Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Midelton destroyed thurles,in to the dean ryan semifinal.

Garan manley at full forward got 1-11.Anyone confirm if thats Ger son?

Newtownshandrum through to the u21 county semifinal
    Eric o connor meant to one to watch also.
    Playing junior also.
    Jamie coughlan was n fire.I still cnt fathom why ,naughton was used instead of him saturday.

Conor twomey was meant to be man of the match at centre back.

Better for cork if it is newtown and mallow final.A lot of potential intercounty players n both teams.

A huge wknd of senior county hurling.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    I agree. It will all depend on the management team. I just think that the current Cork panel with a couple of exceptions are the most under utilized panel in the country. I'm sure James Horan or Jim McGuinness and possibly Eamon Fitzmaurice would be happy to swap their panels for the Cork one if that were possible. The panel of players are there. Cork are the only team in my opinion that can justifiably compete with Dublin.

The one thing that's always annoyed me over the last 5 years is this statement that Kerry have the best front six forwards in Gaelic football. Colm O'Neill and Ciaran Sheehan are exceptional talents and Hurley has really stepped up this year. Goulding and Kelly have been a bit indifferent in recent years but with the exception of Gooch, I'd be just as happy with the Cork forwards. The one thing that makes the Kerry forwards look better is their style of play. Cork can easily play as good as Kerry if they're coached in the same manner. In fact, most people in West and North Cork would prefer Kerry style of play and will be happy Counihan's slow, hand-passing, running game is gone!

Couinhan destroyed cork football,the last two years.
    The way the game is now,speed of mind,speed of thought ,guys that want to play football and not basket ball or a game of sevens rubgy,is a must.

The make up of the management team will tell us all we nd to know before a ball is kicked.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

Well I hope I'm pleasantly surprised next year. And I'm going to stay optimistic and upbeat til it's proven otherwise. That might be foolish but time will tell!

That might be a bit harsh on Counihan. I don't think he did it intentionally, but I don't think any one in Cork or outside of Cork liked the style of play that he favoured. Maybe the less said about Counihan the better.

Well I hope I'm pleasantly surprised next year. And I'm going to stay optimistic and upbeat til it's proven otherwise. That might be foolish but time will tell!

That might be a bit harsh on Counihan. I don't think he did it intentionally, but I don't think any one in Cork or outside of Cork liked the style of play that he favoured. Maybe the less said about Counihan the better.

Of course he didnt.He loves cork.Thats never doubted,or hes commitment.

But,look on results alone,nothing personal ,he was a very poor manager.Their is no point in saying he was.

Of course he didnt.He loves cork.Thats never doubted,or hes commitment.

But,look on results alone,nothing personal ,he was a very poor manager.Their is no point in saying he was.
    I mostly agree with you but I wouldn't use the word 'ruined'. After the 2009 final I think Cork regressed under Counihan. Cork were fortunate in 2010 to win Sam, they played much better football in 2009 and lost. Counihan should have gone after the win in 2010. It would have been far better for the team and his own reputation if he retired sooner.

Fair enough,could use a better choice of word.

That 09 game,is still hard to take.

Football all stars,announced and with all our talent,the golden generation of cork ,tngt is further proof of how cork went backwards under Counihan,just one nominated,james loughrey.

An embarrasment with talents like shields,sheehan,goulding,walsh ex young player year and all star,jamie sul,hurley etc that the previous management must take responsibity for making very good players look poor.

That is a pretty damning indictment of Counihan and Cork!

I know it may seem that im negative and bemoaning some cork managers a lot,and id love nt to,but the facts speak themselves with ger fitzgerald and now counihan.

A disgrace it is!

That is why I would have liked an outside manager with a proven track record of achieving success at the highest level in the game. If you were to look at Munster as a microcosm for the whole All-Ireland series. Tipperary, Limerick, Waterford and Clare would be the teams that managers could cut their teeth so to speak in preparation for the Kerry or Cork job. I just don't think it's enough in the modern era to promote successful club managers to intercounty management. I think there is a yawning chasm between club management and intercounty management, and that gap will continue to grow.

I think every winning manager since 2001 has been homegrown,and that tells it own story.

Dublin have had two the last fey years.

James horan is a fine manager,harsly crticised after the final-when o connor injury and sum players froze not hes fault.

The template should be club managers,coach at underage intercounty or other counties and work your way up.

But as kildare and many other counties proved like meath outside men are more of a cost than anything else.

