Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

FAS recriuting for British army in Limerick !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Tarzan007

There were an assortment of oppressive laws and actions across the span of British/Irish history, many of them deriving from an incredibly complex societal structural relationship established from the twelfth century on. The picture people paint of some quaint utopia having been suddenly invaded by savage and barbarous hordes is ridiculous. What happened was merely the reality of international relations at the time, and mild by some comparisons.

Ah yes, Britain was really our benign, patronizing friend. Are you Kevin Meyers by any chance ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Hugo Drax

Yeah, way to debate individual points there; good man. If you want to critique the finer points of twelfth century international diplomacy, you'd do well to look at Ireland in the context of European patterns at the time.

The mutual defence aspect of the EU is a touchy point. Look how tetchy people get if you mention the idea of an EU army for instance.

And you can argue against the invasion of Iraq on modern political grounds without bringing the "800 years!" bollocks into it.

Also, throwing out the canard of Dermot MacMurrough and the norms of 12 century diplomacy is really not good enough.

What about the penal laws etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭itsonlywords

concussion wrote: »
    Would you be opposed to the US or Australian military recruiting in the country?
    No problem with them as they never murdered our people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭sean corcoran

Tarzan007 wrote: »
    I'd totally agree. Is there any other country in Europe that would allow their historic occupiers and murderers recruit on their soil. What next, have the Queen as head of state ? That's the Fianna Fail republic for you.
    well said at least someone is looking at the historic side of the arguement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

If the person she was addressing asked to let him/her know when the RIR was recruiting which it seems as if it is, then big storm in a tae cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,579 ✭✭✭✭cson

Irishmen join the army who slaughtered our people? Traitors I would call them.

As are those who signed the treaty. Traitors! Traitors all! Yarrrrrrrrrrrrrr :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Hugo Drax wrote: »
    Wow what a neat pice of revisionist trite nonsense.

As for allies, we have the EU. England is part of that, we're not exactly at war with them are we.

We just can't ally ourselves to their more illegal activites such as the invasion of Iraq etc.

If we change the name to Mr. Viking with a French name, who sent his viking vassal with a Welsh/French accent does that work

The correct name is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, england is the small state what gets kicked about by the Welsh, Scots and Nordies, whilst paying for it.

Did ye not let the yanks use Shannon, so ye is the S H one T with us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

What 800 years bollocks into it? I never mentioned any such thing.

Unfortunately the history between Ireland and England is long and bloody and very unfortunate.

Fantasists like yourself who attempt to re-write history should be consigned to the same nut-hatch as Ruth Dudley Edwards, Kevin Myers and Eoghan Harris.

In fact, are you one of those 3?

Long, bloody, and typical.

And vastly, vastly more complicated than you seem to fathom.

I'm not attempting to rewrite history, merely to give it context. That's what gives it best clarity. It's also important to try and be amoral to understand history; emotion doesn't do any good.

cson wrote: »
    As are those who signed the treaty. Traitors! Traitors all! Yarrrrrrrrrrrrrr :pac:

Would that be Lisbon

No problem with them as they never murdered our people.

Exactly! They murdered our own and we stood by while it happened without doing any murdering of own....

Oh.... Wait. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

im not trying to stir anyting but i think that the british of all people should NOT be allowed to recruit in this country.

I agree with you in the sense that a foreign military currently engaged in a war (just or unjust) should not be allowed engage in recruitment campaigns in ours or any other nation except their own.

I do not agree with your "i hate dem brits cos dez don bad thins to uz" attitude however.

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I doubt you have ever as much as thrown a rock in anger Sean.

Childish barstool Republicanism.
    sorry mate but my great grandfather died in the G.P.O during the rising. if we went to war with the brits tomorrow because of something the I.R.A did ill tell ya now ill be first in line to fight back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Hugo Drax

I'm not attempting to rewrite history, merely to give it context. That's what gives it best clarity. It's also important to try and be amoral to understand history; emotion doesn't do any good.

thanks Kevin, don't you have some abusive piece of trash to write for the Indo about gays, bastards or immigrants?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

"Toora loora loora loo, they're looking for monkeys up in the zoo, sure if I had a face like you; I'd join the British army"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Tarzan007

Ah yes, an enlightened follower of Meyers, Conor Cruise O'Brien etc. Next now he'll be lecturing us on " our maturity as a nation " if we accept Brit recruitment in what is supposed to be sovereign Irish territory.

Exactly! They murdered our own and we stood by while it happened without doing any murdering of own....

