Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derek Mooney Show *MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

Yakuza wrote: »
    Derek, will you let yer man speak about cars and stop filling the airwaves with your pointless gibberish and ridiculous analogies.

sometimes I wonder why he brings on experts at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Where's the gay car salesman?, that's what I'd like to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Sister Assumpta

This man is painful to listen to. He's actually playing an excruciating ringing sound over the airwaves right now and telling us about his tinnitus.

Bring Back Joe for another hour and get this lad back sorting the mail.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,683 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

The Irish Eurovision acts will be premiered on tomorrow's show.

Derek? Eurovision? A first, surely!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

The Eurovision 3rd song isn't too bad, reasonably catchy - "Fire".

can they not let jedward go ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,441 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

if one of the entrants was a shrieking cat, Brenda would still say:

"......oh, they have a lovely voice....."

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

For once, I actually agree with one of Derek's put-downs to Brek - her favouring one of the mentors because she's a woman.
    Derek : "Seriously, park it - it's irrelevant". Just what I was thinking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭Bloody*Mary

The Deke cut the puss off Brenda with the 'Seriously, Park it! It's irrelevant" 'order' when Brenda started wombling on about female mentors.

Things got a bit heated I would say.

Sorry yazz beat me to it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

was mightly surprised how good those songs were.

i reckon no. 2 or 3 myself will take it but TBH theres not alot between all of them quality wise.

must be the first time in decades i can say that about the eurovision entries !

I liked the song "et cetera" from a few years back - if I heard right one of this year's mentors was connected to them. Having heard them all, there's several that are decent EV material.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Was tuned into Liveline a few minutes ago and the "Mooney's blurb :rolleyes:" mentioned that they were voting for Irelands' entry for ....I kid thee not!, European Tree of the Year.

Although, having googled the Irish entry I can see why Derek was so enthusiastic.

jedward-tree.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭Asbury Park

I don't normally listen to Derek Mooney (I swear your honour) and reading this thread I thought he can't mention Jedward that much but flicking through the stations while driving yesterday I landed on Radio 1 and the first words I heard Derek say were Jedward and something about bunk beds. :rolleyes: For F.... Sake. So sorry for doubting ye!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I think the team need a course in time management.If its not messing up the "Monday Quiz" and rushing it, then again today with the poxy speaking for "90 secs" garbage...........Not that its much difference in loosing time with Paul Gogarty :p.

Speaking of which, he sounded like he was some distance away from the microphone on the piece they played. It kinda sounded Ok I suppose though apart from that.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No mention of the band PULP from Sheffield:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Mooney gone to the home of steel to see some construction workers and their erections..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Dear god that's embarrassing... lol :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Dear god that's embarrassing... lol :D

Flabbergasted...what was he at? :eek:

Got through with one answer, then decided to change it??? 3 grand as well!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,440 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

GATT is it eanna ? You'd need it alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

who is this stand in presenter with the weak tongue and overbearing uvula?

hames wrote: »
    who is this stand in presenter with the weak tongue and overbearing uvula?

Not McGowan is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,440 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Not McGowan is it?

Yes not sure how you'd spell his first name.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Yes not sure how you'd spell his first name.

Olin McGowan,very 'unctious' cadence to his voice.

If I am correct is a wheelchair user following a diving accident , there was a documentary on him from the Rehab centre in DL.

Well done to him, I have to say, if my info is correct.

Produces the show with McAnally

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Olin McGowan,very 'unctious' cadence to his voice.

If I am correct is a wheelchair user following a diving accident , there was a documentary on him from the Rehab centre in DL.

Well done to him, I have to say, if my info is correct.

Produces the show with McAnally

Go to the top of the class,I will give you your prize at the end of class:D.
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-olan-mcgowan.html

I thought McAnally was gone completely from the show, no?

jimmyw wrote: »
    Go to the top of the class,I will give you your prize at the end of class:D.
    http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-olan-mcgowan.html

I thought McAnally was gone completely from the show, no?

Not sure if McAnally is still there or not, haven't heard him either in credits or on air recently.

Another tour of South America maybe?

he was doing a bit of 'gigging' recently I heard.

Have to say Majella came across very well today.

is it true that Derek has booked the entire front row for all 6 performances of the full Monty at the board gais theater?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

mooney getting into a lather over the whole "derry/londonderry" thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

mooney getting into a lather over the whole "derry/londonderry" thing.

What was he saying about it?