Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭4Ad

Congratulations to Bodyke, they were by far the better team..no doubt they will have a serious celebration...
    From a Mills man....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,055 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Kilmurry deserved the win throughout even though Clondegad could have gotten even closer. A missed free near the end would have made it exciting for the final minute.

I was disappointed with some of Tony Kelly's behavior in yesterdays game. In the ear of the ref and linesman at several times trying to influence decisions, screaming at the ref for a black card when he was fouled and particularly, an elbow in the back of a KiB defender when he had lost control of the ball which led to a scuffle between the teams and treatment for the player.

I was talking to a work colleague who had his 7 and 8 year old boys at the game and he said there was an awful lot going on which is setting an outright bad example to children. The Clondegad's player behavior in getting sent off was embarrassing.

Clondegad lost several intermediate finals before making the leap to senior. Hopefully similar resilience in coming years will see them back competing on county final day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Lads,
    Should we be reading anything into the departures of Bugler, C.Ryan, Pat Donnellan, and potentially Cunningham and Galvin going travelling too ?
    Of course each case is individual and they all have their own reasons, which should be respected.
    But if the feeling around the squad was that we have a serious shot at a Munster or All-Ireland, or both, in 2018, you'd rarely see so many people opting out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Claregaafan18

Lads,
    Should we be reading anything into the departures of Bugler, C.Ryan, Pat Donnellan, and potentially Cunningham and Galvin going travelling too ?
    Of course each case is individual and they all have their own reasons, which should be respected.
    But if the feeling around the squad was that we have a serious shot at a Munster or All-Ireland, or both, in 2018, you'd rarely see so many people opting out?

Personally I feel the relentless physical training regime that was implemented by Davy during his time as Clare hurling boss has got a lot to do with it regarding retirements and taking a break from the game. Darach Honan while not specifically calling DF'S name out said that a hip replacement was a distinct possibility had he kept on inter-county hurling. That says it all really.

I also got the impression that the camp were not all singing off the same hymn sheet in 2017 with talks of management having certain favorites in the squad towards some players instead of others. Also why did Gearoid (Gudgie) O'Connell leave the panel days before the Munster Final? There was also the impression that the training regime that Gerry and Donal implemented was too intense also.

I think the coaching situation had an impact too. As I speak about the Clare senior hurling management team does anyone know who will become the next Clare coach in 2018 to replace Donal Og Cusack? Names like Fergie O'Loughlin, Fergal Hegarty, Eamonn O'Shea and Mattie Kenny have been mentioned as possible replacements for the Cork man.

To conclude it is always a worry to see so many players either taking time out from the game or retiring. However providing lessons have been learned from 2017 then 2018 can be a start to the revival of Clare senior hurling team's fortunes. I still think that Donal and Gerry are the right men for the job. But they let themselves down with their crazy tactics in 2017 but I was heartened that they did review the year in detail and promised the same mistakes will not happen or be repeated on the sideline for next year. Here's hoping anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Lads,

an awful lot of these players have serious miles on the clock , there were a number of players compleatly over doing things with duel commitments duel club , under 21 and senior intercounty at the same time , i think it was inevitable something like this might happen

my disappointment would come from our underage structures which have fell apart in hurling the only way we could have sustained things from the turn of the decade was to keep turning over underage success like limerick ,waterford and galway are doing

there is not enough club players especially from the likes of sixmilebridge putting up a hand for the county team , players on the intercounty panel know this also

cant stop lads from taking time out but we are not doing enough to replace them either

my example would be take a look at the football set up underage especially the development squads , year on year over the last 5 or 6 years we have drafted in a number of players off minor and u21 squads every year , if we can do it with football why are we not doing the same in hurling

Kilmurry deserved the win throughout even though Clondegad could have gotten even closer. A missed free near the end would have made it exciting for the final minute.

I was disappointed with some of Tony Kelly's behavior in yesterdays game. In the ear of the ref and linesman at several times trying to influence decisions, screaming at the ref for a black card when he was fouled and particularly, an elbow in the back of a KiB defender when he had lost control of the ball which led to a scuffle between the teams and treatment for the player.

I was talking to a work colleague who had his 7 and 8 year old boys at the game and he said there was an awful lot going on which is setting an outright bad example to children. The Clondegad's player behavior in getting sent off was embarrassing.

Clondegad lost several intermediate finals before making the leap to senior. Hopefully similar resilience in coming years will see them back competing on county final day.

yeah kelly went a bit nuts all right but cosgrave can be a very frustrating referee at times , brian carrig got away with murder too ,he was given plenty of digs to young dermot coughlan , it almost seemed like a tactic , a foolish one at that as carrig was one of clondegads best players in the win over miltown and ended up taking himself out of the game by concentrating too much on his marker

i think clondegad got there match ups all wrong , there main forward podge mcmahon was playing far too deep in the first half , plus they ditched there short passing game which got them to the final in the first half and replaced it with aimless long kicks only to see them intercepted time and time again

they performed well in the second but no doubt who the better team was , crokes are not firing on all cylinders either at the moment , there could be a real opportunity for horse maloneys men to upset the odds on sunday week but there shooting will need to improve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,055 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

yeah kelly went a bit nuts all right but cosgrave can be a very frustrating referee at times , brian carrig got away with murder too ,he was given plenty of digs to young dermot coughlan , it almost seemed like a tactic , a foolish one at that as carrig was one of clondegads best players in the win over miltown and ended up taking himself out of the game by concentrating too much on his marker

Agree, Brian Carrigg's treatment of Coughlan was cynical all day. That is one of the instances I was talking about with TK. Just before Carrigg was booked for taking out Coughlan off the ball, Tony was in the ear of the linesman trying to refer to something elsewhere on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Naomh Eoin v Dromid Pearses , Pairc Eoin, Cross, Sunday @2.00pm. Pitch passed Munster Council inspection today so hopefully it stays dry up to Sunday. Big crowd coming up from Kerry seemingly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

finbarrk wrote: »
    Naomh Eoin v Dromid Pearses , Pairc Eoin, Cross, Sunday @2.00pm. Pitch passed Munster Council inspection today so hopefully it stays dry up to Sunday. Big crowd coming up from Kerry seemingly.

Should be a great day out, it's funny that it's a shorter journey for Dromid Pearses to play Naomh Eoin that it would be for them to play Eire Óg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

great win for naomh eoin in the junior football championship , an injury time goal from michael liddane the difference in there 3-08 to 0-14 win

https://twitter.com/NaomhEoinGAA/status/924691788107079681

Was great win for Naomh Eoin. They had a midfielder black carded which haulted their momentium as went from 9 up to 2 down. The lads never game and late turnover gave Mick Liddane to nail winning goal. He flew in from Florida that morning for game so was worth the flight :)

finbarrk wrote: »

I see Naomh Eoin/O'Currrys beat Miltown last in 21 championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Kilmaley are into the intermediate final, fair play to them, I expected them make a run in the provincial series.

Saw the deffered coverage of the Bridge game. BG were the better team in the end for me, they set up well closing down space in the backs and then moving the ball into space with their forwards. Bridge battled well but found getting scores harder. That said they wont make the long drive back without regrets. Had Golden scored that goal chance it could have been a different game, while Seadna was wasted back in the corner, he is usually worth 2/3 points in the half back line. Also the ref was harsh on them in the first half, and actually kept BG in the game early on. But still BG were the better team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭caddy16

letowski wrote: »
    Kilmaley are into the intermediate final, fair play to them, I expected them make a run in the provincial series.

Saw the deffered coverage of the Bridge game. BG were the better team in the end for me, they set up well closing down space in the backs and then moving the ball into space with their forwards. Bridge battled well but found getting scores harder. That said they wont make the long drive back without regrets. Had Golden scored that goal chance it could have been a different game, while Seadna was wasted back in the corner, he is usually worth 2/3 points in the half back line. Also the ref was harsh on them in the first half, and actually kept BG in the game early on. But still BG were the better team.

I think that's a fair assessment of the bridge game, some of the refs decisions in the 1st half were puzzling to say the least.

Went to the Kilmaley v An Rinn game. The Waterford champions played a possession based hard running game using their big men and at times caused huge problems for Kilmaley. Bryan O'Loughlin (Kilmaley goalie) made two outstanding point blank range saves in the 2nd half. Having said all that once the Clare intermediate champions got to grips with An Rinn's style of play, they never looked like losing. I thought Sean O'Loughlin, Brian Cahill, Eamonn Bracken, Mikey O'Malley and Mikey O'Neill were most impressive for the victors. While in defense once again I was most impressed by Conor Cleary (future Clare senior hurling captain me thinks) and Aidan McGuane.

Kanturk awaits Kilmaley in the Munster IHC final. Ryan and Aidan Walsh look the class acts on their side although Aidan is a much better footballer than hurler. Personally other than those two I don't know too much much about the Cork side. While Kilmaley will be pleased with their win they did shoot 8 wides in the 1st half which were very aimless when they had men in a better position. Also at times they over-elaborated when a more direct simplistic approach would have been better served. The final is set to be played in 2 weeks time.

Finally a nice touch from Kilmaley GAA having Pieta House as shirt sponsors for today's game. Pieta House is a life saver not just for individuals but for families of loved ones who have gone through very difficult times. Well done Kilmaley GAA and Pieta House for promoting mental health awareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Went to the Kilmaley v An Rinn game. The Waterford champions played a possession based hard running game using their big men and at times caused huge problems for Kilmaley. Bryan O'Loughlin (Kilmaley goalie) made two outstanding point blank range saves in the 2nd half. Having said all that once the Clare intermediate champions got to grips with An Rinn's style of play, they never looked like losing. I thought Sean O'Loughlin, Brian Cahill, Eamonn Bracken, Mikey O'Malley and Mikey O'Neill were most impressive for the victors. While in defense once again I was most impressed by Conor Cleary (future Clare senior hurling captain me thinks) and Aidan McGuane.

Kanturk awaits Kilmaley in the Munster IHC final. Ryan and Aidan Walsh look the class acts on their side although Aidan is a much better footballer than hurler. Personally other than those two I don't know too much much about the Cork side. While Kilmaley will be pleased with their win they did shoot 8 wides in the 1st half which were very aimless when they had men in a better position. Also at times they over-elaborated when a more direct simplistic approach would have been better served. The final is set to be played in 2 weeks time.

Finally a nice touch from Kilmaley GAA having Pieta House as shirt sponsors for today's game. Pieta House is a life saver not just for individuals but for families of loved ones who have gone through very difficult times. Well done Kilmaley GAA and Pieta House for promoting mental health awareness.

Kanturk also have Anthony Nash and Lorcan McLoughlin who along with Aidan Walsh would be their 3 marquee players.

Best of luck to the Clare senior hurlers new coach and Loughrea native Gavin Keary who has replaced Donal Og Cusack in the role. He was the coach to the Galway minor hurlers to 2 All-Ireland's in 2015 and 2017. He also coached the Ireland U-21 Shinty hurling team to success against Scotland recently. I must say that I don't know too much about the Galway native so anyone with any info on his background and his reputation would be greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Best of luck to the Clare senior hurlers new coach and Loughrea native Gavin Keary who has replaced Donal Og Cusack in the role. He was the coach to the Galway minor hurlers to 2 All-Ireland's in 2015 and 2017. He also coached the Ireland U-21 Shinty hurling team to success against Scotland recently. I must say that I don't know too much about the Galway native so anyone with any info on his background and his reputation would be greatly appreciated.

Was with my own club here in Tipp last year, the year didn't go well at all, but I don't think it was down in anyway to Gavin, was involved with Galway minors last year as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

It's coming up to that time of year again (don't mention the C word) and I'm looking for a signed Clare jersey from 2013 for my father, he just mentioned recently how he'd like 1, personally I think they are more suited to pubs but each to their own, would anyone have 1 that they don't want anymore or know of someone that would?

