Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

Sheepdog trials on TG4, but have had to turn it over because the pup doesn't like the whistling and shouting, I think he thinks he's supposed to be working:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

Well my lovely little Jazz got attacked yet again this evening while we were out on our walk, I get so mad with people who let aggresive dogs out on there own :(

Thankfully Jazz is okay but I managed to get myself bitten while pulling the other dog off her, have 5 nice puncture marks on my hand.
    Am very grateful that it was only a small yoke that went for her this time. Unfortunately Jazz will always retaliate to aggression with aggression which means when a dog snarls at her she will respond.... something else I need to work on :(

Dogs must have amazingly thick skin as the teeth marks I have are quite deep and this dog was hanging off Jazz's neck and she hasn't a mark :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Ah poor Jazz and poor you! you've had a stressful few days with the nettles and now this. How is she now?

Are you going to see a doctor about your bite? The dog was totally alone or off-lead with an owner around?

Whispered wrote: »
    Ah poor Jazz and poor you! you've had a stressful few days with the nettles and now this. How is she now?

Are you going to see a doctor about your bite? The dog was totally alone or off-lead with an owner around?

We really have had a rough week, fingers crossed this is it for us, not sure either of us can take anymore. She seems absolutely fine, like nothing happened.
    Don't think I need a doctor (tbh I don't ever go unless I'm at deaths door) I've rinsed it really well and smothered it in germolene, am just worried wether it's going to stiffen up overnight and make it difficult to drive to work tomorrow :eek:

The dog was completely alone as far as I could see and it wasn't one I recognise. I know most of the wanderers in this area quite a few regularly join us on our walks :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Well Poppy met her first tick this weekend, unfortunately he invited his whole family for the occasion, I even had nightmares about them last night, freeky little buggers, bleugh!!! A good stiff dose of frontline and they have started dropping off, seemed the best way with so many rather than annoying her trying to get them out when I don't have the right tool for job, I counted 8 :mad: Guess who isn't sleeping in my bed tonight :p

That's what you get for disobeying coilte's keep dogs on leads signs, Karma comes back and bites you, literally!

We really have had a rough week, fingers crossed this is it for us, not sure either of us can take anymore. She seems absolutely fine, like nothing happened.
    Don't think I need a doctor (tbh I don't ever go unless I'm at deaths door) I've rinsed it really well and smothered it in germolene, am just worried wether it's going to stiffen up overnight and make it difficult to drive to work tomorrow :eek:

The dog was completely alone as far as I could see and it wasn't one I recognise. I know most of the wanderers in this area quite a few regularly join us on our walks :rolleyes:

Take good care of it, any sign of infection and straight to the GP or the hospital. I hope you don't meet the same dog again, if you didn't know it, I wonder if it has been dumped locally?:(
    Well Poppy met her first tick this weekend, unfortunately he invited his whole family for the occasion, I even had nightmares about them last night, freeky little buggers, bleugh!!! A good stiff dose of frontline and they have started dropping off, seemed the best way with so many rather than annoying her trying to get them out when I don't have the right tool for job, I counted 8 :mad: Guess who isn't sleeping in my bed tonight :p

That's what you get for disobeying coilte's keep dogs on leads signs, Karma comes back and bites you, literally!

We had 2 ticks this weekend, but we weren't disobeying any by laws:p
    Love your reasoning.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Eyeore

Yuck I hate ticks. I always use Frontline early spring, best thing ever to prevent them. Do it then again in middle of summer and that usually does the trick.
    I just gave my girl about an hour of brushing while the kids were asleep. The amount of hair that comes off her is unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Started the cat on zylkene (kitty valium :D) today and so far she's attacked the dog twice and tried to climb up the curtains! :eek:

Oh ye just reminded me the dog is due flea/tick spot on, hate ticks nasty ugly little buggers creep me out. :eek:

Zapperzy wrote: »
    Started the cat on zylkene (kitty valium :D) today and so far she's attacked the dog twice and tried to climb up the curtains! :eek:

Oh ye just reminded me the dog is due flea/tick spot on, hate ticks nasty ugly little buggers creep me out. :eek:

Good to see its working:D

I have never ever ever felt this tired. another hour and 15 mins before I can leave to go home, an hour drive then have to bring boys for a walk. I just want my bed :(

Hope you're feeling better Whispered

I have been sitting in Dub airport now for 4 hours soooooo bored :o

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Colleague came in work today saying he saw a car drive by and the passenger threw out two pups, one got run over and the other one fled away :mad:
    F*cking scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

F**kin scum :mad: christ alive I wouldnt be able to control myself if I seen that and managed to get near them.

