Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match thread - boards cup

• Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

Orizio wrote: »
    I seem to have been badly beaten by Oisin despite having far superior CSR levels. Bizarre.

It's cause you don't have the heart!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

Fewcifur wrote: »
    is there some element of the tactics that governs such things?

Never figured that out myself. There were a few kickable chances in our match but not sure what affects the decision

• Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

The Captain has a big roll.

Also, recent kicking percentage influences it.

The talent of your kicker together with the location on the pitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Orizio wrote: »
    I seem to have been badly beaten by Oisin despite having far superior CSR levels. Bizarre.

From the reporters summary it has to be the ruck. I only saw the first half, so this is all I'm going by. Everything else seems pretty even

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Oisinjm wrote: »
    From the reporters summary it has to be the ruck. I only saw the first half, so this is all I'm going by. Everything else seems pretty even

It was a matter of energy really.

jprender wrote: »
    The Captain has a big roll.

Also, recent kicking percentage influences it.

The talent of your kicker together with the location on the pitch.

It's an odd one... I had my usual captain. Is it the captain's level of leadership and experience or his position? My normal captain is a prop... bet he was dyin' to mix it up, the rascal!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭mar-z

I had been thinking about this a bit as well as everything JP said the score would also have an influence.

Most my kickable opportunities were when I had a two score lead (or more:p) so my captain wants to keep possession and turn the screw.

When it was close most of Fewcifur's penalties were from reasonably far out or near the touchline so might have been iffy with your kicker and later on in the 2nd half ymore than a penalty was needed.

There was probably a couple of odd ones in there though but that happens in real life (*shakes fist at O'Leary for taking the tap against France*)

mar-z wrote: »
    I had been thinking about this a bit as well as everything JP said the score would also have an influence.

Most my kickable opportunities were when I had a two score lead (or more:p) so my captain wants to keep possession and turn the screw.

When it was close most of Fewcifur's penalties were from reasonably far out or near the touchline so might have been iffy with your kicker and later on in the 2nd half ymore than a penalty was needed.

There was probably a couple of odd ones in there though but that happens in real life (*shakes fist at O'Leary for taking the tap against France*)

Yeah, maybe the captain made the right choice... the jerk! Nothing ventured nothing gained! Damn him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,183 ✭✭✭crisco10

So whats the craic with this? Do I need to go hunting a friendly for next week? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭Blanchguy

When's the next round of the cup scheduled for? No sign of the fixtures yet. Eager to get my beating!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

The Almost There Award

ALBA 23 (130)
    Seniors 20 (31)
    Fookers 19 (29)
    Yermen 18 (-55)
    Tryer 16 (-30)
    Bogwarriors 15 (7)
    Scorched Earth 13 (-9)
    Xavi 12 (86)

The QFs will be:
    A Lovely Bunch V XaviXV
    Templeogue Seniors V Scorched Earth
    Deadard Fookers V Bogwarriors
    Yermen V Everyone Likes A Tryer

Am i right in thinking I am playing dedard fookers in the next round? also whose in charge of submitting the fixtures?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Sorry about the delay, semi finals will still be this monday.
    Those who lost their quarter final are free to organise friendlies.
    The Boards Cup
    QF RESULTS
    Forza Juve 20-0(Walkover) Rebels
    Grubber RFC 33-10 Curly Sue Death Squad
    Men Who Stare at Goats 20-0(Walkover) Wandering Wanderers
    Polk High 0-19 Gnomes
    So the semis will be:
    Grubber V Gnomes
    Goats V Forza Juve (home advantage decided by coin toss)
    The Almost There Award
    QFs RESULTS:
    A Lovely Bunch 29-3 XaviXV
    Templeogue Seniors 27-15 Scorched Earth
    Deadard Fookers 31-10 Bogwarriors
    Yermen 17-26 Everyone Likes A Tryer
    So the semis are:
    ALBA V Tryers
    Fookers V Seniors
    The Try Harder Trophy
    QF RESULTS
    Ladyboys 24-10 Beltra
    Ali's Academicals 13-50 Munster MkII
    The Parrish 20-14 Stab County
    Killarney RFC 43-12 East Coast Tinders
    So the semis are:
    MM2 V Parrish
    Killarney V Ladyboys

Fixtures should be on the BR site tomorrow.
    I'm fiddling with the cup site to (among other things) handle the knockout stages.
    Hopefully it'll be ready before the finals!

boardscup.png?0.08157646236163607

5 minutes messing around.

Not sure if the resolution is good enough though, I might have to have another go.

Do we have anything better ?

jprender wrote: »
    boardscup.png?0.08157646236163607

Looks pretty good to me, if the resolution could be upped to make the edges of the cup smoother all the better - good stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭JohnButler

That is gonna look damn fine in my trophy cabinet! Oh ye!

boardscup.png

I think that this one is a little better.

Now, I think that it must include a 2px outer-glow shadow.

What the hell is that ? :D

almostthereaward.png

Here is the "Almost There Award"

tryhardertrophy.png

And.... the "Try Harder Trophy"

This is fun !! :D

Don't know whether it is my work filter but some of them trophies are not showing! Or is the trophy the broken picture link icon!;)

They are all showing up fine for me.

So, it must be you, I reckon your boss has just rumbled you. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Look great JP, if the second one was silver rather then white then they would be perfect and I'd be happy to put them up. ;)

almostthereaward.png

I've got too much time on my hands.

Haha fairplay, they look great. Hopefully I'll be getting my hands on one

Much later than advertised, fixtures are up on br. Please accept asap.

I only have a request from the top in my league? Sorry if theres some mistake here

Looks fine from my end. Not sure what the problem might be. Don't stress about it: given the short notice, it would only be fair to reschedule any fixtures that get missed.

It all looks fine to me too Oisin.

I've accepted our game, so if you do the same we are grand for our game.

Are we gonna play WNWIM ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Trophies look great jp.... are we using them for this year or is there any chnace of back dating them? Yes I am rapidly becoming a trophy slut lol

I hope we're back-dating them....I'm due one !!

They look savage - guess my boss ia limiting my internet viewing of imageshack!:(

these trophies might cause me to break from my WNWIM policy at this business end of the tournament!:p