Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic Hits 4FM Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 25 tapit54

Came across Niall Boylans chat show last night (Mon) and his usual producer Niall was standing in for him & he had another producer, Kevin Somethingorother standing in for him...

Obviously, they couldn't find another person called Niall to to it! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 prose

Came across this www.gremlinsinthesystem.com v funny stuff by 4fm dj Brian Mc Caul.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

Harveys show is getting as bad as liveline for the same callers all the time,the same know it alls,the same people who'll 'tell you whats wrong with this country'... F off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Did anyone hear the story on 4fm last night about domestic violence ? The wife rang first to talk about religion but ended up telling the presenter that her husband bet and raped her but appeared like a good fella to everyone else . She had to put the phone down because she heard him coming in the door . Then he rang in last night to defend himself but ended up saying that she would be sorry for airing their dirty laundry in public and slammed the phone down . Anyone else hear this or know what happened after the show ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Donahg

Most people that call radio talk shows are pulling the piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Most?

Really?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 248 ✭✭I love Joan Burton

moy83 wrote: »
    Did anyone hear the story on 4fm last night about domestic violence ? The wife rang first to talk about religion but ended up telling the presenter that her husband bet and raped her but appeared like a good fella to everyone else . She had to put the phone down because she heard him coming in the door . Then he rang in last night to defend himself but ended up saying that she would be sorry for airing their dirty laundry in public and slammed the phone down . Anyone else hear this or know what happened after the show ?

linky? that was 99% sure she was taking the mickey

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Anyone else hear this or know what happened after the show ?

Genuine caller. True story. She's moved out of the house. Nowt more that I can say.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Caught a bit of the late night talk show on a long drive there recently.

Nothing I haven't heard before, but its branded as "talk with a twist"

Whats the twist?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭GSF

Then he rang in last night to defend himself but ended up saying that she would be sorry for airing their dirty laundry in public and slammed the phone down

He needn't have worried. Its 4FM. Nobody's listening.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

GSF wrote: »

or boreFM <<<< see what I did there, I am so funny and I am not robbing that from anyone.

I don't call it boreFM

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Proview

Elmo wrote: »
    GSF wrote: »

or boreFM <<<< see what I did there, I am so funny and I am not robbing that from anyone.

I don't call it boreFM

I listen all the time in cork and all my collage mates listen all the time in Dublin .,,,,,,:-):-) it's better than victor Barry or anything else here . :-);-))

I never miss it ...

Xoxo

1. Apply for a Multicity licence for the over 55s
    2. Sell said licence to new owners
    3. New owners take a "strategic review"
    4. Ask the BAI (the soft regulator) to reduce the age from +55 to +45, which you know you will get
    5. Review your music policy, remove the 1950s and 1960s music and go lighter with the1970s and 1980s, and sure throw some 1990s stuff in as well.
    6. Review your talk policy, after all your original application suggested that the over 55s liked as much news as possible along with the best hits.
    7. Look towards lighter chat long the lines of Joe Duffy, use that as your news and current affairs output after all it worked for 98fm Classic Hits back in the day.
    8. Look at your advertising and marketing, that logo mmmm its a bit too hip for an older market, actually its a bit to distinctive and after all you do want as much distinction when you are heading in the same direction as Lite FM (sorry Q102).
    9. Forget that sliver dollar, we know they are the only people in the country with money but we really don't know them, so rather then sponsoring a channel like TG4 (that has a high 55+ audience) go for the younger audience of 3e, rather then sponsoring EastEnders or a Soap sponsor weekends on 3e!
    10. In adverts think Abba and Take That rather than Buddy Holly and Elvis. And drop the 4fm, think about renaming the service as Classic Hits. e.g. www.classichits.ie

Oh and do it gradually, keep some of the classic hits of the 1950s and 1960s, just not too many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭Btr

Elmo, I think you're being more than a little unfair here. If point 1 refers to 4, you're also wrong. 4 is now 99% owned by shareholders who were significant owners in the original set up, namely Bay. There is a serious difference between selling a station and amending it's shareholding . That said 4fm is still Kevin Branigan and co so no changes. My only question must be how long more they can afford to pour cash into 4 before they see a return. There must be a logic there but personally I can't fathom it

Btr wrote: »
    Elmo, I think you're being more than a little unfair here. If point 1 refers to 4, you're also wrong.

Sorry, I take back the over 55 comment but The station is getting younger and has drop much of its news. IMO other genres are also missed for an over 45s age group such as Drama, Documentary, International News, Satire etc.

It will be interesting to see if the €500,000 advertising campaign will work ..... and if it will work for their core audience.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,627 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The Catholics in this country are showing themselves really badly the last half an hour or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭eiresandra

IMO other genres are also missed for an over 45s age group such as Drama, Documentary, International News, Satire etc.

