Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thomas Cook Grafton Street store occupied by the workers

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    ooooh they all just left out the courts now outside bridewell making a racket

Just got a caution I would imagine. Very unlikely any action will be taken.
    Thomas Cook workers are waiting to hear their fate after they agreed to purge their contempt of court.

Sixteen workers, eight trade union representatives and the partner of one of the staff were brought before the High Court after they refused to leave the premises last night.

They were arrested at the company's travel shop on Dublin's Grafton Street early this morning.

Counsel for the staff told Mr Justice Michael Peart that they undertook to abide his order and further undertook not to repeat any acts of disobedience.

The judge has risen to decide what actions he will take.

Around 200 people have taken part in a demonstration outside the Four Courts in Dublin in support of the workers.

The demonstration is being supported by SIPTU, Unite, the Socialist Party, Sinn Féin, the Independent Workers Union, the Socialist Workers Party, Dublin Council of Trade Unions and the CPSU.

The workers were taken from Bridewell Garda Station to the High Court for their appearance at 2.30pm.

Yesterday, Mr Justice Peart ordered that the workers be arrested and brought before the court today after they had defied an order to leave their workplace.

At around 5am this morning, gardaí moved in and arrested around workers occupying the office.

When Thomas Cook workers heard on Friday the travel agent was to close with immediate effect, they refused to leave the premises and occupied the office all weekend.

More than 40 employees had been involved in the occupation, which was prompted by their demands for an improved redundancy deal.

One of the women who had been taking part in the protest, Avril Clancy, was this morning removed from the premises and taken to hospital where she gave birth to a baby girl, who has been named Chelsea.

Source: http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0804/thomascook.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

"Jail the bankers not the workers" they're singing now. What have bankers got to do with this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

"Jail the bankers not the workers" they're singing now. What have bankers got to do with this?

are you there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

Ask him if he's Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭population

You just ignored my point completely. And I disagree with the underlined section.

And you seem to be ignoring mine, also by disagreeing wholly with the underlined section, you feel Sean Fitzpatrick etc didnt commit fraud???

The "hang 'em high" type of justice you're espousing is not the way to operate within the rule of law.

Where did I "espouse" this???

Thankfully we don't live in a place where politicians can call any citizens actions "offences against the state" and lock them up.

I said offences against the state tongue in cheek. It was more a jibe in retrospect of the fallout from their actions and what the State has to suffer to compensate these fine institutions.

A specific offence needs to be committed. So go read this and come back to me when you've picked a section you understand:

Now now. No need to be nasty. I did not personally insult you, I would find it common courtesy not to insult me. I merely pointed out that the previous poster to you had what I feel were legitimate concerns regarding the administartion of justice in this great little nation of ours.

The offences against the State Acts cover violent subversion of the institutions of the State e.g. by the IRA down through the years. It covers shootings and bombings and the like.

Maybe it should include bankrupting a nation in pursuit of short term profits also. The times they are a changing.......

To clarify I'd love to see any banker/developer who breached company law (or any other laws) sent to prison but it's nowhere near as simple as you make out. On the face of it all these people did was run their businesses very badly and make bad decisions. That shouldn't be worthy of jail should it?

I too would love to see wrongdoers pay a price for their gross incompetence, and if they acted illegally, then yes, that is worthy of jail.

However you're also referring to the Anglo money shuffling messing that went on. There's about 4 different investigations going on into that (Gardaí, ODCE, accountancy bodies, etc.) and if sufficient evidence is there, those people will face charges. It'll be slow though gathering a prosecution.

I accept this, however I am not holding my breath for a stiff sentence for anyone involved

You'll see this week that justice can move just as quickly for the big guys. Liam Carroll's case in the Supreme Court today might result in all his companies being liquidated and massive personal guarantees being called in.

Another major developer Paddy Kelly is on the verge of personal bankruptcy due to the collapse of (among others) the Thomas Read pub chain.

Both of these cases have been tiptoed around for too long already imo. The Liam Carroll thing is only being pursued because of ACC acting like a proper bank as opposed to our institutions playing the SCAMA card.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

They should of been fined for wasting the Gardai time, if i was Thomas Cook id now only offer them the min reduntacy, and they can forget about getting a Job here in Ireland now as any employer who sees that they have worked in THOMAS Cook on there c.v will not hire them, they really are the most silliest women i have ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Deleted by poster.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

They'll probably get a fine if anything. Sending them to prison would probalby be counterproductive, since they could claim the martyr tag.

mike kelly wrote: »
    are you there?

they are directly under the window of my office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Imperius

Throw them down some phone cards for the unexpected delay in seeing some sense! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

they are directly under the window of my office

Ask them to quieten down, saying "Some of us have work to do!"

