Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAS recriuting for British army in Limerick !!

• 26-04-2010 3:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭

Apparently the FAS Job club in Moyross sent around a letter. Is it right that an agency of the Irish govt. should be recruiting for a foreign govt ? I wonder would the author of the letter, Martina McInerney, would want maybe a brother or a boyfriend to head off as cannon fodder to the other side of the world ? http://lh5.ggpht.com/_IyLgewChzv8/S9VN6gvhKLI/AAAAAAAAAJc/FHEpLruiU2U/barmy.jpg Though it must be said, a few fellows in Limerick would already have experience in firearms !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's probably a lot safer joining any army than staying in Limerick.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Tarzan007 wrote: »
    Apparently the FAS Job club in Moyross sent around a letter. Is it right that an agency of the Irish govt. should be recruiting for a foreign govt ? I wonder would the author of the letter, Martina McInerney, would want maybe a brother or a boyfriend to head off as cannon fodder to the other side of the world ? http://lh5.ggpht.com/_IyLgewChzv8/S9VN6gvhKLI/AAAAAAAAAJc/FHEpLruiU2U/barmy.jpg Though it must be said, a few fellows in Limerick would already have experience in firearms !!!

No one is forcing anyone into any army..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

It's only for people in Limerick.. Because they've the reknowned ability to rob the eye out of the back of your head within 20 feet away.. Immagine if they could defuse bombs?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

"Royal Irish Army" did she mean the royal irish rangers or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Tarzan007

kippy wrote: »
    No one said anything about been forced into joining an army. But I would have thought it obvious that the British army should not allowed to use an Irish state organization to recruit. Maybe some Muslim guy will start recruiting for the Taliban ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Exactly and plenty of people join the UK forces because they have more opportunities then the Irish forces.

Thats not to belittle the the Irish forces. Its just they pump a huge amount of money into the UK forces and they can serve if they wish in Iraw/Afghan (I dunno why they would).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

She's just a troll, that Martina McInerney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 John Lynch Ph.D

I'm sorry I have to comment on this.

It's a jobs agency, if the American embassy were advertising a position on FAS for cleaners would you object?

Why would they show any bias? they wouldn't be in a position to anyway.

Bambi wrote: »
    I presume so. TBH, I think it was someone's ill thought of bright idea rather than a conscious effort at recruiting cannon fodder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

There is no such thing as the Royal Irish Army. There is the Irish Army or the the Royal Irish Regiment of the British Army. Why don't you ring them and find out?

My Dad told me years back there was an add for the British army, "Join the services and see the World", it was altered to read "Join the Tans and see the other". His brother was in the RAF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I think you can apply to join most armies :/

Is this an English bashing thing?

No harm recruiting. The Irish army does it too.

You're all classed the same when you start from the bottom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's probably a lot safer joining any army than staying in Limerick.:pac:
    Sykk wrote: »
    Because they've the reknowned ability to rob the eye out of the back of your head within 20 feet away..

You both should apply.....you've a better chance at that career than as a comedian :rolleyes:

Is "talking through your arse" a career ?

Bambi wrote: »

There is no recruitment in the Irish forces at the minute so she must mean the UK ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭crashplan

She probably means the Royal Irish Regiment.

Theta wrote: »
    Exactly and plenty of people join the UK forces because they have more opportunities then the Irish forces.

Thats not to belittle the the Irish forces. Its just they pump a huge amount of money into the UK forces and they can serve if they wish in Iraw/Afghan (I dunno why they would).
    Feck all people join the Brits from the Republic. The British talk about a big " increase in recruitment " from the south, but when asked to provide numbers they don't want to produce them. I'd say theirs more fellows join the Americans or even the French Foreign Legion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭sean corcoran

anyone who joins is a traitor to ireland. if someone wants to join the british army let them go to britain, but dont let them back. im sorry but i know its all over now but after the whole 800 years they shouldnt even be our ally nevermind be allowed recruit here. do you think the americans would allow the taliban to recruit in new york? this is wrong and is going to cause contraversy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Hugo Drax

Rabies wrote: »

Actually the English Army is officially barred from recruiting in this country as are all foreign armies.

