Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

newbee22 wrote: »
    My news feed could be mistaken for a complaints column in a newspaper- seriously frustrating me! Everything from Meteor to local shops- seriously if people want to complain why can't they just go to the shop to complain or write a letter of complaint!

Complaints columns usually have better articulated arguments and grammar. My unrestricted newsfeed is a wallow of depression filled with stupid ad homs and passionate tirades against big organisations, usually written in a language that you have remind yourself is actually English using some type of needless compression filter. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

krudler wrote: »
    that's one stupid status I actually agree with. Hero might be a strong word but that guy has been through a lot the past week and acted nothing but professional on Sunday night.

true - but thinking it and posting about it on facebook are two different things. it's his personal issue and people are posting about it on facebook like they're his mates! the rip poppy barlow statuses were the final straw for me and my page is now deleted.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Drives me crazy too. The problem is that a lot of people think Facebook is the default way to communicate. They have no notion that an email, phonecall or contact through the company's website is the way to go about making a complaint.

I think they're trying to embarrass them. What's irritating is that it probably works.

mackg wrote: »
    on this, losing a close family member is a pretty major thing. it throws people off balance and a lot of the time they are trying to continue on as normal, It's just that they have no idea what's normal for the situation they are in. I think people should get a free pass from these kind of things at times like that. I understand why you think it's inappropriate but in the circumstances I think it's understandable.

Actually, when i lost a family member I posted it up a week later. It was just saying thanks to everyone who had supported us. I felt it would be tacky to post it up before that point.

Thing is, it is such an easy way to communicate. It's far easier to post up the time of the funeral there than it is to field a load of calls.

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Sorry can any1 relate to me on this one?

Iam friends on FB with one or two people who are abroad doing TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) in places like Korea etc..

What f*cking irrates me is the way they constantly rant on post pictures about THEIR students, my little students are the best, love my students, so nervous for my students today or;

"just back from a wonderful field trip with my students today". like WTF?

They automatically think their like university professors just cos they done a 6 week course before they left to hold up placards of ABCD to infant Korean childern. The funny thing is they cant even speak the native language or talk to the kids, just hold up pictures and tell them the meaning in English.. Like she even has that her profession is a Teacher..

basically they are glorified babysitters.

KISS my ASS!!!

Carson10 wrote: »

Um, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Iam friends on FB with one or two people who are abroad doing TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) in places like Korea etc..

What f*cking irrates me is the way they constantly rant on post pictures about THEIR students, my little students are the best, love my students, so nervous for my students today or;

"just back from a wonderful field trip with my students today". like WTF?

They automatically think their like university professors just cos they done a 6 week course before they left to hold up placards of ABCD to infant Korean childern. The funny thing is they cant even speak the native language or talk to the kids, just hold up pictures and tell them the meaning in English.. Like she even has that her profession is a Teacher..

basically they are glorified babysitters.

KISS my ASS!!!

What should they call the kids? They don't literally mean the students are their sons and daughters. That's the standard way of talking about students.
    Drives me crazy too. The problem is that a lot of people think Facebook is the default way to communicate. They have no notion that an email, phonecall or contact through the company's website is the way to go about making a complaint.

I have a few colleagues who have no idea how to use ellipses (the little dots at the end of a sentence) and put them in everywhere. Last week: "Happy birthday to my wonderful sister.....hope you have a fantastic.....day.....". Seriously, use a comma or a full stop or anything, it reads like he's falling asleep as he types!

I don't understand the modern passion for overusing ellipses either. So much of facebook English is based on making language simpler, but this is more work than just using a full stop. I have one friend who always does it; it makes everything seem so... sarcastic or... worse... sinister...

She'd put up something like "Well done Katie Taylor..." (seems sarcastic) or "Happy birthday to my little man..." (very sinister)

"I always thought the idea of porn influencing people was rubbish but looking at how teenage girls can only take photos of themselves while looking up towards a camera is quite worrying."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The following was posted in complete seriousness, by not only the most stupid of my facebook friends by a long way, but also possibly one of the most stupid people in existence:
    Idiot: Could someone tell me who Neil Armstrong is???...was he a singer did he sing Walkin on the Moon???...I'm lost lol

Idiot's Friend 1: ‎1st man to actually walk on the moon
    2 hours ago · Like · 1

Idiot's friend 2: ur kidding lol http://en.wikipedia.org/​wiki/Neil_ArmstrongNeil Armstrong - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    en.wikipedia.org
    Neil Alden Armstrong (born August 5, 1930) is an American former NASA astronaut,...See more
    about an hour ago · Edited · Like · 1

Idiot: Thanx Idiot's Friend 1.....
    about an hour ago via Mobile · Like · 1

Idiot: I Thought he was a singer to be honest I'm mortified :-O...
    about an hour ago via Mobile · Like

Idiot's Friend 2: old age getting to ya ha ha ha ha ha ha no first man to walk on the moon 1969 died this year , 82 years old :)
    about an hour ago · Edited · Like

Idiot: Sur I wasn't even born when he walked on the moon lol 2yrs old?????...:-))

Idiot: Ahahahaha...that's more like it ...82 yrs ..for a minute I seen 2yrs lol

Idiot's Friend 2: its history hun u musnt of been listening in school hehehehehe tut tut
    about an hour ago · Like · 1

Idiot's Friend 2: i ment he stepped on the moon in 1969
    about an hour ago · Like

Idiot: Never paid any attention in school I was too busy dossin I was a bad girl Science and history was a no no lol...

