Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

gymfreak wrote: »

And the deadlifting is uber light..so it's nothing big at all!

Oooh, get you!:p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

I disgracefully decided not to train today:eek:. Sure, it's nearly Xmas so I'm using that as my excuse. Everyone needs a bit of down time.. I'm just taking mine early:D:D

Back on track next week...I swear! I'll also have sworn off all the choc by then...far too many boxes of chocs have come my way over the past few days....eek

Wednesday 21st December

Had somewhere to be today so really had to cut this session short:(
    Finishing up for the hols tomorrow so won't be able to train tomorrow and shall be hungover on Friday...so really I've wasted the week away:( Not like me at all..and I'm annoyed by it..grrr!

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs
    x2

Squats
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    35kg x 5
    50kg x 3
    57kg x 10
    57kg x 10
    57kg x 10
    57kg x 10...grand enough:)

Bench
    20kg x 12
    25kg x 12
    37kg x 10
    37kg x 10
    37kg x 10..happy enough

Pullups
    no time

Deadlifts
    No time

Hanging Leg Raises
    3 x 10

DB Side Bends
    no time

Bicep Curls
    3 x 10
    7.5kg DB's

Had to skip half the session but really just needed to get the squats done.

Saturday 24th December-C1
    Had to train in Northwood today.

Yeh...I'm actually still annoyed at the absolute disgrace of a training week I had...by far the worst one in the year.
    I've already fully made up my mind to get the nutrition on track at the start of next week because I've been all over the place for weeks now of **** eating..really don't feel great when my eating is off track and training never goes great either

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps....smashed my leg off the bar AGAIN today...OUCH!!!!!!
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs
    x2

X-Trainer level 10
    10mins

Con Block-10mins
    Bike-Level 7
    Keeping the rpm above 80
    4.64km in 10mins

Work Block 1-15mins
    5 Goblet Squat 27.5kg
    10 DB Pushups rows 7.5kg
    10 rounds in 15mins....up 2 rounds:)

Con Block-10mins
    Bike-level 6
    Different bike to the first block, tried to stay at level 7 but only lasted 2.30mins...was dying..went to level 6 for the rest..more manageable
    4.36km in 10mins

Work Block-15mins
    10m Bounding
    10m Catapillar Walks
    Didn't have my yellow lines to show me where 10m was so just guessed
    13 rounds in 15mins
    Catapillar walks really took it out of me today

Con Block-10mins
    Bike-level 7
    Same bike as the first block..just to check
    Steady state cardio can be uncomfortable despite what people say
    4.61km in 10mins

10mins eaaaaasy Xtrainer-level 6

Stretching

Sunday 25th December
    Run-35mins
    Right knee started twinging/get really tight after 15mins so I attempted to take a short cut home.....eeehhh. not really all that good with directions...so it didnt really work out, ended getting myself lost in a cul de sac and had to just retrace my steps home.

Both knees and my right ankle got extremely sore after 35mins so walked the last bit home.:o Dammit...running is soooo enjoyable if it wasnt for all the aches and pains..and by God that wind out there was vicious today.

Foamrolling is on the cards later:o Santa got me a rumble roller...why, I do not know!

Tuesday 27th December
    Well...yeh, true to form the annual Xmas fat gain has happened again:o:o
    Weight: 57.5kg:o

Going to follow a VLCD with plenty of protein for the next 4weeks and see where it gets me/how I feel. I'll keep doing my 2 Strength and 2 Conditioning a week and then just add in as much LIT as I can. Back to doing the 20mins steady state cardio at the beginning of sessions too...time to do everything properly again..the way I supposed to!

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs

Squats
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8...hip flexors sore so foamrolled
    35kg x 5
    50kg x 3
    61kg x 8
    61kg x 8
    61kg x 1 + F
    61kg x 8
    61kg x 8
    61kg x 8...they were really, really tough. Took ages too, had to take good long rests in between each set

2nd set

Bench
    20kg x 12..hip flexors were spasm-ing
    25kg x 12
    30kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    41kg x 5
    41kg x 5
    41kg x 5

Pullups
    3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 2, 2
    Pullups have been all over the place recently, havent been able to follow the proper progression cos everytime I got fatter/ heavier..making them harder
    Just gonna go for sets of 3 for the next session..if I can:)!

Deadlift
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    Smashed the bar off the cut I had from whacking myself whilst doing hurdle steps the other day..so gave up there..I don't like blood

Stiff Leg Deadlift..bar on the ground
    60kg x 12...tough enough
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 10

Overhand BB holds
    69kg x 30sec
    69kg x 25sec
    69kg x 25sec..my poor hands

X-Trainer-20mins

Total:792kcal..yeh, ridiculously ridiculously low..but I'm UBER stuffed from Xmas junk

Fat: 30g

Carbs:13g

Protein:141g :) Most protein I've ever consumed in a day

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Turbo_diesel

Sunday 25th December
    Run-35mins
    Right knee started twinging/get really tight after 15mins so I attempted to take a short cut home.....eeehhh. not really all that good with directions...so it didnt really work out, ended getting myself lost in a cul de sac and had to just retrace my steps home.

