Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

KevIRL wrote: »
    The Clare McGrath cup game is a home game so I assume next Sunday in Dungarvan? Will get down to it if so

Should be a double header as our hurlers face ye as well!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,542 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

eroo wrote: »
    Should be a double header as our hurlers face ye as well!

Will they fit in a double header at this time of year though? First game would have to start no later than 12.30

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Before we all get too excited about WIT beating the AI champions it should be noted that Hammersby the Tipp youngster scored 1-9 for WIT

He has been very good with WIT with the past few years but cant seem to get an extended look in with Tipp. Does that go to show the amount of talent they have available to them.

The Clare McGrath cup game is a home game so I assume next Sunday in Dungarvan? Will get down to it if so

Bushy Park.

Munster Senior 'B' Colleges Quarter Final
    Dungarvan C.B.S. V St Augustine's College,
    Wednesday 19 January 2011
    In Abbeyside at 2-30pm

The full fixture list in the senior hurling championship reads.

Group One – Round One Stradbally v De La Salle
    Lismore v Fourmilewater
    Ballyduff Upper V Abbeyside

- Round Two De La Salle V Abbeyside
    Stradbally V Fourmilewater
    Ballyduff Upper V Lismore

- Round Three De La Salle V Lismore
    Stradbally V Abbeyside
    Ballyduff Upper V Fourmilewater

- Round Four Fourmilewater V De La Salle
    Abbeyside V Lismore
    Ballyduff Upper V Stradbally

- Round Five De La Salle V Ballyduff Upper
    Lismore V Stradbally
    Fourmilewater V Abbeyside

Group Two – Round One Dungarvan V Ballygunner
    Passage V Tallow
    Mount Sion V Roanmore

Round two Ballygunner V Roanmore
    Dungarvan V Tallow
    Mount Sion V Passage

Round Three Ballygunner V Passage
    Dungarvan V Roanmore
    Mount Sion V Tallow

Round Four Tallow V Ballygunner
    Roanmore V Passage
    Mount Sion V Dungarvan.

Round Five Ballygunner V Mount Sion
    Passage V Dungarvan
    Tallow V Roanmore

The top four teams as in 2010 will qualify from each group for the quarter finals with the bottom team in each group playing off for relegation.

The full fixture list in the senior Football championship reads.

Group One – Round One Stradbally V Kilrossanty
    The Nire V Rathgormack.

Round two Stradbally V Rathgormack
    Kilrossanty V The Nire

Round Three Stradbally V The Nire
    Kilrossanty V Rathgormack.

Group Two – Round One Ballinacourty V St Saviours
    Clashmore V Ardmore

Round Two Ballinacourty V Ardmore
    St Saviours V Clashmore

Round Three Ballinacourty V Clashmore
    St Saviours V Ardmore

Group Three – Round One Gaultier V Ballinameela
    Brickeys V Ring

Group Two Gaultier V Ring
    Ballinameela V Brickeys

Group Three Gaultier V Brickeys
    Ballinameela V Ring

The top two teams in the three groups will qualify for the quarter final along with the best placed of the third placed teams. The other two third placed teams will play off for the last quarter final place. The bottom team in the three groups will play off to see which will drop to intermediate in 2012.

For what it is worth, its De La Salle, Lismore, Ballyduff upper and Abbeyside from Group one, Ballygunner, Passage, Mount Sion and Tallow from Group two to advance to the quarter final in hurling for me, and in football Stradbally, Kilrossanty, The Nire, Ballinacourty, Clashmore, Balinameela, Gaultier and Ring to make up the final eight in football.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭gammon_steak

Anyone know when the Waterford Senior Hurlers start in the Waterford Crystal Cup? thanks!

Sunday next in Walsh Park.

