Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRA vs the Taliban - who would win? US TV goes in search of the answer....*cringe*

Hagar wrote: »
    What is your response to that post, the one that drew thw comment from McA?

You are comparing shoppers with suspected terrorists, which of these deserved to die?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

You are comparing shoppers with suspected terrorists, which of these deserved to die?

So they were not convicted by a court of law then?
    Just sentenced to summary execution by whom?

They were given a "full Military honours" funeral by the IRA attended by prominant Sinn féin menbers!

Ans what crime did the shoppers commit! apart from wanting to purchase some fish!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

They were on a "mission" to kill as many innocents as possible in Gibraltar - this has been accepted by Sinn Fein/IRA.

What - wait until they kill innocents like Garda Jerry McCabe and then act.

A lot different from Saturday morning shoppers on the Shankill.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,249 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Wow, are you really comparing this to the bombing that killed a couple of children?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Seriously lads. FFS. It's a thread about a stupid hypothetical battle between the IRA and the Taliban. Leave the serious stuff at the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 mango23

This conversation hasn't changed since 1916 and even before that. It seems that the people trying to liberate our nation have always come under the fire and opinion of Irish citizens, but when victory is won and history is written them brave men will be praised.

mango23 wrote: »
    This conversation hasn't changed since 1916 and even before that. It seems that the people trying to liberate our nation have always come under the fire and opinion of Irish citizens, but when victory is won and history is written them brave men will be praised.

The winning side always write the history books! Rightly or otherwise.

Question: war won/Lost or still ongoing!!!

Edit: Ira -V- Talaban of course, not the nordy bunfight!

mango23 wrote: »

The men who have been remembered are the ones who looked to secure an independent Irish state/Irish autonomy through democratic means.
    People like John Hume, Charles Stewart Parnell and Daniel O'Connell.
    Not the ones you talk about who defend the murder of innocents.

Once again, the topic is IRA -vs- Taliban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

What is your response to that post, the one that drew thw comment from McA?

And there is the reason why the SAS will never win an election in Ireland?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Am I imagining things or was there ever a cartoon with "James Bond jnr" in Ireland, actually speaking Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Am I imagining things or was there ever a cartoon with "James Bond jnr" in Ireland, actually speaking Irish?

I read the first page of this thread (serious thanks being given out there and deservedly so) and then jumped to the last comment.

Great stuff. From the IRA vs The Taliban to "Was there ever a James Bond Jnr cartoon in Irish?"

Boards is great sometimes. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I hear the ending is an epic battle between Michael Collins VS Osama Bin Laden. 20 minutes of graphic Roshambo right there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 mango23

The men who have been remembered are the ones who looked to secure an independent Irish state/Irish autonomy through democratic means.
    So Michael Collins, Wolfetone, De Valera, Harry Boland etc must not be remembered seeing as they killed people also?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nah they're not really remembered because lets face facts, they all failed on the independance front.

Thanfully, men like Dan Breen and Tom Barry are remembered now because they succeeded where peace huggers failed. Mostly by being willing to shoot whoever needed shooting to get the job done and not worrying about what her majestys' royal irish order of uncle tom's might think of it. :)

You mean like in Gibraltar? :D

or like Loughgall, and yeah very brave blowing up Mountbatten a man who loved Ireland and spent his holidays here. He died fishing on a boat on a lake.

Cowardly scum

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,258 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

BlitzKrieg wrote: »
    It is cringeworthy.

Can anyone work out what the IRA guy screams at the end?

Tiocfaidh Allah?

Bambi wrote: »
    Nah they're not really remembered because lets face facts, they all failed on the independance front.

Thanfully, men like Dan Breen and Tom Barry are remembered now because they succeeded where peace huggers failed. Mostly by being willing to shoot whoever needed shooting to get the job done and not worrying about what her majestys' royal irish order of uncle tom's might think of it. :)

Did you know that Tom Barry served in the British Army?
    As did James Connolly.........what was that.....uncles toms? ;)

Would you include Detective Garda Jerry McCabe as someone who needed to be shot because they got in the way of human vermin who draped themselves in a Tricolour....or the two boys - one a local Sligo lad - who were murdered on the boat with Mountbatten - ah yes, uncle toms.

The reality is that the type of northern nationalist that people in the Republic want to associate with is represented by John Hume and not Gerry Adams.

Leave the serious stuff at the door.

:D @ pickarooney

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

javaboy wrote: »
    Leave the serious stuff at the door.

Like that last IRA fella did on deadliest warrior? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I watched this yesterday and it's the most God awful thing I've ever watched. IRA wins in the end.

They had the IRA chap using slingshot's against the Taliban with bayonets :/

Fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,141 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Godzilla and Mothra would obviously own the two of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭cos!!

thought id bump this up!just seen it on youtube!:D give it a watch!wont say who wins!sorry if someone else did tyhis already!:o

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

bobmalooka wrote: »
    now....shark vs aligator please

Ask and thou shall recieve:

I also found a bunch of dinosaur ones if anyone's interested...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

.....uncles toms? ;)
    .... uncle toms.

easy on the uncle tom battering, please. It wasn't me.....:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

You're all wrong, it was Rambo who drove the Russians out of Afghanistan.

Didnt RTE have the intro voiceover for the trailer ...
    Rambo ... Plus The Taliban ... Versus ... The Commies

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

I was reasonable amused by the daftness of the program.
    However was wonderfully entertained by the usual muppets who genuinely considered this to be the appropriate place for "Raa goooddd" Vs "Raa Baddd" 'intellectual debate'. Looks like some boardies have finally found a thread of appropriate stature to continue their never ending debate..., albeit accidentally...., but I really can't think of a more appropriate thread for them to reside...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

was anyone just watching e4?

they were showing clips from an american show about hypothetical one on ones of warriors from random periods in history

they had one of apache vs william wallace etc etc

the season finale was a 5 a side of the IRA vs The Taliban.

possibly the best clip of all time! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqE3yE2b0sg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Boards search feature is your friend.;)