Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Bit of luck he misses week one. While i'm confident Manning's neck holds up this year, i don't want James Harrison near him first game, he's a dirty ****er and it would be like him to absolutely creal Manning at some point in the match, thus giving me a heart attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

spiralism wrote: »
    Bit of luck he misses week one. While i'm confident Manning's neck holds up this year, i don't want James Harrison near him first game, he's a dirty ****er and it would be like him to absolutely creal Manning at some point in the match, thus giving me a heart attack

In fairness, he just plays the game how it was played for years until the recent spate of protective rule changes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

davyjose wrote: »
    In fairness, he just plays the game how it was played for years until the recent spate of protective rule changes.

True. Regardless i could do without seeing him near #18 first game back

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

a story that definitely suits the title of this thread:

http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/blog/eye-on-football/19810165/woman-sues-jerry-jones-cowboys-for-burning-butt-on-bench-outside-stadium
    "Prior to entering the seated area of Cowboys stadium, plaintiff sat down on a black, marble bench outside of and near entrance 'E' to the stadium," the lawsuit reads. "The bench was uncovered and openly exposed to the extremely hot August sun. The combination of the nature of the black, marble bench and hot sunlight caused the bench to become extremely hot and unreasonably dangerous.

As a result of sitting on the bench, plaintiff suffered third degree burns to her buttocks"

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Lighter

Anyone know how I'd get 2 tickets for the game in wembley?? Or are they all sold out

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Pretty interesting to look back at the Rivals.com top 100's from previous years and see how the players listed fared or are faring in the NFL. For anyone who doesn't know what the Rivals.com top 100 is it's basically a list of the top 100 high school prospects compiled every year.

The links of every year available, that will contain current NFL players, are included below:

Also, if you click on a player it brings up a profiles of them which contains some good information such as visits to different colleges and articles from the time when they committed to college. However, the best (well funniest anyway) thing about the profiles of each player is the pictures they have up. Funny to look back on and see how much they've changed over the years, if at all. For example:

Antonio Cromartie (2003)

antoniocromartie.jpg

Zach Miller (2004)

ZACHMILLER.JPG

Megatron (2004)

CALVIN-JOHNSON-1150.JPG

Jamaal Charles (2005)

JAMAALCHARLES12150.JPG

Michael Oher (2005)

OHER150X220.JPG

Mark Sanchez (2005)

MARKSANCHEZ150.JPG

Matt Stafford (2006)

MATTHEWSTAFFORD2150.JPG

Tim Tebow (2006)

TIMTEBOWNIKE150.JPG

Cam Newton (2007)

CAMERONNEWTON1_18150.JPG

AJ Green (2008)

AJGREEN11_21150.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭Justin10

What do you guys think of the video of JPP dumping Prince in the cold tub?

Didn't seem too friendly at all?
    I don't think it was a hazing thing or what ever but that hazing tradition needs to go imo.

Fair play to Dez Bryant for not carrying the vets pads in his rookie year.

Here is a link to the video Link

• Registered Users Posts: 9,740 ✭✭✭nerd69

Rochey18 wrote: »

I don't think it was a hazing thing or what ever but that hazing tradition needs to go imo.

in general i disagree with hazing but in the nfl it has its uses a lot of these guys need a lesson in humility as they've had to much to soon nothing malicious but nothing wrong with carrying a vets pads

bryant is the most recent poster child for refusing hazing and look how hes turned out

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

If Prince had even a hint of a smile on his face after it I'd put it down to being a practical joke and leave it at that, but he's clearly not happy about it at all. It's not a hazing thing either as Prince is a second year in the NFL now and he's part of a Super Bowl winning team. I wouldn't be at all surprised if there's something more to that that we don't know about. And to think JPP should be starting to turn into a team leader :eek:

Just noticed this when searching:
    “Yeah, um, well, I mean, I just don’t get it. I don’t understand the rules,” Amukamara told the Newark Star-Ledger on Saturday night after the Giants beat the Jets 26-3. "I mean, I’m not a rookie anymore, so I don’t know why I’m getting thrown in the tub. I know it’s all love.

“Yeah, no one ever likes it, especially when it’s you vs. eight and no one’s helping you. But it doesn’t mess up our team morale or anything.”

I'd agree with you that the hazing tradition needs to go, I wouldn't be a fan of it at all and it just seems like an excuse for veterans to take practical jokes way too far. Watching the Ravens version of Hard Knocks from years ago and Tony Siragusa for example, it was completely cringeworthy the lengths he was going to to ''haze'' the rookies, so much so it was more like bullying and it was clear they all felt he was a complete prick which doesn't do much for team building. I'd imagine a lot of camps are the exact same.

If I was a head coach I'd get my rookies and veterans on the same page from day one, cut the crap and make sure everyone was treated the same, although carrying pads isn't too bad in fairness, things like that there's not too much wrong with but it seems to always progress into other things. I'm all for a laugh and a joke by the way but there's plenty of opportunity to do that without the hazing tradition.

do you think the colts should consider trading mathias and freeney they seem a bit out of place as outside lbs

Dez not carrying the pads was him saying he wasnt happy with hazing and im sure loads more rookies feel the same just too shy or what ever.