I don't think any independent station can service those needs given the cost, particularly a station like 4fm trying to survive.

eiresandra wrote: »
    I don't think any independent station can service those needs given the cost, particularly a station like 4fm trying to survive.

And should a station be forgiven for taking the wrong route to their audience. They have the sound and vision fund available to them for such productions. The BAI should have clearly stipulated from the outset what type of programming is required. Music from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s with some older and newer stuff, surrounded by other genres of programming maybe buy in other programmes from different countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

The BAI should have clearly stipulated from the outset what type of programming is required. Music from the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s with some older and newer stuff, surrounded by other genres of programming maybe buy in other programmes from different countries.

The BCI/BAI should butt out IMO except in the case of specialist music stations where they seem to be very lenient.
    Most if not all people I know in the 45-65 or 70ish bracket have more interest in listening to contemparary music, or at least the better stuff, anyway.
    Music wise, 4FM is closer now to what it should be compared to when it started. This notion that people of a "certain" age only want to listen to music of a "certain" era is bollix.
    Music transcends age groups. If carefully chosen, a station aimed at an older audience can have a large quota of modern music. The worst scenario is to playlist music from a certain era because you have to.

Fuzzy Clam wrote: »
    The BCI/BAI should butt out IMO except in the case of specialist music stations where they seem to be very lenient.
    Most if not all people I know in the 45-65 or 70ish bracket have more interest in listening to contemparary music, or at least the better stuff, anyway.
    Music wise, 4FM is closer now to what it should be compared to when it started. This notion that people of a "certain" age only want to listen to music of a "certain" era is bollix.
    Music transcends age groups. If carefully chosen, a station aimed at an older audience can have a large quota of modern music. The worst scenario is to playlist music from a certain era because you have to.

I didn't say that nor do I think that.

The BAI need to address specialist music to prevent it becoming like the other generic 15 - 45 music channels, they do this by letting go of the need for so much news/ca content on such channels as they are specifically niche. (I don't mean to get rid of news from those stations).

As for 4FM the BAI licence a music service for over 45s. Through the process all of the people pointed to the fact that most over 45s require a higher amount of news/talk/current affairs on such a service IMO it was a mistake to allow news show air music, Tom McGurk presenting a CA show with music doesn't really make much sense.

If the BAI did butt out the service would turn into so many of the pop music stations out there. Of course often they do butt out and we end up with pretty similar radio stations with little distinction.

The mix on 4fm is wrong IMO. The licence like that of specialist music services should not have a certain amount of News and Current Affairs rather it should be focused on different strands of Radio from Music to Drama, which doesn't have to be home produced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

I didn't say that nor do I think that.
    You said the BCI should have stipulated 50's/60's/70's etc. I disagree.
    The BAI need to address specialist music to prevent it becoming like the other generic 15 - 45 music channels, they do this by letting go of the need for so much news/ca content on such channels as they are specifically niche. (I don't mean to get rid of news from those stations).
    Agreed.
    As for 4FM the BAI licence a music service for over 45s. Through the process all of the people pointed to the fact that most over 45s require a higher amount of news/talk/current affairs on such a service IMO it was a mistake to allow news show air music, Tom McGurk presenting a CA show with music doesn't really make much sense.
    Maybe, but that is a programming decision and should not be of any concern of the BAI once the remit is fulfilled.

If the BAI did butt out the service would turn into so many of the pop music stations out there. Of course often they do butt out and we end up with pretty similar radio stations with little distinction.

The mix on 4fm is wrong IMO. The licence like that of specialist music services should not have a certain amount of News and Current Affairs rather it should be focused on different strands of Radio from Music to Drama, which doesn't have to be home produced.
    It's not a specialised music station. It's a station aimed at the over 45's.
    News, current affairs and "chat" was in their application.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 76 ✭✭jimmy2flutes

Overall Ive heard 4fm a fair bit in the last few weeks, its on it work! Although I dont hear the breakfast show, the day time is enjoyable, nice music, not offensive and does exactly what it says on the tin. Although Gareth O'Callaghan sounds more and more like Steve Wright on BBC2 which is annoying. The few times that Ive heard the talk show at night, it make me want to punch the radio! That Adrian Kennedy wannabee is so far up his own hole and loves the sound of his own voice way too much!

I love in cork and also listen to the station and have listened for quite some time over the last few months . I think Gareth sounds great and the show is lively all the time .:D:D Whos Steve Wright and the very fact that i have no idea who he is means it doesnt matter suppose

The breakfast has got so much better since Jim Started and you can see the station has completley changed .