Both knees and my right ankle got extremely sore after 35mins so walked the last bit home.:o Dammit...running is soooo enjoyable if it wasnt for all the aches and pains..and by God that wind out there was vicious today.

Foamrolling is on the cards later:o Santa got me a rumble roller...why, I do not know!

Santy got me a rumble roller as well. Did you get the blue one? Bloody sore on the back!

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Mooo

give me a heads up when youre thinking of a triathalon changeover :)

am planning to do gaelforce next year. oh the fear!

Santy got me a rumble roller as well. Did you get the blue one? Bloody sore on the back!

Yup, a blue one...but..I...eh...have yet to use it! My squishy white foam roller causes enough pain as is!!
    give me a heads up when youre thinking of a triathalon changeover smile.gif

am planning to do gaelforce next year. oh the fear!
    Im gonna spend some time getting better at swimming over the summer..so a triathalon will definitely be on the cards!! Swimming is the only thing holding me back tbh.

Gaelforce? Wow, just looked it up..have to admit it looks like great craic altogether! How's the rowing going for ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Okay....:confused::confused:

Wednesday 28th December-C1
    Weight-56.3kg...wahoo, water be gone!:D

Spin Bike-20 mins

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs

Con Block-Sprints
    50m sprints, every 30 sec
    10mins...incredible slow today:o~10 sec a sprint

Work Block 1 - 15mins
    5 e/s DB Lunges 12.5kg
    10 DB Curl and Press 5kg
    11 rounds in 15mins....wahoo, up a round and my arms werent even killing me:)

Con BLock-Sprints
    10mins

Work Block 2 - 15mins
    Barbell Complex-30kg..upped the weight here
    Deadlift, Hang Clean, Front Squat, Push Press, Back Squat, Push Press
    16rounds in 15mins...

Could possibly go faster, just rested between reps cos I didnt want to kill my self with the pushpress-backsquat transition..wanted to make sure my arms were rested before trying each time:o...probably daft..but hey:)

Con Block - Sprints
    10mins..was pretty tired near the end of this

Neutral Grip Pull ups
    Red band 7 sets of 5..just to grease the groove

Stretching:)

I'm very tempted to add in an extra conditioning session this week and next..just whilst I'm on hols..or to just add in extra steady state stuff to get rid of the Xmas fatness.....

I'll update the food later:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I'll be back up in Dublin next week if you want someone to do a conditioning session with.
    I'll go up to you. Would like to check out Morton.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭Mooo

its the sock on her arm thats weighing her down....

gaelforce looks like heaps of fun, espec because i dont want to do the swimming part!
    best website for comps http://www.irishtriathlon.com/

I'll be back up in Dublin next week if you want someone to do a conditioning session with.
    I'll go up to you. Would like to check out Morton.

Ahhh now, I'd only end up running ya into the ground:P I'm attempting to turn myself back into my original conditioning machine-ness!!:D

Thursday 29th December
    Weight-55.7kg :)Still moving in the right direction

Cant squat on Saturday as the gym will be closed so need to do that tomorrow. Decided to leave off the conditioning today as I'm quite sore-triceps, back and ass. I'll condition in Northwood on Sat instead.

Loads of foamrolling

X-trainer-20mins

Bike-20mins

Stretching

Wasnt feeling the may west so left it at that.

Ahhh now, I'd only end up running ya into the ground:P I'm attempting to turn myself back into my original conditioning machine-ness!!:D

Is that a yes or a no? :-)

Have you not still got that gimpy knee?:D:P

Reason I'm asking is cos I'm trying to be UBER good at the moment, diet and training wise so I'd wanna stick to the conditioning Will gave me to do.

You know me, I like structure...any deviations and I'm a lost cause:P

But sure, if ya fancy doing one of my sessions with me, absolutely!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

We will have a 2011 review and make a new plan for 2012.

Sound, sure I'll do a Heff Special Conditioning Session with you at some stage next week.

Did 250m rowing intervals x 10 today
    Two 10' con blocks
    & worked up to 80kg for 5 sets of front squats.

Knee is sore all the time but the leg hasn't fallen off yet!

Sound, sure I'll do a Heff Special Conditioning Session with you at some stage next week.

Did 250m rowing intervals x 10 today
    Two 10' con blocks
    & worked up to 80kg for 5 sets of front squats.

Knee is sore all the time but the leg hasn't fallen off yet!

We will have a 2011 review and make a new plan for 2012.

Excellent!

