Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dental tourism hungary

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Ogre Mage

Hi MajorMax, I heard about dentistry in Budapest. My teeth are crooked, and Irish dentists want a greedy lot from me. You say you and your wife found a good dentist in budapest? if you could be so kind as to PM me who they are please, I would be very grateful. My searching has brought up a few names, but I would rather go with someone who is at least partially verified. It would be nice to be able to smile without having that downer when the other person's eyes click to my teeth then dash away and pretend they didnt notice lol, I hate smiling and that aint right XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Ogre Mage wrote: »
    Hi MajorMax, I heard about dentistry in Budapest. My teeth are crooked, and Irish dentists want a greedy lot from me. You say you and your wife found a good dentist in budapest? if you could be so kind as to PM me who they are please, I would be very grateful. My searching has brought up a few names, but I would rather go with someone who is at least partially verified. It would be nice to be able to smile without having that downer when the other person's eyes click to my teeth then dash away and pretend they didnt notice lol, I hate smiling and that aint right XD

Read the entire thread, value for money is about more than initial cost. Good luck

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

Wow. You didn't read this thread at all really, did you?

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Ogre Mage

I read twice before posting. My experience of Irish dentists has been disheartening, and they always try to overcharge like hell. You two are dentists? well done, If I was, maybe I would be scaremongering too. Drop the impliciation that 'Irish dentists are great'. I needed braces as a kid, but my dentist told me I didnt (I was on a medical card, less profitable for them, less room for whimsical pricing). Every time I smile, i feel the ugliness, and if I'm real happy, my upper lip gets stuck above the tooth and I have to move it back down with my hand. That bastard. More recently, I chipped a tooth and had it rebuilt some, then it chipped again a little at the top, so sharp pain when anything cold is in my mouth, and my now dfferent dentist, told me it didnt need rebuilding. I shouldn't have to convince him if he doesnt take my word for it. Anyway, I have been saving for ceramic braces, I'm told if my teeth are re aligned then braced with these for a few years, I will have a very nice smile, the kind I could have enjoyed all this time if not for that bastard. So, 8 grand is a lot for a young man with important things dipping into my savings (No, not drugs drink or clubs, they hold 0 interest to me). Will I be 30 by the time I can smile in front of other people without feeling that sinking feeling when they inadvertently gawk? And seeing how this is the least my worries, yeah, I want to go to a qualified European dentist who vaules my business not like Irish dentists who pick and choose to their heart's content, and set their prices as high as their whim takes them. And that's why I'm here looking for someone who has had a happy ending with shopping outside of our beloved 'Ripoff Ireland'. MajorMax please PM me and save me from this thread scarecrows.

Ok then....best of luck. Hope it doesnt happen to you but if it does let me take photos to put up here and warn those willing to heed a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

I read twice before posting. My experience of Irish dentists has been disheartening, and they always try to overcharge like hell. You two are dentists? well done, If I was, maybe I would be scaremongering too. Drop the impliciation that 'Irish dentists are great'. I needed braces as a kid, but my dentist told me I didnt (I was on a medical card, less profitable for them, less room for whimsical pricing). Every time I smile, i feel the ugliness, and if I'm real happy, my upper lip gets stuck above the tooth and I have to move it back down with my hand. That bastard. More recently, I chipped a tooth and had it rebuilt some, then it chipped again a little at the top, so sharp pain when anything cold is in my mouth, and my now dfferent dentist, told me it didnt need rebuilding. I shouldn't have to convince him if he doesnt take my word for it. Anyway, I have been saving for ceramic braces, I'm told if my teeth are re aligned then braced with these for a few years, I will have a very nice smile, the kind I could have enjoyed all this time if not for that bastard. So, 8 grand is a lot for a young man with important things dipping into my savings (No, not drugs drink or clubs, they hold 0 interest to me). Will I be 30 by the time I can smile in front of other people without feeling that sinking feeling when they inadvertently gawk? And seeing how this is the least my worries, yeah, I want to go to a qualified European dentist who vaules my business not like Irish dentists who pick and choose to their heart's content, and set their prices as high as their whim takes them. And that's why I'm here looking for someone who has had a happy ending with shopping outside of our beloved 'Ripoff Ireland'. MajorMax please PM me and save me from this thread scarecrows.

