Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment- The Waiting to Apply Room

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

thestar wrote: »
    if you look at it in a way that they are taking on 500 then there is hope. I wouldn't care if I had to wait 2 or 3 years to get in as long as I knew that I would eventually be heading for Templemore

yes thats the positive - the panel could be quite big

negative - if you have a bad day and dont score well, you could be waiting years for another crack at the job

• Registered Users Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

Scouser wrote: »
    yes thats the positive - the panel could be quite big

negative - if you have a bad day and dont score well, you could be waiting years for another crack at the job

Was thinking the exact same myself.

Rothmans wrote: »
    Was thinking the exact same myself.

shoot for the stars kids! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭thestar

500 is a lot to be fair, Any word on the report writing? looks like its gone??

so far off the radar at the mo!!

sequences and words

i know i'm jumping the gun, i'm just inquisitive

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭thekopend

i know i'm jumping the gun, i'm just inquisitive

Where are u getting 500. Thought it was 250/300 spread out over 2 intakes

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭want2b

Does anyone remember how many stages were there and what are they? Is it 5 stages?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭billie1b

want2b wrote: »
    Does anyone remember how many stages were there and what are they? Is it 5 stages?

Here

read the handbook/guidebook/candidate book

I would read it but its gone off public jobs since competition closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

billie1b wrote: »
    Here

Fair play to ya :)

billie1b wrote: »
    Here

Thanks,

want2b wrote: »
    Thanks,

No probs

thekopend wrote: »
    Where are u getting 500. Thought it was 250/300 spread out over 2 intakes

We are thinking that there may be a panel set up that they pick from in years to come

Oh yes I get ya. Thought that ye were saying 500 to be takin in this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

A buddy of mine,

Father is a super is pretty much guaranteed a place. Along with one of his cousins.

You know, I taught that the day was well and truly over in this country. Obviously not.

Nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭AaronMul1

He cant just go into an interview and say my daddy is a Superintendent, he has to pass the apptitude tests with a very high mark, and also do a good interview, and then pass the physical tests, so no he is certainly not guaranteed a place. This is not the celtic tiger era anymore, i hope that finally our police intake will be of the people that are the best of the best of the best.

is anyone else having massive trouble with the verbal reasoning or is it just me??

AaronMul1 wrote: »
    He cant just go into an interview and say my daddy is a Superintendent,

his daddy could be interviewing him! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

is anyone else having massive trouble with the verbal reasoning or is it just me??

Remember the negative marking. Better to skip a question if you're not sure of the answer.

Yeah i know! Just cant seem to get more then 4 of them right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

No he can't. But being Guards, he will get the fact in there that his dad is a super. And boom.....

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭kojack

I thought it was retired supers that were used for interviews. Even if his father isn't interviewing him I'm sure his name will be on Form B where you have to give the name of a garda who knows you!

I'm stuck on 4 out of 6 in the verbal, just can't get my head around it.

Anybody know what criteria are used for allocation of trainees?.

Searched online but can't find anything, surely it's in writing somewhere in relation to how the Commissioner should allocate trainees?.

Being from Galway, I was under the impression that if successful I'd be placed somewhere within a radius of home(i.e Mayo, Clare, Roscommon etc).
    Wouldn't fancy being placed in Dublin tbh.

For the pay and the grief it wouldn't be worth the hassle.

Searched online but can't find anything, surely it's in writing somewhere in relation to how the Commissioner should allocate trainees?.

Being from Galway, I was under the impression that if successful I'd be placed somewhere within a radius of home(i.e Mayo, Clare, Roscommon etc).

eaney meany miney mo

I reckon the majority of recruits will be placed in Dublin

All Garda trainees will be placed in Dublin lads, a Garda told me recently there is a massive waiting list to get out of Dublin so that's where everyone is headed :) ballymun, tallaght, Rialto, you name it ! Hope he have some balls lads

true - everyone is waiting to get out

Nothing better than a bit of continous excitement to get your through the night