If FAS are doing this than they may be breaking the law.

? this is wrong and is going to cause contraversy.

This...or you?

Yes, but any country with any sort of self respect should not allow a foreign army to recruit in it's territory. BTW, does that make the recruits mercenary's ?

anyone who joins is a traitor to ireland. if someone wants to join the british army let them go to britain, but dont let them back. im sorry but i know its all over now but after the whole 800 years they shouldnt even be our ally nevermind be allowed recruit here. do you think the americans would allow the taliban to recruit in new york? this is wrong and is going to cause contraversy.

Here we fúcken go again!

Hugo Drax wrote: »
    Actually the English Army is officially barred from recruiting in this country as are all foreign armies.

Interesting.

Yes, but any country with any sort of self respect should not allow a foreign army to recruit in it's territory. BTW, does that make the recruits mercenary's ?

No it doesn't. Some may treat them as such but under international law it's pretty clear they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Anyone who sues the term Royal Irish Army doesn't sound like they are the full shilling, so I'd be fairly certain this is not being done with the knowledge of FAS higher-ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

i should hope so - not least for fraud. the English Army ceased to exist about 400 years ago.

don't send money folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    You both should apply.....you've a better chance at that career than as a comedian :rolleyes:

Awh. Don't get offended you live in the worst place in Ireland!

Feck all people join the Brits from the Republic. The British talk about a big " increase in recruitment " from the south, but when asked to provide numbers they don't want to produce them. I'd say theirs more fellows join the Americans or even the French Foreign Legion.

Why are they so desperate to recruit Irishmen?

They just can't face letting us go can they...

concussion wrote: »
    This...or you?
    the british army is recruiting here. it would be different anywhere else but ireland is not the place to do it

OS119 wrote: »
    i should hope so - not least for fraud. the English Army ceased to exist about 400 years ago.

don't send money folks!

Funny, I thought England still had a standing army.

Who was used in the invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan?

The London Met??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

No one said anything about been forced into joining an army. But I would have thought it obvious that the British army should not allowed to use an Irish state organization to recruit. Maybe some Muslim guy will start recruiting for the Taliban ?
    If thats the point of the post then say it, instead of pricking around asking how would the writer of the letter feel if it was her son or daughter.......
    Why wouldnt they be allowed use an Irish State organisation to assit in recruitment, especially an Irish state organisation with the task of assisting people get jobs.
    Whats the deal with the Muslim guy and the taliban? Irish people have a long history in serving in various parts of the British armed and indeed civilian (police) forces......

Funny, I thought England still had a standing army.

Who was used in the invasions of Iraq and Afghanistan?

The London Met??

The British Army. See what the difference is there!

Nothing wrong with that agent for FAS saying to apply to the English army.

I think someone has posted saying the Irish army is not taking new recruits, is this true?

If so, then nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Why are they so desperate to recruit Irishmen?

Cos they can save two weeks firearms training by recruiting from Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

Capitalisation, or lack thereof, is causing great controversy alright. :pac:

If thats the point of the post then say it, instead of pricking around asking how would the writer of the letter feel if it was her son or daughter.......
    Why wouldnt they be allowed use an Irish State organisation to assit in recruitment, especially an Irish state organisation with the task of assisting people get jobs.
    Whats the deal with the Muslim guy and the taliban? Irish people have a long history in serving in various parts of the British armed and indeed civilian (police) forces......

Well no self respecting country is going to allow foreign armies to steal potential recruits for it's own armies right out from under it's nose.

I watched a documentary a couple of years back about Dubs in the English army and they were all lads that had been rejected by the Irish army first.

Make of that what you will;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Look, it was a French king of a broken corner of what's currently Great Britain under a papal mandate, at the invitation of a despotic king of a broken, squabbling corner of Ireland. Welcome to the political reality of the high mediaeval period of western Europe. There were an assortment of oppressive laws and actions across the span of British/Irish history, many of them deriving from an incredibly complex societal structural relationship established from the twelfth century on. The picture people paint of some quaint utopia having been suddenly invaded by savage and barbarous hordes is ridiculous. What happened was merely the reality of international relations at the time, and mild by some comparisons. As to not being our "ally", yeah, what we need is less international support. The Taliban comment is just stupid; there's no comparison.