Wasnt the fact he wasnt going carry the pads just standing up against the hazing system.

Ive no problem with stupid hair cuts or dinners etc Brings some hot shot college players down a peg or two.

Clearly from the interview and Steve Weatherfords interview and keep bringing up "family and love" may suggest there is problems?

Curious also that someone kept shouting at Prince "stand up for yourself"
    Cant catch what JPP shouts out at the end.

jpps just being an ass thats y someone that age should never be that big

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Cowboys went to a restaurant and burned Dez for a 60K bill as I remember

The offense was invited and then Roy Williams invited all the defense.

Players taking home wine and all

He got a large signing bonus so he could well afford it but it's just making a fool out of a rookie.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Muppet imo, nothing wrong with rookies learning their place all within reason of course. Christ, carrying pads is a time honored tradition for a rookie and it's the least he should expect. But a rookie refusing to carry pads just needs to be taken down a peg or two. He wouldn't get away with that diva shít with the Pats. Watching rookie receiver Jeremy Ebert getting interviewed on camera last week. Deion branch walks past and shouts over.."Hey, don't forget our pads", Ebert replies.."Ya no problem, I got it man." Everyone including Ebert has a bit of a laugh and the interview continues.

The Pats traditional hazing, involved running rookies through their annual slip-and-slide drill before the start of the 10th practice of training camp. Wilfork held the hose in the far corner of the practice fields, and each rookie took their turn diving through the soaked grass for a loose football. That included all rookies with the Pats, including new coaches, media staff ect. So it's fair, fun and not going too far.

Muppet imo, nothing wrong with rookies learning their place all within reason of course. Christ, carrying pads is a time honored tradition for a rookie and it's the least he should expect. But a rookie refusing to carry pads just needs to be taken down a peg or two. He wouldn't get away with that diva shít with the Pats. Watching rookie receiver Jeremy Ebert getting interviewed on camera last week. Deion branch walks past and shouts over.."Hey, don't forget our pads", Ebert replies.."Ya no problem, I got it man." Everyone including Ebert has a bit of a laugh and the interview continues.

The Pats traditional hazing, involved running rookies through their annual slip-and-slide drill before the start of the 10th practice of training camp. Wilfork held the hose in the far corner of the practice fields, and each rookie took their turn diving through the soaked grass for a loose football. That included all rookies with the Pats, including new coaches, media staff ect. So it's fair, fun and not going too far.

Disagree totally. They're professional athletes, paid a lot of money to be professionals. They're expected to perform like adults on the field, then treat them like adults.
    What is the reason for even hazing someone? To earn their respect? Load of bollox. I can understand if it's a tradition or a bit of a laugh, but to criticize Bryant for not wanting to take part is BS. Otherwise it's tantamount to bullying. I tip my hat to the kid, the only reason most people put up with that kind of **** is because they don't have the balls to say no.

As an aside, what JPP did to Amukamara is stepping over the line big-time. This is no rookie, he's a Super Bowl champion. If I were TC there'd be a big ****ing fine going JPP's way, and one hell of a bollicking. Which I expect is what will happen tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Disagree totally. They're professional athletes, paid a lot of money to be professionals. They're expected to perform like adults on the field, then treat them like adults.

The important word there is ‘perform’. Money and a professional contract guarantees a rookie nothing. A GM can give a rookie whatever he wants, but it won’t buy him the respect from the team and rightly so. NFL history is littered with too many overpaid flops to have it any other way. Only when he starts doing his talking on the pitch will he earn the respect of his teammates.
    What is the reason for even hazing someone? To earn their respect? Load of bollox. I can understand if it's a tradition or a bit of a laugh, but to criticize Bryant for not wanting to take part is BS. Otherwise it's tantamount to bullying.

Ah come on now, don’t bring bullying into it. He’s a big boy, he didn’t want to carry pads. It doesn’t take a genius to interpret how established players would view that stance he made.
    I tip my hat to the kid, the only reason most people put up with that kind of **** is because they don't have the balls to say no.

Or maybe most rookies just have the cop on to go with the flow. He’s not a noble warrior taking a stand for the downtrodden. But rather, he just looks like a prick who thinks carrying pads is beneath him.
    As an aside, what JPP did to Amukamara is stepping over the line big-time. This is no rookie, he's a Super Bowl champion. If I were TC there'd be a big ****ing fine going JPP's way, and one hell of a bollicking. Which I expect is what will happen tbh.

I totally agree with you there, but I’m talking about NFL rookies. My post was directed at a tool that wouldn’t carry pads. I also did say the following in my original post on the subject.....
    nothing wrong with rookies learning their place all within reason of course.
    Within reason, asking a rookie to carry pads is well within reason and a harmless tradition to most. That’s why I quoted the exchange between Branch and Ebert, all very harmless and both guys saw the funny side.

