Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Anyone else get a call from ticketmaster about replacing the tix they sent out for the munster game in thomond end march?. What's that all about?.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3551_7578988,00.html

Looks like BOD will be back by the derby at Thomond.

Hopefully POC will be back by that game, to see him up against Thorn would be awesome.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭leftleg

Hopefully POC will be back by that game, to see him up against Thorn would be awesome.

Himself and David Wallace are machines; super recoveries from both; clear pros who look after their bodies and it shows in the amount of time it took to recover from what must be terrible injuries. Great stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Anyone else get a call from ticketmaster about replacing the tix they sent out for the munster game in thomond end march?. What's that all about?.

No but I'm still waiting for mine? What did they say to you?

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

.ak wrote: »
    No but I'm still waiting for mine? What did they say to you?

This is the email I just got - had a phonecall from them maybe an hour ago
    Dear Customer,

Thank you for purchasing tickets for Munster v Leinster in Thomond Park on 31st March next.
    You have been posted the incorrect tickets for this game. The tickets you received are printed on Blue Ticketmaster ticket stock and these need to be disposed of immediately as you will not gain access to Thomond Park with these tickets.

The correct tickets are being posted today and are on Red Munster Rugby ticket stock.
    Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Regards,
    Ticketmaster Sports Dept

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Interesting. Well I haven't heard anything yet so I'm going to assume only a small number were effected.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

So that's Thorn in, Drico coming back, Leo should be back in the mix before the SF hopefully (assuming we get there) and Fitzy back playing (and fingers crossed capturing the form he was in earlier this season). If our lads can get through these last 2 Ireland games unscathed we'll be in a very good place for the "business" end of the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

molloyjh wrote: »
    So that's Thorn in, Drico coming back, Leo should be back in the mix before the SF hopefully (assuming we get there) and Fitzy back playing (and fingers crossed capturing the form he was in earlier this season). If our lads can get through these last 2 Ireland games unscathed we'll be in a very good place for the "business" end of the season.

Very surprised Thorn was allowed sign if Cullen will be back for next month. Sykes looks to have slotted back in seemlessly for the Sharks too.

Some fantastic work by the Leinster brains trust to convince the IRFU to sanction the Thorn signing and offloading of Sykes. Wish Munster had similar savy brains behind the operation.

If POC isn't back for Munster for the interpro, we'll be in store for some serious Leinsterthornment.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Very surprised Thorn was allowed sign if Cullen will be back for the end of the month. Sykes looks to have slotted back in seemlessly for the Sharks too.

Some fantastic work by the Leinster brains trust to convince the IRFU to sanction the Thorn signing and offloading of Sykes. Wish Munster had similar savy brains behind the operation.

If POC isn't back for Munster for the interpro, we'll be in store for some serious Leinsterthornment.

Nope. I'm not allowing leinsterthornment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

durkadurka wrote: »
    Nope. I'm not allowing leinsterthornment.

:(

My brad...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Very surprised Thorn was allowed sign if Cullen will be back for next month. Sykes looks to have slotted back in seemlessly for the Sharks too.

I suppose there is no real guarantee that he'll come back in great shape. Plus it's possible Browne will head off for surgery now.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Is Damian Browne on a one year deal or longer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Not sure but hopefully he signs on for another year if it is just the one, he's done alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Would hope 2 years as he has done ok this year

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,142 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Browne and Carr were signed on one year deals.

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/8025.php

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Browne and Carr were signed on one year deals.

http://www.leinsterrugby.ie/newsroom/8025.php

Interesting if Carr will stay on for another year, I had guessed, wrongly, he had signed for a few seasons

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It's a shame Carr hasn't got the all-round game because he's probably the best attacking player Leinster have.

You'd question whether it's worth him staying. From both points of view.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I suppose there is no real guarantee that he'll come back in great shape. Plus it's possible Browne will head off for surgery now.
    Very possible, Browne has been playing with a shoulder injury for a couple of months now.

It's a shame Carr hasn't got the all-round game because he's probably the best attacking player Leinster have.

You'd question whether it's worth him staying. From both points of view.

Yeah I have said all season it might be worth his while to head to Munster but then Munster are after buying in alot of backs so I guess he will stay with Leinster, has been better in last few games but still need to majorly step up to make a mark on squad in HC and when Irish international are around. He hardly gets a look in.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,982 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Yeah I have said all season it might be worth his while to head to Munster but then Munster are after buying in alot of backs so I guess he will stay with Leinster, has been better in last few games but still need to majorly step up to make a mark on squad in HC and when Irish international are around. He hardly gets a look in.