However, it is illegal for foreign militaries to actively recruit in Ireland. Fás may be in hot water here for effectively soliciting for them.

Theta wrote: »
    The British Army. See what the difference is there!

No, can't say I do.

Is there a difference?:rolleyes:

FAS are not directly advertising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Cos they can save two weeks firearms training by recruiting from Limerick.

Given the way yer man shot himself in the head with a chambered round last year , they'll more likely need an extra 2 weeks.

the british army is recruiting here. it would be different anywhere else but ireland is not the place to do it

I don't think any foreign military should recruit in the country and I don't think FÁS should be doing it on their behalf, if this is indeed the case. However, the rest of your post is just plain sad.

Nothing wrong with that agent for FAS saying to apply to the English army.

I think someone has posted saying the Irish army is not taking new recruits, is this true?

If so, then nothing wrong with it.

Unless it's illegal.

But since FAS is the same State Agency that was running junkets for Roddy Molloy to NASA for reasons unknown I don't think we should really take them seriously on any level....

Look, it was a French king of a broken corner of what's currently Great Britain under a papal mandate, at the invitation of a despotic king of a broken, squabbling corner of Ireland. Welcome to the political reality of the high mediaeval period of western Europe. There were an assortment of oppressive laws and actions across the span of British/Irish history, many of them deriving from an incredibly complex societal structural relationship established from the twelfth century on. The picture people paint of some quaint utopia having been suddenly invaded by savage and barbarous hordes is ridiculous. What happened was merely the reality of international relations at the time, and mild by some comparisons. As to not being our "ally", yeah, what we need is less international support. The Taliban comment is just stupid; there's no comparison.

However, it is illegal for foreign militaries to actively recruit in Ireland. Fás may be in hot water here for effectively soliciting for them.

Wow what a neat pice of revisionist trite nonsense.

As for allies, we have the EU. England is part of that, we're not exactly at war with them are we.

We just can't ally ourselves to their more illegal activites such as the invasion of Iraq etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Liam Byrne wrote: »

It is for me.:P

...anyway, I went to Limerick yesterday, and wasn't murdered once, although I almost got robbed in a couple of shops.

I'm not sure if you're serious or trying to stir sh!t but good job...

either way, its sh!te talk

I'm not sure if you're serious or trying to stir sh!t but good job...

either way, its sh!te talk
    im not trying to stir anyting but i think that the british of all people should NOT be allowed to recruit in this country.

Would you be opposed to the US or Australian military recruiting in the country?

im not trying to stir anyting but i think that the british of all people should NOT be allowed to recruit in this country.

They're NOT allowed.

And the letter linked to looks about as real as a €3 note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

anyone who joins is a traitor to ireland. if someone wants to join the british army let them go to britain, but dont let them back. im sorry but i know its all over now but after the whole 800 years they shouldnt even be our ally nevermind be allowed recruit here.y.

I doubt you have ever as much as thrown a rock in anger Sean.

Childish barstool Republicanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Wow what a neat pice of revisionist trite nonsense.

As for allies, we have the EU. England is part of that, we're not exactly at war with them are we.

We just can't ally ourselves to their more illegal activites such as the invasion of Iraq etc.

Yeah, way to debate individual points there; good man. If you want to critique the finer points of twelfth century international diplomacy, you'd do well to look at Ireland in the context of European patterns at the time.

The mutual defence aspect of the EU is a touchy point. Look how tetchy people get if you mention the idea of an EU army for instance.

And you can argue against the invasion of Iraq on modern political grounds without bringing the "800 years!" bollocks into it.

concussion wrote: »
    Would you be opposed to the US or Australian military recruiting in the country?

All foreign military are banned from recruiting here.

Just as all foreign military are banned from recruiting in the USA or England.

It's just common sense on the State's part.