with ye a little longer this year...

Izoard wrote: »
    What are the options for leaving stuff on the route?

The FAQ suggests you can leave "3 items" -is that 3 separate bags?

Also, are there set mile markers where you can leave the bag(s) or can you nominate any mile marker/water station?

Basically u can leave 3 items in 3 separate bags and they will b placed on the route 4 u .. ( Bring all ur bits and pieces to Peacocks Hotel ).... I picked u my bags at miles 10,20 and 30 last year with no problems... I had carb drink , powerbar and banana in my bags but different strokes for different folks...

cheers in advance
    if you have done some good long runs up to now than 15 and 10 sounds good to me,i will be doing a easy 26 and 26,but im not well in the head,i only take gels so didnt bother leaving anything at the drop offs(incase they got nicked and i worked out you could waste a minute at each drop off,i managed a 4.57.10 for the ultra so 3 minutes would of been very costly for me)i ended up strapping gels to my waste,going to do the same this year.