Ogre Mage, just a few points.

Firstly, you are not a patient of any of the dentists who post here and despite what people would like to think the number of people who are travelling abroad for treatment (Hungary and North) though perhaps increasing is still a minute percentage of the population and the numbers of patinets we see each year so don't think for a second we post here to try and improve our business, we don't. Furthermore I couldn't care less if you go abroad.

Secondly, as the Health Boards covered treatment for kids up to 16 I suspect you are talking about a Health Board dentist not providing your ortho treatment, to clarify, it made absolutely no difference financially to the dentist whether he/she carried out ortho treatment on you, they are public servants who are paid by contract not by fee per item of work. The dentists remuneration for treatment was not a deciding factor.

Thirdly, as any reader will tell you, orthodontic treatment can take one to two years especially in severe malocclusions and adults. Multiple adjustments of the appliances are needed usually on a two monthly basis so you could have to return to Hungary 10 times during treatment, good luck with that.

As for setting prices high, as with everything the market sets the price and at the moment market forces are pushing prices down.

So Bon Voyage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Going to Hungary for ortho is madness, don't forget to factor in the cost of a return flight each and every time you need an archware changed/bracket replaced, not to mention the time off work (presuming you do work) you'll need.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭hg03 eyu

You say you needed braces as a kid and you were "on a medical card" when you attended your dentist. The medical card never provided for orthodontic treatment for either children or adults. In fact the medical card never provided for any treatment for children under 16.

Children, as already stated, are assessed by salaried health board dentists for suitability for orthodontic treatment. There exists an orthodontic scale ranking patients from 0 to 5 according to severity of orthodontic need. Only the more severe orthodontic cases ranked 4 and 5 are eligible for treatment by the health boards. Evan then the are waiting lists for these patients.

Therefore, if you were under 16 at the time your dentist was merely telling you that you case was not severe enough to qualify for the health board treatment. If you were over 16 then you could not get any orthodontic treatment if the health board.

I had a patient once that started orthodontic treatment in Northern Ireland but decided that not to continue treatment and wanted me to remove her braces. I contacted my insurance company for advice and they advised me not to get involved with that patient.

It is difficult for people who have never spend much on their teeth their entire life and now need a big job done to be put off at the cost. People who have had some work before tend to know whats involved and the ins and outs of it, and also know that things go wrong, chip, break, need to be replaced and refined.

It these somewhat "ignorantly knowledgable" people that the tourism companies prey on. The prospective tourist feels empowered because they have "discovered" a way to spend less buy using the internet or shopping around without ever having to discover the details of what is to be done to their bodies. You will be feed some good sounding technical details about zirconia, implant quality and success rates, metals used etc and this will make you feel better and give you something to look up on the internet to distract you.

You will be promised guarantees which while reassuring really cover nothing. You will be told that the quality of existing dental work in your mouth is very poor and that they see rubbish Irish dental work like this all the time. (Yes the work in your mouth is bad....its twenty years old and you spent SFA on it over the last 20 years, every time you were recommended to get some work you declined it.). The price you are given will be compared to the most expensive specialist in the most expensive location in Ireland. You will assume that a crown is a crown and some guy in a tourism clinic in eastern europe must be able to provide this treatment to as good a level as some guy with a Phd in some area of dentistry that has managed to maintain a practice for 20 years in the same location with good reputation.

You will be reassured by "patients" who are on commission, by internet sites full if shills, by agents on commission and by third hand information and anecdotes.