Munster Club Championship Draws 2011.
    Senior Club Hurling
    30/10/2011 Quarter Final Tipperary Champions v Waterford Champions Venue: Tipperary
    13/11/2011 Semi Final (1) If Tipperary Champions v Limerick Champions Venue: Tipperary
    If Waterford Champions v Limerick Champions Venue: Waterford
    Semi Final (2) Cork Champions v Clare Champions Venue: Cork
    27/11/2011 Final
    Senior Club Football
    6/11/2011 Quarter Final (1) Waterford Champions v Kerry Champions Venue: Waterford
    Quarter Final (2) Cork Champions v Limerick Champions Venue: Cork
    20/11/2011 Semi Final (1) If Kerry Champions v Clare Venue: Kerry
    If Waterford Champions v Clare Venue: Waterford
    Semi Final (2) If Cork Champions v Tipperary Venue: Cork
    If Limerick Champions v Tipperary Venue: Limerick
    4/12/2011 Final
    Intermediate Club Hurling
    30/10/2011 Quarter Final (1) Waterford Champions v Limerick Champions Venue: Waterford
    Quarter Final (2) Cork Champions v Kerry Champions Venue: Cork
    6/11/2011 Semi Final (1) If Limerick Champions v Tipperary Champions Venue: Limerick
    If Waterford Champions v Tipperary Champions Venue: Waterford
    Semi Final (2) If Cork Champions v Clare Champions Venue: Cork
    If Kerry Champions v Clare Champions Venue: Kerry
    20/11/2011 Final
    Intermediate Club Football
    13/11/2011 Quarter Final (1) Tipperary Champions v Limerick Champions Venue: Tipperary
    Quarter Final (2) Kerry Champions v Clare Champions Venue: Kerry
    20/11/2011 Semi Final (1) If Tipperary Champions v Waterford Champions Venue: Waterford
    If Limerick Champions v Waterford Champions Venue: Limerick
    Semi Final (2) If Kerry Champions v Cork Champions Venue: Cork
    If Clare Champions v Cork Champions Venue: Clare
    11/12/2011 Final
    Junior Club Hurling Championship
    20/11/2011 Quarter Final Kerry Champions v Cork Champions Venue: Kerry
    27/11/2011 Semi Final (1) If Kerry Champions v Tipperary Champions Venue: Tipperary
    If Cork Champions v Tipperary Champions Venue: Cork
    Semi Final (2) Limerick Champions v Waterford Champions Venue: Limerick
    11/12/2011 Final
    Junior Club Football Championship
    6/11/2011 Quarter Final (1) Tipperary Champions v Limerick Champions Venue: Tipperary
    Quarter Final (2) Clare Champions v Kerry Champions Venue: Clare
    13/11/2011 Semi Final (1) If Tipperary Champions v Waterford Champions Venue: Tipperary
    If Limerick Champions v Waterford Champions Venue: Limerick
    Semi Final (2) If Clare Champions v Cork Champions Venue: Cork
    If Kerry Champions v Cork Champions Venue: Kerry
    27/11/2011 Final

Taken from Munster GAA Newsletter on Munster GAA Website

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

is it just me or does the draw for the SFC seem a bit unbalanced?

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭comeraghs

Group 1 - Stradbally, Killrossanty, The Nire, Rathgormack

Group 2 - Ballinacourty, St Saviours, Clashmore, Ardmore

Group 3 - Gaultier, Ballinameela, Brickeys, An Rinn.

Group A certainly seems stronger than B & C ....... The 4 favourites to win it for me would be Stradbally, The Nire, Ballinacourty & maybe outside chance for Killrossanty ..... & 3 of them are in the same group.

would I be right in assuming it was an open draw?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Link

Waterford attacker Declan Prendergast will be out of action for at least eight weeks after undergoing an operation to rectify a hip injury.
    Prendergast is set to miss most of the National Hurling League, according to county PRO Joe Cleary.
    "He had an operation during the week, and we expect him to be out for about eight weeks," said Cleary.
    Manager Davy Fitzgerald must plan without a number of key players, including the De La Salle contingent, who are preparing for an All-Ireland semi-final with their club.
    "Aidan Kearney is still injured since last year. And there's a few fellows not back training, and the De La Salle boys are still involved in the All-Ireland club championship," Cleary added.

So with Dec & the De la Salle lads out and the "older" players that will be rested for the championship there should be planty of opportunities to try out the up and coming players in the league? No excuse for not giving them game-time now!

comeraghs wrote: »
    Group 1 - Stradbally, Killrossanty, The Nire, Rathgormack

Group 2 - Ballinacourty, St Saviours, Clashmore, Ardmore

Group 3 - Gaultier, Ballinameela, Brickeys, An Rinn.

Group A certainly seems stronger than B & C ....... The 4 favourites to win it for me would be Stradbally, The Nire, Ballinacourty & maybe outside chance for Killrossanty ..... & 3 of them are in the same group.

would I be right in assuming it was an open draw?

Both Hurling and football Hurling draws were done to a degree.

In Hurling De La Salle as County Champions were automatically put in group one, Ballygunner as last years beaten finalists were put in group two. The two beaten semi finalists were then put into the group opposite the team that beat them in the semis. The four teams beaten in the quarter finals were next drawn and could be placed in either group. The remaining three teams that played last years senior championship and Roanmore as Intermediate champions were drawn next and again could be placed in either group.