Cork have produced Declan kidney,Eddie O Sullivan,Jbm,Morgan,O grady etc,i still dnt believe we dnt have top coaches here.

Their nt picked.Thats the difference.

Eammon ryan a superb coach at mens and womens,but the face doesnt fit with the board.

Bring down ed coughlan,strength conditioning and football skills and kieran shannon,who would love to work with a cork team.
    Keith ricken,if they made him an offer he couldnt refuse he would take it.

Ricken is hes own man,that wnt suit Frank.

But that wnt happen,he is the guy wrote about the strikes in a book.

No jack is gone,their is no standout coach from elsewhere.And jack wouldnt be a good outside man,hes kerry to the bone.

Walsh and Sheehan undecided on hurling future
    Friday, October 04, 2013
    Suggestions that Cork footballers Aidan Walsh and Ciarán Sheehan will both definitely play hurling for the county next year are wide of the mark, the pair have confirmed.

There has been speculation Walsh and Sheehan are in line to become dual inter-county players in 2014 — and even rumours the pair had taken part in training matches before last month’s All-Ireland final and replay.

Walsh — currently on a break from his PE and biology course in DCU — said yesterday that, while it is something he might consider, he will not do so until a new football manager is appointed.

“I don’t know what the situation is yet, I’ll wait until a replacement for Conor [Counihan] comes in and then maybe discuss things.

“All I can say at the moment is that I’ll see what the story is.

Walsh added: “The hurling management haven’t even asked me so I’d have to see if they even wanted me.”

For Sheehan, the prospect of making himself available for hurling is not on his immediate agenda.

“To be honest, I’m not even thinking about any of that,” he said.

“Right now, I have club commitments with Éire Óg and I’m training with the International Rules panel.

“You can only focus on one thing at a time so this isn’t something I’ve been looking at. It’s not the right time to be talking about it anyway, it’s a hard week for the hurlers so this is the last thing you want to be coming out.”

The notion that Walsh and Sheehan took part in training games before the All-Ireland hurling final with Clare is totally untrue, Sheehan maintains.

“I don’t know where that came from,” he said, “I heard back that I was meant to have got 1-4 in one match!”

Fair play to Cork,nine nominations in the all star camoige.

Denise cronin sister of Pa,nominated,some achievement to have brother and sister nominated in the same year.

