Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mania Meet Up Thread *details in OP, please read*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Not willing to stay in same hotel
    So where is this Peadar Kearneys place never actually heard of it??

What has them being able open so late on Sundays?
    Dames Street.

Dunno. They specialise in late nights I presume.

CMpunked wrote: »
    Well if i was handling that end of it, it would more than likely be a paypal account.
    Is paypal easy to transfer is it? Sorry for these annoying n00b questions :o

• Registered Users Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Is paypal easy to transfer is it? Sorry for these annoying n00b questions :o

I really have not a lot of knowledge on it in the sense of recieving money.
    My adventures with it is just using it to buy stuff online. I'll ask a friend of mine tomorrow who has set a few up before for online stores and that. about it.

Cheers. BTW if you're looking for a laugh look how close Dublin Citi Hotel that offered to show Mania is to Kearney's.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Burswood

Just got this e-mail back from Peader Keaneys:
    Thank you for considering us as a venue to watch Wrestlemania. The Superbowl was a great success and another night like that would be brilliant. We need to look into a few things first but it shouldn't be a problem.

We will be in touch asap.

Kind Regards

Jackie

Seemingly, copy and paste does the job :P
    Regardless, this is good. They see the demand is there.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,109 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

If we screen it at one of the hotels. Would people be willing to stay in that hotel for the night
    Burswood wrote: »
    Just got this e-mail back from Peader Keaneys:

Seemingly, copy and paste does the job :P
    Regardless, this is good. They see the demand is there.

Fingers crossed cause id love this to happen be good crack :-) always something i wanted to happen.

Any ideas what we would have to pay??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

We'll defo keep your kind offer in mind but I think we should see what we can get in Dublin. Thanks again.

You and me both fellow Galway Boardsie

If this does happen and you're going to make the trip to Dublin, definitely hit me up and I'll make the trip to and fro' with you if circumstances allow it

El_Drago wrote: »
    If this does happen and you're going to it, definitely hit me up and I'll make the trip to and fro' with you if I can manage
    I'm probs going to get a bus but company would be very welcome. You staying overnight too?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

If we screen it at one of the hotels. Would people be willing to stay in that hotel for the night
    Well this looks like it'll be fun. I'll be up for whatever is going on.

Fair play Diabhal.

Just sent peader's a message there.

chordtype wrote: »
    Well this looks like it'll be fun. I'll be up for whatever is going on.

Fair play Diabhal.
    :D You sir are meeting up for the pre-show pint

Cant wait for this now.

What hotels are near?

CMpunked wrote: »
    Cant wait for this now.

What hotels are near?

The very nice guys who where willing to show the PPV have a hotel right next door. Look up Dublin Citi Hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

:D You sir are meeting up for the pre-show pint

That would be the 'dark-match' pint :)

Still no reply from The Woolshed, more than 48 hours since I e-mailed them.

Charisteas wrote: »
    That would be the 'dark-match' pint :)
    *golf clap*

Think we won't hear back from the Woolshed. So its likely going to be Kearneys (which is probably better).

If anybody needs a convenient hotel there's the hotel I'll probably stay at within a minute's walk from Kearneys called Dublin Citi Hotel.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70042839&postcount=12
    I am working in a bar on Dame Street called Peadar Kearney's and this year the basement bar has been turned into a game room sports watching man cave with a capacity of about 130. We have decided to do a private ticket based night for the super bowl. Being that it is a Sunday and the game starts at 11:25 bars will have to stop serving long before the game is over. So we are selling 50 euro tickets which include all your drink and food from kick off and entry into a raffle with loads of prizes including an iPod touch 4. Its a much smaller quieter night than Dandelion or the Woolshed but if you want to drink and eat all the way through the game in a more football focused atmosphere this might be for you. Peadar's is at 64 Dame Street and tickets will be on sale next week.

