Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭G1032

Went out early this morning on my own. Had my new Santini shorts on but should have worn the tights!! Was a bit chilly.

Anyway I did my first ever 100km cycle. 106km and it took 3 hours and 40 minutes. I was well chuffed I tell you when I looked down at the computer and saw 100.28 km ridden. It was easy finish the last 5 or 6 km then.

I managed 30+ km/hr for the first 65km and then the legs got tired. Never got a second wind but didn't bonk out either.

Great feeling and I have a great sense of achievement. I should be able for the 140 Tour De Connemara now I think. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

G1032 wrote: »
    Went out early this morning on my own. Had my new Santini shorts on but should have worn the tights!! Was a bit chilly.

Anyway I did my first ever 100km cycle. 106km and it took 3 hours and 40 minutes. I was well chuffed I tell you when I looked down at the computer and saw 100.28 km ridden. It was easy finish the last 5 or 6 km then.

I managed 30+ km/hr for the first 65km and then the legs got tired. Never got a second wind but didn't bonk out either.

Great feeling and I have a great sense of achievement. I should be able for the 140 Tour De Connemara now I think. Fingers crossed.

That's a great time for 100km IMO. Well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I headed out to Blessington this morning to the assembly area for the Gorey 3 Day just to perv at some bike porn. My legs felt a bit tired after climbing Sally Gap yesterday but it was a good spin despite the Easterly wind that hampered me somewhat on my return on the Tallaght By Pass.

Many thanks to Liam from Slaney CC for the cup of tea!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭G1032

That's a great time for 100km IMO. Well done!

Thanks. I was very tired after it but well proud of myself. There'll be no cycling tomorrow!!
    That was 3 hours 40 moving time. I took about 15 or so minutes of stops for grub.............

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭jrar

Meant to post this yesterday - had a group spin of about 20 on Friday morning. Naas to Blessington and up the Wicklow Gap before dropping down into Laragh for coffee/scones. Needless to say with the glorious weather, it was mobbed with cyclists and bikers. Back up Glenmacnass and over the Military Road to Sally Gap, down towards M. Kilbride and then home via Ballysmutton and Blessington.

Cracking spin - 100 kms in mostly sunshine. All buzzing afterwards on a day MADE for cycling in the hills !

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭ugsparky

Ardee - Reaghstown - Louth - Knockbridge - Forkhill - Crossmaglen - Castleblayney - Carrickmacross - Ardee ... 100km ... first day out in shorts and the sun shined although it was breezy from Blayney ... just over 4 hours

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I headed out to do the longest route I've done for a second time at about 6pm. I was cycling into a headwind for the fastest half of the route and I was trying to see how I'd do if I brought my cadence up a bit. I felt a little uncomfortable in my legs with a higher cadence, especially in the beginning. I don't know if I'm faster or not because I think the headwind played a big difference. The areas I had a tailwind are an uphill where I'm in my lowest gear, a downhill where I'm in my highest gear and a part with a fair amount of traffic lights. Overall I was slower; slower in the parts with the headwind, but faster in the parts with the headwind (although I did approach those areas smarter knowing the terrain.)

http://www.strava.com/activities/131981550

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

A solo 131km spin for the Gran Fondo, another stunning day out for a bike ride.

Skerries, Malahide/Portmarnock (some nice Giro roads), out to Ennisskerry thru Kimolin (nice new tarmac) & up to Glencree. Across Sally Gap and up to the Kippure TV mast (suffered like a dog at the top), stunning views though. Down (& up) towards Roundwood, finally arriving at Delgany for some much needed grub.

http://www.strava.com/activities/131812942

Few pics up here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90010761&postcount=2923

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

145km, 28.5kph average. Cavan, cootehill, Ballybay, Carrickmacross, kingscourt, Moynalty, Kells, Virginia, Cavan. Beautiful days cycling, followed by a road trip to Portlaoise to see Cavan's u21 controversially beaten by the dubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭EaSwe

Longest cycle I've done to date yesterday. Left at 7:30, Enniscrone, Collooney, Ballygawley, Keadue, Drumshanbo, Ballinamore, Killeshandra, Cavan. 147km total. Tired and stiff since. Great scenery but tough going.

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭whacker00

Longest spin to date, Swords Ashbourne Navan Kells Virginia and home 154km. Paced myself way to fast on the way out and when I looked at my strava outside virginia and the avg for 75km was 31kph I knew the home stretch would be a struggle, and it was slight head wind felt like a gale force.

Ah we'll ill know the next time still really enjoyed it

And with a two day charity cycle in May (215k a day) I really need to get the bug mileage up

https://www.strava.com/activities/131859719

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,701 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Well i thought i was doing well clocking up just below 150k for the week until we went to sister`s place in Tipp for a family meetup yesterday when my brother in law arrives on his amazing bike after cycling from Carlow via Kildare to clock up 190k and not a drop of sweat on him.
    The fecker does 3-4 iron man events per year and trains constantly for them,when i asked him how was the fatigue "no bother he said,it wouldnt want to be as id have to run a marathon after that spin in a few weeks in Lanzarote for his 40th :eek:"

I always had massive respect for the guys fitness but to see the condition he was in after 190k i was green with envy,and i thought i was doing alright slogging away with 30-60 k spins a few times a week.

