Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C+H Sports Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Sligo in the Connacht final, ooh yeah :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

If Tipp win:

Cork vs Antrim (winners face Kilkenny)
    Tipp vs Galway (winners face Waterford)

If Offaly win:

Cork vs Offaly (winners face Kilkenny)
    Antrim vs Galway (winners face Waterford)

Preety much the hurling championship from here on in. Won't be an open draw seemingly seeing as the GAA are trying to prevent re-matches like Cork v. Tipp, Offaly v. Antrim.

As for the football, round four qualifier draw is set for after the Connacht final.
    I'd take a guess that it'd be:

Bowl 1 : Cork/Wexford, Kildare, Down, Dublin.
    Bowl 2: Limerick, Monaghan,Louth, Roscommon/Sligo.

Wouldn't mind Limk getting Dublin seeing as it's supposedly neutral venues. Avoid Cork at all costs though if they're to beat Wexford :P (that'd be every team's wish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Digits

Half Time Cork 0-7 Wexford 0-3 Cork had a strong wind for the first half.

Digits, any chance you know the Tipp/Offaly score?

Tipp 0-18 Offaly 0-10

Great win for roscommon. A very deserved win :)
    donal shine - what a man! Fair play to both teams though. Some match.

I actually knew it. I ACTUALLY knew it!! Of course limerick would draw cork. Gaaaaah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Sligo in the Connacht final qualifiers, ooh yeah :D
    you have Donie shine to thank for that.
    Some player though and a great match.

I actually knew it. I ACTUALLY knew it!! Of course limerick would draw cork. Gaaaaah!

Cant wait.:)

I'm sick of playing cork though year in, year out :o Hopefully it'll take place in killarney seeing as that's where the lads played their last championship match.

What a coincidence that each of these matches seem like crackers.... Like perfect matches. *sigh* ...I'll stop blaming the gaa now...

Ah Soccy don't lose hope already.:P

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

*Crosses Fingers*
    Come on Antrim!! :p

Not really deise. I'll be going for cork in this one. No disrespect to antrim but the thought of them up against a first gear kilkenny in croke park.....

They could draw us though! If Antrim and Tipperary won, it'd be a draw for the semis!
    And although I still dont think they'll win, they'll have the advantage of not already playing 2 tough games in a row and if Ronan Curran, Sean Og O Hailpin, Jerry O Connor and Shane O Neill are out with injury, its not good for Cork coz they have no subs tbf :/
    But if Antrim did win and drew us, Jesus it wouldnt shock one Waterford person if Antrim bet Waterford. Cockiest bunch of.. >.< Never go in expecting a Waterford win, tiz something you learn in early days :pac: My dad even said last night he'd rather us play Tipp/Galway then Antrim, though I'd still like Antim tbf :)

Hon the Saffrons!!!

Why would their be a draw though? Antrim didn't meet kilkenny and tipp didn't meet waterford yet. Or am i missing something vital here? :o
    EDIT: forget it :pac: *facepalm*

Why would their be a draw though? Antrim didn't meet kilkenny and tipp didn't meet waterford yet. Or am i missing something vital here? :o

Yea and Antrim didnt meet Waterford and Tipp didnt meet Kilkenny!
    Im almost 100% there has to be a draw then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

I said at the start of the year before we played any match that it would be typical of Sligo to beat Mayo and Galway and the lose to Roscommon or Leitrim in the final.
    Was really hoping I would be wrong. :(
    Anyway it was very disappointing especially since I never saw as many Sligo people at a match before! Maybe we were just too cocky.. >.<
    We lost everything at midfield and we just did not have a good day. But fair play to Roscommon, they were the better team and seem to want it more, I thought we'd push on after we drew level but it wasn't to be.
    No offence to Roscommon but Connacht football is doing badly at the moment. A child in front of me from Roscommon said after the match "Yay we're in the quarter-finals and we're sh1te!" :p

Down will be very hard to play as well, but I suppose it could have been worse, we could have got Cork!

No offence to Roscommon but Connacht football is doing badly at the moment. A child in front of me from Roscommon said after the match "Yay we're in the quarter-finals and we're sh1te!" :p

Down will be very hard to play as well, but I suppose it could have been worse, we could have got Cork!

Rub it in, why dont cha :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭msbrightside

Rub it in, why dont cha :P

Oh sorry! :p
    I'd say that will be a close enough match though, Limerick are a good team.
    I'm sure ye will do better against Cork than Sligo would have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

As much as I love Sligo, I always want the underdog to win. Delighted for Roscommon , as I said about Dan Shanahan, Donnie Shine is some man for one man.:)

Cork/Limerick should be an interesting game.

Even though it's supposed to be "neutral" venues for the next round, I can see Louth/Dublin being in Croke Park. I know Croke Park isn't Dublin's home ground, Parnell Park is, but it may as well be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

John Galvin made the football team of the year so far thingy. Nice to see a Limerick man there! :D

5 Waterford players on the hurling yolk!! So effing proud :)

And Im really hopeful of Connors getting young hurler of the year this year, hes act amazing in the corner :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Man, Offaly were poor today. The ref was also a bit of a dweeb!

DylanS09 wrote: »
    John Galvin made the football team of the year so far thingy. Nice to see a Limerick man there! :D

I actually screamed when it said his name because if he didn't get on it, it'd have been just stupid. I know it was for fun but still... It's john galvin!! (he's up there with tubs and davy on the awesome list :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Nice weekend of sports ahead. Louth are going realise they are not going to be in an All Ireland this year and there is a nice hurling match on between Tipp and Galway.

unknown13 wrote: »
    Nice weekend of sports ahead. Louth are going realise they are not going to be in an All Ireland this year and there is a nice hurling match on between Tipp and Galway.

Good 'un :P
    But I agree unknown, a great weekend of sport lays ahead. All the football qualifier matches look to be crackers as well as the hurling. Wouldn't misjudge antrim either against cork. Dinny cahill seems to be doing something right up north and with cork's injuries as a concern, ya never know with this one.

Sorry unknown, can't quote on my phone grrr..but at your comment in the den, meh. Depends on the cork which shows up. The one who played tipp or the other one.
    Did you see then play that mediocre limerick team? Lost by 13 points...i think against a full strength cork team.

Now imagine a old half strength cork team that had played their munster final replay last weak up against a team who have beaten dublin and are now feeling well in themselves..
    Won't say antrim will win. But dinny cahill won't let them show themselves up either :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

They will lose well. Cork are going to be much better than them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭DylanS09

unknown13 wrote: »
    They will lose well. Cork are going to be much better than them.

I know that you think Cork will win, but how can you be so sure??
    Anything can happen on any given day.. Just because Cork are the better team on paper doesn't mean that they're guaranteed to win.

Contae Lú abú!
    We've a good chance against Dublin, and they've been woeful tbf.