Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miss Piggys Battle for the Big Plates

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

gymfreak wrote:
    I like repitition days...takes absolutely no brain power at all:)

And ya still messed it up!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Hanley wrote: »
    And ya still messed it up!! :D

Are we surprised?.....Really.
    I have only been doing mobility stuff at the start of every session for, oh 16 months...easily forgotten:P

Saturday 4th February-C1-Northwood today

Decided to change back to the old rower block, just for something different.

Con Block-Row
    10 x 150m with 60sec rest
    1. 35.1
    2. 35.1
    3. 35.0
    4. 35.4
    5. 34.9
    6. 35.0
    7. 35.3
    8. 35.0
    9. 36.0
    10. 35.1
    happy enough..fastest Ive ever got was 34, times are generally 35-36

Work Block
    5 Goblet Squat 27.5kg
    5 Floor Press 15kg
    5 DB Row 20kg
    10 rounds in 15.24
    Want to be able to do the floor press with 17.5kg again for the entire block

Con Block-rower
    10 x 150m with 60sec rest
    1. 35.3
    2. 35.8
    3. 35.9
    4. 35.6
    5. 35.8
    6. 36.1
    7. 35.6
    8. 35.8
    9. 36.3
    10. 37.3

Work Block
    5 Reverse Lunge e/s 15kg
    3 Chin ups
    10 pushups
    8 rounds in 14.38
    Chin ups were incredibly embarressing..all sets were broken. Could of used to the bands but wanted to see how bad they were compared to old scores

Con Block
    10 x 150m with 60 sec rest
    1. 35.7
    2. 35.7
    3. 35.9
    4. 35.7
    5. 35.6
    6. 36.5
    7. 35.8
    8. 36.2
    9. 36.3
    10. 35.3

Someday I'm gonna get good at rowing...someday!!!

Monday 6th Feb-S2

Had a can of monster before going to the gym..just to see if it'd make a difference...that was a good 6 hours ago..and I actually dont think I'll get to sleep tonight :o

....must do the whole caffeine buzz malark more often though!!!

Spin bike-20mins

Mobility
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle Steps
    Reverse Lunges
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    Cable Face Pulls
    YTWs
    x2

Deadlifts
    Finally, finally had a 'click' moment with the deadlift:D:D:D...just clicked today how to attempt to 'arch' ....whoooopeee.
    Still a long road but yay!!
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    65kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    75kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    85kg x 5

80kg x 5
    Look at those pretty reps...and I didnt even use the mirrors:D

Got over excited and tried a set of 5 at 85kg...not perfect at all at all

Single Leg Split squats
    BW x 10 e/s
    +10kg x 10
    +10kg x 10
    +10kg x 10
    +10kg x 10
    +10kg x 10...got a weird flicking in my knee for the last few reps of the last set...pure eeew

Side Bridge
    +15kg
    +15kg
    +15kg
    45sec on/15 sec off

Bench
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5...these were so far from easy its not funny:(:(

Low Row on cable machine
    64kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    77kg x 10
    77kg x 10
    77kg x 10
    Sounds weird..but I my neck always makes this weird crunching sound every time I does these...another eeew moment!

Plate Russian Twist
    15kg 3 x 10/10

Cable Tricep Extension
    23kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭supposedly

Good work on the 80kg; looking good!
    You do a LOT of stuff! That must take a long time to get through?

supposedly wrote: »
    Good work on the 80kg; looking good!
    You do a LOT of stuff! That must take a long time to get through?

Yup! I was actually really good today..I put the earphones in, didnt talk to anyone and got it done in under 3 hours.

Generally I'm just really slow at everything...I go for wanders..I chat to anyone I can find...and I get distracted. I'm thinking of asking Santa for an attention span for Xmas though!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

Fair play! Looking good!:)

Tuesday 7th February-C2
    Did conditioning today instead of the rep session I was supposed to do, just cos I've a lot of stuff on this week..and it'd be easier to do rep later in the week than con when I'm tired!

Con Block-10mins-Sled
    Sled Drag +10kg Bear Crawl
    30m up and 30m back
    7 rounds in 11.17mins.....down 3 rounds.....dammit!!!!:(
    But I really like this block...mainly cos I get to crawl semi-slow

Work Block-15mins
    10 DB Squat, Clean and Press 7.5kg
    10 inverted rows
    10 rounds in 15.25..kinda intrigued with this one..got the same reps as the first time I did it months ago..and then I progressed quickly...interesting:)

Con Block-10mins
    Backward sled drag using the belt
    Sled + 40kg
    50 m up and 50 back
    3 rounds in 10mins
    4 rounds in 13.20mins...I really like the constant heavy drag of this..much prefer it to light sleds and having to do more reps!