You will feel so good about this "bargain" that you will put aside the obvious points that anyone with common sense would deduce in ten minutes, but when you desperately want something to be true you will ignore any evidence to the contrary and fire on ahead justifying your decision to anyone that will listen. Anyone who gives a contrary view is attacked with venom, accused of scaremongering, protectionism. Any discussion of quality will be brushed aside and the topic of cost brought into any argument as quickly as possible. You think that while your there you had best get as much treatment as possible, even if this means spending huge amounts of money (often more than you got quoted in ireland, but sure its for MORE isnt it) and cutting on perfectly healthy teeth.

You assume nothing will go wrong and that if it does you can easily travel back to this distant clinic and that they will pay (which they wont). You consider this a purchase like a car, you don't consider the pain, discomfort and embarrassment if this go wrong and cannot be fixed quickly. You will be offered aftercare in Ireland but that will involve some thrid party that will shut up shop once the level of complaints gets to critical. You give no consideration to pain or discomfort even though you avoided the dentist at home for years cause you were scared, the sniff of a bargain is enough anesthetic for you to sit for 8 hours having every tooth in your head drilled buy a dentist with little or no English.

Past experiences with Irish dentist are exaggerated, misremembered and often an amalgamation of tales you heard over the years. Usually the blame for your bad teeth will be laid at the feet of some dentist who put a knee on your chest (no dentist has ever put a knee on anyones chest it would offer no mechanical advantage and a tooth is easily broken with one hand without the need for extra leverage) , no responsibility lies with you for your oral condition despite the fact you never brush or floss, or go to the dentist. Infact you have spent more on your hair than you teeth for most of your life.

If this thread appears to you to be scaremongering you can assume you one of the people above and are an ideal candidate for healthcare tourism...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,240 ✭✭✭Oral Surgeon

Hi everyone, I've just read this entire thread and was wondering if anyone can pm me with the name of an amazing Chinese clinic to have 20 crowns, a few implants, maybe a sprinkle of BioOss, throw in a few root canals and all under acupuncture sedation??!!!!!! Oh did I mention that I also want the 2 day invisible magic braces too and a holiday and a transfer from the airport and a hotel with a hot tub....

Sorry to take the P lads but this is not a bad haircut that will just grow back after a while- it is proper healthcare and in some cases "minor" oral surgery...

Would you go to a GP or a dermatologist or a cardiologist or any other healthcare provider who are that keen for business that they are willing to slash quality to accommodate demands for quick cheap treatment by patients, no way.

Would you go to someone who advertises laser eye surgery from €500 per eye- not me- let me go to the expensive guy with all them letters after his/her name- it's my bloody eyesight!!!

Would you go to a surgeon who exposes your jaw bone, places implants, bone graft etc and then allows you to fly a thousand miles once the bill is paid??? That's not good practice.

I am taking a 2 week break soon and have blocked all elective procedures from my appointment book for 1 week in advance of this as I want to be around if any of my patient's need to be seen. All I will book is consultations and emergency treatment if someone is already in pain....

I would urge patients to not just look at the price but to the price, quality and aftercare together. If you can get this abroad then fair play and good luck but extra qualifications are harder to verify and quality can only be assessed retrospectively and aftercare.....

If it is too good to be true then it usually is....;)
    It is difficult for people who have never spend much on their teeth their entire life and now need a big job done to be put off at the cost. People who have had some work before tend to know whats involved and the ins and outs of it, and also know that things go wrong, chip, break, need to be replaced and refined.

It these somewhat "ignorantly knowledgable" people that the tourism companies prey on. The prospective tourist feels empowered because they have "discovered" a way to spend less buy using the internet or shopping around without ever having to discover the details of what is to be done to their bodies. You will be feed some good sounding technical details about zirconia, implant quality and success rates, metals used etc and this will make you feel better and give you something to look up on the internet to distract you.