I specifically mentioned the Pats version of hazing, because it’s based around craic and a bit of fun and all newbie’s get it not just the players. Some teams may take it too far which is not right and it shouldn’t be tolerated. But poking some fun and letting a player know that they are the junior, is part of transitioning from college to the NFL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Tradition is important and getting rookies to carry the veterans pads seems like a nice tradition but i think unfortunately this way of thinking, that rookies are less than you and its your right to treat them as sh1t, leads to the behaviour of JPP and is a bad example to kids all over America (where there have been very serious consequences from hazing acts in high schools and frats).

I think hazing should go, no matter how innocent or harmless it seems because somebody will always take it too far. Its a very hard cycle to break because the veterans who are treating the rookies like sh1t, were treated like sh1t themselves when they first came into the league so they believe its their right to pass on the torment.

Its a culture which is very unique to America and ingrained in a lot of their clubs and societies. From living in the US, i've seen hazing multiple of times and to me it just seemed like people were being dicks for the sake of it. I was hanging out in a friends Frat house one night and it was initiation week. One of the senior members of the frat, came back from the bar but had left his bag there so instead of going back to get it himself, he went upstairs, threw a bucket of water over a new member to wake him up and sent him down to the bar to pick up his bag. Lord knows what else they did to those new members that week and not to mention what other type of hazing acts occurs up and down the country.

Somehow sports teams and clubs outside of the US seem to survive and bond without hazing. Hazing is completely unnecessary, it just gives bullys an outlet to abuse others with no consequences.

Me personally would have a bigger problem carrying fellow professionals pads then getting a bad hair cut or flying down a mud slide.

Hazing from what I read was used to integrate new players with old vets, but now seems vets just take the mick with it.

Carrying pads isnt going to get anyone's respect, performing will.
    Dez example isnt the best because he aint performing.
    Ive no problem with the hair cuts or large dinners because they are doing it as a team and are able to enjoy it too.

Corvus, I will bring bullying into it. That's essentially what hazing is -- disguised as a bit of fun. I'm not too bothered by the fact that rookies are expected to carry pads, and get their heads buzzed, but what stops them from stepping over the line?
    I'm concerned as a fan, because if it were my team, I'd be worried about the lack of professionalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

Its very much ingrained in the culture here though. Every year we get an intake of rookies onto the rugby team, being texas most of them have grown up playing football. Our older guys are not going out of their way to haze people or anything but these kids always offer to carry the water, get the jerseys, put up pads on posts etc. We had some problems with one kid but he is bipolar and insane which we didnt know about at the time and he got fierce abuse, way more than i was comfortable with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭CoachTO

This debate again. One of these debates that no matter how each side bangs their drums both sides will never see eye to eye. Learned that after last years discussion. Some see it as wrong and bullying and some dont and there is no line in between.

But there is a line in the middle and its pretty big line.

Example of the pats slide is a great example.
    Chargers I dont think do anything except for dinner. That is clearly not bullying.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

from seeing some of the rookie shows, hazing is definitely deserved :D

that is unless you're a rookie from the Ravens in 2001, then well played...

"I need my restitution goose"

But there is a line in the middle and its pretty big line.

Example of the pats slide is a great example.
    Chargers I dont think do anything except for dinner. That is clearly not bullying.

See I dont see a middle line. You either agree with Hazing or you dont. But the degrees of hazing that many get offended by are the mental and physical abuse and when it goes that far it goes out beyond being hazing. Colleges and the Military were the biggest offenders of creating the extremes of abuse when it comes to hazing.

Many teams just use the practical joke form of hazing now and many just go as far as making guys do standard things like carry pads or get water etc and even then some people get their knickers in a twist over it. Hence why when joking comes into it there is no middle line because you will always find someone upset with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Bills release Merriman. Is he any good anymore? If he is I hope the Ravens sign him to a one year deal.

matthew8 wrote: »
    Bills release Merriman. Is he any good anymore? If he is I hope the Ravens sign him to a one year deal.

Riddled with injury. The Bills dumped him for that reason as fitness was an issue that an he doesn't fit a 4-3 defense.

Someone might take him on the cheap as a pass rush specialist. He was a top OLB in his early years in San Diego.

Jags have taken up the void left by the Rams to play multiple home games in London starting 2013.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

CoachTO wrote: »
    Jags have taken up the void left by the Rams to play multiple home games in London starting 2013.

And to piss of their few remaing fans even more? :confused: Not to mention I doubt a new owner wants to make himself unpopular that quickly.

ESPN are reporting it

http://espn.go.com/nfl/story/_/id/8286397/report-jacksonville-jaguars-play-multiple-home-games-london-starting-2013

As is Vito Stellino

https://twitter.com/vitostellino

Have to say this guy makes a good argument for it

http://www.bigcatcountry.com/2012/8/20/3255988/jaguars-international-series-london