Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pat Kenny Show Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What the fupp? Half measures? Poor old Myles can't even fill 90 minutes (of which 20 is ads and news).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭touts

Less than 10 minutes on the Quinn family and now we are onto a piece about the history of RTE. Arts, History and licking the arse of RTE heirarchy. This segment is the pinnacle of Myles' broadcasting career.

I'm off to BBC5....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Jaysus but this IT head is raging that the times is getting no. Cred no matter what he's saying and is having it put up to him big time :D:D

Football rivalry dressed up as history now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Myles was spat at outside the Nou Camp, wearing an Arsenal jersey.. jaysus, those Spanish Pat Kenny fans have no manners.

Is it just me or do Myles and Des have a similar relationship to Derek Mooney and John Kenny? Seems to be a bit of needle there..

These people need to talk to their unions, never mind being on RTE.. They are in a better position than most private workers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

These people need to talk to their unions, never mind being on RTE.. They are in a better position than most private workers.
    They shouldn't be turning up their noses at sub work. In French second level, they don't get a sub teacher unless the real teacher is away for 3 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Myles was spat at outside the Nou Camp, wearing an Arsenal jersey.

I wish Myles would shut up about the fact that he supports Arsenal. We don't feckin care. He never wastes an opportunity to remind us that he supports them. Give it a rest Myles!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I wish Myles would shut up about the fact that he supports Arsenal. We don't feckin care. He never wastes an opportunity to remind us that he supports them. Give it a rest Myles!
    He was in self-deprecation mode. That's a very poor basis for anybody else to deprecate him.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

He was in self-deprecation mode. That's a very poor basis for anybody else to deprecate him.

Myles doesn't sound very sincere even when he's in self-deprecation mode. It was just an excuse for him to mention Arsenal. Only Myles could get an Arsenal plug in when El Clasico is being discussed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭EchoO

But Myles was in London commentating on the K1 canoe slalom, how could he be doing both that and the radio show?

Myles doesn't sound very sincere even when he's in self-deprecation mode....
    Jaysus! Who does? Who can? Who would want to?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Jaysus! Who does? Who can? Who would want to?

How true, but I think we all know that he just wanted to tell us he loves arsenal, and how he suffered for this love,.....and.....that this suffering happened outside, did he pratishly call it, the (bound to have put the "the" in) Camp Nou. That is, it happened in Barcelona. Bleedin' wa**er!

delaad wrote: »
    How true, but I think we all know that he just wanted to tell us he loves arsenal ...
    No, we don't all know that. He had an anecdote that related to the content of the programme, and the way he told it made fun of himself and his support of Arsenal. As a moment in a radio programme, it was perfectly acceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭miketv

Jim Power is on again, he'll son have his own "Jim Power watch thread". He was on Vinne B a few nights ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭touts

History show alert. There will be a segment on the civil war in the former Yugoslavia on the "live" history show in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

miketv wrote: »
    Jim Power is on again, he'll son have his own "Jim Power watch thread". He was on Vinne B a few nights ago.

Jim must have a lot of free time .... :confused:

I think Myles has broken his own historical analogy record today...

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Callan57 wrote: »
    Jim must have a lot of free time .... :confused:
    Still peddling the infinite growth brand of economics. I guess he was a flop at math.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Lord make it stop!

There are buttons on your radio for that.

Its fine... the ministers screechy tones have now stoppped!
    Normal service resumed!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭sudzs

Did Des Cahill forget his glasses or something... sounded like a bit of a struggle for him to read there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭serfboard

This fella that's on now talking about the bombing of Nagasaki was on Newstalk two weeks ago (on Moncrieff IIRC).

That was todays freebie for Myles History slot.

The Nagasaki book author qas quite good.

The two bombs packed a hell of a punch despite being quite low yield (compared to modern weapons)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Gah, who was that eejit who kept saying "renumerated" when he meant "remunerated"

Jesus Christ! Dungan, go away! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Oh sweet Jesus .

What is this muck ?

How much is it costing the country to fund it ?

SIlly season or not this is complete bollocks !