Former staff of Thomas Cook who were arrested this morning after staging a sit-in at the company's shop in Grafton Street in breach of a High Court order have been released without penalty after they purged their contempt of court.

The protesters appeared before Mr Justice Michael Peart as a large number of supporters staged a protest outside the Four Courts.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0804/breaking1.htm

Nice judge. Shows people can get away with a lot in this country!

Sully wrote: »
    Ask them to quieten down, saying "Some of us have work to do!"

they've all fecked off now, show's over, back to work :(

Protesters who staged a five-day sit-in at a Thomas Cook branch were freed today after being arrested for contempt of court.

Axed workers, including two pregnant women, trade union officials and councillors, occupied the Dublin store defying a High Court judge after company bosses closed the company’s two outlets last Friday.

The 16 former staff and their supporters were released after they agreed to obey an earlier court order and stay away from the Grafton Street shop.

During the occupation, workers were joined by eight members of the Transport Salaried Staffs’ Association, Socialist Party councillor Matthew Wayne and People Before Profit’s Richard Boyd Barrett and Sharon O’Rourke.

Their protest came to a sudden end when scores of gardaí launched a dawn operation, arresting everyone in the shop except a heavily pregnant woman who was taken to hospital and gave birth six hours later.

Avril Boyne was nursing a healthy baby girl, Chelsea, as her partner Ian Mahon was freed.

He had gone to the Thomas Cook store just before the garda operation was launched out of concern for his wife and found himself caught up in the row and in custody.

He was allowed to visit the new mother in hospital ahead of the court hearing.

The High Court was told all defendants had given an undertaking that they would abide by an original order to stay away from the premises and would not trespass again. They also undertook not to repeat any act of disobedience.

As the hearing went ahead with a massive garda presence, at least 300 union activists remained outside chanting for workers’ rights, at one stage forcing court staff to close windows to avoid disruption.

At least 20 gardaí attended the packed courtroom, with scores more around the huge complex.

Barrister Mark Connaughton, senior counsel for Thomas Cook, told the court: “It would be churlish not to acknowledge the people have now purged their contempt.”

http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/thomas-cook-workers-freed-after-sitin-421256.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭uprising

Over the top, ie evening herald.
    Did anybody see that picture in the herald, it was like a fuccking riot scene, the workers were defending their rights and they send in the boys in blue in large numbers, its a fuccking disgrace and anybody who thinks they should be jailed etc are also a disgrace.
    Fuccking money before people, people dont matter anymore, money does, and anybody who says they (the protesting workers) are wasting taxpayers money should think again.
    The waste of taxpayers money was ordered by a waste of taxpayers money ie: the judge who ordered a few hundred coppers to go get the bad guys (pregnant women etc).
    And by closing the shop 1 month early I assume the workers were also 1 months salary out of pocket, which in times like this can mean a lot more than it did a couple of years ago.
    I fully support the protesting workers, and I think all decent people should, we should all stand together before we're all trampled on by big business, and if it means revolution, then be it.
    And I'm not a shinnie or member of any organisation.

uprising wrote: »
    Did anybody see that picture in the herald, it was like a fuccking riot scene, the workers were defending their rights and they send in the boys in blue in large numbers, its a fuccking disgrace and anybody who thinks they should be jailed etc are also a disgrace.
    Fuccking money before people, people dont matter anymore, money does, and anybody who says they (the protesting workers) are wasting taxpayers money should think again.
    The waste of taxpayers money was ordered by a waste of taxpayers money ie: the judge who ordered a few hundred coppers to go get the bad guys (pregnant women etc).
    And by closing the shop 1 month early I assume the workers were also 1 months salary out of pocket, which in times like this can mean a lot more than it did a couple of years ago.
    I fully support the protesting workers, and I think all decent people should, we should all stand together before we're all trampled on by big business, and if it means revolution, then be it.

So you think they were right to break the law? They were told twice by the high court to leave. They were offered more then were required in terms of redundancy. The business was not making a profit even in the good times and shut down early because the staff wanted to screw up the remaining period it was open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Board Senseless

I read that all like I was hearing it through a megaphone.

A High Court judge has ordered the release of Thomas Cook staff who were arrested after occupying the company's premises on Grafton Street.

Mr Justice Michael Peart said he fully understood the distress and anger of the workers who are facing redundancy.

However, he said that cannot permit the law to be broken, as that would be a recipe for anarchy.