STATS PROVE CORK HAD ENOUGH CHANCES TO BEAT CLARE

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 03, 2013

WHEN Ger Loughnane presented the Munster medals to the victorious Clare minor panel in December 2010, he spoke about a grand vision he had for Clare hurling.
    Clare had lost the All-Ireland final to Kilkenny in a game they should have won but Loughnane could clearly identify how the bright lights of the future were reflected through that group.
    Clare had already won the All-Ireland U21 title the previous year and it was obvious that the county now had the potential to become a serious force.
    “In the next three or four years, a chance to win an All-Ireland for Clare is going to come,” said Loughnane that night in 2010.
    “That is an absolute certainty.
    “We will be nothing in Clare until we win another All-Ireland.
    “We have got to win one in this decade and you are the people. We will be in the Square in Ennis sometime in 2015 or 2016 with the MacCarthy Cup back.”
    In the end, Loughnane’s grand vision came a few years earlier than expected.
    The county is now harvesting a standard of hurler Clare never had before in such bulk; athletic, pacy, beautiful ball-players, immensely skilful, diamond forwards.
    And, more importantly, all fused with a belief that they can rule the hurling world.
    That belief and confidence was absolutely central to Clare’s success on Saturday in possibly the greatest All-Ireland final ever played.
    At so many stages of the second half, Cork generated massive momentum but they could never get ahead and Clare’s class eventually told.
    Clare’s attack was on the rack for long stages but they were always going to get the chances.
    When they did, they nailed them. Conor McGrath’s goal was an epic score.
    Tony Kelly’s brilliant point immediately afterwards effectively locked the game down.
    McGrath was outstanding. The other Clare forwards made just 16 plays in the second half but McGrath made ten plays alone in that period.
    It was testament to Clare’s character and resilience that they were able to weather that storm with those decreased attacking stats.
    The game turned on its head either side of half time when Cork won nine puck-outs to Clare’s one.
    That was mirrored on the scoreboard with Cork scoring nine out of ten points registered in that time.
    That increase in Cork’s work-rate visibly set the tone for the third quarter when Cork’s front eight made twice as many plays (24) as Clare’s front eight.
    Yet Cork expended massive energy in getting level and Clare were never forced to chase the match.
    Cork’s second half surge also never upset Clare’s mental focus, while their fitness also ensured they were always going to finish strong.
    In the last quarter, Clare’s attack made 16 plays (McGrath made five of those) to Cork’s 13.
    Ultimately, the game belonged to Shane O’Donnell who hit 3-3 from just nine plays.
    While O’Donnell was Clare’s direct point of attack, Cork used Pa Cronin in a similar fashion at full-forward.
    In that first half, Cork targeted Cronin with 15 balls.
    He only had the ball in his hand on three occasions but he scored one point and was directly involved in another 1-2.
    Cork targeted Cronin with six balls after the break.
    He made five plays in that period and was directly involved in 1-1 but the rest of the Cork forwards had stepped up and there wasn’t the same dependency on Cronin as there had been in the opening half.
    After making 36 plays three weeks ago, the play count of the Cork forwards was as high as 64 on Saturday.
    Similar to the drawn game, Seamus Harnedy was Cork’s most productive forward.
    He was heroic in the second half when making 11 plays.
    His workrate was excellent but Cork’s application and desire was exemplary throughout.
    That was really reflected in Cork winning 18 Clare puckouts.
    After forcing just three turnovers in possession in the drawn game, Cork made 14 turnovers to Clare’s 11.
    Cork also got their match-up right with Brian Murphy on Podge Collins.
    After causing wreck in their two previous meetings, Collins main contribution from nine plays on Saturday was setting up two points and forcing a turnover which led to a converted free.
    However, Clare’s greater quality and class was reflected in their scoring economy.
    They converted 21 of their 29 scoring chances. Cork nailed 19 of their 34 scoring chances.
    From just three second half plays, Tony Kelly nailed two points.
    As a comparison, Patrick Horgan made five second-half plays but winning a converted free was the most profitable dividend from those plays.
    On The Sunday Game on Sunday evening, Cyril Farrell queried the decision to play Cronin at full-forward.
    He felt it impacted on Horgan and made him more peripheral.
    However, Horgan made nine plays overall, five more than he made in the drawn game.
    Cronin also made eight more plays than he had made on September 8.
    In the final analysis, Clare are just a better team.
    They are also a more accurate reflection on the game’s future.
    Cork deserve massive credit for their performance on Saturday but Clare have enjoyed the underage success that Cork have not.
    Whatever about the next few years now with the senior team, focussing on their underage production line
    is just as important for Cork’s future.
    In the end, Loughnane was right three years ago.
    Even if he was a couple of years out in his prediction.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

Yea complete nonsense being talked about Walsh and Sheehan. Some journalists desperate for something to write about. Not on. Not fair to the current panel right at this moment and I'm sure these 2 lads themselves are sick of hearing about it now.

Horse84 wrote: »
    Yea complete nonsense being talked about Walsh and Sheehan. Some journalists desperate for something to write about. Not on. Not fair to the current panel right at this moment and I'm sure these 2 lads themselves are sick of hearing about it now.
    Totally agree,lazy journalism.And as you said and sheehan said not fair to the panel.

The writer i actually had good time for,but i think that they wanted a story,and sure these guys sell papers.

It was a full page with pictures of them,strengths etc.

Were lucky they didnt include colm o neill and sweetnahm,they couldnt as he was playing rubgy in a half empty dooradoyle for dolphin saturday.

I do get a vibe,that because of walshes change in situation in Dulin he is open to it,and in june he said it was a no no,now todays its more he will review it with cuthbhert if hes the new man.
    Walsh being close to Nash and Lorchan ,i feel will have a bearing on it.

To facilate one player,it can be done.
    To even think about four is ludruicous, just wrong, and a statement of PANIC for the hurlers,before a ball is even thrown in next year.

Cuthbhert being close to crowley as their the same club,i believe would allow walsh do both.

Walsh has a busisness making hurleys,was a hurling man first and foremost,and had trials with them,and always said some day wants to play both.

Now is the time ,he is young enough.Being in dublin makes it hard,but im not sure if he can play next year up their.

I could not and would hope they dont allow sheehan do both.He could be a bit part of a hurling team,where in the football we could build a team around him.
    Our most versatile and natuaral talented player and athlete on the panel,we would be fools to comprise and risk such a diamond.These players are a rare breed,the least we can do is protect them when we have them.

Others wont change.