You will be promised guarantees which while reassuring really cover nothing. You will be told that the quality of existing dental work in your mouth is very poor and that they see rubbish Irish dental work like this all the time. (Yes the work in your mouth is bad....its twenty years old and you spent SFA on it over the last 20 years, every time you were recommended to get some work you declined it.). The price you are given will be compared to the most expensive specialist in the most expensive location in Ireland. You will assume that a crown is a crown and some guy in a tourism clinic in eastern europe must be able to provide this treatment to as good a level as some guy with a Phd in some area of dentistry that has managed to maintain a practice for 20 years in the same location with good reputation.

You will be reassured by "patients" who are on commission, by internet sites full if shills, by agents on commission and by third hand information and anecdotes.

You will feel so good about this "bargain" that you will put aside the obvious points that anyone with common sense would deduce in ten minutes, but when you desperately want something to be true you will ignore any evidence to the contrary and fire on ahead justifying your decision to anyone that will listen. Anyone who gives a contrary view is attacked with venom, accused of scaremongering, protectionism. Any discussion of quality will be brushed aside and the topic of cost brought into any argument as quickly as possible. You think that while your there you had best get as much treatment as possible, even if this means spending huge amounts of money (often more than you got quoted in ireland, but sure its for MORE isnt it) and cutting on perfectly healthy teeth.

You assume nothing will go wrong and that if it does you can easily travel back to this distant clinic and that they will pay (which they wont). You consider this a purchase like a car, you don't consider the pain, discomfort and embarrassment if this go wrong and cannot be fixed quickly. You will be offered aftercare in Ireland but that will involve some thrid party that will shut up shop once the level of complaints gets to critical. You give no consideration to pain or discomfort even though you avoided the dentist at home for years cause you were scared, the sniff of a bargain is enough anesthetic for you to sit for 8 hours having every tooth in your head drilled buy a dentist with little or no English.

Past experiences with Irish dentist are exaggerated, misremembered and often an amalgamation of tales you heard over the years. Usually the blame for your bad teeth will be laid at the feet of some dentist who put a knee on your chest (no dentist has ever put a knee on anyones chest it would offer no mechanical advantage and a tooth is easily broken with one hand without the need for extra leverage) , no responsibility lies with you for your oral condition despite the fact you never brush or floss, or go to the dentist. Infact you have spent more on your hair than you teeth for most of your life.

If this thread appears to you to be scaremongering you can assume you one of the people above and are an ideal candidate for healthcare tourism...

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭CJay

Big_G wrote: »
    dory wrote: »
    Well said. The funniest is when Irish dentists go on about the horror stories they've heard. Do they never wonder why they never hear good stories?

Hint for the dentists out there - it's because people like me who have had amazing work abroad have sworn never to go to an Irish dentist again.

Not funny at all for the people who were butchered.

My teeth were butchered by Irish dentists, 20odd years of forking out my hard-earned cash TO IRISH DENTISTS has given me pain, grief and an array of botch jobs! and I always went to recommended ones, not backstreet dodgy dives!

I'm sure there's some wonderful Irish dentists out there, I just haven't met one and am not going to look locally anymore!

It took a foreign dentist to diagnose the pain I was in (unprompted btw, I never mentioned feeling any pain etc) it took understanding and compassion to win my heart!

• Moderators Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Big_G

Nobody ever thinks that they have a part to play in their own health. It is two months since this thread died of natural causes and now has been risen using some necromancy for some nefarious purpose. Chopping the head off it usually does the trick. Closed.

CJay wrote: »
    My teeth were butchered by Irish dentists, 20odd years of forking out my hard-earned cash TO IRISH DENTISTS has given me pain, grief and an array of botch jobs! and I always went to recommended ones, not backstreet dodgy dives!

I'm sure there's some wonderful Irish dentists out there, I just haven't met one and am not going to look locally anymore!

It took a foreign dentist to diagnose the pain I was in (unprompted btw, I never mentioned feeling any pain etc) it took understanding and compassion to win my heart!

Update....check out this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=74763192 to see how CJay's treatment went, another rushed case of questionable treatment and she didnt have a clue.