Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tonight With Vincent Browne Thread v2.0

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Who is this dude who forgot to button up his shirt.

He ran for PBP in the last local election, in my area.

Did not know until now that he was writing historical chronicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Is that Mary Raftery's brother?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

This discussion, like the earlier documentary, has no focus.

Jumping around the decades far too quickly. Sarah Mc is talking about the last 12 months, everyone else wants to debate DeValera and Lemass.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

He ran for PBP in the last local election, in my area.

Did not know until now that he was writing historical chronicles.

He's a History graduate from UCD, got his PhD recently and has written an excellent book on Sean Lemass.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

He's a History graduate from UCD, got his PhD recently and has written an excellent book on Sean Lemass.

I will certainly try to track down the Lemass book. Thanks.

Vinny can read the papers???? Did he get the eyes done while he was away?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,068 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I like this guy's passion...the new Manseragh?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

I like this guy's passion...the new Manseragh?

He's a centre left Mansergh. I'm really enjoying this. Excellent panel. I've read both books, Sins of the Father by Conor McCabe and Sean Lemass, Democratic Dictator by Bryce Evans. Really good books on different subjects.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Tuned out after about 15 mins last night. Was very disappointed as I was really looking forward to it but the chosen panel did not exactly enthral me.

Pity, I had pictured a panel of FF members past and present with Vinnie ridiculing and shouting at them for an hour. Oh well...:(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

missed last night. so the main man is back . grand

ArtSmart wrote: »
    missed last night. so the main man is back . grand

The thread just wasnt the same.. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

You were WRONG!

Good to have you back Vinnie.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭bluefinger

the man is back. shame none of the senior heads in the labour party had the guts to show up.

Did take Labour long to learn Fianna Fáil speak, did it?

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Ah I missed ye Vinnie, tearing holes in some government stooge.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

Love the way Vinny tells the others to butt out.
    He wants to rip this poor woman apart himself.

Do TV3 have no heating in the studio..?

Interested to read recently that Gilmour is described as unassertive and indecisive at Cabinet according to some of his labour colleagues.

His decision to take the Foreign Affairs brief was a cowardly move as well.

oh it's about to kick off now..

"Please do not interrupt her!" says Vinny licking his lips.

His decision to take the Foreign Affairs brief was a cowardly move as well.
    ?

Do TV3 have no heating in the studio..?
    nipple-gate?

He does seem to be allowing people to speak (more or less) which is nice. must have been a good holiday

they tell you that? as a side note - who got the round in?

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭Stargazer7

Vinny is butchering the Labour lady.....labour the new greens in Vinny's eyes?

ArtSmart wrote: »
    ?

Why didn't he take an economic brief? Foreign Affairs Ministers rarely take divisive decisions. He took the easy option.

ahh.

right.

well, maybe he wanted to go swanning around the world for a bit? did you not think bout that?

Stargazer7 wrote: »
    Vinny is butchering the Labour lady.....labour the new greens in Vinny's eyes?
    Vinny's only having the craic.

The kind of revolution he wants to see is the one on student campuses, that look good but dont get messy (like the miners strike) and dont change anything, whilst watching from a lofty window and recording in all for a new opus. . bit like meself, come to think of it...

OMG. you're that journalist? wow . welcome. so tell me, who spilled the beans? cos i dont remember you saying who in the article.

g'wan, tell us.