In Football, Stradbally as County Champions were automatically put in group one, Ballinacourty as last years beaten finalists in group two and Gaultier and Ballinameela as the beaten semi finals teams into group three. The remaining seven teams that played senior last year and Clashmore as intermediate champions were drawn and could be placed in any group. It was the luck of the draw that Group One appears so strong. Group three could also be said to be very strong. Brickeys, Ballinameela and An Rinn are not very far from each other and could result in some good football been played.

Any particular reason Tom why the Hurling is run with 2 groups of 6 & the football with three groups of four!

Hurling system seems a lot more straightforward.

I´d agree with you that group 3 seems even .... but with 4 average teams. I know Ballinameela got to the semi-final last year but I see them struggling to stay up this year.

have the Junior & Inter draws been made yet?

& any news on transfers?

thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭thesultan

I hear that John Dee has left Portlaw For Mount Sion

thesultan wrote: »
    I hear that John Dee has left Portlaw For Mount Sion

The full list is in the Waterford news and Star

I'm abroad Tom & the on-line N&S doesn't have the transfers.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Ermm how would one find out about whether the league matches are in Dungarvan or the Sportsfield? Or has it been confirmed yet?

Also any news on the CIT match tomorrow, as of now is it still going ahead? :)

deise_girl wrote: »
    Ermm how would one find out about whether the league matches are in Dungarvan or the Sportsfield? Or has it been confirmed yet?

Also any news on the CIT match tomorrow, as of now is it still going ahead? :)

The football in Bushy Park according to Tom

Hurling is on in Walsh Park, no word on if its going ahead though. With the sever frost and cold lately it surely has to be a risk though?

EDIT - only realised you were talking about league games, the venues I was referring to were for tomorrows games

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

The football in Bushy Park according to Tom

Hurling is on in Walsh Park, no word on if its going ahead though. With the sever frost and cold lately it surely has to be a risk though?

EDIT - only realised you were talking about league games, the venues I was referring to were for tomorrows games

I probably shoulda been clearer with what I was asking!
    And yea I was wondering about the frost coz I was hearing of different things around being cancelled because of it.. Hopefully it will still go ahead though

deise_girl wrote: »
    I probably shoulda been clearer with what I was asking!
    And yea I was wondering about the frost coz I was hearing of different things around being cancelled because of it.. Hopefully it will still go ahead though

At 2pm tomorrow the frost should not be an issue (it seems to be easing a little now, Does not seem to be as cold as it was earlier), but i guess for those that will be watching it will be cold.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Seems grand out now so the match should be fine to go ahead. Anyone heading down for a look?

Cake Man wrote: »
    Seems grand out now so the match should be fine to go ahead. Anyone heading down for a look?

Yeah I'm gonna head over to it alright

Same as. I'll be interested to see what kind of team we field, given options are very strained. Should be a worthwhile run out with plenty of fringe players getting a run.

Poor enough game but managed to turn the game around and get the win. CIT were 6 or 7 pts up at one stage but 2nd half points and a Richie Foley goal from a 21 free closed it out. Strong team out with Clinton, Lawlor, Brick, Nagle, Molumphy, Seamus Prender, Foley, Maurice and Shane Walsh all playing.

Anyone know who we play next and when and where it will be on?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,157 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Were playing Clare in Clare on the 30th Jan

Bitterly bitterly cold, my toes are still frezing

Waterford team was
    Clinton Hennessey
    Darragh Fives
    Jerome Maher
    Liam Lawlor
    Chris Ryan
    Jamie Nagle
    Brick Walsh
    Stephen Molumphy
    Seamus Prendergast
    Richie Foley
    Gavin Crotty
    Maurice Shanahan
    Brian O Halloran
    Shane Walsh
    Shane Casey

Frank McGrath, Paudie Mahoney and Eamonn Murphy all came on.

Poor first half with Waterford looking very rusty and second to evey ball. CIT led 0-9 to 0-3 at HT. Waterford started the second half strongly and actually ended up ahead after about 15 mins. Final score 1-12 to 0-11 with Richie Foley scoring the goal from a 21 metre free. He scored 1-8 in total I think, and had a very good second half. Other good performers for Waterford were Brian O Halloran, Stephen Molumphy and Liam Lawlor. Maurice Shanahan got a straight red about 10 mins before the end.

The footballers lost to Clare 1-10 to 0-10

Both sides today were very poor. Waterford held David Dubrity scoreless till seven minutes from the end which is no mean achievement. Both sides were short a few players. The Waterford players missing would make a big difference.