Workers gave an undertaking to obey his order not to interfere or trespass at Thomas Cook premises and the judge said he accepted that it was a sufficient purging of their contempt.

He said the events of the past few days have resulted in a great deal of distress for the staff and the families and he would not add to that by imposing a prison sentence.

Counsel for Thomas Cook told the court that contact has been made between the TSSA union and Thomas Cook and the parties have agreed to meet tomorrow.

Staff at Thomas Cook staged the sit-in in pursuit of better redundancy from the company, which is pulling out of Ireland.

Sixteen workers, eight trade union representatives and the partner of one of the staff were arrested at the Grafton Street shop at 5am this morning.

Yesterday, Mr Justice Peart ordered that the workers be arrested and brought before the court today after they had defied an order to leave their workplace.

When Thomas Cook workers heard on Friday the travel agent was to close with immediate effect, they refused to leave the premises and occupied the office over the weekend.

One of the women who had been taking part in the protest, Avril Clancy, was this morning removed from the premises and taken to hospital where she gave birth to a baby girl, who has been named Chelsea.

Around 200 people took part in a demonstration outside the Four Courts in Dublin in support of the workers.

Source: http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0804/thomascook.html

Fair play to Thomas Cook for still listening to their unions after everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

1: And by closing the shop 1 month early I assume the workers were also 1 months salary out of pocket,

2: and if it means revolution, then be it...

1: no, paid it anyway

2: thats what we need, 100k + people in Merrion Sq/ Kildare Street, to get the message across that we have had enough

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Would illegally occupying the premises and starting an illegal protest outside constitute "gross misconduct"? If it does, they might get away with not needing to pay any redundancy at all...

Talk about shooting yourself in the foot!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

yes, but are any of the protesters involved with Sinn Fein? Is there a republican background to this protest?

So what if there was?

(there wasn't BTW).

But any excuse for idiots to try and make this thread and the protest about something it isn't.

So what if there was?

(there wasn't BTW).

But any excuse for idiots to try and make this thread and the protest about something it isn't.

Sinn Fein involvement is one of the few things that could motivate 80 guards to be ready for work at 5 am.

BTW, did you hear liveline today?

Sully wrote: »
    So you think they were right to break the law? They were told twice by the high court to leave. They were offered more then were required in terms of redundancy. The business was not making a profit even in the good times and shut down early because the staff wanted to screw up the remaining period it was open.

Break what law?, the law that says pisss on me and I'll accept it thank you.
    The fuccking elite look after their own, we're just the bottom of the pile as far as I and they can see, and sooner or later it will catch up on you too, but you'll probably hold their flutes for them while they pisss all over you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

the workers were defending their rights

Illegal trespassing is ay ok then. Ignoring the order of a judge twice is good too. They were offered more than satutory redundancy. Defending their rights, yeah right. They were pawns in someone elses agenda.

Best of luck getting another job girls because I don't see many employers wanting to hire you.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Illegal trespassing is ay ok then. Ignoring the order of a judge twice is good too. They were offered more than satutory redundancy. Defending their rights, yeah right. They were pawns in someone elses agenda.

Best of luck getting another job girls because I don't see many employers wanting to hire you.

that's what it looks like to me. the truth will come out about the real motivation for this protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 holyjoe

Break what law?, the law that says pisss on me and I'll accept it thank you.
    The fuccking elite look after their own, we're just the bottom of the pile as far as I and they can see, and sooner or later it will catch up on you too, but you'll probably hold their flutes for them while they pisss all over you.

You wont mind if me and 27 of my mates take over your house next week for a few days so. excellent.

sure its not as if we would be breaking the law and its not as if you can call the guards as you dont want to be accused of assisting the flute holding! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

that's what it looks like to me. the truth will come out about the real motivation for this protest.

What it looks like to you is wrong then.

They stood up for what they felt was right, in the face of a company that rode roughshod over it's own promises.

Mossy Monk wrote: »

Good to see solidarity is alive and well in Ireland, and YES ignoring some higher than high judge is good, it shows that people won't be pushed around so easily by some stupid wig wearing fool who's main goal is to uphold the "rights" of his elite brethren.

And weather or not these people protested or not, I dont see them getting another job too easily anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

and YES ignoring some higher than high judge is good, it shows that people won't be pushed around so easily by some stupid wig wearing fool who's main goal is to uphold the "rights" of his elite brethren.

I am betting that you are wearing your tin foil hat right now.

What it looks like to you is wrong then.

They stood up for what they felt was right, in the face of a company that rode roughshod over it's own promises.

the workers, yes. but who organised the protest?