Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Constant Motion

• Registered Users Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭griffin100

Went pretty well, apart from the fact that the chlorine irritates the hell out of my nose so it's a bit runny now! Discovered that my size 14 swimsuit from last year is too big on me and that I could do with a new one, it felt grand before I got in the water but once it got wet it was really loose. Did about 60 lengths anyway.

I had this problem but there's a few things you can do to help. I find that washing my nose out with clean water from a squirty bottle (used lucozade sport bottle:p) after every swim really helps. Its a bit nauseating at first sqirting water up your nose until it runs down the back of your throat but it really helps. You have to squirt gently, otherwise your ears will pop:D If that doesnlt work or if your chlorine reaction is as severe as mine then what you can also do is following the nose wash use flixonase spray in each nostril (its expensive €15 a bottle). I've been doing both since the start of my IM training when my time in the pool began to increase after every swim and I haven't had a problem since. Prior to this it would take me a day or two to get over a swim.

Good log BTW. Nice progression.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

@griffin100 - I think the main issue with me and chlorine is that my local pool (Terenure College) just uses an awful lot of it! I think I'm going to head to a different pool next time and see if I get the same thing.

Ran 4 miles this evening, 8.48/mile average pace. Meant to go longer today, but was working through some problems for one of my classes over MSN with one of the guys in my class for quite a while this afternoon and if I wanted a run before the Liverpool match I needed to keep it to 4 miles. There's always tomorrow and the weekend to go longer. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

and if I wanted a run before the Liverpool match I needed to keep it to 4 miles.

Evil woman, cuts her run short so as not to miss Liverpool getting beat ;)

Well I re-emerge from study country this evening... 5 miles @ 9.04/mile average pace. Tried to take it as easy as possible, because I needed a break from the books but I also want to do something fairly long (10-12 miles maybe? Long compared to what I've generally been doing lately!) tomorrow. We shall see.

Yet more procrastinatory running today. Did my longest long run since my long break, 10 miles in 1:31:35. (~9.10/mile average pace). Good to stretch the legs out again, it's been too long since I last hit double digits. Also hit 30 miles this week for the first time since February (5 runs, 32 miles), which is pretty satisfying. :D

Am at 284 miles in the 1000 mile challenge now, which is a bit disappointing because I'd wanted to be at about 400 by the start of May. Oh well, DCM training will (hopefully) sort that out! :pac:

Took a bit of a break from cramming for my bioinformatics exam (9am tomorrow, OUCH! Kirby is NOT a morning person!) to go for a bit of a run this evening. 6 miles @ 9.05/mile average pace, felt a little tired, but I blame that on the studying. Came home to a lovely roast dinner afterwards too :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

good luck with exam!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭meathcountysec

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

+1 Best of luck RK. Last one?

littlebug wrote: »
    +1 Best of luck RK. Last one?

Unfortunately not, today's one was the first one! Next one is 3pm tomorrow and will be a stinker. :(

Exam went alright today, just taking a bit of a break until after lunch now. Hopefully squeeze in a run later too, makes me work better if I do!

Well I got sick of studying, and decided to sneak in a nice little 5-miler after the rain stopped. 9.00/mile average pace, felt pretty comfortable and was a nice break from the books. :)

Had my third exam this morning, whoever decided that 9am on Saturday morning was a good exam time can go die in a fiery pit of fire. Exam went alright apart from the fact that the paper was way too long and I didn't get finished! :eek:

Was feeling very lazy after that, and needed a bit of a push to go out for a run. Finally dragged myself out for a very easy 5-miler (9.31/mile pace) and I'm glad I did, the fresh air really helped to clear my head. Hopefully get out for a decent long run tomorrow too :)

I am a lazy mofo and skipped my long run yesterday, due to being absolutely wrecked from the previous week of exams (also football on TV). Bad kirby. Bad.

Headed out for a 6 miler this evening (9.10/mile average pace), really felt like going longer but a batsignal from the bowels after 5 miles kinda scuppered things. Need to stop pushing my luck as regards eating ice cream, have had quite a bit of Ben and Jerry's this weekend and it seems to have sent my GI tract into disapproval mode. :mad::(

On an unrelated note, this is my 14,000th post on this account. I have no life.

6 miles this evening (8.55/mile pace), decided to go for a run rather than watch the 2nd half of the Europa League final. Felt really good throughout, and with having spent the last few days up to my eyeballs studying for my last exam I really needed a run like that.

I might end up skipping the race this weekend though, a friend up in Drogheda who I haven't seen in ages has asked me to come up on Saturday for a night of drinking, Rock Band and Singstar. Much as I'd love to do the race (which I haven't actually entered yet), I'd like to head up and have a good night with my friends more.

What with exams and some great milage since I've been following this thread, I think you deserve a good night out with your mates! Enjoy!

Navel-gazing time. Exams are done now so I'm allowed to do that. :pac:

I'm looking at what plan I'm going to follow for DCM this year. I'm a LONG way behind where I wanted to be by now in terms of base mileage, I basically lost most of January to the weather and lost all of March to medical stuff, and have been rebuilding since then so April was slow (as was my time for the Great Ireland Run, which I probably shouldn't have done because it took a lot out of me after only 3 weeks back running). Normal service is still resuming, but I've really only got about 6 weeks of base-building before 18 week programs start.

I'm basically looking at following one of the Higdon intermediate programs, P&D 18/55, or the 16-week Runners World UK intermediate schedule.