Excitement..can't help it!:)

Friday 30th December
    Weight-55.8kg

Spin Bike-20mins

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs
    x2

Squats
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    55kg x 3..these were hard
    65kg...was supposed to do these for 6 x 6 today but I knew it wasnt going to happen.It wasnt like it felt tough, head was away with the fairies and body was just too tired.

Thinking back, I could probably nearly completely put this down to the fact that I've been dieting last few days. Worse still, been trying to keep my protein high so was trying to drink protein drinks...don't think my body likes them..at all..ended up puking yesterday afternoon and again this afternoon and then not wanting to eat...so kcals were ending up ~800 or so. So basically a ridiculously ridiculously low amount of kcals..obviously I was gonna be ****.

So..lesson learnt, get kcal back up to 1200-1400, skip the protein drinks and eat more meat, fish and eggs. Simple:)

Pull Ups
    10 sets of 3:) Getting back on track!

Bench
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    30kg x 3
    35kg x 3
    39kg x 6...was trying for 8's
    39kg x 6
    39kg x 5 + a pinning

Deadlift
    60kg x 5
    65kg x 1
    70kg x 1
    75kg x 1
    80kg x 1
    85kg x 1
    90kg x 1..chuffed they're looking prettier:)
    90kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    90kg x 1..reverted back to my old way
    90kg x 1

Hanging Leg Raises
    5 x 10

DB Side Bends
    22.5kg x 10/10

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10

Hanley did my fats for me today just so I'd know exactly where I'm standing...and yup..could of pretty much guessed the results...up a colossal amount since before the comp in November...so motivation to train is at an all time high:)

Saturday 31st December-C1

Weight: 55.2kg
    There is a wee chance that it isnt the protein drinks making me sick..think I may have got a bug or something cos was feeling nauseous again this morning:(

Waited a few hours..wanted to go train instead of eating for the day...so tried a bit of con and was just gonna see how it went. Started feeling great half way through:)

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps....smashed my leg off the bar AGAIN today...OUCH!!!!!!
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs
    x2

Con Block-10mins
    Rower
    1km warm up
    200m row/45 sec rest
    2. 48.8
    3. 49.5
    4. 48.6
    5. 48.8

Work Block 1-15mins
    5 Goblet Squat 27.5kg
    10 DB Pushups rows 7.5kg
    10 rounds in 14.50mins...same:) Chuffed cos I really wasnt feeling great so didn't think I'd be up to much

Con Block-10mins
    1km easy row
    200m row/ 45sec rest
    5.49.7....my legs were sore

Work Block-15mins
    10m Bounding
    10m Catapillar Walks-I actually can't do a full 10m without having to stand up and shake out my legs...poor hamstrings
    12 rounds in 15mins

Con Block-10mins
    1km easy row

....gym closed. I owe myself 1 Con Block!!

Tuesday - 3rd January

Weight-....eeeeeeeeem, yeh...the weekend happened

Euuuugh, things have really been all over the place lately, started dieting last week, then I started feeling unwell alot..eating and training took a nosedive and I'm still not feeling the may west:( I've a funny feeling the sickness is self inflicted though:( from going from eating too much sugar to getting too strict on the diet too soon.

Attempt number 2 now:) Fngers crossed!!!

Mobility
    Reverse Lunges
    Cable Face Pulls
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle steps
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    YTWs
    x2

Squats
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 3
    65kg x 6..very hard
    65kg x F, F ....dunno what to say:(
    50kg x 3...

Decided to leave the squats..and came back later
    20kg x 5
    20kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    50kg x ...couldn't get the bar placement right on my back..was lobsided..had been in the gym HOURS and was starving so left it....any bit of concentration I had was long gone!

Bench
    20kg x 12
    25kg x 12
    30kg x 5
    35kg x 5
    43kg x 3
    43kg x 2 + a pinning
    43kg x 2
    43kg x 2
    43kg x 2..tough

Pullups10 sets of 2....technically I should be able to call them weighted pullups cos of my extra weekend feed?!?!?

Deadlift
    Had to actually put on football socks today cos on the mess my legs are in!
    60kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    75kg x 3
    75kg x 3
    75kg x 3

Stiff Leg Deadlift..bar on the ground
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 12
    60kg x 12
    I'll up the weight next day

Overhand BB holds
    69kg x 30sec
    71kg x 30sec

Not sure what's going on with the squatting, think we'll probably have to back off a little and maybe try the ending 2week cycle over again...just haven't been feeling great lately..dammit!

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Hope you feel better soon:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

You sound like you need a holiday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Sure look at the amount of volume your doing on the three competition lifts, the extra con sessions, calorie restriction, ****ing about with hockey balls..

tis hardly rocket science.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Sure look at the amount of volume your doing on the three competition lifts, the extra con sessions, calorie restriction, ****ing about with hockey balls..

tis hardly rocket science.

If she listens to you two bozos after me moaning the same for the last month I'll kill her if she doesn't kill herself thru volume first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Needs more pizza me thinks..

needs more rest days