GSPCA had a 4 week old kitten put through their letterbox in their shop while they were inside.:( imagine being that much of a coward.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shanao

Probably a sign that I need to go get some sleep, but I've only just noticed a nice patch of dried in slobber on the shoulder of my shirt. Damn dog, he gets me when I least expect it. He has a tendency to rest his head on my shoulder while I'm driving, even when he's seatbelted the bugger can reach.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Colleague came in work today saying he saw a car drive by and the passenger threw out two pups, one got run over and the other one fled away :mad:
    F*cking scumbags.
    TillyGirl wrote: »
    F**kin scum :mad: christ alive I wouldnt be able to control myself if I seen that and managed to get near them.

GSPCA had a 4 week old kitten put through their letterbox in their shop while they were inside.:( imagine being that much of a coward.

The worst thing is people are not surprised to hear of things like this :(

I started obedience with Harley today. I'm actually very proud of him, he was much better behaved than I expected. He only started doing his silly jumping around when the trainer was demonstrating how to stop them jumping. She him to get excited and jump and Harley was ever so happy to oblige. AS SOON as she got in any way animated Harlye turned from "sleep at your feet dog" to "drag you across the mats while everyone laughs" dog :o

There were some gorgeous dogs - one little boxer girl who was mad as a brush, just gorgeous.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

I got a stark reminder today of how quickly a potentially serious situation can pop up :(

I finally gave in last week and took my dog to a groomer with strict instructions that she was to be hand-stripped and I didn't want clippers anywhere near her. Got back something resembling a Jack Russell :mad:. Anyway no-one else turned up at agility 2day and she wasn't really happy with the entertainment value and decided to make her own, I was also banned form using treats and the dog whistle for the day so had neither on my person. Beside the arena is a field complete with horse, a variety of wildlife and there was a buzzard sat on a telegraph pole at the furtherest away part of the field.

She discovered some rabbit poo in the arena and became rather fascinated by it and sniffed her way up to the fence (sheepwire), now whisker-less she soon discovered she could easily fit through the holes and before I knew it she headed for the hedge and next thing there were rabbits running in all directions, she then took off at full pelt up the field to the corner where the buzzard was sat earlier :eek:. It took ages to get her back since she had just discovered a huge new field to run round and has never met a rabbit before. I was a bit like a headless chicken trying to pinpoint where she was, where the rabbits were, where the horse was and constantly looking skyward for the biggest threat. Thankfully the venue will be relocated in 2 weeks, so agility on a lead until then :mad:

I just wanted to mention the passing of Anne Fitzgerald. A volunteer with Cork Animal Care society. Very sad at the passing of a lovely lady who was never too busy for a chat, also very sad for the rescuers of Ireland who have lost a very important member.

For the people who believe in an afterlife, you can't help but imagine the reception she'd have gotten after her life of giving.

RIP Anne. xx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

Buzzard wouldn't have bothered your dog in any way. Rabbit scent on the other hand, like a mixture of cocaine and rocket fuel for a dog. Had flint out a few weeks back in a grass field that was well encloses and plenty of rabbits. Luckily enough he dropped to the whistle no problem even though he was mad to go after a few bunnys he was looking at.

homerhop wrote: »
    Buzzard wouldn't have bothered your dog in any way. Rabbit scent on the other hand, like a mixture of cocaine and rocket fuel for a dog. Had flint out a few weeks back in a grass field that was well encloses and plenty of rabbits. Luckily enough he dropped to the whistle no problem even though he was mad to go after a few bunnys he was looking at.

I wasn't too sure how the horse would be with a mad Westie running round his feet as he wouldn't be used to getting up that close and personal, I was more expecting the buzzard to go for the fleeing rabbits but it did cross my mind that a white 6kg dog might catch its eye easily enough and I've heard some people claim they would try to carry a dead lamb off. I had that horrible feeling that something bad was going to go down, just wasn't sure what :rolleyes: Everybody lived to tell the tale though so it was all fine in the end.

Don't think I need a doctor (tbh I don't ever go unless I'm at deaths door)

Well I guess I was wrong about needing the doctor... I'm currently on my second course of antiboitics and using a cream and still can't use my hand fully :(

Unfortunately one of the teeth marks got quite badly infected and I have a ugly painful green lump now on the palm of my hand which is still spreading. If I ever meet the owner of that dog they owe me over 100euro for doctors visits and treatment :(

It has also quite badly affected Jazz she is much much less tolerant of other dogs growling at her and has even had a go at my other 2 terriers a couple of times over the last couple of weeks where before she would have just ignored them giving out to her now she seems to feel like she has to retaliate. I have had to keep her and 1 of our other girls in seperate rooms today as they just kept at each other all day :eek:

On a really positive note though I actually got Boe playing fetch today in the field:D. This guy is nearly 9 years old and he's only now learning how to have fun, it didn't last too long as he has the attention span of a gnat but we had a brilliant time :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

Spent the day up at Shanes Castle, great to see dog agility, mushing and retreiver trials all at the one show.

