Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The flooding thread. Read post 1.

• Subscribers Posts: 342 ✭✭NicsM

bluewolf wrote: »
    im supposed to be heading into town (georges st) from templeogue later today via bus... reckon i should just stay at home??

I wouldn't bother leaving the house to be honest, I just about made it into work-Harold's Cross is still really bad. Dreading the journey home but hoping they let us go early :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

just started bucketing down at the moment here in d dalking !

anyone know if its worth heading to work to be in town at 3 ?

which is a better option, bus or luas ?

both seem to be running fine so i wanna get the luas :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

It has STOPPED raining! Hallelujah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I live in a basement apartment and the bedroom was a little bit flooded last night, I escaped fairly unscathed in the grand scheme of things. Was also talking to a friend who in DFB who said the whole night was completely mental, she's never seen anything like it.

Major kudos to the ES lads and ladies who have been keeping the city (relatively) moving in all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Basq wrote: »

CENTRE OPENING HOURS:
    Open today from 9.00am - 9.00pm

:eek: I doubt that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I can't stress this enough. If you don't absolutely need to be somewhere then don't travel. A young off duty Garda lost his life last night for simply trying to stop a motorist crossing a dangerous bridge. Rivers have burst their banks and roads are completely under water. Despite what you might think, it is still very dangerous out there.

RIP Ciaran. A fine colleague. Selfless to the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

MagicSean wrote: »
    I can't stress this enough. If you don't absolutely need to be somewhere then don't travel. A young off duty Garda lost his life last night for simply trying to stop a motorist crossing a dangerous bridge. Rivers have burst their banks and roads are completely under water. Despite what you might think, it is still very dangerous out there.

RIP Ciaran. A fine colleague. Selfless to the end.

Where are you talking about? Isn't this just scaremongering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Where are you talking about? Isn't this just scaremongering?
    A little bit yea. It's not the end of the world out there in urban areas of Dublin, but expect serious delays if you're traveling certain routes. Keep the radio on for updates to road closures and don't be a hero and think your car will go through deep water. If you're in a more rural neck of the woods take more care as rivers have burst their banks.

Oh yea and FFS put on your headlights. I was on the M50 yesterday in pretty shítty conditions with low visibility and the amount of retards running lightless was unreal and infuriating. Ditto for windowlickers in 4X4's doing 80 Mph.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Anybody know if the N11 as far as Cornelscourt is passable? Parking the car at my aunt's house there and getting 145 into town. Need to get to Dublin as well for a course I can't miss

January wrote: »

i think he meant because the fact he was telling people not to make any kind of journey

which is rediculas i guess because there are plenty of areas unaffected out there.

just like the snow... news said dont go anyway danger danger danger blah blah blah but we all did go everywhere we needed to be and just left a bit earlier and went a bit slower and all was fine.

just nanny state ****e again if you ask me.

its rain, not a monsoon tidal wave where its over the tops of high rise buildings !

now in saying that i do feel for the garda that lost his life trying to help out, fair play to him for doing his job !

January wrote: »

Advising people not to make unnecessary trips on the basis of this tragic death last night is just scaremongering.

The flood waters have receded in large parts and the roads that are still flooded are closed off.

So let's put things into perspective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

There is nothing better than sitting in a pub with a real fire blazing,and looking out at the rain.

Then you have to go out in the rain half sh1tfaced and you ask yourself was it all wortwhile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

Well I had one of the most fun cycles home from work ever yesterday, left the IFSC around 5:30, go washed into Cassedys on Wexford Street for one, then onward the cars were backed up all the way to my gaff on the N11, had a whole lane to myself as there was 8 or 9 inches of water in it...
    The when I got hone showered and dry I went out again and played in the flood, using paper boats for races in the new river in my back garden.

Although there was a risf of the house flooding it stared back a foot from the front door so got away with it, I feel for anyone who did get trapped out or got flooded, its terrible but I like when exreme weather has a fun side too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

robbie_998 wrote: »
    now in saying that i do feel for the garda that lost his life trying to help out, fair play to him for doing his job !

