Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 34,055 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Best of luck to the ladies tomorrow

Up the Rebels!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,455 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It's a UCC V Castlehaven football final after 'Haven hammered Carbery Rangers 2-12 V 0-05 last night.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,455 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Super win for the ladies today - Cork 2-07 v Monaghan 0-11
    Yet again the ladies prove what a fantastic team they are!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Congratulations to the ladies footballers on a great victory. Their 6th title in 7 years,a great achievement by them. Hard luck to a gallant Monaghan team who played their part in a great final.

Results from today;

County U 21 A Hurling quarter finals; Duhallow 1-18 Kilbrittain 2-14,Blackrock 5-17 Blarney 3-2.

County Junior A Hurling quarter final; Charleville 2-22 Ballinhassig 0-6.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Congratulations to the cork ladies showing your men folk how its done:D

Given that OUR ladies have won 6 out of the last 7 All Irelands - I think your attempt at a humerous post is about 7 years out of date;)

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Given that OUR ladies have won 6 out of the last 7 All Irelands - I think your attempt at a humerous post is about 7 years out of date;)

Given that its all the more reason that your men could take a leaf out of there book

and do what exactly?

Win the All-Ireland

Jesus I taught Cork won the AI last year, I must be going ad or something:p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Win the All-Ireland

Sure we've been doing that non-stop for 120 years...

Orizio wrote: »

Apparently that's not good enough for some:rolleyes:

It's just people who are jealous of Cork success over the years.

County Senior hurling final result; Carrigtwohill 0-15 CIT 1-11.

Well done to Carrigtwohill,a big shock they've won considering they were 100/1 outsiders at the start of the year!

Was listening to it on the radio. Shocked that Carrig won. They really pressurised CIT all through the game and never allowed CIT to settle and play their normal game. CIT had scored something like 17, 23, 24 and 24 points in their last few championship games. To limit them as Carrig did is a marvellouw achievement for the club. Delighted for Niall Mc and the elder statesman of the team - Seanie Farrell - who scored the winning point!

Also Bandon thrashed Fr O Neills in the intermediate final by 2-14 v 0-07

Well done to Bandon. They lost 2 finals in previous years so today was well overdue to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭rebelden

Must be the influence of Teddy Mac :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,836 ✭✭✭deisedude

How do ye rate Carrigtwohills chances in Munster lads? Admittedly I havent seen them play this year. Had always assumed they were an ordinary team seeing as they had been fighting relegation the past few years. Fair play to them though, nice to see the underdog prevail

It depends on how they react to winning the county. If they stop going on the piss they could be a force as they have come through ALOT of close games. They are a real team - sum of all their players greater than 15 individuals kind of thing.
    It will be an interesting winter.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,625 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Murphy set for another Cork stint
    By Fintan O’Toole

Wednesday, October 05, 2011

FRANK MURPHY is set to remain in his position as Cork county board secretary until the end of 2012 due to the fact that he is playing a key role in the county’s continued efforts to redevelop their flagship stadium Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Club delegates at a county board meeting last night were informed that the executive of the county board had approved a request from the three-man committee charged with overseeing the appointment of a new secretary, that Murphy be asked to stay on for a further 12 months.

Murphy accepted that request which was issued by the committee comprised of county board chairman Jerry O’Sullivan, vice-chairman Bob Ryan and treasurer Pearse Murphy.

Details surrounding the process to appoint Murphy’s successor were also outlined to the club delegates present last night. A review of all administrative affairs within Cork GAA is set to be undertaken next year and will commence in September 2012.

But the process to headhunt the successor to the long-serving Murphy will begin earlier in the year, most likely in the middle of the summer. The search for candidates will involve the position being advertised both locally and nationally. The new Cork county board secretary will be selected from a committee comprised of a nominee from the GAA’s Central Council, a nominee from the Munster Council and a nominee from the Cork county board.

"We are very happy that Frank has agreed to stay on," stated county board chairman Jerry O’Sullivan. "We felt it was essential that he stay on due to the proposed re-development of the Páirc Uí Chaoimh. He has been involved in that process from the start and it is quite a complicated process. He is a very experienced man and has his finger on the pulse in that regard. So given the amount of work we have still to do on that, we felt it was important to have him stay involved. There is a process laid down now to find his successor and we will work hard at that next year."

Seriously Frank **** off:mad:

The redevelopment will hit a few snags along the way, thus enabling him to drag it on even further - the man will only go when HE wants to, plain and simple.

Intermediate Football Championship final result; Kinsale 1-9 Castletownbere 0-8.

Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship final result; Courcey Rovers 0-15 Youghal 1-10.

County Junior Hurling Championship semi finals results; Charleville 2-17 Kilbrin 0-12,Mayfield 3-12 Dungourney 0-15.

County Junior Football Championship quarter final results; Kanturk 2-14 Glenbower Rovers 1-3,St Finbarrs 1-10 Bandon 1-10.

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Intermediate Football Championship final result; Kinsale 1-9 Castletownbere 0-8.

Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship final result; Courcey Rovers 0-15 Youghal 1-10.

County Junior Hurling Championship semi finals results; Charleville 2-17 Kilbrin 0-12,Mayfield 3-12 Dungourney 0-15.

County Junior Football Championship quarter final results; Kanturk 2-14 Glenbower Rovers 1-3,St Finbarrs 1-10 Bandon 1-10.

Tough on C'bere - they are always there or there about.
    Delighted for Courceys - who just about deserved it - although Youghal did have a goal disallowed in injury time.
    Charleville V Mayfield will be a cracker - I'd a feeling Mayield would go far this year.

Tough on C'bere - they are always there or there about.
    Delighted for Courceys - who just about deserved it - although Youghal did have a goal disallowed in injury time.
    Charleville V Mayfield will be a cracker - I'd a feeling Mayield would go far this year.
    It was Castletownbere's 5th Intermediate final loss in 20 years,they never get over the winning line. Mayfield v Charleville should be a great final,hard to call a winner there.

I actually met few people from Youghal the other day and they told me they were not going for them in county final and would be shouting anyone but them.:confused::eek:.

Well done Kinsale and Courcey Rovers and hard look to Castletownbere and Youghal.

I actually met few people from Youghal the other day and they told me they were not going for them in county final and would be shouting anyone but them.:confused::eek:.

English people mate, they're crazy.

(would have loved to see Youghal win though, think they would settle in Senior pretty well. Not sure about Courcies)

English people mate, they're crazy.

(would have loved to see Youghal win though, think they would settle in Senior pretty well. Not sure about Courcies)

Who are Youghal best players these days. Is many Colemans family playing still? Leigh Desmond is one if not their best player ya?

Desmond, Cooper, Ring. Brendan Coleman is staying playing but getting on obviously.