Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

Talking of bathing your pets we realised today that our African grey parrot will only have his bath when his cage is clean and I'm hoovering the sitting room :confused: everytime I turn the Hoover off he stops bathing.... Random bird :D

We had a cockatiel who would spread her wings and hang almost upside down on her perch when she'd hear you add something to a hot frying pan of oil, I think the noise of the sizzling made her think it was lashing rains so she'd try to wash herself in the 'rain' :D

Shanao wrote: »
    Dontcha just love it when the rain clears just enough that you say, "Right lads, walk time" and it lashes about five minutes out of the house and rains through the entire walk until you're about ten feet from home upon which it miraculously clears again. I'd swear... this bloody weather has it in for me.

Call me crazy but sometimes I enjoy the odd walk in the rain, not on a cold day but when it's warm out and rains I don't really mind walking in it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

The pup usually gets into his basket and digs his cushion into a ball till he decides it is comfortable enough to sleep in but tonight he decides he wasnt going to until he dragged it out of the corner over to the kitchen table right beside my chair where he duly got in and fell asleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

We're just back from the vet & Phoes 2nd clear skin scrape. One more and he's officially better.

We walked in and the vet didn't recognise him, he thought it was another dog. He got his first vaccination and we're discussing neutering too. So he's well on the way to full health and re-homing. So proud of the little fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

Yay so pleased for him. You have been doing incredible work I am so impressed. I love following your updates on here and facebook :)

No incredible work from me at all I'm afraid. All I have to do is give him a cosy bed and put up with him moaning when he's hungry (he follows me around grumbling when hungry).

Fab work by Animals First in Kilcullen though, and Sarah for giving him a chance when so many others wouldn't.

The little guy is so worth it. I've never met a more eager to please and easily pleased dog. He ignores my cats, loves kids, loves cuddles, great with other dogs, picks things up very quickly, knows when he'll get away with selective deafness, always looks so incredibly pleased to see you and has recently taken up mousing :rolleyes:. He'll make a great pet. (enquires to EGAR ;))

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

Sounds great Whispered, hope he finds the best possible home. And well done for all the work you put in.
    I have considered fostering and I'd like to try in the future when I have more time and money, but I don't think I'd be able to give them up:o

Why is it you never have a camera when you need one?

Just went upstairs to see where the dogs had disappeared to, little one asleep beside my daughter, other one in MY bed legs in the air, head on my pillow snoring loudly.
    My laugh woke him and he just sighed and wagged his tail, before slinking off the bed with his eyes averted.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

That's great news Whispered, Phoenix is such a dote. Ye done so well with him.

Had the best phone call earlier, we will be adopting an 8 month old Staffie next week :D

TillyGirl wrote: »

Had the best phone call earlier, we will be adopting an 8 month old Staffie next week :D

Congratulations!!

Rain??? Hhhmmm vaguely remember that stuff :D

Thankfully it hasn't rained here in ages... I'm loving the sunshine have even managed to leave some of jazz's agility set up in the garden :D

Well we are now paying the price for my smugness.... it is pouring out of the heavens and we got soaked 3 times today :(

aah well at least Jazz and Boe love the rain :D

I have two tickets for a tour of the Aviva Stadium, they expire Wednesday and I didnt get around to using them.

Anyone want them? I have them on email and as long as you use them so they dont go to waste anyone can have them!

Tillygirl has just reminded me I have a 10euro off voucher for a 15kg bag of redmills. If anyone feeds their dogs that and wants it send, me a PM and I'll post it. It's no good to me as I don't feed my guys that :D

Anyone know how much a 15kg bag of red mills usually is? I might take it and buy a bag for a local rescue if no-one else wants it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

ha! I have 2 €10 off leader bags that I posted about ages ago and no takers.......noone must like Leader, or money off;)

they are usually €38 I think

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Gotta share this:

At training on Sunday with Gus. The trainer had overbooked the class a little, with six dogs total instead of her usual limit of 5.

So there's my Gus (mongrel :) ), who doesn't bark.
    There's a Kelpie who barks like it's going out of fashion.
    There's a wee whippet who yips quite adorably.
    There's a boxer bitch with a big bark.
    There's a small black collie cross and she's not saying much either.