It was more than doing his job, as he was off-duty at the time. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭JaneLane

Still raining in Clondalkin! Light enough in comparison to yesterday but 'persistent'.

Does anyone know how the Belgard road is doing around Tallaght hospital and Newlands cross? 6mth wait for an appointment and don't really want to wait another 6mths for another one! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Just heard about that off duty guard. A tragic event for such a selfless act. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Advising people not to make unnecessary trips on the basis of this tragic death last night is just scaremongering.

Scaremongering? It's hardly War of the Worlds type stuff. I don't think there's any harm in highlighting the danger of the roads, especially when a young man was killed trying to help people who hadn't realised the danger of the roads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The flood waters have receded in large parts and the roads that are still flooded are closed off.

So let's put things into perspective.

Not really. It's common sense. Many roads are closed and traffic will be bad all day. By travelling unnecessarily you are just putting a strain on an already weak system.

But yes, let's put things in perspective. Last year people were told not to drive. Many people ignored that advice and many ended up abandoning their cars. Flooding is much more dangerous than ice. It's very easy to be caught in unexpected flooding. And even if you ignore the possibility of being drowned, it's not fresh water you are dealing with. It's sewerage and rain water.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

JaneLane wrote: »
    Still raining in Clondalkin! Light enough in comparison to yesterday but 'persistent'.

Any idea what it's like around the village? All outside the shops on Monastery Road was flooded when I was leaving the clinic last night. Thank God my place is upstairs, shame people need a boat to get to me. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Feeona wrote: »
    It's hardly War of the Worlds type stuff.

i did see a steady stream of people walking the luas line in over ranelagh/charlemont, did remind me of several disaster movies......bindles and all:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Not really. It's common sense. Many roads are closed and traffic will be bad all day. By travelling unnecessarily you are just putting a strain on an already weak system.

But yes, let's put things in perspective. Last year people were told not to drive. Many people ignored that advice and many ended up abandoning their cars. Flooding is much more dangerous than ice. It's very easy to be caught in unexpected flooding. And even if you ignore the possibility of being drowned, it's not fresh water you are dealing with. It's sewerage and rain water.

I'm open to correction on this but you might have a hard time getting the insurance company to pay out if you drive into a flood also.

JaneLane wrote: »

Does anyone know how the Belgard road is doing around Tallaght hospital and Newlands cross? 6mth wait for an appointment and don't really want to wait another 6mths for another one! :(

it stopped raining.... sun is trying to break through !

do we think its all over now people ?

just get rid of excess water and back to normal we go ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

minotour wrote: »
    i did see a steady stream of people walking the luas line in over ranelagh/charlemont, did remind me of several disaster movies......bindles and all:D

Ah I mean the Orson Welles War of the Worlds radio broadcast where people started panicking because they thought aliens were on the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Wibbs wrote: »
    A little bit yea. It's not the end of the world out there in urban areas of Dublin, but expect serious delays if you're traveling certain routes. Keep the radio on for updates to road closures and don't be a hero and think your car will go through deep water. If you're in a more rural neck of the woods take more care as rivers have burst their banks.

Oh yea and FFS put on your headlights. I was on the M50 yesterday in pretty shítty conditions with low visibility and the amount of retards running lightless was unreal and infuriating. Ditto for windowlickers in 4X4's doing 80 Mph.

Put on dipped lights, not headlights.

Headlights will only dazzle oncoming traffic.

So now people can drown in the Dublin streets? This isn't scaremongering?

I would advise people to listen to radio reports/internet updates of which roads are affected and change your route if needed. There's no need to listen to this hysterical rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭mrfantastico

blackwhite wrote: »
    Put on dipped lights, not headlights.

Headlights will only dazzle oncoming traffic.

thats is incredibly pedantic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

A womans body has been found in a flooded basement on Parnell Road, D12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Does anyone know if the N11 /UCD is ok to drive ?

*yes I know this is not the dublin forum !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

So now people can drown in the Dublin streets?

Someone has drowned. Garda Ciaran Jones. May he rest in peace.