Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Imagine if we all spoke Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

karlog wrote: »
    In my opinion it would be a disaster.

English being the most widely spoken language in the world it's lucky we have it as our first language agree?:D

Because we can only possibly use one language? :(

ah the ignorance is bliss:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

No clearly we can speak more than one language but having english as are primary would be better than having irish no? you dont see any other countries that would consider having irish as a secondary language do you?

No clearly we can speak more than one language but having english as are primary would be better than having irish no?
    our! not are

im not one to comment on peoples english - but your point is we have fluent english and you dont by the looks of it

anyway - no but you dont see the vast majority of the worlds languages being used in other countries (as a second or third language)

irish is spoken in other countries by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

brummytom wrote: »
    Is that some kind of euphamism for Lesbians? :confused:

No, you are thinking of the carpet / rug variety.
    Abi wrote:
    It is impossible to speak Irish without sounding like a bogger

Try again ;)

irish is spoken in other countries by the way

name them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Im kinda fond of the little bit I learned at school and stil remember .......the little bit .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

brummytom wrote: »
    If you all spoke Irish, all I'd have left on the internet would be youtube and porn :(
    :eek: there's more??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm pretty sure the Israelies sent military staff and agents to Ireland to study the language.
    And then used Irish for codewords for military operations.

Pretty interesting story I reckon
    This was back in the 1950's & 60's

america - canada (gaeltacht there) - belgium (publication in brussels - not the parliment alone) - australia - the UK (along with scotland and isle of man, and their similar languages)

there is only a few - but the main

we have a dutch journalist who speaks and writes in irish
    panu, who does a huge blog in irish, is finnish!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Wazdakka wrote: »
    :eek: there's more??

I'm afraid so... they're just distractions from the porn and youtube though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

English being the most widely spoken language in the world it's lucky we have it as our first language agree?:D
    Irish is the first official language of the Republic Of Ireland.

Our first language would therefore be Irish, if you are an Irish Citizen , born in the ROI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

mikemac wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure the Israelies sent military staff and agents to Ireland to study the language.
    And then used Irish for codewords for military operations.

Pretty interesting story I reckon
    This was back in the 1950's & 60's
    The irish army has being using the language as codespeak for years ,specialy out on UN duties .Perhaps why the Israelies had to learn it to

DubMedic wrote: »
    Irish is the first official language of the Republic Of Ireland.

Our first language would therefore be Irish, if you are an Irish Citizen , born in the ROI.

Our first language is irish and hardly anyone speaks it:rolleyes:

america - canada (gaeltacht there) - belgium (publication in brussels - not the parliment alone) - australia - the UK (along with scotland and isle of man, and their similar languages)

there is only a few - but the main

we have a dutch journalist who speaks and writes in irish
    panu, who does a huge blog in irish, is finnish!

Yet over 115 countries use english do the math:P

if you count all of ireland - roughly 5 million say without the, roughly 900,000, unionist voters who on the whole do not speak irish - then we would have 250,000 who would use irish weekly.

that is 5% of the population - no one, ah ye you are right! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

I think it would be great if Irish was our primary language, we don't really have many distinctive traits to our country in my opinion, I mean in terms of heritage etc.

It'd be great if we could all speak our native language. We'd learn English as a second in school and, as most poeple have said, the majority of the country would then be fluent in that too.

I really got into Irish in 5th and 6th year in secondary school. Bit disappointed I'm forgetting it a bit now. I'll attempt to speak it more as a result of this thread though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

FEALL

Yet over 115 countries use english do the math:P

61 million population in relation to irelands 4 million

15 times more population, do the math! :D

we have our sports, music and literature

still language is the strongest (despite its relatively weak support/usage)

plus we all can speak irish - most of the population choose not to though!

if you count all of ireland - roughly 5 million say without the, roughly 900,000, unionist voters who on the whole do not speak irish - then we would have 250,000 who would use irish weekly.

that is 5% of the population - no one, ah ye you are right! ;)

Well comparing 5% of people to the rest of ireland is hardly anyone;)

61 million population in relation to irelands 4 million

15 times more population, do the math! :D

What the F*** does that even mean you trying to make a point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Being abroad and talking about the foreign women in pigeon Irish.

Was worth having to rote learn ****ty Cathal O' whatever poems!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Latchy wrote: »
    The irish army has being using the language as codespeak for years ,specialy out on UN duties .Perhaps why the Israelies had to learn it to

What's the Irish for "Please stop shelling our HQ, we've asked you in two languages now?"

Well comparing 5% of people to the rest of ireland is hardly anyone;)

well its 5% or 1/20th

population wise and size wize ireland is vastly smaller than the UK - so comparing irish to english isnt fair no is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

At least there are some people in certain areas who are still willing to speak it.
    Don't forget the Irish Military , The Irish Defence Forces, use it on a very regular basis.

As well as the fact that the majority of government documentation & roadsigns are printed bi-lingually with Gaeilge , not to mention that our registration plates here in the Republic are in our Native tongue.

If you are stopped by a member of An Garda Síochána , you have the right to conduct business with them As Gaeilge.
    I could go out my front door today or tomorrow and have a thorough conversation as Gaeilge with many people.

Don't forget the crest on the old Ambulance Service uniforms, the crest had 'Seirbhís Otharcharr Na hEireann' stitched onto it.

Now that would suggest that maybe some places actually do know Gaeilge, but yet nobody speaks it , right?. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

No it isn't... :confused:

English is the most widely spoken language. It's just not the most widely spoken first language.

well its 5% or 1/20th

population wise and size wize ireland is vastly smaller than the UK - so comparing irish to english isnt fair no is it?

No it isn't fair thats my point. Were lucky we speak english as our first language instead of irish. Since so few of the worlds population speak irish compared to those who speak english.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,508 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

No it isn't fair thats my point. Were lucky we speak english as our first language instead of irish. Since so few of the worlds population speak irish compared to those who speak english.

So are the Finnish unlucky that they speak Finnish as their first language?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

But as has been said, what about in other countries that have their own first language and learn English as a second, they get on grand. Why would Irish be any different?

can we learn chinese?

1 billion, and gaining....

that would be better! round and around we go

go look up bilingualism - then come back