Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Thanks guys but there eather the wrong PCD or size,iv 2 brand new 18" hankook and 2 RE050s with 50% left on them ill be swaping over
    JerCotter7 wrote: »
    Do Toyota and VW share the same thread pattern? I know older VW had a different size compared to new Audis. Would suck to buy them only to find out they won't bolt up.

And I would never trust wobble bolts.

nather would i,most jap stuff is 5x114.3 and VW new stuff is 5x112 and the older stuff is 4x100 IIRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Stealthirl wrote: »
    Thanks guys but there eather the wrong PCD or size,iv 2 brand new 18" hankook and 2 RE050s with 50% left on them ill be swaping over

nather would i,most jap stuff is 5x114.3 and VW new stuff is 5x112 and the older stuff is 4x100 IIRC

What car is it and what pcd/size ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭deaglan169

fitted spoiler to the auris, and also removed the annoying irish dealer luna badge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

OOOoohhh, the beading... MMmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

OOOoohhh, the beading... MMmmmmm

I gotta get me some Jetseal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

done some work on my toyota avensis ..... fitted steering rack, new all around shock absorbers, and fitted dunlop tires (off my skyline 2 years ago, used just for 6 months), nearly new :) on old steel wheels :( ... couldnt get 15 inch alloys for my car for descent price.... and tracking in local garage . She is like new now :D apart body work :pac:

Tactrix OpenPort 2.0 cable ordered. I'm now $169 lighter and will be $399 lighter in a few weeks. I hope it's worth it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Tactrix OpenPort 2.0 cable ordered. I'm now $169 lighter and will be $399 lighter in a few weeks. I hope it's worth it!

If you've a good clutch and a well minded engine it'll be worth every penny :D

After a mishap with my laptop I've lost my own map, I'd changed it back to standard to check something then never got round to uploading the tuned map so I'm going to tune it again this afternoon

Gary ITR wrote: »
    If you've a good clutch and a well minded engine it'll be worth every penny :D

After a mishap with my laptop I've lost my own map, I'd changed it back to standard to check something then never got round to uploading the tuned map so I'm going to tune it again this afternoon

I have both and the car will (hopefully) be getting a service before I remap it.

I haven't ever owned a laptop but I'm taking my sister's old one specifically for this and the battery isn't great so I'll be sitting in the car with an extension lead out the door for half an hour!

EDIT: I've opted to go for Versatune instead of Hypertech because the performance gains are a lot higher, you can data log a lot of parameters, it has a launch control feature and there's a huge central database where you can find 100's of verified and approved maps along with what's supposedly excellent tech support if needed :)

Good stuff :) If the car is due or even nearly due an oil change then just do it, when adding power its important the basics are taken care of.

I'm in the same boat with my laptop at the minute, waiting on an ebay battery for my 'tuning laptop' and my main obe has a failed hdd thats just out of warranty

Yeah the main thing when tuning is to make sure the engine is in perfect working order and that everything in it is serviced etc.

Should I wait until I'm ready to map before doing it or just do it asap regardless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

I have both and the car will (hopefully) be getting a service before I remap it.

I haven't ever owned a laptop but I'm taking my sister's old one specifically for this and the battery isn't great so I'll be sitting in the car with an extension lead out the door for half an hour!

Hope you know what you are doing, I dont know what your experience with that, and dont know how that Tactrix work, as I assume, it is easy feck up ecu, if done something wrong. Usually ECU tuners have to pass some courses, to at least to know how things work. I am handy with diagnostics - with laptop connect to computer , read and clear error codes, but wouldnt touch ecu , as ECU mapping is complicated job.... change fuel and air ratios at certain rev range. good luck, i would be interested how you are doin, if youd put more info in separate thread. Best of luck.

Yes I do know what I'm doing ;) I did the same thing with my RX8 and AccessPort for 2 years. Thanks for your concern though :P

Also, as I mentioned, there's a huge database that you get access to when you buy Versatune. That's the software that you load onto your laptop and the Tactrix cable connects the laptop to the ECU via the OBDII port.

Should I wait until I'm ready to map before doing it or just do it asap regardless?
    Are you due an oil change?

Yeah fairly soon.