Idiot's Friend 2: ha ha ha there ya go very bold lol
    about an hour ago · Like

Idiot: Lol... :-))))))))

How do you go your whole life not knowing that? I don't know how people like this survive every day when they have to do things like cross the road or use hot water.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭Riddle101

The following was posted in complete seriousness, by not only the most stupid of my facebook friends by a long way, but also possibly one of the most stupid people in existence:
    Idiot: Could someone tell me who Neil Armstrong is???...was he a singer did he sing Walkin on the Moon???...I'm lost lol

Idiot's Friend 1: ‎1st man to actually walk on the moon
    2 hours ago · Like · 1

Idiot's friend 2: ur kidding lol http://en.wikipedia.org/​wiki/Neil_ArmstrongNeil Armstrong - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    en.wikipedia.org
    Neil Alden Armstrong (born August 5, 1930) is an American former NASA astronaut,...See more
    about an hour ago · Edited · Like · 1

Idiot: Thanx Idiot's Friend 1.....

Idiot: I Thought he was a singer to be honest I'm mortified :-O...

Idiot's Friend 2: old age getting to ya ha ha ha ha ha ha no first man to walk on the moon 1969 died this year , 82 years old
    about an hour ago · Edited · Like

Idiot: Sur I wasn't even born when he walked on the moon lol 2yrs old?????...:-))

Idiot: Ahahahaha...that's more like it ...82 yrs ..for a minute I seen 2yrs lol

Idiot's Friend 2: its history hun u musnt of been listening in school hehehehehe tut tut
    about an hour ago · Like · 1

Idiot's Friend 2: i ment he stepped on the moon in 1969
    about an hour ago · Like

Idiot: Never paid any attention in school I was too busy dossin I was a bad girl Science and history was a no no lol...

Idiot's Friend 2: ha ha ha there ya go very bold lol
    about an hour ago · Like

Idiot: Lol... :-))))))))

How do you go your whole life not knowing that? I don't know how people like this survive every day when they have to do things like cross the road or use hot water.

Sweet zombie Jesus :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Even worse, I've seen screen-caps from Twitter where people thought he was the singer from Green Day (that's Billie Joe Armstrong - who wasn't even born when the moon landing happened!), as well as Lance Armstrong and an actor from How I Met Your Mother. Idiots...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I don't get why these people don't just do a quick Google search, instead of broadcasting their stupidity all over Facebook/Twitter like that. Do they think it's cute, or cool, or something? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

I don't get why these people don't just do a quick Google search, instead of broadcasting their stupidity all over Facebook/Twitter like that. Do they think it's cute, or cool, or something? :confused:

Some people think its cool and funny to be stupid. Very childish. I remember in school when we were about 13/14, you were a loser if do well in christmas/summer exams. I think some never grew out of that mode.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Meet Gail, appartently shes a model, please take the time to read her bio, in particular the dos and donts of being on her friends list

<Snip>

From the picture you can understand how people think she looks like a celebrity, Katie Price and Amy Childs apparently.

tvercetti wrote: »
    Meet Gail, appartently shes a model, please take the time to read her bio, in particular the dos and donts of being on her friends list
    <snip>

From the picture you can understand how people think she looks like a celebrity, Katie Price and Amy Childs apparently.

That has got to be a frape.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Jernal wrote: »
    That has got to be a frape.

Heres some screenshots of an argument she had with some other model
    <snip>

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

She looks about 15, tbf. Anyone bother to check whether she's not and we're not just slagging off a teen with a severe eating disorder? No? Oh, it was on a Facebook group? Must be grand then.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

RIP Buzz Lightyear.

Sorry picked that up wrong, it should have been RIP Buzz Aldrin.

Whoops looks like I'm still wrong, RIP Lance Armstrong.

I'm really sorry to all the above, RIP Neil Armstrong.

Sorry, but all the annoying people on FB tonight wishing their kids good luck at their first day at school tomorrow is a load of crap. FFS..

heres some of the people on my friends list post:

Best of luck to ***** who's starting big school tomorrow. So proud of u love u lots. Xxxxx

My Baby Starting School Tomorrow :( All Grown Up!

