Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you hate about Irish people

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

idiotic statement of the day
    Ah i see they got to you already

• Registered Users Posts: 20,928 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Ah i see they got to you already
    explain this post successfully

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

explain this post successfully
    It's a fücking joke, loosen up. Go attend a GAA ritual perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

If the person is alive: He's a cnut, he's awful, the most despicable person I've ever had to deal with, terrible shister altogether

As soon as the person is dead: He was a great man, one of the best

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

I hate the whole "Cead Mile Failte" we're so friendly tripe we sell the world when in truth we're anything but.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I don't like how drink obsessed everyone here is.
    It seems like one cannot have any fun without drink and people look down upon ones who don't drink as "dry ****e" or whatever. Like there's something wrong with you if you decide not to spend every weekend drinking absolutely senseless, trashing a room and falling in a pool of sick on the street while not remembering any of it the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

it's sad but if you tell the truth about how a few irish lads really died this year you will be shouted down and called a disgrace..etc....the fact is at least 5 young men over the last month or 3 died from drinking too much...their cause of death maybe something else....but it should be DRINK

Exactly !! If it was from drugs, It would be plastered all over the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Boombastic wrote: »
    If the person is alive: He's a cnut, he's awful, the most despicable person I've ever had to deal with, terrible shister altogether

As soon as the person is dead: He was a great man, one of the best

And even if he was in a completely unresponsive, vegetative state - he "died screaming for a bed"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

What is really getting my fcuking goat recently are the thanks whores on facebook.

They write a public message to an easy target (Borg Gais after hiking prices, RTE on not showing Paralympics etc), regurgitate whats being said on the media as their opinion and then watch the "likes" roll in.

Shortly followed by "well sed der Tommy", "Dats so true now Brigey, fair play to ya for telling it like it is". "No truer word"

Fcuking apes the lot of them.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Ok I'll actually say it. Maybe I'm in a ranty mood. For the most part, I hate the people in this country. Obnoxious shower of backward twits. It's all about the alcohol. It drives everything that is bad about this country.

Can't remeber last night? - Legend!
    Puked in the back of a taxi? - Haha Brilliant!
    Sent 200 euro on booze at the weekend and boxed a lad? - BFFs 4eva?
    Drove home after the pub? hehehehe

If you are not drinking, there is something wrong with you. If you don't drink, we are going to make you feel like ****e. If you say you are not drinking today, shur we'll buy you a pint and guilt you into drinking it.

The best thing I ever did was stop drinking and cut these people out of my life...I now have friends that can have a good a day or night without drink and where friends don't bat an eyelid when you order a coke or lucozade. I enjoy their company infinately more than the people I grew up with because I am not geting alcohol shoved in my face.

It's gas...was at the Man City vs Limerick FC match recently. After 4 mintes of figiting, the guy in front of me declared he couldnt watch this and proceded to get 4 beers. Cannot even enjoy a game without getting hammered.

Rant over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭rob w

FutureGuy wrote: »
    What is really getting my fcuking goat recently are the thanks whores on facebook.

They write a public message to an easy target (Borg Gais after hiking prices, RTE on not showing Paralympics etc), regurgitate whats being said on the media as their opinion and then watch the "likes" roll in.

Shortly followed by "well sed der Tommy", "Dats so true now Brigey, fair play to ya for telling it like it is". "No truer word"

Fair play to you for tellin' it like it is! :P

But seriously, I got rid of my facebook account recently because of this sh1te, absoulutely does my head in!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

I laughed :pac:

No truer word chief!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

how Ole Ole is always rolled out whenever there is a sporting event that involves an Irish person....fuxake even saw it at the Galway Races this year wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Gin77

I hate the way we are getting screwed by the GOV. and were all stand back paddies.
    I mean I joined a protest in Roscrea for the closure of the old folks home, twas the most dry affair ever. We walked from one end of the town to the other everyone was chatting and smiling like they were in the st. patricks day parade.
    No chanting no enthusiasm of any kind.

Now were being screwed to the wall with taxes and now the property tax is coming too, and everyone must thinks the french and the germans pay more in taxes. NEWS FLASH!! they don't.
    French pay 25% social security which covers, free doc, free meds, 2/3 of your salary when u retire, free hospital, free dental, 5 year health checks head to toe.
    On top of that for a salary of 33k I paid 1200eu income tax for the year, and 900 property tax, 1000eu living tax.
    Working here now and I'm paying 1500eu a month in tax and I still have to pay 50eu to see a doctor, 100eu for a filling.
    But us Irish don't think it worth while protesting about or if we do we'll do it quietly. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

I don't really know... If we could stop being so monocultural, maybe I'd feel like less of a freak even tubs said property is the new rock n roll, how ****ing stupidly sensible do weed need to be in obsessing over a faux reality... or something obscure like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Cork and it's pretentious people. Sersiously, what the fcuk do they have that they are so uptight and self righteous about. God's fcuking gift to Ireland or so they think.

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

Too many enemas; not enough bongs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Can't remeber last night? - Legend!
    Puked in the back of a taxi? - Haha Brilliant!
    Sent 200 euro on booze at the weekend and boxed a lad? - BFFs 4eva?
    Drove home after the pub? hehehehe

What sort of morons do you hang around with? I don't know any Irish people who go on like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

GAA jerseys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭andrew241983

Country people in Bell bottoms and cords:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Cork and it's pretentious people. Sersiously, what the fcuk do they have that they are so uptight and self righteous about. God's fcuking gift to Ireland or so they think.

That's cos they are! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The prevalence of "cute hoors" who control just about every aspect of public life

The backstabbing employed by so called respected individuals to destroy other people's reputations and lives

The lack of any need to do anything on schedule / time making the concept of mañana actually something we should aspire to...

The pure dishonesty of local and national politicians and their associated activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Gin77 wrote: »
    Working here now and I'm paying 1500eu a month in tax and I still have to pay 50eu to see a doctor, 100eu for a filling.
    But us Irish don't think it worth while protesting about or if we do we'll do it quietly. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

1500 a month on 33K salary doesn't sound right. I see 6K a year, including PRSI, USC etc. Leaving people with 2.6K a month.

Scumbag employers who prey on people's desperation to work, and squeeze them every which way.

Jobbridge!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Scumbag employers who prey on people's desperation to work, and squeeze them every which way.

Jobbridge!!

I agree with this.

That's cos they are! :D

I want to box you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I'm sure it was said already,but the drink obsession in Ireland just drives me mad.Why the **** some people can't socialise without everything revolving around a pub is beyond me!

Another thing is when people complain but don't complain, FFS don't say it's grand if it's not!!!

I want to box you.

Nah mate. You'll lose. Trust me, Nicola Adams taught me! :D

You are so full of yourself. No surprise there really.

Dear, dear. Irony bypass?