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

Quick 13km tonight to let the bike stretch its legs and see how i got on with it, couple of strava sprints, got a 2nd overall and an 8th overall on 2 segments so i'm happy out, i know some frown on strava obsessions but its a big part of what makes cycling interesting for me and its the only thing that motivates me to try harder and take a bit of pain.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭lismore7

Embraced the sunny morning, broke out the shorts and left the windstopper jacket behind.... Mistake....
    First 2 hours, froze my handle bars off, fighting against a stiff NE head wind up Mount Mellary, which sapped the quads.
    However cruising through the hills in a beautiful sunny morning was wonderful, despite the cold wind and lack of appropriate clothing.
    Then things took a turn for the worse, developed a gear change problem, froze to death on the decent, while fighting a severe cross wind on the way down.
    Then got a puncture, followed by another issue with the handle bars...
    Did 103k in 4 hrs 44 min, slow but that seems to be my comfort zone at present.
    But so enjoyed climbing the "Vee" from the north side with a tail wind all the way.....heaven on wheels!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,486 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

took me all day to find the motivation to get out, it's yucky here at the moment. Very windy and dumps of rain every 30 mins of so.
    only a short one, 30km but a good bit of climbing
    http://www.strava.com/activities/132487441

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Quick spin out to greystones, between that an howth on Saturday my farmers tan is coming along pretty nice!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,736 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

First longish spin this year today, Rathfarnham - Sallygap - Manor Kilbride - Lacken - Wicklow gap - Laragh - Sallygap - Home. 122k for slightly over 6 hours rolling. All going well until I started getting random cramps going up by Glenmacnass waterfall which persisted all the way home. I'd say for anyone that saw me, I look like I had cyclo-tourettes, and the last thirty odd k was less than pleasant and slow slow slow. Plan was to have it as a training ride for the upcoming Orwell randonee; clearly more work and no booze for the next couple of weeks if I'm to get around that one.

That aside, fantastic day out on the bike, though seemed to be into the wind for all the climbs. Lots of bikes out there today.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Took a hired BSO out today from the guesthouse I'm staying in. It's a rubbish Btwin Mtb, grip shifters, full suspension, weighs about 20 kg but it's better than the other yoke they have, some kind of 3 speed that looks like one of the Dublin City rental bikes.
    The missus warned me not to be gone too long, seemingly my kids are important and need minding or something.
    I did about 6 k off road and then decided that seeing as there was a HC mountain, Pic de Nore, I would make an attempt at climbing it.
    I stopped plenty of times for photos and knew I didn't have the time to finish the thing but I still
    managed by far my biggest climb to date. I actually had plenty left in the legs so definitely could have gone further but didn't want to be faced with Our Lady of Interminable Suffering when I got back.
    Quite happy with myself, next time I'll be bringing a proper bike and posting pics from the top.
    1471m total climbing, 40k in 2 hours.

http://www.strava.com/activities/132594887

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I did 47km today. I headed out the Tallaght By Pass and turned for Saggart. I went left at the lights in Saggart and headed over the hill. Some of those climbs were very tough. I did Sally Gap on Friday but the climbs from Saggart on the back roads back to the N81 were something else.

Some great views all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Dunboyne to Lucan along the strawberry beds, through the park into town, Cup an tea with the old man and back by the Navan road.

Just ruined it there with kebab and chips..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

not yet wrote: »
    Dunboyne to Lucan along the strawberry beds, through the park into town, Cup an tea with the old man and back by the Navan road.

Just rewarded myself there with kebab and chips..

Don't mention it....

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

Did short 55km Saturday morning, Garmin went bonkers during the upload to Strava / Garmin Connect, lost the ride details, my whole Bank Holiday ruined :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I had a big post about a cycle - it gotmangled and didn't load.
    Anyway - short version.
    Cycled bike. Met a lady selling miniature apple tarts. Fought with her over coffee. Cycled up hills down hills up more hills down hills.
    Met legend Ironman Mick Murphy.
    Cycled up down up down up down up hills.
    Very very hungry and thirsty. Had pancakes, drink and proper coffee.
    Happy

• Registered Users Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭manafana

300km this week monday to sunday first time since i did the raid.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭eoz

105k today. Total for the last 7 days= 425k.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

did a very slow 100k with Mrs k by way of rok training for her Jaus i was board. Done a round route from NCD for coffee at Ica HQ. Anybody els cold today i was.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,736 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Given the glorious weather, snuck out for a leisurely lunch time spin up to Johnny Foxes via Stepaside and back down via Cruagh. Only 22kph average, but a truly enjoyable 68kph coming down the last bit of Pine forest road.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭lismore7

Had planned to head out this evening after work for 1 of me usual mid spins and twas a lovely evening.
    Sadly came down with flu today and now panned out sicky bad no well in me scratcher :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭dakar

I sat watching this thread with envy all weekend while I was on call for work and ye all got out in the sunshine. I got out for a short run this evening (22k @ 27kph) to stretch my legs. Looking forward to getting a decent cycle in this weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Short 50km today, managed 5th on a segment in Howth :) Also noticed Im 13.1km off 10,000km cycled all time! :)