Work Block-15mins
    10 DB Squat, Clean and Press 7.5kg
    10 inverted rows
    9 rounds in 15.03

Con Block-10mins
    Sled Push +10kg
    Decided to go for 20m up and 20m back today
    9 rounds in 11mins....whoops:o I was going easyish by giving myself nice 20sec rest in between each...down a round

Enjoyed that...but abysmal sled work:o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Deads are looking really good. What's your best at similar reps? You must be closing in on your old numbers now.

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Deads are looking really good.
    Scuba Ste wrote: »
    What's your best at similar reps? You must be closing in on your old numbers now.
    Still a looooong long way off. Think 95kg x 5 is the heaviest I've tried for 5 or 115kg for 3. At least I've got bucket loads of patience!!:pac:

gymfreak wrote: »

Still a looooong long way off. Think 95kg x 5 is the heaviest I've tried for 5 or 115kg for 3. At least I've got bucket loads of patience!!:pac:

They were bounced tho, so not comparable!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

What Hanley said and you did 80 for 4 sets of 5 and 85 for 5 so I wouldn't say your that far off. Only getting better though.

Thursday 9th of February-Easy, easy cardio:)

Xtrainer-20mins

Bike-20mins

Weird machine that like a xtrainer but moves laterally-10mins
    Knees werent too fond of this one so I stopped

Foamrolling and stretching...I was good again:)

Friday 10th Feb-R1

Warm up-
    Spin bike 25mins

Mobility
    Over and Unders
    Hurdle Steps
    Reverse Lunges
    Scap push ups
    Leg swings
    Cable Face Pulls
    YTWs
    x2

RDL
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    45kg x 10
    Easy..I'll up the weight again next time

Step Ups
    5 x 10 with 5kg
    Eeeeew..they take aaages and they're hard

Side Arches on the GHR
    3 x 10/10

Bench Press
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    90sec rest..I keep benching with a really really high line..cos it's easy..I know I most likely shouldnt be though

Seated Row
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10
    Grand...I'll up it next time

Hanging Leg Raises
    5 x 10

Overhead Tricep Press cable machine
    27kg x 10
    27kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10

Happy out:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

What sort of height are you going the step ups on to?

Oh jaysus:confused:...I dunno...that's just another one of those things I have no sense of....height, distance, direction.

It's the smaller of the boxes, Hanley will be able to chime in...my guess...chair height:pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭supposedly

I ended up doing three hours in the gym today and I didn't like it one bit. You do that regularly? You're mental! ;)

supposedly wrote: »
    I ended up doing three hours in the gym today and I didn't like it one bit. You do that regularly? You're mental! ;)

:pac::pac:
    It's just how long it takes me!!!

Saturday 11th February-S1

Did a Step Aerobics Class instead of the 20mins on the bike..just for a change. It wasn't get at all tbh.

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrant
    Wall Sweeps
    Hamstring Walk
    Scap pull ups
    Quad Walk
    Trunk Rotations
    Sumo Walk

Front Squats
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    45kg x 5
    Front squats felt REALLY solid. Had only planned to do 3 sets at 45kg but they were solid so went for 5. I'll up the weight next day.

DB RDLs
    22.5kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10..grand

Weighted Bridge
    +20kg
    3 x 60

Pull ups
    3, 2, 3, 2 ,2 euuuuughhh!!! Stoopid bar as well. Was using the bar that has the fixed handplaces...so its either a really really really wide grip or an extremely narrow one.

DB Floor Press
    17.5kg x 8
    17.5kg x 7
    17.5kg x 8
    17.5kg x 7
    17.5kg x 7

Overhead Plate Arches
    10kg
    3 x 10/10

Bicep Curls
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    7.5kg x 10
    10kg x 6 ...whoop whoop

A good week!!! Got the planned S, R, C, S and an easy cardio session done:)

Monday 13th February-R1

Warm up

Spin Bike-35mins...I have finally discovered podcasts..they keep me somewhat entertained

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrant
    Wall Sweeps
    Hamstring Walk
    Scap pull ups
    Quad Walk
    Trunk Rotations
    Sumo Walk

SLDL
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    Forgot I was only supposed to take 60sec rests...so was dawdling a bit with above.