Sugrue,killlan o connor,wall,michael cahalane all have similar choices to make in time.

Anyone know is their a big ladies game on this wknd?
    On the way home from cork,decided to take a shorter route,and passed through kilshannig,flags and signs out wishing their ladies the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ladies county finals at a few grades this weekend

http://corkladiesfootball.com

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

They are playing a county final in Grenagh this weekend - met a few of the club mentors at the weekend who were looking forward to it, their second under 12 county final in 3 years. Under 16s are in one as well in a few weeks time.

Senior county final is on Sunday at 3.45 in CIT - St Vals v Inch Rovers. Would like to see Vals win it, don't know if Inch would be affected by the celebrations. Vals won senior B two years running - would love to see Briege Corkery complete the set of medals. She already has county club camogie, intercounty AI camogie and football medals, Munster football and camogie medals, just missing a county football one

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

JBM won't let dual stars in - guarantee you now. He was against it in 99, and I don't see why he would be any different today, when the demands are even greater on the players

Thats true he did not allow it in 99 but he did make an exception that year, with Sean og,who played every football game,i think.He allowed sean og as he was a tremendous athlete and always done both for cork at minor u21.He played in two finals that year,and superb in both,against the odds in the football.And sean og wanted to do both.

I think that he needs walsh,and the fact that one change is vital to cork,in that it solves midfield and half back by freeing up lorchan or a another ball winner with harnedy and cronin,JBM would take walsh in a heartbeat.

Beggars cnt be choosers,cussen isnt an option,in fact he never was an option to start with.

I agree sheehan and the rest are far fetched.The other point is people think sheehan has unreal hurling,which i remain to be convinced and hasnt played top level hurling even at cit the last few years.

Walsh aboard,sheehan wouldnt add anything else in we have harnedy,and cronin.Is sheehan better than Harnedy,A fully fit cronin,Or Walsh ,he is not.

Paudie,jamie,horgan,lehane,moylan and luke once he stops being in love with himself and shows the same hunger he did last year,are better hurlers.

LUKE needs to get the finger out,and become a pat horgan or else become another naughton,a wasted talent.

We need a mobile ball winner but like i said last wk ,you must have the balance right,and like i said Cian mac ,upset that balance,starting.They ended up winning puckouts,but cian mac wasnt able or mobile to do anything else.

To have a sheehan,walsh ,cronin,harnedy as starters, the balance is all wrong.A disaster.From looking for a puckout option,Nash will now have too many,and wouldnt know who to hit.

One of Walsh or Sheehan will do,walsh has been hurling more than sheehan and it will take a while, for walsh to get up to speed,but sheehan is just miles off.

Sheehan should not be allowed,Dr con needs to step in,if needs be.

A man with hes history of bad injuries,dont rock the boat.

Walsh has not the same problems.

it be a waste of time with sheehan as a bit part player,when we would be better having,mikey cahalane,pa callaghan etc and work with them.

The ECHO retracted tonight,and said both did nt confirm it,but they expected them to.

I do think,walsh will by what i heard today,and the change in tone in he's interview.

From a No No,its now a maybe.

Another point is cork always run of the county champ games as close as they can andtmake exceptions unlike most with only big games,delayed.

If dual players are to play both,they have to play both at club or they would be War.

It is nt feasible for more than one.

They are playing a county final in Grenagh this weekend - met a few of the club mentors at the weekend who were looking forward to it, their second under 12 county final in 3 years. Under 16s are in one as well in a few weeks time.

Senior county final is on Sunday at 3.45 in CIT - St Vals v Inch Rovers. Would like to see Vals win it, don't know if Inch would be affected by the celebrations. Vals won senior B two years running - would love to see Briege Corkery complete the set of medals. She already has county club camogie, intercounty AI camogie and football medals, Munster football and camogie medals, just missing a county football one

Only for i knowing otherwise,it was like Clare,blue and yellow all over the place,and a big sign at a junction!!

Also if DOD, is a selector with cuthbhert,they would facilate JBM with Walsh, as DOD, is a close friend of JBM.

Jhsf

Midelton 1-26 st Itas 4-13 extra time.

Harnedy meant to been excellent.

Gutted for the lad,another game hes team score a total that wd beat most teams,yet still come short.

I hope to god ucc beat sars Sunday.

Hope ucc win,for him and ger c and egan ,spillane etc.They have more to offer Cork hurling.
    Sars have kearney,and sul but they have no one elsereally that should be on the cork panel next year ,and if they win it just excuse cussen get on it.