So we're all in the shed awaiting the start of class and trying to get our dogs to settle, against a cacophany of barking, and the trainer says 'Okay, now John's going to bring in Kotip, and Kotip is a bit big, he's an Ovcharka, they're a guardian breed, so for that reason please don't approach Kotip or John without permission, and keep your dogs back during today's training too.

I got all excited - never thought I'd see an Ovcharka. Thought it might be a Caucasian Ovcharka, trainer confirms he's a Central Asian Ovcharka, and then, in the manner of Jurassic Park, all we hear outside the shed, is:

WOOF

Everyone stops. The dogs shut up. Then again:

WOOF

Now all eyes are on the door in the corner, the dogs are suddenly silent, and in comes John with Kotip, who's about 80kgs. Seriously impressive dog.

For those who've never seen or heard of one, they're a livestock and property guard dog that come in a variety of colours, but this guy looked like someone had taken a St Bernard and stretched him over a Great Dane frame - just in terms of height and shape, but then colouring and coat more like the St Bernard.

Most of the dogs in the room weren't too interested, and all Gus wanted to do was play with him. Nice idea, but even at his reasonable medium size, Gus'd be a snack to this fella and he wasn't really getting good vibes in response to his wiggling overtures, so I had to drag him away from his potential new friend, at least at this early stage. :D

Only time I ever saw our wee JRT/Bassett cross overfaced was when someone brought their Newfie round. Wee dog ran up to the bear, ready to tackle it then realised the size, then kind of gulped as her head moved slowly up to the massive head. It was a sweet moment indeed

Any other animally people up at this hour?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Whispered wrote: »
    Any other animally people up at this hour?

Nope I went to bed 15 mins ago :p

My doggies had their favourite half hour of the week watching Baboons with Bill Bailey - three sets of eyes transfixed on the telly. I will have to go on the web & record the episodes that they missed.

I think it's because Baboons look & can sound doggy but also appear like humans. When they watch dog programs my Greyhound barks but with the Baboons she stares in silence - I would love to know what she is thinking.

They also love Send in the Dogs !.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

he's an Ovcharka,
    A new one for me Sweeper thanks.Amazing looking madra (dog in Irish...are ya Irish or Ozzie?? :D)

Talked to an owner today about her shedding Labradoodle. Me being a ditz forgot not all Labdoodles are non shedders due to the "skipped" gene! I was hungover and forgot thats why. Annoyed with myself for giving possible "summer coat shedding" as a reason. Ah well....

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭slashygoodness

We have 2 St Bernese who are already at 40Kg aged 7.5 months.

One day on the way back from DTI I noticed two guys in the car behind staring at my two - they love to sit with heads on back of seat and watch out the back window. Coming up to the roundabout the guys pulled along side and shouted across to me " Jezus love, did you know you have two bears in the back".

Sam of course took offense at being called a bear and turned to the guy and WOOFED at him. His response was to quickly pull his head back in the car and shout: "F#ck, yogi is going to eat me!".

I nearly crashed the car because I was laughing so much.....

Got some sad news from my Dad today, their little JRT mix went missing about a month ago, they live in a v.rural area and they searched high and low for her, even got their other dog to help to see if he could find her as they were inseperable but they couldn't find her.
    Well today my Dad was clearing out some reeds from the stream beside their house and he found her but she was dead:( She hadn't been there in the week or so after she'd gone missing as they searched there everyday, he thinks she must have been injured and tried to make it home but just couldn't get up the side of the bank. The really tragic thing is she was only metres away from the my parents front door but they didn't know she was there. Their 2 dogs were called Jack and Jill, they now have poor Jack but no Jill, so sad:(:(:(

RIP Jill xxxx

Ah that's terrible. Poor little Jill. How is Jack doing without his buddy?