Plate shifting
    2.5kg, 5kg, 2.5kg, 5kg
    5 x 60/60

Bench Press-90sec rest
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10
    32kg x 10...Cheated last day by doing these with a ridiculously high bench line...tried to do them proper today

Inverted Row
    5 x 10

DB Shrugs
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    Eeeeassy..I'll up the weight next day

Back Extensions
    5 x 10

Parallel Tricep Press
    Couldn't remember what this one was so just did lying tricep extensions
    5kg DBs x 10

*Disclaimer*..I'm not falling back into old habits nor am I being a retard.. .I'm on midterm so I added in a teeny bit of extra stuff..retardation will be stopped next week and I'm back to just doing my 4 sessions a week:) I promise!! So no abuse please:)

PM
    Step Aerobics
    X-Trainer-25mins

Re: podcasts - you're welcome

Tuesday 14th February-C2
    Did C2 instead of C1 today cos gym was packed, so much easier to nab a barbell and find a corner

Warm up
    Spin Bike-25mins

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrant
    Wall Sweeps
    Hamstring Walk
    Scap pull ups
    Quad Walk
    Trunk Rotations
    Sumo Walk

Con Block-10mins
    50m Sprints outdoors
    Every 30 secs
    My left hip was feeling really weird from the get go..like it was locked or tight or something..so didn't push it too hard about 10sec a sprint

Work Block-15mins
    10 BB Clean and Push Press 20kg
    10 inverted rows
    8 rounds in 15.05..arms are ridiculously weak
    Last time I did this block (months ago) I managed to get up to 12rounds..so that's where I wanna get back to

Con Block-10mins
    50m Sprints outdoorsEvery 30 secs
    Averaging about 9/10sec...still slow..but I'll get back to my 8sec in time:)

Work Block-15mins
    10 BB Clean and pushpress 20kg
    10 inverted rows
    8 rounds in 16.24mins...purely a strength thing/ forearm tiredness thing..wasn't 'cardio' based problem that I was so slow. But I know where I want this to be

Con Block-10mins
    Contemplated whether to do this block or not cos my hip still wasnt feeling right
    50m Sprints outdoors Every 30 secs
    Averaging about 9/10sec
    Did it but probably turned out to be a bad idea:o

Didn't notice till a good while later that my hip is now spasming and my knee keeps locking:(:(

Soo annoying, had planned on cardio this evening.
    Even more annoying when I actually made an attempt to foamroll yesterday and today:(

Wednesday 15th February-S2
    I know I probably shouldn't of trained today, and just let my hip/glute rest...but...I got restless:o

Warm up
    Bike-35mins...happily listening to a podcast:)

Bit of loosening out with a tennis ball

Deadlifts
    Deadlifts felt EXTREMELY heavy today...stuck to the floor like:( and it wasn't because of my hip
    60kg x 5
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5...dropped to triples and I was rounding my back
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 3..nice but exhausting:o

Single Leg Split Squats
    Did these unweighted, didnt want to wreak and havoc on the hip flexor

5 x 10 BW

Side Bridging
    +15kg
    3 x 45/15

Incline Bench Press
    Bench was busy so I just DB benched instead
    10kg DBs x 12
    15kg DBs x 7
    15kg DBs x 5
    15kg DBs x 7
    15kg DBs x 6
    15kg DBs x 5

Single Arm Cable Row
    18kg x 10
    23kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    all at 20 next day

Plate Russian Twist
    15kg
    3 x 10/10

Lying Tricep Extensions
    7.5kg DBs x 10

Foamrolling

PM-50min walk

Really, really enjoying training again. I have the week of work this week and it's really dawning on me how stressed I've been lately. A nice eye opener, so going to make a really good effort to be aware when I'm stressed and try and do things to destress instead of add to the problem...like always:pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Red Cortina

I'm laughing thinking back to training in IP and everyone slagging you for the hours that you work.... I've said it before to you that you have a tough job and rather you than me!

Thursday 16th February-R1

Warm up
    Xtrainer-20mins

Bike-10mins

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrant
    Wall Sweeps
    Hamstring Walk
    Scap pull ups
    Quad Walk
    Trunk Rotations
    Sumo Walk

SLDL
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    22.5kg x 10
    Balance much better today, might up weight next time..but it fries my back

Plate shifting
    2.5kg, 5kg, 2.5kg, 5kg
    5 x 60/60

Bench Press-90sec rest
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12..couldnt find the teeny plates..so went for 30kg and tried to concentrate on pausing at the bottom..absolutely fried my triceps..only managed it on the first 5reps of each set..before i was just desperate to finish
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10
    30kg x 10

Inverted Row
    5 x 10

DB Shrugs
    27.5kg x 8..didnt think I'd make all the reps/sets..so dropped back
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10

Back Extensions
    5 x 10

Tricep Pushdown
    15kg x 10
    17.5kg x 10
    17.5kg x 10
    17.5kg x 10
    17.5kg x 10....ouch...stick here next day

My knees are feeling a tad weird/tight..so gonna do a good bit of foamrolling and stretching tonight..and we'll see how they are tomorrow to train..or maybe a rest day is in order:)

Friday 17th February- C1

Warm up
    20mins spin bike

Mobility Stuff
    Fire Hydrant
    Wall Sweeps
    Hamstring Walk
    Scap pull ups
    Quad Walk
    Trunk Rotations
    Sumo Walk
    x2