Myself, the 2 oldest girls (age 6 & 4) and the dog went to an agricultural show yesterday, the 2 girls each entered a class in the dog show. The older girl went first and they didn't place, the younger one told her it was ok because she still got a rosette and if she won any money on her turn she would half it with her, of course she won the terrier class and came out with a big red rosette grinning from ear to ear and announced that she had changed her mind about sharing the money but just forgot to tell her before hand . . . . world war 3 ensued and we all had to go home without waiting for the final :rolleyes:

homerhop wrote: »
    Spent the day up at Shanes Castle, great to see dog agility, mushing and retreiver trials all at the one show.

I was there yesterday, with the Tails 'n' Trails crew, had a good day.

belongtojazz, sorry, should have multiquoted. Take care of that wound, do exactly what your doctor tells you, it is frightening how quickly a bite like that can become badly infected. If it goes red, and that starts spreading, get medical treatment immediately. I hope the experience doesn't change Jazz completely, maybe she's just feeling a bit cranky:(

ISDW wrote: »
    I was there yesterday, with the Tails 'n' Trails crew, had a good day.

belongtojazz, sorry, should have multiquoted. Take care of that wound, do exactly what your doctor tells you, it is frightening how quickly a bite like that can become badly infected. If it goes red, and that starts spreading, get medical treatment immediately. I hope the experience doesn't change Jazz completely, maybe she's just feeling a bit cranky:(

All seems to be on the mend here thanks.... wound is no longer yeuchy green colour and seems to finally have started healing and Jazz is getting back to herself.
    She's still a bit short tempered with our other dogs but doesn't seem bothered when she sees new dogs. So am working on improving relations at home :o

Might start a thread to get advice on how to stop her taking every growl as an invitation to get stuck in... she's a bit highly strung our Jazz :o

:mad: Ok this is getting fecking ridiculous now!!! I was just out at my car to close the windows and Jazz was with me. My neighbour walked up with her golden lab who launched herself at Jazz and shook her like a rag doll. I had to pull the lab off her.
    I really believe the lab would have killed Jazz as there was no way she was letting go.

My neighbour has promised to get a muzzle for her lab as this is not the first time she's done this and I've asked her to get someone in to work with her, they have another dog, a gogeous pup about 6 months old and they need to do something before he ends up like the older dog.

This is getting beyond a joke now, I am so upset I just want to cry.
    Poor Jazz was shaking and yelping when I picked her and while not seriously injured is clearly in some pain.
    I'm going to see how she goes overnight but if she's still in pain tomorrow she's going to the vet and my neighbour will be getting the bill :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

GOd BtoJ where in the world do you live??? With a load of muppets around you by the sounds of it!
    Poor Jazz and poor you. It is easier to be attached yourself that to watch your little dog being attacked:(.

i hope you are both ok today and defo give that neighbour the bill!:(

ppink wrote: »
    GOd BtoJ where in the world do you live??? With a load of muppets around you by the sounds of it!
    Poor Jazz and poor you. It is easier to be attached yourself that to watch your little dog being attacked:(.

i hope you are both ok today and defo give that neighbour the bill!:(

You'd think it was a dog fighting den we live in rather than a supposedly nice established residential area the way we've been going recently :mad:

Poor Jazz is still feeling very sorry for herself and we can't touch her thigh as it clearly hurts her judging from the yelps. She's happy enough to go for a walk but it is a walk rather than her usual tearing around.
    I'm going to go along to training tonight but really only so she can socialise as I don't think she'll be up to jumping but I can't risk letting her socialise around here for now and I need to rebuild her confidence.

My poor baby :(

Ah jesus poor Jazz. Have you spoken to the neighbour since? It's a shame; such an incident can have such a knock on effect, and the other dogs owner could well be thinking that it's fine because she's physically ok.

How is she now? and how did training go?

We were at training yesterday, there is a westie there who seems very nervous about other dogs and was training in a little hidden away area, I don't know if she'd attack or just get very scared as I was across the room. Anyway we were walking past her area and Harley started growling lightly under the door :eek: I've never heard him at crap like that before. Westie could well have been growling at him but still, not right.

There was a very vocal dog or 2 at the class, all pretty young. All with high pitched barks. One started, then another, next this Harley let a big deep "mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm rouffff" It echoed off the walls, it startled everyone and I was terribly embarrassed. He was just joining in but he sounds very different.

We did have a lovely morning though, off walking at the lakes. The weather was fab and Phoe had his first proper swim. I've gotten a new camera and having a great time trying it out. 400 pics yesterday :o.

Today we're being lazy and relaxing out the back with some food and drink (ignoring the really long grass). Our walk will have to wait until tonight when it cools a bit. It's really feeling like summer isn't it.

Whispered wrote: »
    Ah jesus poor Jazz. Have you spoken to the neighbour since? It's a shame; such an incident can have such a knock on effect, and the other dogs owner could well be thinking that it's fine because she's physically ok.