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=126594694075125

Just some stuff I came across looking into the Superbowl parties. Kearneys had a face book page and it looks like the showing of the games took place in the basement bar.
    Just a word of caution, the bar is set up for 130 according to post above- I imagine they would expect a good few tickets to be purchased to close off the basement bar to non ticket holders early on a sunday (bearing in mind mania starts at 12.

Sad to report it looks like I will be unavailable to attend either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

Anyone here from around the South East (Tipperary/Waterford) Area that would be willing to try set up a meet for this part of the country?

Anyone know any pubs that would accomadate or anyone got a gaff their willing to share?

Would be to have 2 Boards PW Meet ups going at the same time!

DM-ICE wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70042839&postcount=12

http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=126594694075125

Just some stuff I came across looking into the Superbowl parties. Kearneys had a face book page and it looks like the showing of the games took place in the basement bar.
    Just a word of caution, the bar is set up for 130 according to post above- I imagine they would expect a good few tickets to be purchased to close off the basement bar to non ticket holders early on a sunday (bearing in mind mania starts at 12.

Sad to report it looks like I will be unavailable to attend either way.
    I told one of the guys on the phone between 30 and 50 people is a possibility and he said he'd be happy to sort something out. He said he'd give me a buzz when he got the rates from Sky.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

FFPW have a show in Bray on the Sunday at 6pm, it's to go with the Fergal Devitt training sessions going on at the weekend. Might be an idea to get everyone that is going to 'Mania meet up to also attend the show? When would we get a chance to have a mass collection of us again when a wrestling show is in town?

Very unlikely I'd be in Dublin till 9ish sadly

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Justin Ternet

You're all more than welcome to come along lads. Its really just a gym show but its free in, it'll have some great talent on board and its always is great craic if nothing else. Hey you could start drinking early and make a day of it. And my mrs works for paypal if anyone has any questions i'll ask her or get her to comment here.

That's very kind of you. Thanks Justin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Have you got any more info on this TBC? Bray is just down the road from me.

www.thebostoncrab.net

first story there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Very unlikely I'd be in Dublin till 9ish sadly

Bullshít. The only reason you are organising this and will be in Dublin is because yuo will be front and centre at the Westlife gig that night at the o2.

Don't bother denying it.

Oh, actually just noticed the article doesn't give the location of FFPWs gym, whoops!

It's here:

http://www.fightfactoryprowrestling.com/training.html

gimmick wrote: »
    Bullshít. The only reason you are organising this and will be in Dublin is because yuo will be front and centre at the Westlife gig that night at the o2.

Don't bother denying it.

I was at the Bieber concert yesterday too. Best thing since The Script.

An update on another possibility for watching the PPV. Dublin Citi Hotel was in contact with me again. Here's the story:
    Hi John,

You can let me know how interest progresses & I will make a plan for you. If there is a big group, we can offer discount rates on rooms or if not, a very small price per person for the screening but if the group is large I can screen it for free & offer good rates on rooms.

Keep in touch & let me know if there is anything I can do in the meantime.

Thanks for considering Citi Bar Dame Street, we look forward to welcoming you soon!

I'd probably stay in that hotel anyway as they have been very nice so far and reasonable rates.

Here'a another place I was in contact with. Bewleys Hotel.
    Dear John,

I have been sent your request regarding the Pay-per-view event in our bar. We would be happy to accommodate you, although I would have to check the price as it is more expensive in a licensed premises. If you could let me know the date and details, and how many rooms you would be looking at I can get the prices and give you an overall quote. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

James Creasey
    General Manager

So basically the story is we have a few options but we need to know in the region of how many people will be there. We're just guessing at this stage.

At the moment, if peader kearneys offer us a deal like what they did for the supwerbowl(food, drinks etc) then they are the best bet.

Justin, can you ask the missus how hard is it to set up a paypal account without having a credit card?
    Just using it to get paid straight into a bank account?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

New poll to be added in a few moments.