Kennedy in goal ,they think is good,but a host cork goalies ahead of him.
    Ray ryan ,been their done that,Tadhg Og Murphy the same etc.

Eoin o sullivan too similar to what we already have and not as good as them.

Nothing against sars itself,but I am not a fan the way county board are big fans of the club, and we dnt nd a sars man involved in cork underage,which i fear my happen,when theres better candiates.

Sars and Midelton ,have had too much input over the years,while others barely get a look in.

Na Piarsaig beat the Glen 2-16 to 17.

I said they would beat the Glen and rattle the County,with their half back line of,joyce,gardiner,sean o.

Sean og was majestic,joyce too,gardiner went off injured.

Mcdonnell solid,Horgan poor enough.

Ian mcdonnell Na Piarsaigh v good man to catch a ball.A great Paw.I would like to see more of him,to judge him.

A good win,considering,they was missing Paudraig Gould.

A big shock in Doneraile,in the u21 county,Fermoy beat Newtownshandrum, a team with Conor twomey,Eric o connor and Coughlan.

Their goes the dream final with Mallow,that people expected.

Eire Og beat St catherines intermediate hurling semifinal,,coached by Denis Walsh.

Eire og were not expected to win this.

Much was being made out of Walsh beating Barryroe,coached by Justin Mccarthy,and how he was getting he's coaching career back on track.

Something out of nothing.

Eire Og Will play before senior final n the 27th.Sheehan got two goals,will surely add more fuel to the rumour he will play for cork.It will go in to overdrive now.

Daniel goulding,kevin hallisey with them also.A well coached team,by what i hear,ex cloughduv man and barrs and cork player kevin murray with them.

Hopefully Kanturk beat Meelin,then fermoy,it be some final,and their the days sheehans hurling can be scrutinised.Still not the highest level,but better test than today.

Seamus harnedy meant to be a doubt for UCC tommorrow eveining,a savage loss if it prevails.

He got one,four from play,i was talking to a lad at the game,he was unreal.

He went off after a knock in the head and was quite dazed and shaken,but the came back on.He is some man,made of stern stuff.

Apparantely they didnt want to bring him on but he was adamant he wanted to.

Lesser players go down for less,and stay down.
    Should be a cracker.
    In all remaining games extra time will be played.

Ballincollig true to their ist camoige final.

They play Milford or Douglas in the final.

I might go to that game if i can,on in Mallow tommorrow morning.Have not been at one in ages ,interesting to c what the standard is like.

C 103 fm doing that match live tommorrow at 3.45.Must be a ist thats it has been done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

What stage is the Cork champ at now Thinkstoomuch?

What are Na Piarsaigh through to now? Some halfback line. The last Cork club game I was at was when they beat Cloyne in final a good 8 years ago I'd say now surely. I think Setanta actually played that day- was back from Aussie for winter

Visiting Cork myself in two weeks will try make a game or two if I can if there's any

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭Boots234

Eire Og beat St catherines intermediate hurling semifinal,,coached by Denis Walsh.

Eire og were not expected to win this.

Much was being made out of Walsh beating Barryroe,coached by Justin Mccarthy,and how he was getting he's coaching career back on track.

Something out of nothing.

Eire Og Will play before senior final n the 27th.Sheehan got two goals,will surely add more fuel to the rumour he will play for cork.It will go in to overdrive now.

Daniel goulding,kevin hallisey with them also.A well coached team,by what i hear,ex cloughduv man and barrs and cork player kevin murray with them.

Hopefully Kanturk beat Meelin,then fermoy,it be some final,and their the days sheehans hurling can be scrutinised.Still not the highest level,but better test than today.

Seamus harnedy meant to be a doubt for UCC tommorrow eveining,a savage loss if it prevails.

He got one,four from play,i was talking to a lad at the game,he was unreal.

He went off after a knock in the head and was quite dazed and shaken,but the came back on.He is some man,made of stern stuff.

Apparantely they didnt want to bring him on but he was adamant he wanted to.

Lesser players go down for less,and stay down.
    Should be a cracker.
    In all remaining games extra time will be played.

Ballincollig true to their ist camoige final.

They play Milford or Douglas in the final.

I might go to that game if i can,on in Mallow tommorrow morning.Have not been at one in ages ,interesting to c what the standard is like.

Was Harnedy playing for Glenbower Rovers in the football tonight?