If Luke, Nacewa and Kearney are all fit and in form, they will obviously start. Further, I'd see Conway or D Kearney as bigger threats to the above three than Carr. That said, I still think Carr could have a part to play at Leinster, though I'd definitely see him as cover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

I'd be very surprised if Browne wasn't rewarded with a 2 year deal. He's 31, has performed very well this season, doing a job in both Pro12 and the HEC and Leinster are desperately short in his position. Hopefully he stays and and hopefully he is given a decent contract because he has earned every penny, perhaps more than any other player this season.

Carr is a wait and see job. He has been sparkling at times but very dodgy 5 minutes later. With Leinster served very well in his position, I would say Leinster will offer him a deal but it might be well short of what Carr wants or might earn elsewhere.

Our back three is in this order IMO.
    International class:
    Nacewa,R Kearney, fitz, Shaggy ( I hope he comes back but its looking iffy)
    Then HEC class in this order:
    McFadden
    D Kearney
    Then Rabo class:
    Conway, Carr, the kids

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I think Browne has been our "unsung hero" this year for sure. He came in with no fanfare and has been excellent in a position where Leinster have become desperate thanks to a flakey South African. I really think he's a good player. For example he greatly outplayed Cullen in our opening H Cup game.

Hopefully he comes back next season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

So the QF team could look something like:

Kearney
    Nacewa
    BOD
    D'Arcy/McFadden
    Fitz
    Sexton
    Reddan
    Heaslip
    SOB/Jennings
    Jennings/McLaughlin
    Cullen
    Thorn
    Ross
    Strauss/Cronin
    Healy

That is a bloody strong side.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

I think Browne has been our "unsung hero" this year for sure. He came in with no fanfare and has been excellent in a position where Leinster have become desperate thanks to a flakey South African. I really think he's a good player. For example he greatly outplayed Cullen in our opening H Cup game.

Hopefully he comes back next season.

Is it just me or are the Leinster old guard (Cullen,Horgan,Jennings,etc) slipping quietly into the night?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

danthefan wrote: »
    So the QF team could look something like:

Kearney
    Nacewa
    BOD
    D'Arcy/McFadden
    Fitz
    Sexton
    Reddan
    Heaslip
    SOB/Jennings
    Jennings/McLaughlin
    Cullen
    Thorn
    Ross
    Strauss/Cronin
    Healy

That is a bloody strong side.

Think of the possible bench of Cronin, VdM, White, Toner, McLaughlin, Boss, Madigan/Berquist with a utility back choice from McFadden(if not at 12), D Kearney, Carr, Conway. Or you could put McFadden at 12 and feel you have enough versatile players in the team already with Fitz/McF/Nacewa and go with a specialist like D'Arcy or even EOM.

A lot depends on BOD, how Thorn gets on, injuries, and just generally how things are going.

However, there are a lot of options.

Is it just me or are the Leinster old guard (Cullen,Horgan,Jennings,etc) slipping quietly into the night?

Add D'Arcy too.

Cullen has been our third best 2nd row this season. He's nowhere near what he used to be. They're all being slowly but surely phased out I reckon...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Add D'Arcy too.

Cullen has been our third best 2nd row this season. He's nowhere near what he used to be. They're all being slowly but surely phased out I reckon...

Testament to the quality of the youth that they aren't being missed, if anything they're taking up space.

Maybe that's a little harsh, but still.

Bit hard to say .
    Cullen might come back rejuvenated from his operation but early this season he looked on the turn to me.

Darcy I think wasnt first choice only once this year .
    Shaggy , well I hope we see him back but it's looking dodgy now.
    Jennings still does a job but I was as surprised s anyone to see him make the bench for Ireland.

probably next season will be a season of transition where these guys and maybe BOd are phased out. All the old legends will be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Add D'Arcy too.

Jaysus Emmet, the guy was playing on two dodgy Achilles tendons, cut him some slack! But yeah, he's 34 now, I could well see this being his last season.

It would sicken me if we didn't see Horgan again, for a guy to have been playing nearly the best rugby of his career last season only to see it cut short would be a real shame.

As for D'Arcy, I don't know. I think he's a different player with Leinster compared to Ireland, I expect another couple of seasons of HC rugby out of him but I would really like to see McFadden getting some time at 12.

The key loss will be BOD, I think if he gets a Lions tour next year then he'll call it a day, O'Malley is a good player, Fitz could be a good 13 but there is no replacing O'Driscoll, we just have to suck it up.