Sorry, but all the annoying people on FB tonight wishing their kids good luck at their first day at school tomorrow is a load of crap. FFS..

heres some of the people on my friends list post:

Best of luck to ***** who's starting big school tomorrow. So proud of u love u lots. Xxxxx

My Baby Starting School Tomorrow :( All Grown Up!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

Michael clarke duncan died today (actor from green mile) and this SPA (15 year old sister of my best friend) put up

"Omg Michael clarke duncan is dead, i loved him in "How i met your mother OMG OMG OMG He was as cute like im pure depressed now wanna cry totes like :( "

ok besides the grammar and the "omgs" she had the wrong ****ing actor

delete delete delete!!!!!!!!!!!!

Michael clarke duncan died today (actor from green mile) and this SPA (15 year old sister of my best friend) put up

"Omg Michael clarke duncan is dead, i loved him in "How i met your mother OMG OMG OMG He was as cute like im pure depressed now wanna cry totes like :( "

ok besides the grammar and the "omgs" she had the wrong ****ing actor

delete delete delete!!!!!!!!!!!!

she sounds like a knob. Hate those people who lamp-on to the latest news and blab it all over FB so they look cool. She prob heard some famous actor died and google him cos she didnt have a clue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

she sounds like a knob. Hate those people who lamp-on to the latest news and blab it all over FB so they look cool. She prob heard some famous actor died and google him cos she didnt have a clue.

she didnt even google him- she thought he was "Barney" from How i met your mother- whos a white , skinny , 30 something , tv star- compared to a black, 350(ish) pound, 53 year old , oscar nominated actor:mad:

loada people gave out to her saying "Hes the actor from green mile (etc) and she has been responding with "Ive never seen green mile ok ppl 4 fuks sake im not 50 like the resta ye like geta life i dont watch really old films"

ugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Here's a post on the Nicki Minaj Facebook page concerning the recent cancellation of her Dublin gig:

"C'mere to me youuu... Cancelling your concert for???? Haaaaaandicappp... Telling people der that your throat is sore and you cant sing... telpis.... you ever heard of lemsip or strepsils naaa? there prob too expensive for you since we are in a recession and all... tut..... the millions and billions and trillions you let down not coming here with your pure small venue... wouldnt even fit my pinky finger in your venue it was so small anyways... Pure chickening out cos your a misssfaaaaarchin... thikning your cool with your superbass and your starships... let me tell you nicki nicky nickie or whatever gangsta way you spell your name... you sound like a whale orgasming when you scream and look like the back of a donkeys arse with your green seaweed hair in your starships video... thinking your the little mermaid or something... trying to impress all the felllas with your dacent ass but we all know that your ass would start melting in a bit of heat... big wax thing... madame tussauds wouldnt get a look in...you also need to decide what hair colour your gonna stay with.. personally i think you should go bald... you look like a reptile with all the other types of hair you been trying #insecurebitch... and who do you think you are telling people to go kill themselves??? who are you??

So cop on to your loifffeeee you wannabe bebo shtunner with your mank profiler... and your cringey statusss and dont organise a concert if your not gonna go to it.. dont come near ireland again you dopeeeee or we'll **** potatoes at you.... back stabbing two faceeeed whoooorreeeeee...."

I'll admit. I laughed a lot more than I should have :pac: I don't think she's being genuine though so it's ok :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,115 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I just saw a Facebook page entitled "We hate feet"

Those guys are clearly fans of the metric system

• Registered Users Posts: 11,115 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

littlelulu wrote: »
    +100000000000000000 for the complaints to companies uhhhhhhhh!!!

i didnt read through the whole thread but what reallllllly annoys me is the following:

- 'snuggling up with the best boyfriend in the whole wide world eating chinese'.......... do i care??? NO!!

- desperado's complaining that they are home alone and if only a hunky man would come to them. Then they wonder why the nutters ask them on dates! Do they not realise that being THAT desperate does not attract the hunky men!!

- females boasting about their huge 'assets'... get a life!!

- people doing stupid poses for pictures and even worse taking a pic in the mirror and the camera can be seen!!!

- people posting pictures of their meals.....:confused: If it's some sort of an amazing desert that has been constructed to look like something fabulous then lovely but if its spaghetti bolognaise then get a life!

If only people were as perfect as me..... if only :rolleyes:

Often posted by, let's say, the larger lady! Huge assests cannot be used as a disguise for carrying extra pounds!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

"i love my new coarse collage is deadly miss lil miss tho"

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭xxtattyberxx

Anything with a .com and than for people to say it in a face to face conversation **slap around the head**
    This stupid wine o'Clock, Wineflue
    Drinks wit da girlies woop woop
    Pictures posted of peoples dinners, lunch WHY WHY WHY you sad individual

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

http://i2.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/000/234/772/71e.jpg