Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The flooding thread. Read post 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Ha, it has been twice, first in 2000 and second in 2002, Clonee village. Five feet of water downstairs when a tributary of the Tolka burst its banks. One direct result of the extensive building for the D15 area.

Second time we were flooded the insurance company didn't pay out. We've been unable to get cover for flood damage since.

So yeah, there you go Mr. Assumptions.

My point was, because it didn't affect you, you say it isn't a big deal. That is how you came across.

I never said it wasn't a big deal. Having four adults living in three bedrooms upstairs for nearly six months while the downstairs of my house was being completely gutted was a big deal for me. But I didn't expect the entire city to come to a standstill because of it.

I have every sympathy for anyone who has been troubled by the floods last night, because I know what it feels like, but I'm still going to go to work. And I'm still going to point out that it's entirely possible and reasonable to do so and to travel today. If you think that makes me self-involved well, whatever, you're entitled to your opinion sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭johnners2981

Anyone see the "dundrum is like totally like flooded guys" sign on rte website :)

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1025/weather_updates_tuesday.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I usually tell people to avoid Ballybay in County Monaghan anyway but today its extra important that you do. A bridge is about to collapse and there is apparently a gas tank beside it. Yikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

Feel so so sad about the Garda. 25 years old. :( Was buying boots earlier and the sales assistant and I were both getting tearful when we were talking about it like feckin' eejits. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Witchie wrote: »
    I usually tell people to avoid Ballybay in County Monaghan anyway but today its extra important that you do. A bridge is about to collapse and there is apparently a gas tank beside it. Yikes.

Monaghan is best avoided entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Don't Panic Folks !! Michael D Higgins is on the Case :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Anyone see the "dundrum is like totally like flooded guys" sign on rte website :)

It's hardly appropriate for RTÉ to make jokes at this time. I mean there are people who have died and others who have lost their property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Getting a boat to work?

Thats a paddlin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It's hardly appropriate for RTÉ to make jokes at this time. I mean there are people have died and others lost their property.

To be honest, I appreciate something to lighten my mood. It's been a very sad night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

It's hardly appropriate for RTÉ to make jokes at this time. I mean there are people who have died and others who have lost their property.

It's hardly real, all the cars look American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

I think it was meant to be taken as a joke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

and they're driving on the right...
    Plus, caption.
    1222 This like totally genuine photo has like surfaced via @suzanneSIMI
    I thought it was funny!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Duh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Nobody died in Dundrum, and while it's awful that property and businesses have been destroyed, a small joke at no one's expense is welcomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

anyway, how's Dublin doing today, anybody know? I'm southside now and the sun is shining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

All fine here in Kildare, thanks for asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

anyway, how's Dublin doing today, anybody know? I'm southside now and the sun is shining.

Sun is shining in the city centre. Had little to no bother getting in from Swords (via Port Tunnel) this morning, hopefully the worst is over.
    Hope everyone got where they were headed today in one piece :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

On the up side I am getting sent home from work early coz we mite not get out of here if the river bursts further. Negative side is I dont have a car coz borrowed my mates jeep to get here and had to drop it back to her earlier. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Doing great, sun is shining, place is drying up and it looks like I'll get a game of football tonight, oh the joys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 KevinStephens

I went out last night around 11 to look at the Dodder from Clonskea to Donnybrook near where I live.

Basically the river was a torrent and there was evidence of a huge surge earlier.

THis morning I went out again, this time I walked all the way along the river from Clonskea to Ringsend.

Much evidence that the river was very dangerously high.

WHen I got to the bridge beside Lansdown I was horrifed to see that builders had erected a scaffold apparently to repair bridge during the Summer and FOOLISHLY did not take it down.

Timbers and trees and debris had collected and basically it got badly blocked up.

This with the tidal surge caused a buildup with some serious flooding from the bridge at Landsown back to Ballsbridge. I saw some elderly people in great distress at the old collages along the river.

I intend to go back and get some pictures.

It would have been seriously dangerous for the residents around there last night.

Evidence that even after the rain stopped and the river started to recede THERE IS SERIOUS DANGER OUT THERE WHEN A RIVER BECOMES A TORRENT and STUPID PEOPLE DO STUPID THINGS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Oh dear lord. How is Drogheda? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

I saw some elderly people in great distress at the old collages along the river.

STUPID PEOPLE DO STUPID THINGS.

OK - would you not help them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

WHen I got to the bridge beside Lansdown I was horrifed to see that builders had erected a scaffold apparently to repair bridge during the Summer and FOOLISHLY did not take it down.

Timbers and trees and debris had collected and basically it got badly blocked up.

This with the tidal surge caused a buildup with some serious flooding from the bridge at Landsown back to Ballsbridge. I saw some elderly people in great distress at the old collages along the river.

It would have been seriously dangerous for the residents around there last night.

Evidence that even after the rain stopped and the river started to recede THERE IS SERIOUS DANGER OUT THERE WHEN A RIVER BECOMES A TORRENT and STUPID PEOPLE DO STUPID THINGS.

That scaffolding was only put up last month as part of the flood defense works they've been working on for the last six weeks. Very bad timing but it wasn't just abandoned there.

I'm one of those residents, although a lot luckier than some. The cottages along the river side are wrecked.

Here's a couple more photos of the flood at it's height, around midnight:

The cars out the back of the building, where the water wasn't as high
    http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/nibtrix/image-5.jpg

Out the front of the building. That's a normal full height door, which you can only see a small section of
    http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/nibtrix/image-7.jpg

The hallway that I posted pics of last night. Not a great picture as I had to lean down and hold my phone in the small gap between the water and the ceiling
    http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc412/nibtrix/image-6.jpg

We're still without power and water. It's a complete mudbath outside, several inches thick in places. The carparks under the buildings are still a foot deep in places. However we are a lot better off than many!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Dymo

Some git stole my photos and put them on the rte website under their name!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

nibtrix wrote: »

Jaysus, I thought they had actually gone through you for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Invoice them.

nibtrix wrote: »

Jaysus, I thought they had actually gone through you for them.

The new ones I just posted have been sent in under "David Connolly" again. That didn't take him long! Angry emails have been sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

The 13:43 picture is pretty grim. Not exactly what you want to be looking out at, especially Halloween week.