My thoughts are:
      P&D might be a bridge too far this time, the mileage in the first week is pretty much in line with where I'm at right now and it ramps up quickly from there - I'd be very worried about picking up an injury in July or August. Mileage also peaks early, so I'd be looking at running high-mileage right when I'm about to submit my masters thesis (I have a printout of it, and I'd be running 54 miles the week before my thesis is due). I'm thinking that, for me, it might be better to save this for a third or fourth marathon and/or a future BQ attempt.
      Higdon Intermediate 2 gives me the 3 20-milers that I wanted, and peaks at 50 miles per week which is also pretty much what I wanted. Also, all the 20-milers happen after my thesis is done and dusted. I'm crap at speedwork, so lots of easy miles suit me - but do long slow miles make a long slow runner? I'd like to break 4 hours...
      I have a vague recollection of Amadeus saying he'd used the RWUK intermediate plan. I like the variety included in it, but I haven't heard much in terms of the experiences that others have had with it.

So... any suggestions?

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭earnyourturns

How about Hal Higdon Intermediate, but substituting one of the shorter runs with speedwork each work? Say, instead of doing a 3 miler do 6 x 800m, or instead of a 5 miler do 5 x 1600? That's what I'm planning on doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

RK, Speedwork would be no bother to you, you just have never tried it before. The Speed doesn't have to kill you, just running a little bit faster for a short period.
    Also If I am being critical- your 'Easy' miles are a little too fast- they really ought to be a good few minutes/mile slower than you short race pace- i.e. maybe 9.5 min-10min miles. If you keep your easy miles really easy, you will find that big speed sessions or races won't take as much out of you (IMO). I think you are well capable of the p&d programme or similar, your base is good and you are not prone to injury (just some freak illnesses :p) but not muscle injuries. I think you should join our improvers thread no matter what plan you follow, I know I will not be following the P&D programme to the letter but mixing it with some tergat workouts and what other boardsies have done.

On a seperate note; let me know if you are doing the sportsworld on sunday and I'll bring you that LIDL HRM and watch I was telling you about.

Well that was a bloody great weekend in terms of socialising, not so good in terms of running! Missed my long run on Friday due to getting dragged out for lunch with the family just as I was about to head out for it, then due to hangover and being collected to go to Drogheda early I didn't get to run yesterday. Finally dragged myself out this evening for 6 miles of deathmarch (9.20/mile average pace), to sweat out an entire weekend's worth of alcohol and junk food. Seriously, diet starts Monday.

lol! You deserved all those celebrations! Fair play to you heading out for the 6mile last night.

Another 6-miler this evening (9.10/mile average pace). Pretty good run, though it was quite late (after 9pm when I started).

Came home to be asked to be a computer janitor. I fcuking HATE fixing other people's virus-infested Windows pieces of poo. :mad:

I ate lots of cake yesterday, because my little bro and his GF were over for a meal for his birthday. Had to burn it off today with a decent run! 6 miles this evening, 9.08/mile average pace, felt like more of an effort than it should have because it was so humid and sticky out.

Have started work on my thesis too, really didn't want to dive straight back to work after the exams, but what can you do?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭brainyneuron

6 miles this evening, 9.08/mile average pace, felt like more of an effort than it should have because it was so humid and sticky out.

Its awful isn't it? Went for a jog yesterday and felt like giving up after the first minute! I was breathing really heavily and every step felt like a major effort, felt a bit light headed afterwards! I wasn't sure what was wrong because it didn't actually feel that warm, but this morning it was the same just a bit warmer. Apparently we're going to have a good weekend and then Monday or Tues we're due rain again!

Well done for starting the thesis, when is it due?

My thesis is due in late August. Need to make a good start on it now though because my supervisor is going to be away for most of July, so I need to have enough work done by then that I can work away pretty much on my own for a few weeks. It's eerily quiet in the UCD library these days...

On a similar thesis-related note, I'm thinking of starting my DCM training program a week early just to give me a bit of leeway around the submission date for my thesis. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭brainyneuron

My thesis is due in late August. Need to make a good start on it now though because my supervisor is going to be away for most of July, so I need to have enough work done by then that I can work away pretty much on my own for a few weeks. It's eerily quiet in the UCD library these days...

Thats a good thing though surely! I always hated studying in the library during the exams and study leave before it, too many people in such a small space! I used to start to get annoyed with people whispering/coughing/sneezing! (I get distracted easily :p)

Well due to having my morning rudely interrupted by having to call Dell Hell tech support about my sister's laptop, I only really had time for a short run today. 4 miles (9.18/mile average pace) of pouring sweat, which had the rather funny interruption of seeing the guards taking a crate of Bavaria off some 15 year olds in Knocklyon. :)

Currently writing more of the lit review section of my thesis and looking forward to curry and beer later.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

A bit of advice for your thesis. I left the bulk of mine till the last 3 weeks and it was hell. I had to stop running completely cause there was no time for it and lost most of my fitness. All the contents pages and referencing take ages at the end so leave plenty of time for it. Bets of luck with your training and racing goals for the rest of the summer. i would recommend the tergat workouts you'll find on here, i wasnt mad about p&d.

• Registered Users Posts: 298 ✭✭earnyourturns

I started my PhD thesis on the same day as the marathon training schedule this time around as well...

LSR today - 10 miles (9.35/mile average pace). Might as well have been a Ronnie James Dio memorial run because I'd loaded up my iPod with a playlist of Dio, Rainbow, Black Sabbath and Heaven and Hell. Never thought I'd say this, but it was possibly a good thing that I was a bit hung over this morning because if I tried to speed up at all my stomach was having none of it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭OI

Thats a great LSR today RK considering the conditions.