Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

Probably love chips i bet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I must be one of few on this thread to dislike spuds:o

There's a black sheep in every family :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

I must be one of few on this thread to dislike spuds:o
    jeez next you'll be saying you dont like tea:D

As long as you're not a vegetarian/vegan Kovu.......

... eh, you're not a veg.......... are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan1 wrote: »
    jeez next you'll be saying you dont like tea:D

:o
    johngalway wrote: »
    As long as you're not a vegetarian/vegan Kovu.......

... eh, you're not a veg.......... are you?

On that front......I like my meat rare:D

:o

On that front......I like my meat rare:D

Fair play! There's hope for you yet :pac: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

johngalway wrote: »
    Fair play! There's hope for you yet :pac: :D
    she'd eat ya alive john:D

leg wax wrote: »
    she'd eat ya alive john:D

Jez I dunno Leg, I'm definitely rare (to the delight of some :D ) but I'd say I'd be kinda tough at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Got saw sharpened and ended up buying a bit of gear while I was waiting. Wearing them now watching telly... comfy

Herself looking at me funny...women they just don't understand :D

p6130292.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Muckit wrote: »
    Got saw sharpened and ended up buying a bit of gear while I was waiting. Wearing them now watching telly... comfy

p6130292.jpg
    How do you work the remote with the gloves or type ? :-):-)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

moy83 wrote: »

p6130292.jpg
    How do you work the remote with the gloves or type ? :-):-)
    Herself ;)

Just the boots! Not the gloves ..... I don't want to look totally silly! :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Your well geared up Muckit. I have a couple of pairs of them gloves. Great glove, they take a lot of hardship.
    The boots on the otherhand I find heavy, hot and cumbersome, infact I rarely wear them.
    I've a pair of the trousers too, and the helmet/visor/muffs.
    The fool that I am, I normally just wear the helmet and gloves.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Your well geared up Muckit. I have a couple of pairs of them gloves. Great glove, they take a lot of hardship.
    The boots on the otherhand I find heavy, hot and cumbersome, infact I rarely wear them.

Ya I'm hoping to get the pants aswel down the line. I had nothing before this, just ordinary pair of muffs and pair of safety glasses.

I never thought about gloves, but lad in shop said they're the first thing you should buy, in case chain ever snapped :o I just noticed though that only left hand glove is padded... I'm left handed.... perhaps I shouldn't be using a chainsaw at all !!

Ya I'm hoping to get the pants aswel down the line. I had nothing before this, just ordinary pair of muffs and pair of safety glasses.

I never thought about gloves, but lad in shop said they're the first thing you should buy, in case chain ever snapped :o I just noticed though that only left hand glove is padded... I'm left handed.... perhaps I shouldn't be using a chainsaw at all !!

The trousers are fairly heavy too. You work up a sweat shocking easily.

The back of the left glove is padded to protect from kickback. You being left handed need the padding on the opposide glove, but I dunno can they be got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Chainsaws are designed to be operated right-handed. Full stop.
    Cithoguery is not catered for in chainsaw design, and is a very dangerous activity to engage in.

cattle that are going on sat.

Rovi wrote: »
    Chainsaws are designed to be operated right-handed. Full stop.
    Cithoguery is not catered for in chainsaw design, and is a very dangerous activity to engage in.

I did several chainsaw courses with Coillte over the years, a co-worker of mine is left handed and was trained too with the rest of us. He always looks awkward using the saw though.

Super cattle. It must take ages to herd them. Did you sell private?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I did several chainsaw courses with Coillte over the years, a co-worker of mine is left handed and was trained too with the rest of us. He always looks awkward using the saw though.
    I didn't mean that lefties aren't allowed use chainsaws, just that the saws aren't designed to be used lefthanded, and using one lefthanded is against all industry standards and best practice.
    Certainly, no-one using one lefthanded would pass a competence course, and the H&S people would run anyone doing so in any sort of commercial setting.

Ah Jaysus Legwax I thought our few calves good enough quality. I may go back to the drawing board:)

Super cattle. It must take ages to herd them. Did you sell private?
    no they are going to carnew mart.

• Registered Users Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Class cattle legs,top notch!! make sure u let us know how u get on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Super cattle legs . You will be a happy man saturday evening id say .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,343 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

I have the pants alright, and the helmet with face and ear protection.

must get some steeled wellies alright, currently wear steel toe cap boots, but wellies would be better for muck.

the chaps can only be worn on the coldest of days though, pure murder, you're wearing nearly half an inch of top grade insulation wrapped around your legs like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Super quality weanlings Legwax, credit to ya, hope you get a great rattle for them... i missed your last video but new laptop showed up that one the finest:D

p6130292.jpg

Is the rest of your gear that colour? You'll look like a teenager wearing a bucket of fake tan :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Suckler

I have the same- boots, pants and all in one helmet. Boots and pants together can make for slow working but is more peace of mind.
    I recall watching something on TV where one of the guys tripped up with the saw running, if it hadnt been for the trousers seizing the saw his leg was gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

is that spotty one the calf from ploughing?