Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bohemian FC well and truly fooked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

dsmythy wrote: »
    Makes sense. I suppose given the FAI are doing it details are thin on the ground for the clubs.

Don't think the FAI released any info on it, the only info that seems to have been rumoured was what the Shels Board told us at the Fans' Forum at the start of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

BOHtox wrote: »
    Ebbs wrote: »
    "Various valuations have been sought for the ground, and all indicate that the club's assets exceed their liabilities."

As bleak as people see it, this is a really important point. Bohs need to release the assets straight away. Plenty more twists and turns in this rather farcical story.

If they could just give Dalyer to Zurich and ask them to rent it until Zurich find a seller than they'd be happy.

The thing is Zurich want out of Ireland and would have no problem shutting us down so they can get their money.
    stovelid wrote: »
    When do they go up for re-election? Organise and vote them out? Or an EGM?

Actually feel for the loyal members that dug in to their pockets last year and now there is another shortfall for wages again.

I don't know the ins and outs but I would be afraid that you would be forced to fire sale Dalyer in a dead market meaning that you would be forced to accept virtually nothing for it.

The arguement for paying players is that the money spent on players is less than the money lost through not having a competitive squad.

The arguement is that the money from finishing higher in the table, competing in Europe, two cup runs and therefore higher attendences exceeds that of finishing 9th, no cup runs, therefore less games and less gates, and having no chance in Europe and therefore the tie would be over so people would lose interest.

The crushing thing is not the wages of Flood, Fagan and Bayly, it's the wages of the three from last year+ Fenlon. The wages of these 4 is same as the wages of everyone else put together.
    We also had high Administration costs, from a previous year too, which were in their last year this year so they have not been renewed. Par Fenlon and Owen Heary have taken up some of these jobs, others are now voluntary from fans.

There are cost cutting measures going on and a lot have already been taken. We do, however, need a lot more.

In hindsight I wish Fenlon left. If Fenlon had have gone to Dundee, we would have have the required money to see out the season. 100K upfront + not paying Nutsy's large wages.

So basically your board were once Again banking on success to pay wages? I have no sympathy for yous this time around. You had ample opportunity to make your team fully amateur apart from the contracted players and you didn't. You deserve everything that you get this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

No. Galway are amatuer and get around 600 through the gates. We're part time and get 1,200 through. The board say if we went Amateur we'd get 600 crowds. The less crowds cost us more money than if we were to be part time and get larger crowds. Not banking on success by any means.

So offering Bisto a bigger contract than Shels was viable? Who was Sligos potential signing you's also managed to outbid on too?

How many chances do yous need to get your act together tbh?

So offering Bisto a bigger contract than Shels was viable? Who was Sligos potential signing you's also managed to outbid on too?

How many chances do yous need to get your act together tbh?

Well €2 is more than €1 so you're going to have to be more specifc than that. Bisto is probably on around €300 a week at most. I have no idea who that was. Fagan? Brennan? Rossi? Price? Burns?

1 more would be nice. Sell the ground, move to a prime location and stay there making a small profit with part time players and staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

How are Galway's finances after a year amateur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,503 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Well €2 is more than €1 so you're going to have to be more specifc than that. Bisto is probably on around €300 a week at most. I have no idea who that was. Fagan? Brennan? Rossi? Price? Burns?

1 more would be nice. Sell the ground, move to a prime location and stay there making a small profit with part time players and staff.
    There is no way you outbid us on Bisto with only 300 a week given the rest of our squad and the wages some of them must be earning probably being between 4 and 5 hundred for our best players (Conan Byrne, Paisley, Dean Delaney, Casso). Would imagine Brennan was the 1 Sligo were after.

CSF wrote: »
    There is no way you outbid us on Bisto with only 300 a week given the rest of our squad and the wages some of them must be earning probably being between 4 and 5 hundred for our best players (Conan Byrne, Paisley, Dean Delaney, Casso). Would imagine Brennan was the 1 Sligo were after.

Our players are on performance based contracts though afaik, goals, appearences, wins, draws, etc... along with a basic wage. Bohs probably offered more in basic wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭kerosene

What would Bohs budget for playing staff over the season be roughly?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

how can this continually happen to some of the leagues biggest clubs?
    u
    Gate prices are my biggest turn off. How they expect people to pay €15 for such a rubbish standard of football is beyond me. I head to dalymount every so often because it's good craic, but I just can't justify throwing cash at a badly run club of glorified amateurs.

CSF wrote: »
    Well I can guarantee you he's on no more than that.
    kerosene wrote: »
    What would Bohs budget for playing staff over the season be roughly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

No. Galway are amatuer and get around 600 through the gates. We're part time and get 1,200 through.
    Our average is around 900.
    How are Galway's finances after a year amateur?