Wait till it's ready. Tuning should be last on the list when it comes to these things, ensure everything is tip top and any routine maintenance is done. Maps on your engine can add a lot of power and torque so just bear in mind there will be a lot of extra pressure on components but once you are following schedules it'll be grand. It ain't a TDI or whatever, it's a high powered Turbo Petrol so it is important to make sure all is well before a map

My Integra was fine, then when it was tuned it started to burn oil so I ended up rebuilding the engine, which was on the cards anyway so I didn't mind

You should think about doing a before and after Dyno too, otherwise you don't know where you're starting and finishing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

With the grey clouds hanging overhead I didn't bother doing another panel today. I have a bit of carbon wrap left over and wrapped the alarm fob...

...yes I was that bored :D

BEFORE:

img0941jx.jpg

img0942cfh.jpg

AFTER:

img0946w.jpg

img0948ibypvpzp.jpg

You should think about doing a before and after Dyno too, otherwise you don't know where you're starting and finishing

Westward Engineering is the only place I know with a 4 wheel dyno and I am not travelling that far when I'll be doing the tuning myself.

You're doing the tuning yourself?

Couture too but they're further, tuning without a dyno is a little nuts if you ask me. I've seen people turn up and tell me 'oh it's definitely up on power since last time' and then the dyno says otherwise. If you are adjusting timing and fueling then you need to know the AFR's are within safe parameters so an AFR meter is essential too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Dude I'd be very, very wary of tuning it yourself without the use of a dyno. You could end up losing power instead of gaining it, and your AFR's could be way out.

I'd also be getting the car serviced before I started fiddling with maps etc.

I've had the Golf mapped twice in 3,000 miles, and it's had three oil changes in that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Erin you copycat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Erin you copycat :)

He has a lot to wrap yet;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

545777_10151742910590176_805400175_24500163_2048350345_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Biblical beading there LM

Got some touch up paint for my yoke there. can't be bothered doing it though. Have an oil change to do too...

Maybe we should have a "today I was going to do something to my car, but can't be bothered" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

545777_10151742910590176_805400175_24500163_2048350345_n.jpg

Nice...what product are you using?

You're doing the tuning yourself?

Couture too but they're further, tuning without a dyno is a little nuts if you ask me. I've seen people turn up and tell me 'oh it's definitely up on power since last time' and then the dyno says otherwise. If you are adjusting timing and fueling then you need to know the AFR's are within safe parameters so an AFR meter is essential too.

I'll be uploading the map onto the ECU myself but the actual adjustments will be done by a Versatune rep in England. I'll be sending him a data log and he will adjust accordingly. Every so often I'll be sending him a data log and he'll send me a new map.

It's done this way to ensure everything will be safe and there's not too much load on anything in the engine etc. It's not like I'll be getting 1 map with everything up to the limit :P

I know yourself and Rob have a lot of experience in this field and while I hold your opinions in high regard, I'm happy enough to do it this for a while and eventually get it on a dyno. That will be done with the stock map and each map I get between now and then to see what the increases are.

I'll be uploading the map onto the ECU myself but the actual adjustments will be done by a Versatune rep in England. I'll be sending him a data log and he will adjust accordingly. Every so often I'll be sending him a data log and he'll send me a new map.

It's done this way to ensure everything will be safe and there's not too much load on anything in the engine etc. It's not like I'll be getting 1 map with everything up to the limit :P

I know yourself and Rob have a lot of experience in this field and while I hold your opinions in high regard, I'm happy enough to do it this for a while and eventually get it on a dyno. That will be done with the stock map and each map I get between now and then to see what the increases are.

Sounds a bit of a roundabout way of doing things imo. If you have the cable and the software why not bring it to a tuner? Let them tune on the Dyno and then the job is oxo. Any reputable tuner will do a good job

Because this stuff is setting me back a good chunk of money and I'm paying for the rep to do the tunes, it's not much but still money all the same and I know that dyno runs are fairly expensive (and AFAIK even moreso for 4WD) so I'll need to save up again.

What I was suggesting is don't pay the rep and just get it done by a tuner. I'm not picking holes in what you're doing dude so don't take it that way but just a few things would have alarm bells ringing for me. There are so many variables when tuning a car, fuel being one of them and tuning from a log isn't ideal at all. It's a compromise and when it comes to ECU tuning a compromise isn't good enough. If it was me I'd pop it on the back burner till funds allowed to do it properly.

I've seen cars suffer huge damage due to bad tunes, in fact I had a nice pic of a boosted Honda engine on my FB this week that drove for 500 miles after being built before it threw a leg thanks to det.

This is all just advice and if you want me to stfu I will :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Car is now transformed with the presence of some red paint :pac:

IMG_1220.jpg