How is she now? and how did training go?

We were at training yesterday, there is a westie there who seems very nervous about other dogs and was training in a little hidden away area, I don't know if she'd attack or just get very scared as I was across the room. Anyway we were walking past her area and Harley started growling lightly under the door :eek: I've never heard him at crap like that before. Westie could well have been growling at him but still, not right.

There was a very vocal dog or 2 at the class, all pretty young. All with high pitched barks. One started, then another, next this Harley let a big deep "mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm rouffff" It echoed off the walls, it startled everyone and I was terribly embarrassed. He was just joining in but he sounds very different.

We did have a lovely morning though, off walking at the lakes. The weather was fab and Phoe had his first proper swim. I've gotten a new camera and having a great time trying it out. 400 pics yesterday :o.

Today we're being lazy and relaxing out the back with some food and drink (ignoring the really long grass). Our walk will have to wait until tonight when it cools a bit. It's really feeling like summer isn't it.

Hhhmmm not sure how she is to be honest:confused: physically she seems to be ok, still tender but back to running around, otherwise though she is a nightmare :( her recall is gone completely out the window it is like having a pup again, she looks at me when I call her and then runs the other way:o I have put a huge effort into training her and it would appear I'm back to square 1. I may be antomorphing (no idea how to spell it) but maybe she's blaming me for not protecting her and then for hurting her further by picking her up when she was injured? either way back to the long lead and lots of field time :eek: She seems ok with other dogs but a lot more submissive than she used to be but I think with time and lots of interaction (and no more attacks) that will resolve itself.

I've spoken to my neighbour since and was not impressed to say the least. I told her Jazz had been quite badly hurt and that I had had to bring her to the vet for pain relief and her response was almost dismissive. Didn't even attempt to offer to pay.... that really annoyed me, when my springer got into someones binbags I cleaned up replaced the bags with extras and bought chocs as an apology, this womans dog tried to kill mine and I get shrugged shoulders and an " i'm glad she's ok" aaaarrrrggggh.

Ok rant over:D

On another note as Jazz was not up to her agility class yesterday I decided to see how the big bad Boe fancied it, bearing in mind this guy is nearly 9 I wasn't expecting brilliant things from him but he actually did quite while. A couple of his neurosis came to the fore... he wouldn't go over a jump if it meant landing in grass and he was straight up to the gate at every chance, but the only time he barked was when one of the other dogs, a gorgeous GS/Rottie cross thought he looked like a girl and tried to hump him... a collie tried as well may be time to get his hair cut again :D

How is Harley getting on with his training? I used to get embarrassed by my pair occasionally but gave up on that in the end as I reckon I was going to be tomato red for the rest of my life if I didn't just accept that my dogs are just plain bonkers lol:p

How is Jazz doing now? Have you seen or spoken to the neighbour since?

On another note as Jazz was not up to her agility class yesterday I decided to see how the big bad Boe fancied it, bearing in mind this guy is nearly 9 I wasn't expecting brilliant things from him but he actually did quite while. A couple of his neurosis came to the fore... he wouldn't go over a jump if it meant landing in grass and he was straight up to the gate at every chance, but the only time he barked was when one of the other dogs, a gorgeous GS/Rottie cross thought he looked like a girl and tried to hump him... a collie tried as well may be time to get his hair cut again :D

How is Harley getting on with his training? I used to get embarrassed by my pair occasionally but gave up on that in the end as I reckon I was going to be tomato red for the rest of my life if I didn't just accept that my dogs are just plain bonkers lol:p

I'm surprised you brought another dog. That's a great idea. Is it easy to get them doing? I think Harley would be great at it. He has so much energy and is very happy to please, interested in new things etc. I might give it a try once we've finished the basic obedience.

Obedience is ok, last one now tomorrow. I'm finding it so hard to find proper time for practise at home though. Working 4 nights a week so I'm shattered during the day. My oh exercises them mainly, and he's all gung ho - they swam for 20 mins, chased the ball, had a great run with Jake and Molly etc etc but no proper lead walk. :rolleyes:

He already has very good obedience (at home). He knows all of the usual sit stay etc. Our issue is really that of keeping his attention when he's out. So his recall and lead walking is perfect in the centre, because he sees that this is training time and he's having fun. But as soon as it comes to being out and about, he'll be good until something interesting happens then he pulls or doesn't come back immediately. We did get some great lead walking tips though, and saw that he actually does know what is expected from him, he's just learned that he doesn't have to do it. Also some tips on how to teach him to greet guests with a bit of respect instead of him diving around. So I guess we need the training not Harley. :o

We're planning a camping trip this saturday, and hope to have some good news on an animally matter of which I will say no more until definate ;) , so all in all looking forward to the weekend. I think the weather is to improve too.