Better than this time last year, I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

I don't believe that for a second. There is no way that you have the squad you have and only have a budget of 250k

Murphy, Burns, Heary, Cronin, O'Brien, Price, Brennen, Cahill, Flood, Bayly are good premier league players that would not come cheap. Add in good young players coming back from England who I'm sure are not playing for free like Downes and Fagan

doncarlos wrote: »
    I don't believe that for a second. There is no way that you have the squad you have and only have a budget of 250k

Murphy, Burns, Heary, Cronin, O'Brien, Price, Brennen, Cahill, Flood, Bayly are good premier league players that would not come cheap. Add in good young players coming back from England who I'm sure are not playing for free like Downes and Fagan

It's 200k on he squad this year. That does not include Murphy, Heary and Cronin. So it's 200k a year + whatever them 3 are earning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

doncarlos wrote: »

200k not including the 3 that stayed on current contracts. Downes signed as an amateur. Would guess the rest of the ones you mention are on 30ish week part time contracts (remember we had no players till a week or so before the season started) plenty of amateurs make up the rest of the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭kerosene

Would Fenlon have a full time post with bohs? What kind of salary would the top loi managers demand?

kerosene wrote: »
    Would Fenlon have a full time post with bohs? What kind of salary would the top loi managers demand?

yes, 100k. The sooner he goes the better. A great manager but we cannot afford him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

yes, 100k. The sooner he goes the better. A great manager but we cannot afford him.

Cheque book manager in all fairness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 329 ✭✭vellocet

If you believe that I can see why your board have run rings around you...

5k a week for 20 odd players? Average of €250 per week?

bohsman wrote: »
    200k not including the 3 that stayed on current contracts. Downes signed as an amateur. Would guess the rest of the ones you mention are on 30ish week part time contracts (remember we had no players till a week or so before the season started) plenty of amateurs make up the rest of the squad.

So your problem is fickle fans?

bohsman wrote: »

Barry Murphy is on €850pw for 52 weeks. He signed a 2 year deal for more than Rovers were willing to pay him. Bayly is a full time player too.

No offence mate, but you are spoofing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

vellocet wrote: »
    Barry Murphy is on €850pw for 52 weeks. He signed a 2 year deal for more than Rovers were willing to pay him. Bayly is a full time player too.

Did you read my post?

I can categorically say Robery Bayly is the worst player I've ever seen in a Bohs jersey. He is also part time. I'm not too sure what's the craic with Murphy, Cronin and Heary. They could well be full time, I don't know.

So your problem is fickle fans?

How do you mean?
    If you believe that I can see why your board have run rings around you...

5k a week for 20 odd players? Average of €250 per week?

I've never seen you post in the LOI forum before so i'm guessing you're either have just started supporting Rovers or don't support anyone at all. We only offer 40 week contracts to something like 13 players, it was 15 or something when Joyce was on loan and whilst we still had O'Connor. We have nowhere near 20 paid players. An awful lot are amateur
    SantryRed wrote: »
    Cheque book manager in all fairness.

Howso?
    Is a chequebook manager someone who gets success after spending? if so Are Mancini, Mourinho, Redknapp, Guariola and Fenlon chequebook managers?
    All have spent a lot of money, relative to the league in which they play, and have gotten success. But what about those who haven't had success. Sean Connor at Bohs anyway, Mark Hughes spent 200M+ and couldn't achieve shít. They had an awful defence until Mancini took over.
    Hughes had some shocking results. Roy Keane spent 40 million in his first season in the Premiership and barely kept Sunderland up. Any other team spending that sort of money would expect at least top half. Ranieri spent over 100M one year with Chelsea and could not win the league.

Several managers have gotten success with money and are unfairly labeled chequebook managers. It's one thing having the money, it's another thing achieving something with it.

How do you mean?

The Bohs guys on the thread seem to be making the point that they will lose more money with few paid players and finishing near bottom, different than what they did this year instead, because the fans would stop coming and paying in. Seems to be a problem with your fans. Not that I'm saying it is unique to you.

Does anyone know how Galway got on financially this year? And with their attendances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Galway United's average attendance this season is around 900.

I've never seen you post in the LOI forum before so i'm guessing you're either have just started supporting Rovers or don't support anyone at all. We only offer 40 week contracts to something like 13 players, it was 15 or something when Joyce was on loan and whilst we still had O'Connor. We have nowhere near 20 paid players. An awful lot are amateur

New poster to here, but lifelong Rovers fan and Bohs laugher-at. From the sounds of it, I also have better sources in or around Dalyer than you.

There is no doubt that Bohs have trimmed the wagebill and the fringe players are on expenses at most, but you are on la la land if you think you are paying €250,000 for the year for players like Brennan, Murphy, Burns, Heary, Cahill, Bayly, O'Brien, Price, Rossiter, Cronin, Fagan and Flood.

I understand Nutsy doesn't want his house attacked like previous Bohs managers and has his eye on other jobs ao has decided to position himself as having a young and poorly paid team in the media so it looks like he is 'overachieving' but lets remind ourselves that in all games against the Champions this year Bohs have had more league medal winners on the pitch and a much older team on average.

It just surprises me that Bohs fans are buying it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Probably only whispers but I heard if you add another 130 or 140 to the 250k, you would be closer lo the real bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭doncarlos

stovelid wrote: »
    Probably only whispers but I heard if you add another 130 or 140 to the 250k, you would be closer lo the real bill.

At least.

Dundalk's average was €8250 p/w over the season, which is 330k. Bohs is 110k less and they are also paying some players over 52 weeks??? Hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Same story every year with Bohs. We'll probably be all having the exact same discussion this time next year after Bohs miraculously avoid relegation or going bust again this year.