Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The flooding thread. Read post 1.

• 24-10-2011 05:10PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Unusual I know:rolleyes:

Its lashing outside and I love it. I fcuking love the rain. I love been out in the rain, no not singing…walking. A lot of people I know won’t budge outside if its raining.Am I the only one likes walking in the rain?.
    The only thing that pisses me off is the flooding. Don’t they clean the drains in this country. The poor sod down the road from me ,got flooded out last year ,his house was destroyed. At the moment he has a small lake around his house ,hope he’s not hit again. Although lots of drivers seem to see the floods as an opportunity to give pedestrians a good soaking.

Also it cleans the streets of filth;)
    People are ringing the Defence Forces looking for assistance, but until we're requested by the civil authorities (councils etc) or civil powers (Garda) we can not assist with sand bags etc.

At present we've troops out searching for a member of the public swept into the Liffey.

Simply put, people in distress must for ring their local council - if they require a rescue they must ring 112 (999) because we're powerless until the civil authorities (or powers) request it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

rain is grand (im used to living in ireland) but when it gets to the point where theres dangerously big puddles (bordering on flooding in places) on the road which will cause car crashes then i start to dislike it.

i also saw some poor bastard earlier get absolutely soaked by a passing bin lorry. this was like a wave at the sea side. i must admit it was funny though ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Beats wind I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Don't mind the rain unless it gets so bad that car start aqua plaining dangerously.

As long as the snow stays away this winter I don't care.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

I do love soaking pedestrians...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Love playing football in the rain so looking forward to the game later on :D

Other than that I fooking hate the stuff :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Anything but that mild mushroom soup type weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Its lashing outside and I love it. I fcuking love the rain. I love been out in the rain, no not singing…walking. A lot of people I know won’t budge outside if its raining.Am I the only one likes walking in the rain?.
    The only thing that pisses me off is the flooding. Don’t they clean the drains in this country. The poor sod down the road from me ,got flooded out last year ,his house was destroyed. At the moment he has a small lake around his house ,hope he’s not hit again. Although lots of drivers seem to see the floods as an opportunity to give pedestrians a good soaking.

Unfortunately, many of them know how to swim.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Rain...it's The Bees.

It's raining for the first time in maybe 4 or 5 months here in Madrid today and people are overjoyed. Madrid suffers from a massive pollution problem and when you fly out of the airport, you see a thick layer of it covering the city. We needed this rain badly to wash that ****e away...but the rain tasted and smelled disgusting because of it and I came home with a smokers cough from inhaling it. Rain keeps Dublin's skies clean and it adds a bit of variation to the weather. Clear blue skies every-bleedin'-day gets on your tits after a while (I know, I know....gawd love me...)

And no weather small talk in Spain, which is a pain in the arse, frankly. "Very hot today, isn't it?"..."Eh of course it feckin' is you fool!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

There is nothing better than sitting in a pub with a real fire blazing,and looking out at the rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just a warm-up for the snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Can't say I miss the Irish rain, was home recently and it did nothing but rain. Couldn't even go out for a walk :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

FREE CAR WASHHHHH!!!!
    woohoo - laziness prevails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I don't mind walking in light rain but I don't like getting soaked through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Rain...it's The Bees.
    Rain keeps Dublin's skies clean and it adds a bit of variation to the weather. Clear blue skies every-bleedin'-day gets on your tits after a while (I know, I know....gawd love me...)
    But it never does anything but rain, hardly variation :P Gets more on my tits than the sun ever could :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭EggsAckley

Sure its a grand soft day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I'm going to get soaked later. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

I got sunburned today in sunny Jordan.

Take that wet plebs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

At the moment I'm trying to get into shape and get fit. I love running and I love the rain. The one thing I want to do is go running in the rain. I'm thinking about doing it later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

Glenster wrote: »

Take that wet plebs!

Jordan has nothing but ruins and olives. I'll take my chances here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Glenster wrote: »

Give me Ireland any day over a land-locked desert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

The weather is unreal, you should see the traffic on the tallaght bypass, its mental..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Tis nice, keeps the weiner kids in doors :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

The moans and groans are saturating Facebook now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't mind rain, but i hate floods. Car is bad enough as it is without having to drive through floods. In saying that, i've been sick and haven't been outside the door since Wednesday so this bout of flooding doesn't bother me. Unless it's still like this tomorrow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

i hate rain - days like today and yesteday actually make me depressed - i don't mind cold, i like the seasons - but 2 days of grey skies and torrential makes me very bleak

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The grass is sooooo green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

water charges. why.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Feck this. I'm going to the zoo with a big truck and then building a boat. God told me it's not gonna get better...

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

there seems to be a large river like body of water forming outside my house?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Rain...it's The Bees.

It's raining for the first time in maybe 4 or 5 months here in Madrid today and people are overjoyed. Madrid suffers from a massive pollution problem and when you fly out of the airport, you see a thick layer of it covering the city. We needed this rain badly to wash that ****e away...but the rain tasted and smelled disgusting because of it and I came home with a smokers cough from inhaling it. Rain keeps Dublin's skies clean and it adds a bit of variation to the weather. Clear blue skies every-bleedin'-day gets on your tits after a while (I know, I know....gawd love me...)

And no weather small talk in Spain, which is a pain in the arse, frankly. "Very hot today, isn't it?"..."Eh of course it feckin' is you fool!".

The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain.