Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Hidalgo wrote: »
    For me the disappointing thing about the dual codes last summer was Davy hanging Podge out to dry after the defeat to Cork.
    In his post match interview he stated that 'there's lads that think they can play both codes but they can't'. For me it was deflecting attention away from a poor performance and laying the blame at the door of one starter who played football.
    There was an agreement in place all year but Davy felt the need to point out that football was the problem on live TV.

Of course it was all Podges fault, you don't think it had anything to do with Davy do you ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Davy said on Saturday that he felt Clare had made progress in 2015, Michael McDonsgh said later on the radio that some people were disappointed with the progress Clare made this year.
    Have either of them any concept of the meaning of the word "progress" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

http://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/davy-fitzgerald-deserves-more-time-with-clare-but-only-if-he-has-the-backing-of-his-players-31374184.html

Imo it's the bottom line now the players hold all the aces
    If they don't belive in him or he's outgrown then they have huge support county he will be forced out

People say player not job choose management yes but if management forced on them don't want then they like Cork strikes have to stand up be counted

Unlike cork where large population also means divided clare size mean most clare again him so of kelly bulger Donnellan say not good he stay and issues statement refuse play and do it now so the momentum build up before training in November then he'll have to go whether or not board say it or not

Players unity forced frank Murphy most power country gaa he's board back down three strike so clare can do the same

But if the players don't say anything and back him and it looks like they do then he deserves the year with Kinnerk back in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭thinlizzy51

stick with davy and every other county will be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭thinlizzy51

why doesnt davy fitz trust his players and let them play.are the clare backs that bad that they need a sweeper?take cody ,he selects his team and trusts them to perform and play.holden the latest great example.first to starts at full back (replacing probably the best defender ever and faced with mc donald and canning in the second game)cody didnt employ any sweeper to ease joey in.he just picked him and let him get on with it.davy fitz to me as an outsider looking in doesnt trust his players enough.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

why doesnt davy fitz trust his players and let them play.are the clare backs that bad that they need a sweeper?take cody ,he selects his team and trusts them to perform and play.holden the latest great example.first to starts at full back (replacing probably the best defender ever and faced with mc donald and canning in the second game)cody didnt employ any sweeper to ease joey in.he just picked him and let him get on with it.davy fitz to me as an outsider looking in doesnt trust his players enough.

Cause that would mean that it's not all about him. If he let the players go out and play like they've always played then how is he going to take credit? I mean, if they went out and lost by playing a normal game they could lose, playing the way Davy wants them to play means they are winning everything............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

The players certainly look inhibited and afraid to make mistakes the gameplan is far too rigid and is a bit insulting to the talent thats available.

However can't agree re Cody, Cody has used a sweeper plenty and was the first to introduce it, Brian Hogan was brilliant at it, they did it again in last years replay, just not to the extent that Clare and now Waterford who have taken it to a new level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭savannahkat

danganabu wrote: »
    The players certainly look inhibited and afraid to make mistakes the gameplan is far too rigid and is a bit insulting to the talent thats available.

However can't agree re Cody, Cody has used a sweeper plenty and was the first to introduce it, Brian Hogan was brilliant at it, they did it again in last years replay, just not to the extent that Clare and now Waterford who have taken it to a new level.

Brian Hogan was always the Kilkenny center back. You obviously have a problem with either, what a sweeper is, or what a center back does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

danganabu wrote: »

Surely Clare were the first to introduce the sweeper system when Dalys Clare played KK all those years ago

Brian Hogan was always the Kilkenny center back. You obviously have a problem with either, what a sweeper is, or what a center back does.

Your constant tendency to think every mention of KK is a slight is wearing a bit thin at this stage, and Brian Hogan did not play as a conventional centre back, he played as a shield for the FB line and was fabulous at it and very under rated as a result.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Kilkenny play a completely different game to everyone else, they don't play a sweeper but they don't play a traditional 15 setup either, players pretty much go where they want to draw their opponents out of position, they reinvented hurling over the past 15 years and teams had to come up with stuff like the sweeper to try to counteract them.

Any yes, Daly was the first to do it against them I think, Markham put on an exhibition of sweeper play the first day in Croke Park all those years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Davy has to go IMO. He's post-match interviews have lost their bite. His performance the last day after the Cork game was way below what we've come to expect. He actually stared into the lens of the camera FFS ! What's all that about ?

Even his conspiracy theories have lost their shine - I mean he was told to sub Conlon. That's fairly tame compared to his usual supreme level of paranoia.

Davy has lost the magic and it's time to face the cameras and mike for the final time. I couldn't be arsed about watching the Clare Hurlers but give me a Davy Interview of old and that was something worth tuing on for but sadly those days are gone.

Clareman wrote: »
    Kilkenny play a completely different game to everyone else, they don't play a sweeper but they don't play a traditional 15 setup either, players pretty much go where they want to draw their opponents out of position, they reinvented hurling over the past 15 years and teams had to come up with stuff like the sweeper to try to counteract them.

Any yes, Daly was the first to do it against them I think, Markham put on an exhibition of sweeper play the first day in Croke Park all those years ago.

Exactly and that's what I meant when I said that Clare and Waterford took it to a new level.

Davy has to go IMO. He's post-match interviews have lost their bite. His performance the last day after the Cork game was way below what we've come to expect. He actually stared into the lens of the camera FFS ! What's all that about ?

Even his conspiracy theories have lost their shine - I mean he was told to sub Conlon. That's fairly tame compared to his usual supreme level of paranoia.

Davy has lost the magic and it's time to face the cameras and mike for the final time. I couldn't be arsed about watching the Clare Hurlers but give me a Davy Interview of old and that was something worth tuing on for but sadly those days are gone.

The whole "I'll say a little but not go any further" sh1te is tiresome at this stage.

He's being wanred that people are going to be sent off, he's being told about drugs, he's being told about refs been out to get him, he's being bullied, he's being whatever, all without being backed up with any proof or proper explanation is a load of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

Great result for 21s.Bobby Duggan and Ian Galvin were superb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Excellent hard working performance with some outstanding individual displays. Just the tonic we need at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

What an outstanding result. Superb performance all round with a few special performances from Duggan and Galvin.

Work rate was brilliant throughout and some lovely scores taken. They never panicked when they conceded the goal and were able to kick in again.

Just what was needed for Clare hurling.

What an outstanding result. Superb performance all round with a few special performances from Duggan and Galvin.

Work rate was brilliant throughout and some lovely scores taken. They never panicked when they conceded the goal and were able to kick in again.

Just what was needed for Clare hurling.

I thought ye would loose and I was going for waterford not I dislike clare I support clare last three years but wanted new winner but I must say well done outstanding win and ye out thought out fought and tactically much better team and for all the talk waterford sweeper clare system far far better

Duggan clearly and galvin and Fitzgerald were excellent and I felt Donnell while not best game he stood up when the need was greatest
    Brilliant win for ye and future definitely very bright

Key now is get Kinnerk in unless players want davy out

I didn't think Clare would win tonight, in fact I thought would could get a bit of a trimming but I'll take that performance every day of the week, well done to all the palyers, I'm particularly delighted for Duggan who was fairly shocking when he came on against Limerick, 4 Munster finals in a row, wow.

Who's the fitness training with this side

He had them in brilliant condition

Who's the fitness training with this side

He had them in brilliant condition

They're under 21s and it's "only" 30 minute matches, fitness isn't really an issue for those lads in fairness.

Fair enough but the intensity was very high so you still need good training

Who is the trainer?

Fair enough but the intensity was very high so you still need good training

Who is the trainer?

I don't know to be honest, I know that Seanie McMahon is taking a lot of their sessions and is heavily involved in their training but I doubt he's their physical trainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭skaface

Well done to Clare tonight
    Best of luck in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭letowski

Brilliant, ah gosh that really cheered up my evening. I didn't think they would do it tonight but its great to see those kids play with such heart. They never stopped working from the word go.

Just a few things that caught my eye..
    I though Hogans puckouts today were outstanding and one of the foundations of our win. With a small team to come off the field with about 90% won is something quite unheard really. There could be the potential for this lad to bring something to us a senior level as its a well know problem for us.
    Both McGuane and O'Gorman (minor last year) I thought were excellent at wing back. They got on alot of ball but their use of it was top drawer as well. Both worth keeping an eye out for especially O'Gorman I think.
    I though young Hehir at midfield did really well condisering this was his first competitive start for Clare underage.
    The wing forwards were obviously outstanding. One thing I liked about Bobby's performance was his workrate and battling. He popped up all over the place in the backs and forwards. We all know his skill and striking is excellent, but if he can bring more of that bite into his game he can definitely make senior.

The team's now just a game from 4 in a row in Munster, which would be excellent. I think what is most pleasing about tonight is that amidst such an awful year for Clare hurling so far there are still some really talented kids there. It would be great of they could do it, I'd love Limerick in Ennis for a final :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭letowski

And just a final thing, I heard Donal say after the match commiserate with Waterford saying that they had the better team and Clare were lucky that Waterford had to play a Munster Final at the weekend. I just think this man is the height of humility and to be that gracious in victory is really nice to see. I think the guy is now 14 games unbeaten that span 4 years now as manager at this grade. And you can see just how much he is bringing, the lads sharpness, workrate, tactics and all round enthusiasm. He didnt have to manage Clare this year as he had already done the 3 in a row with most of the team gone overage now.

We all just really thankful for him and that huge work he has done for Clare hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Congrats to Clare on what was a wonderful game of hurling. Definitely what Bobby Duggan was doing sitting on the bench for the Cork game god only knows! That was some performance from him tonight. Ye out battled us and tactically ye got it spot on and Sunday's game or not,the truth of the matter is too many of our fellas are reading and listening to stuff building them up into something that they're clearly not.(yet anyway) To get to 4 u21 Munster finals in a row is some achievement and going on tonight ye are definitely in with a huge shout of winning it. Congrats again and best of luck for the rest of the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Letowski mentioned the importance of our puck outs, for me that was an area we had a big advantage over Waterford and used it well.
    Waterford tried short puck outs to their own 21, followed by launch ball. This usually didn't mean any great advantage to them.
    Hogan on the other hand was 'passing' it 50-60 yards out. Crucially there was plenty willing runners moving into space for these puck outs. Gave us a great attacking platform.

We really upped it in the 2nd half with our half back line kickstarting numerous attacks. The work rate all round as the game wore on was top notch.
    One area I thought we struggled was winning ball from ruck situations. I thought Waterford dominated this facet of play.

What made tonight so satisfying was that it was unexpected. I thought we'd spend a lot of the game hanging onto Waterford's coat tails. Very early in the 2nd half lads were geeing each other up and you could see them growing in confidence.

And all this without one of our top players in this grade, Jamie Shanahan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Did you not hear about the spanking new PR Consultant he has in tow now:);):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i think when we looked back on a number of the past few all ireland wins at this level our attackers stood out that bit more , tonight great credit has to be given to the likes of cleary and aidan mcguane i the half back line , shane o'brien in the full back line also very solid

great to see how defensively organised we were we all know how good the likes of bobby duggen and ian galvin are but the work rate was fantastic , guys like david conroy , ben o gorman and shane ward up front was fantastic for alot of these guys this was there first year under donal moloney and i feel under this set up a number of players have improved since minor

limerick at home or tipp away for the final the latter a rematch from the 2012 munster final defeat in cork , personally i would prefer limerick at home but i reckon it will be tipp in thurles