Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best pranks you've ever pulled?? - Merge

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

When I went to the cinema for "Titanic" years ago, I paid my friend 20 pounds to LOL during the sad bits. I had been to see the film before so I had a feeling that this would be a good laugh.

When there was a poignant scene and the place was quiet, my mate would start laughing his head off. Didn't sound forced at all. The whole place turned to look at us about 5 times.

Jaysus, it was the funniest few hours of my life. There was a group of women near us in tears giving us "evils" for the whole movie. Priceless.

I dare everyone on boards to give it a go.
    Ok I will.Got a time machine so we can go back 11 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Ok I will.Got a time machine so we can go back 11 years?

Good observation.

Edited.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Another internet fail 06. How many is that now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭themilkyone

Was driving home from long weekend away in Roscommon. Had the car full up and one of my mates fell asleep in the middle backseat. So when we finally hit local turf where i knew the roads i decided a good way to wake him up was by getting everyone to scream really loudly when i slammed on the breaks. Cue the screeching tyres and a burning smell of rubber... My mate wakes up and cries out of natural reaction. Poor fellow,never seen a grown man with such a scared face :)

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Was driving home from long weekend away in Roscommon. Had the car full up and one of my mates fell asleep in the middle backseat. So when we finally hit local turf where i knew the roads i decided a good way to wake him up was by getting everyone to scream really loudly when i slammed on the breaks. Cue the screeching tyres and a burning smell of rubber... My mate wakes up and cries out of natural reaction. Poor fellow,never seen a grown man with such a scared face :)

:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Lets the pranks continue. On saturday the 9th while it was still freezing some of the old pranking crew hatched a devious plan . We drove out to groody in limerick got a condom and put it on the windshield of a friends car , with some ice and snow to hold it in place and proceeded to cover it in water. 30 mins later we came back and gave it a second coating and more ice and snow and then again and again once more.

1 bottle of deep riverock water E1
    Petrol usage on night E5
    Getting furious phone calls off someone who has to drive to work with a frozen johonny to their windscreen .....PRICELESS!

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Arcee

Always get a great laugh with this one.... If you're sitting outside with a bunch of smokers, wait til one of them goes to the bathroom, take one of their cigs, break the top off a match and push it into the top of the cig then put it back in the box.

The best bit is that you don't know when they're going to smoke that particular cig so everyone spends the evening sitting around the table hodling their breath everytime the poor victim take a cig out of the box.... cue hilarity when they light up and create a mini-explosion :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

years ago my mother who is pretty gullible was growing vegetables in the back garden so i phoned her pretending to a guard saying we have reports that you are growing hash plants out there too.
    Asked her could she come down to the station later to discuss further with the Seargant

the plan was to get back home in time and tell twas just a prank haha but she had gone straight down anyway to clear it up- they were looking at her like she had two heads.

i nearly died laughing but she got me back by chucking me out of the house-

• Registered Users Posts: 6,550 ✭✭✭bassy

one nite a few years ago we were having a party at our house with a few mates,one guy was totally pissed.so me and my brother were thinking up some plan.

the drunk guy had a bald head,so my brother goes and gets a load of bic pens,and he pulls out the tube part out of each pen where think is in.pulls the ball point of them and starts blowing in to it and puts all the ink on the your mans bald head and on his hands.then he gets a rubber kitch glove puts it on and rubs all the ink on the guys bald head.

jesus you should have seen him,fooking mental.but the best part is to come...................................

he goes home still drunk at 5am and unknow to him as he,s going in home to he,s bedroom he covers every door handle in the house with blue ink.
    and yes the bed destroyed he,s quilt and pillows with ink.

he,s mother was fooking mental next day,imaginge following the ink on the door handles to your sons room and then bang a blue fooking baldhead in the bed and duvet and pillows destroyed.CLASSIC.:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭the magician

In work a few years ago and we were gettin some new dumptrucks ready for delivery.Our auto electrician , (he was about 65 and a bit doddery)was working in the bay beside me and was fitting a radio and speakers to one.

I got my Ipod with fm transmitter, when he fit the radio he went away from the truck before checking it worked so I went into the truck and tuned my Ipod into a station on it and turned the volume up full.

Had the Ipod paused with a System of a Down song ready to go. He comes back and just as he gets in I press play . It's blaring at full volume and he's kinda stunned for a couple of seconds.Look of surprise on his face was priceless.starts turning down the volume and everytime he presses the volume button i changed songs.Thought the radio had a mind of its own

went from system of a down to homer singing spanish flea. he spent about ten minutes pulling it back out and checking it thinkin it was broke until he noticed me in stitches.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

i used to pee in the sistern of my housemates toilet so when he flushed, pee came out! i thought it was funny at the time.....