News this morning that David O'Brien has stepped down as selector of the Clare senior football management team. Also Joe Hayes, Clare goalie has retired from inter-county football and may also have played his last game with his club Lissycasey. The Garda saw a hip specialist and it seems that the prognosis is not good. Best of luck on your retirement Joe. While Maurice Walsh (Eire Og) looks set to become the Clare U-17 football manager for 2018. He currently manages the Eire Og Inis U-21 football team.

In hurling it seems that Cyril Lyons has stepped down as Clare U-17 hurling coach after filling the same role as part of Sean Doyle's minor management team in 2017. That is a big blow me thinks. While John Carmody who is the Clare U-21 hurling manager is on the lookout for 2 selectors/coaches after Kevin O'Grady and Colin Lynch stepped down from their roles.

In Ladies Football it looks a 2 horse race for the vacant Clare ladies football managerial role between Barry Donnelly and James Murrihy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

Think the 21 hurlers have a coach got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭BobBobBobBob

Kanturk also have Anthony Nash and Lorcan McLoughlin who along with Aidan Walsh would be their 3 marquee players.

WIth the 3 lads above, they have Darren Browne (u-21 hurling captain), Ryan Walsh (former minor hurler) and their main goal threat Liam O'Keeffe.

Should be a very good final in Limerick.

Confirmed last night at a meeting of the Clare LGFA that Kilmurry Ibrickane clubman James Murrihy will be the new Clare ladies football manager for 2018. Best of luck to him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Was there a vote or just one candidate?

Keano wrote: »
    Was there a vote or just one candidate?

I believe there were 2 candidates. Barry Donnelly was also in the frame for the job. However the board of Clare LGFA went with James Murrihy. The Quilty man managed the Corofin men's footballers to Clare intermediate football glory back in 2015 and was also part of the Kilmurry Ibrickane backroom team that won Jack Daly in 2016. I don't think that he was involved with KIB again this year although someone can clarify this.

I wish him the best of luck. Here's hoping that he can repair some of scars that previous manager Neil Moynihan left behind him including his approach towards the dual player among one of many problems that occurred during Moynihan's tenure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,571 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Kilmihill are 25/1 for the Munster Intermediate Championship. PP. Big price for 2 games to win.

I believe there were 2 candidates. Barry Donnelly was also in the frame for the job. However the board of Clare LGFA went with James Murrihy. The Quilty man managed the Corofin men's footballers to Clare intermediate football glory back in 2015 and was also part of the Kilmurry Ibrickane backroom team that won Jack Daly in 2016. I don't think that he was involved with KIB again this year although someone can clarify this.

I wish him the best of luck. Here's hoping that he can repair some of scars that previous manager Neil Moynihan left behind him including his approach towards the dual player among one of many problems that occurred during Moynihan's tenure.

Was he managing Kilrush this year?

Gael85 wrote: »
    Was he managing Kilrush this year?

Yeah himself and Gary bond were in charge. Bond is still there James left after the intermeadiate final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

An Ghaeltacht are the reason that the odds are so long there.

They have a very good chance of winning on Sunday and getting to the Munster final, unfortunately the winners of Mallow/An Ghaeltacht will be very strong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Boots234

finbarrk wrote:
    Kilmihill are 25/1 for the Munster Intermediate Championship. PP. Big price for 2 games to win.

Just looking at the odds on PP and Kilmihil are 4/5 on to beat St.Senans yet they are 25/1 to win Munster while St.Senans 10/1. Not sure of the reasoning behind that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Boots234 wrote: »
    Just looking at the odds on PP and Kilmihil are 4/5 on to beat St.Senans yet they are 25/1 to win Munster while St.Senans 10/1. Not sure of the reasoning behind that!

Someone has thrown some cash on Senans to win Munster outright, I'd imagine.

On a related note An Ghaeltacht are a very well-balanced team - lot of very decent footballers throughout the team. However they have a couple of injury doubts for the game against Mallow - Marc O'Se and Tomas "the dancer" O'Se are both carrying knocks, but should be able to start. Cathal O’ Fiannachta is a major doubt and Cian O'Murchu is definitely out.