Hip/ass is still a wee bit off/sore so wanted to take it handy with no intervals or sprinting etc

Con Block 1-Carries and sprints
    30kg TB
    Farmers Walk 60m drop bar, 60m jog then 60m sprint
    Could of gone heavier...but previous experience has taught me start light and work up
    7 in 9.40mins

Work Block 1-15 mins
    5 Box Jumps
    5 DB Incline Press 15kg...VERY heavy
    5 Unsupported DB row e/s 22.5kg
    8 rounds in 15mins

Con. Block 2-carries and a jog
    50kg TB
    Farmers Walk 30m, jog 60m
    Jogged instead of sprinting cos I started to feel that weirdness in my hip/glute again
    I should of either shortened the distance to 20m or else made the bar lighter. Had to drop the bar once on each length cos grip was going
    10 in 10mins

Work Block 2-15mins
    5 e/s Step ups
    10 DB Pullovers 10kg
    10 pushups
    8/9 rounds in 14.30min...lost count multiple times today

Con Block 3-suitcase carry and waiter walk
    16kg Suitcase carry and 7.5kg waiters walk
    60m up, change hands, 60m back
    5 up and backs in 9.30mins

Foamrolling, and attempted to loosen glute with a tennis bal...eeuuugh:(pain!
    I enjoyed that!:)Always fond of those walks and carries

Must ask Will to tell me how to structure those carries better..ie..distance, weight..instead of just picking random stuff and going for it:pac:

Sunday 19th February-S1

Warm up
    X-Trainer-20mins
    Bike-10 mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk...these felt great..needed a good stretch

Goblet Squat
    20kg x 8
    20kg x 8
    25kg x 8
    27.5kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    30kg x 8
    Eeew goblet squats..although they did get easier as sets went on. I'll go heavier next day.

Barbell RDL's
    50kg x 12
    60kg x 8
    60kg x 8
    60kg x 6...stoopid grip is the problem with these!

Alternate Plate Situps

15kg
    1 x 20
    20kg
    2 x 20...my right hip clicked/crunched with every rep...ew

Incline DB Press
    10kg x 8
    10kg x 8
    15kg x 8
    15kg x 8
    15kg x 7
    15kg x 8
    15kg x 8

Inverted Rows
    5 x 10..Im actually finding these a lil more difficult..a bit more practise is all that's needed

Side Bridge
    15kg
    3 x 40/20

Preacher Curls
    EZ bar +10kg x 6
    EZ bar +10kg x 5
    EZ bar +7.5kg x 12

Grand day:) Got 2 R, 2 S and 2 C done this week.

Back to the normal 4 sessions a week next week though:)

Monday 20th February-R1

Warm up
    X-Trainer-25mins

Mobility
    Sumo Squats
    Wall Slides
    Fire Hydrants
    Scap Push Ups
    Quad Walk
    Cable Face Pulls
    Spiderman Walk

Leg Press
    60sec rest
    40kg x 12
    40kg x 12
    90kg x 10..tough but doable
    90kg x 10
    90kg x 10
    90kg x 10
    90kg x 10
    Completely forgot how sore my tush used to get after these..2mo shall not be pleasant

Cable Ab Pulldowns
    20 @34kg
    20 @40kg
    20 @40kg
    20 @40kg

Band Assisted Dips
    2 x 12..blue band
    5 x 10,,red band..grand. Might try a lighter band next day

DB Shrugs
    20kg x 12
    20kg x 12
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10
    25kg x 10..heavier next day!

Inverted Rows
    BW x 8
    BW x 8
    BW x 8
    BW x 8
    BW x 8

Back Extensions on the GHR
    5 x 10

An Easy Day:)

Finally, finally succumbed..gonna go get a sports massage tomorrow. Havent been able to run much lately cos my knees keep getting a pumped feeling, a weird flick keeps happening at the side of my leg and my hip flexors have been doing a bit of hurting too. Run a Muck is on next weekend and REALLY dont wanna let my friends down so hopefully a bit of loosening out tomorrow might help things:) And then I'm definitely, definitely gonna make a better effort at the ole foamrolling and stretching side of things....I swear!!!!

Yeh....so things did not really turn out as I'd anticipated:( Physio wanted to check out my hips/glutes and knees before she'd do the sports massage. She then said my ITB and knees were a big priority so spent the session working on them:(:( A lot of pain, my knees are covered in massive bruises and still sore....so no training today. Fingers crossed they're back to good nick tomorrow.

But we did find out what the weird flicking I keep hearing in my knee is...a ball of tightness flicking over the bone...wahooo I wasnt hearing things:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Where did you go for the sports massage?