...used to also load all of his hairgel with glitter...

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Ciaran187

Brilliant thread. My To Do List has just grown!

Just spent the last 10 minutes looking for a photo because I know I have one somewhere.

Anyway, Christmas 2008. Christmas eve. Only person on my team in work. Plenty of wrapping paper left over under the desks. Wrapped a colleague's computer. Now that sounds like a laugh, but it gets much better (which is why I wanted to find those photos!)

I wrapped her desk tidy, but also wrapped every single pen (wrapping the lids seperately), wrapped the phone, with the bit you pick up wrapped seperately, wrapped her rulers, wrapped the pages she had left on her desk, wrapped the key that locks her drawer. Just to add insult to injury, I also removed the 'B' key (her surname began with B) so she couldn't log in to anything until she unwrapped every single thing and found the key!

Have to admit, I was very impressed until my senior manager went around to the few staff that got stuck working Christmas eve wishing them happy Christmas. Fortunately, he saw the funny side of it and asked when would she be back in.

I'll keep looking for the photo until I get distracted by someth....

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭gmonov1

S.I.R wrote: »
    another time: sub teacher on the last class before lunch years ago gave us tons ( and i mean - had to empty my locker as i needed that many books for the poxy class ) and we weren't happy, so at the side entrance theirs 2 bins, an open sack in a rusty round case and theirs a green glass bottle bin

we walked out - gang of use with hoods up grabbed him, put him in the Empty glass bin, put him in the corner ( we we leave out bags just inside the door ) wedged between two walls under the stairs...

we where off at 14:45... he was found at 8:30 by the cleaner that evening... he promptly quit and we got no homework... Was Brilliant.

presumably he wasnt your english teacher

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭gmonov1

one sunday night after gettin back from a fair few pints with the lads, i was just the right amount of drunk, drunk enough to enjoy playin some stupid prank and sober enough to remember having done it!
    anyways half way through my kebab i noticed my sister had left her schoolbag on the kitchen table, ready to grab it and run in the morning, so i took out her pencil case and emptied it into the bag, then i filled her pencil case with all the teabags i could find in the house.
    well my sister at the time was a 6th year prefect so had to take charge af some assembly on monday morning, she went to take something from her pencil case and about 70 odd teabags spill out all over the place infront of everyone
    i would have given my right bollock to have been there and seeing her face, cause even at 4 in the afternoon when she seen me she was still going bannanas :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 HardToBeat

Well I went to my cousins house in America with my uncle, and he was giving me grief, so I decided to set my alarm to 5am, and stuck it under his bed........did I mention it was strapped to a mege phone?

Altough, he caught on :(
    I was rudely awaken at 5am by a familiar phone strapped to a mega phone, hidden in my suitcase :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Emptied a bottle of tobasco sauce in the drink (red lemonade) of a guy I used to work with. Felt bad about it afterwards. Especially since he was really thirsty and practically drank the lot in one gulp. There was literally steam coming out of his ears, and sweat dripping from his face! It makes me laugh whenever I think about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

I went to boarding school, so my list of pranks is vast, but my best one was when I convinced my best friend that I'd fallen off a cliff. I jumped to the ledge below, faded my shout to simulate distance, and hid.

Ah, 12. What an age.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Few girls that we knew in college thought it would be funny to cover my mates car with shaving foam and toilet paper and tip-ex our front window.

So it was time for payback, so we decided to go to the butchers and purchase a pigs head. So we called around to their house for some drinks, then my mate left the room to go to the toilet;), he ran as fast as he could down to the boot of the car to get the pig head.

He shoved the fresh head down into the toilet and took the light bulb out:eek:. they saw the funny side after about an hour of screams:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭asmobhosca

Was 18 and doing my driving test, unfortunately I was rather drunk the night before and wasn't exactly in tip top shape for the test. Anyway arrived at the test centre and off I went with the tester. After 15 mins it was already clear that my hungover driving skills were not going to enable me to pass the test, (the gasps and tuts from the tester kinda gave it away).
    So i knew I had basically failed already, made a total balls of reversing around a corner and stalled on the hill start, I didnt need to be told i had failed, so i decided fcuk it.