In relation to the Talk Show , i have listened to Adrian Kennedy on City Channel numourous times and i dont consider him a talk show host . He is just a fence between the callers and i started listening to the talk show on 4FM a few months ago and listen all the time and he is way above the standard of the Kennedy show and you cant compare them . He actually has something to say and seems alot more clued in to whats actually going on . Its intelligent debate and i just love it when he gets really nutty and he abuses the caller when they behave like a dumbass . :confused::confused:Kennedys show is lame by comparison and needs a presenter like Niall Boylan . That sort of stuff might work in Dublin but in cork we need some level of intelligence :P:P

Btw hes not the only one who loves his voice , i do to and besides he doesnt spend the whole show going " ehhhhhhhh" ... Listen to the amount of times Kennedy goes " ehhhhhhhh" " ehhhhhh" :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Keep it up lads you have me and all my mates hooked !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe Kennedy could call him and get a few lessons :):)

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭vince

Proview wrote: »
    I love in cork and also listen to the station and have listened for quite some time over the last few months . I think Gareth sounds great and the show is lively all the time .:D:D Whos Steve Wright and the very fact that i have no idea who he is means it doesnt matter suppose

The breakfast has got so much better since Jim Started and you can see the station has completley changed .

In relation to the Talk Show , i have listened to Adrian Kennedy on City Channel numourous times and i dont consider him a talk show host . He is just a fence between the callers and i started listening to the talk show on 4FM a few months ago and listen all the time and he is way above the standard of the Kennedy show and you cant compare them . He actually has something to say and seems alot more clued in to whats actually going on . Its intelligent debate and i just love it when he gets really nutty and he abuses the caller when they behave like a dumbass . :confused::confused:Kennedys show is lame by comparison and needs a presenter like Niall Boylan . That sort of stuff might work in Dublin but in cork we need some level of intelligence :P:P

Btw hes not the only one who loves his voice , i do to and besides he doesnt spend the whole show going " ehhhhhhhh" ... Listen to the amount of times Kennedy goes " ehhhhhhhh" " ehhhhhh" :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Keep it up lads you have me and all my mates hooked !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe Kennedy could call him and get a few lessons :):)

well said ive been listening since day one but since june im listening all day sounding great now the morning shows are very slick now the station is sounding hot apart from them over promoting the new pay your bill comp have you noticed the extra adds now also so listnership must be on the up. david harvy got nearly 3000 votes on the poll the other day so hes gaining. you dont like a k saying ehhhhhh what about victor barry on red saying eeemmm emmmm all the time put me right off. im happy to have the late show now as ian collins leaves talksport 1st sept so that just leaves lbc and 4fm for talk for me at night. hoping ian shows up on lbc soon since clive bull has left lbc recently

vince wrote: »
    well said ive been listening since day one but since june im listening all day sounding great now the morning shows are very slick now the station is sounding hot apart from them over promoting the new pay your bill comp have you noticed the extra adds now also so listnership must be on the up. david harvy got nearly 3000 votes on the poll the other day so hes gaining. you dont like a k saying ehhhhhh what about victor barry on red saying eeemmm emmmm all the time put me right off. im happy to have the late show now as ian collins leaves talksport 1st sept so that just leaves lbc and 4fm for talk for me at night. hoping ian shows up on lbc soon since clive bull has left lbc recently

Yea , your right about Victor but hes a true langer anyways :D:D:D never like him and thank god they moved him to day time so i dont have to listen to him .

Ive noticed the Extra ads too so they must be gettig a bit bigger alright . I listened last nigth and Sinead O Connor was the on the talk show for the whole time with Niall , it was mad , she is mad but she is great ....:D:D:D

There seems to be a lot of cork callers on the show to so they must get a good audience here ..;);) Id say the competition are worried .

Ive noticed the Extra ads too so they must be gettig a bit bigger alright .

Or they have dropped their prices!

out of acorns .........

Wahoo great to meet Gareth today from 4fm in cork ...live on the air .. Was cool and met Enda too but i dont really know him ..:-))

Was hoping more of the team would have been there for us nutters in Cork but there was a great turn out for the guys ....

Wonder will they be doing more of that in Cork and will they do the night time talk show from here too .... so i can get all excited :-))):D

Wahoo great to meet Gareth today from 4fm in cork ...live on the air .. Was cool and met Enda too but i dont really know him ..:-))

Was hoping more of the team would have been there for us nutters in Cork but there was a great turn out for the guys ....

Wonder will they be doing more of that in Cork and will they do the night time talk show from here too .... so i can get all excited :-))):D

it would be well in their favour i cant belive the amount of places im hearing 4fm on and people have good things to say when i ask them what they think. i travel the whole of west cork in my job. im hearing it in shops bars kitchens etc all around good for them more obs are needed

vince wrote: »
    it would be well in their favour i cant belive the amount of places im hearing 4fm on and people have good things to say when i ask them what they think. i travel the whole of west cork in my job. im hearing it in shops bars kitchens etc all around good for them more obs are needed

Well according to the stats they have a bigger audience in Cork, perhaps they should move their offices down to cork.