Oh.... Wait. :(
    You an apologist for the murderers who slaughtered hundreds of thousands of decent Ireiah people? Yes, unfortunately, Ireland always bred that type but hey one or two idiots in a hundred is ok.

Who?

Is that what they're calling Sinn Fein IRA Republicans these days?

Ah g'wan keep going. Don't let common sense stop a bit of Brit bashing. Knock yourself out my boy, nothing like a bit of bigotry to entertain the AH masses. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Sykk wrote: »
    Awh. Don't get offended you live in the worst place in Ireland!

Worst place in Ireland according to people who:

a/ have never been here to Limerick, nor indeed seen much of Ireland at all

b/ take their view of the world from bitter journo hacks who create caricatures

This looks like a sham due the 'Royal Irish Army' ref. No such entity exists. Ignore the **** stirrers, whatever their agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Also, throwing out the canard of Dermot MacMurrough and the norms of 12 century diplomacy is really not good enough.

What about the penal laws etc.?

That's exactly the sort of complexity I'm talking about. One of the major issues with governing Ireland was establishing and maintaining an identity for the colonists over and differentiating them from the native Irish. That's why you have laws like the Statutes of Kilkenny in 1367 which attempted to halt the development of a "middle nation", neither Irish nor Anglo-Norman. Following the 1641 rebellion over various issues with regard to the plantations and fear of harsh treatment by the Parliamentarists (and thinking James VI/I was sympathetic because he was Catholic) and of course religion hadn't been an identifying factor before Henry VIII, bar in the traditions of Christianity (monastic versus episcopal). You have a series of laws, which morph in their inflection and aims, stemming from the negligence of a series of high mediaeval Anglo-Norman kings towards their new colony, due to their interests on the continent. This meant the colonists started to blend in, and the laws that were intended to combat this morphed over about three and a half centuries and you end up with Cromwell. Intentions, events, characters, and time; all of these were crucial in shaping how things like the penal laws develop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Irishmen join the army who slaughtered our people? Traitors I would call them.

as is any Irish person that married someone from england then.

Tarnishing irish blood like.

Terrible.

/runs off to join french foreign legion

If we change the name to Mr. Viking with a French name, who sent his viking vassal with a Welsh/French accent does that work

The correct name is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, england is the small state what gets kicked about by the Welsh, Scots and Nordies, whilst paying for it.

Did ye not let the yanks use Shannon, so ye is the S H one T with us
    Lets analyse the last sentence. He speaks as if he is a brit talking about the US landing in Shannon but uses Irish expressions like "ye". Methinks it is another of those spimnless ones that go to england and in 22 minutes have the stupid accent. Yes we know the type

Rabies wrote: »
    as is any Irish person that married someone from england then.

Tarnishing irish blood like.

Terrible.

/runs off to join french foreign legion
    Runs off is the correct way to say it. I married an English woman, so bloody what. She raised her standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Runs off is the correct way to say it. I married an English woman, so bloody what. She raised her standards.

Haha so you are implying you lowered yours is that what you are saying! Jaysus dont think your wife would like to hear that!

I married an English woman, so bloody what.

Traitor!

Marrying those who murdered so many of our countrymen. You make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,281 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Do you get enough spuds?:confused:

im not giving out about english PEOPLE, its not their fault but the queen and the rest of the figureheads and government i hate. they are the ones pushing the recruitment and they are the ones who think they are better than everyone else in the whole world and THEY want everything their way. but otherwise congrats on the wife :)

Lets analyse the last sentence. He speaks as if he is a brit talking about the US landing in Shannon but uses Irish expressions like "ye". Methinks it is another of those spimnless ones that go to england and in 22 minutes have the stupid accent. Yes we know the type

Irish Anglo is the phrase you are looking for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Do you get enough spuds?:confused:

she probably has her eye on some irish land now

tut tut tut

Who?

Is that what they're calling Sinn Fein IRA Republicans these days?

Ah g'wan keep going. Don't let common sense stop a bit of Brit bashing. Knock yourself out my boy, nothing like a bit of bigotry to entertain the AH masses. ;)
    Ahh yes the old Sinn Féin IRA spoke like a true loyalist. For your information sonny the IRA god bless them are/were a different organisation than Sinn Féin. As you may not know the IRA have disbanded anfter helping us get decent conditions for nationalists and freeing the loyalist stranglehold on the country. Without the IRA our people would still be downtrodden and be treated like 3rd class citizens with denial of voting rights, employment and housing. Nothing anybody says can change the facts. God bless them.

Rabies wrote: »
    she probably has her eye on some irish land now

tut tut tut

****ing plantation all over again. :(