Heartbroken, he still goes out to look for her, it's really sad. I feel bad for my parents too, they are feeling so guilt ridden, Jill had a really bad start in life so they went that extra mile to give her a great life in the years they had her but they can't get rid of the feeling that she deserved a better death:(
    All I can say to them is that at least there is an end to the search they don't have to look for her every time they leave the house and in every little back and white dog who catches their eye.
    My Dad buried her at the end of the garden, in her favourite spot where she used to sit for hours stalking birds (we think she thought she was a cat sometimes). Just makes me want to give my 3 an extra cuddle :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Aw the poor thing, and your poor parents too! The little OCD part of my brain wouldn't allow me to cope with that at all, the fact that she made it so close to home :(. I once sat in a field with a little pony for a week after he lost his friend, he kept galloping off in the direction of any small noise and gave a snort of annoyance when he realised it wasn't him, didn't really know what to do at the time but I think now I probably should have let him 'see' that he was gone. At the time though I thought it might make him worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I'm babysitting three dogs (mine, the families and my sisters) and I have to find a way to walk them, but there's only one lead in the house at the moment... and it's pink and glittery! Help! :p

Just finished grooming my Japanese Spitz, only took an hour :rolleyes::D

Who'd thought some much hair could have come off that sized dog!!!!

SP_A0253.jpg

SP_A0254.jpg

Ben after grooming.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I am so impressed with my little chap. He spent over two hours at a local event being mauled by children (kids that he had never met before) including being teased with food. He didn't put a foot wrong & never stopped wagging his tail.

Well I have discovered today that neetle stings hurt such as much as an adult as they did as a kid :(

Jazz my youngest JRT got herself stuck in a rough and wild part of the field we walk in, she managed to climb up part of a tree so she could see me but there was no way she could get out so I had to go in and get her... I was wearing knee length shorts and a pair of runners and facing about 10 metres of wilderness:eek:
    I tried to get Boe my springer to go ahead of me to make a path but didn't have any joy with that so I had to try and stomp down the neetles and brambles and just brave it.

I seriously considered ringing home and getting someone to bring down my wellies and rain trousers but figured it would take too long and she was starting to get upset and crying a bit so in I went.

We are all home safe and sound, although the poster who asked can dogs be stung by neetles? they definitely can, Jazz has little or no fur on her belly and is covered in welts now, but it doesn't seem to be bothering her nearly as much as my legs are bothering me :rolleyes:

The things we do for our dogs eh? :D

but it doesn't seem to be bothering her nearly as much as my legs are bothering me :rolleyes:

Sounds like a very stressful day! I'd prefer to have briar scrapes than nettle stings. They're horrible.

I remember asking my dad as a kid do dogs feel nettle stings, my dad (a man of few words) said "yes they do" and I asked why they walk into nettles then and people wont and he said "because dogs just get on with things". So, belongtojazz, just get on with things :p

Ah no seriously though, I hope you both feel better soon. Poor little Jazz with a welted belly. It must be very uncomfortable. :(

Little Phoe was neutered on Friday. And as he is "the easiest dog ever" he's healing well, leaving his stitches alone and happily pottering around.

Harley and I are starting basic obedience on Saturday :) I'm imagining him being difficult and stubborn and forgetting the fact that he already knows all of the basic commands. He'll likely try drag me here and there to meet other dogs :rolleyes: I'm actually a bit nervous.

Well I have discovered today that neetle stings hurt such as much as an adult as they did as a kid :(

That sounds horrible, poor you and your little dog :(
    Harley and I are starting basic obedience on Saturday.

Good luck with the classes. I was meant to be going to a basic obedience/socialising class Sunday morning but was sick Sat & Sun with flu and literally couldnt move. Hated missing it but nothing I could have done :(

Met the nicest guy when we were out for our walk yesterday, he was there with his son and their 21 month old boxer. Came over to admire Lexi, said how gorgeous she is and what a stupid law it is that she has to be muzzled in public. Was nice that it was acknowledged by a stranger :)

Thank god those two threads are gone, they were really getting on my wick :mad:

Little JRT foster gone to get spayed this morning :( hopefully all will be well and she'll be back to me tonight. Dont know how the hell I am going to keep her still though, she is the springiest dog ever. All I can think is to leave her in her crate in the kitchen and all other dogs in the sitting room as much as possible.