At the next chance I pulled over saying i thought the back tyre was flat and asked the tester to check it. Amazingly he got out to check it, which was my cue to put the foot down and leave him miles from the test centre.
    Needless to say that when i next sat my test and passed it, I did it in a different test centre.
    I will never forget the look on his face as i drove off though!! priceless

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Ciaran187

HardToBeat wrote: »
    [...] so I decided to set my alarm to 5am, and stuck it under his bed........did I mention it was strapped to a mege phone?[...]

How loud was the TICK TICK TICK TICK? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

<snip>
    Anyway my personal fav is:

pick a mate
    ring the buy and sell
    place an ad with an unbelievable bargan (cars used too work best, maybe not at the mo though:() giving their phine number as the contact.
    Call over the morning the paper goes on sale
    Sit back and watch as phone call after phone call after phone call come in.
    Call over randomly over the next two weeks as they run double prints:D

This makes it a free prank (maybe €2 for the phone call to place the ad) that just keeps on giving...
    For best results use the national edition:pac::pac: this also has the added bonus of playing 'what counties have rang' game

Class:cool:

Did this with a mate in college once. Put an ad in the buy'n'sell with a donkey for sale. His phone number and some text about it being a really good donkey etc. All offers considered. Something like that..

I think he got about 100 phone calls... mostly from travellers asking about the donkey... Oh man, we never laughed so much every time his phone rang.... good times :D
    ve wrote: »
    While I was in college a few years back there was a guy who really used to get on everyone's nerves. He thought he was brilliant and if he ever had an assignment finished early he would brag and boast. Anyway his thing was allegedly computer security but none of us were really convinced he knew what he was talking about. So...

I developed a small piece of software and install it on his pc in college. When he logged in, the program ran invisible in the background. From another pc I was able to open his web browser right in from of him on his pc and bring up any web site I wanted. Also we could open and close the cdrom drive also. So anyway in comes his supervisor one day and I open the filthiest porn that we could find on his pc. He freaks and tries to close it before his supervisor gets beside him. He fails as stuff keepspoping up. The guy was lost for words.

If any women went to go over to him we did the same thing. The guy literally did not open his mouth for weeks because he knew we were doing it but didn't know how.

I remember some similar software to this floating around our computer labs in the early 2000's... some genius pranks resulted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 HardToBeat

Ciaran187 wrote: »
    How loud was the TICK TICK TICK TICK? :)

There wasn't any, it was the alarm on my phone. The actual alarm though, scared the crap out of me!

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭sKepTics_George

agreed,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Ahhhh the smell of sweet revenge :D

In secondary school one of the lads put a padlock on my locker so I couldn't open it. So I plotted for a week when I said aha I have it :cool:

When we were in the computer room he announces he was bored so I told him try mylazysunday.com haw haw haw haw :D

He near fecked the pc screen up the wall because he couldn't get rid of it!!! Eventually he had to pull the plug before the teacher got there. I dunno why the site wasn't blocked on our school pc's and bebo and the likes where :)

For those of who you are thinking "What's this mylazysunday.com he speaks of" You may visit it at your own peril. Just have the power chord in hand and the task manager opened. Task manager doesn't always close it.

For those of you who have been hit with this prank or have pulled it on someone I am expecting a shít load of thanks from you :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

This was more of a joke than a prank really...

A few of us were on holidays in Doolin a few years ago. Now if anyone knows Doolin, there's a hotel there. So 3 of the lads decided to go down to the hotel for a few pints whilst myself and my friend made the dinner. Anyhow after a while, my friend said to me "lets ring the hotel and have a bit of craic with the lads"....

Anyhow, my friend rings the hotel and asks to get put through to the bar. So he starts talking to the girl behind the bar. He goes "Is there 3 lads drinking at the bar there?". "Yes" she says. "Well, you wouldn't shout across there and tell them to drink up as mammy said the dinner is ready!".

So across the bar she shouts. The boys were mortified, didn't know what way to look :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭upandcumming

It may have been posted or done before but we did it to one of the lads...
    In college in our apartment, we have water tanks beside our rooms in little closets cos there is nowhere else for them. One of the lads has one to himself. Went to tesco and stocked up on really really cheap diluteable blackcurrant juice. Put 6l of it into the water tank. He went for a shower not too long after... and AAAAHHH the screams out of him!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

In hindsight this may seem a little dick-heady but anyways:

Back in the days of Secondary School Somebody stole my 3rd place sports day trophy. There was only 4 people in the race so I wasn't too bothered but this cunt kept rubbing it in and being a knob about it so I set up an advertisement for him in a gay personals and he received unwanted attention in the form of dirty text messages for a good few months.
    He never retaliated because he never knew it was me. (Setting up the add that is, not sending the messages.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Deserved it IMO