Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Celebrations tonight in Strand Road,they won the U21 Championship this evening

Kerins O'Rahillys 2-15
    East Kerry 2-09

Teams below,

Kerins O’Rahillys

1. Robert O’Connor
    2. David Murphy
    3. Martin Tierney (c)
    4. Tommy Begley
    5. Karl Mullins
    6. Cormac Coffey
    7. Mitchell Donnelly
    8. Diarmuid O’Sullivan
    9. Cian Sayers
    10. Gavin O’Brien
    11. Jack Savage
    12. Brian Scannell
    13. Gearoid Savage
    14. Padraig Griffin
    15. Ronan Quill

Fir Ionaid:
    16. Shane Foley
    17. Derek Horgan
    18. Shane O’Sullivan
    19. Gavin Ryan
    20. Daniel Nix
    22 Eoin Carroll
    23. Ryan Carroll
    24. Dylan Ronan
    25. Gary Nolan
    26 Ben O’Neill
    27 Jack Shortt
    28 James O’ Connor
    29. Donagh Buckley

Bainistíocht

Bainisteoir: Ray Walsh

Roghnóirí: Dave Keane, Morgan Nix, Shane Ronan.

East Kerry
    1. Aaron Farrell (Spa)
    2. Shane Courtney (Glenflesk)
    3. D.J. Murphy (Gneeveguilla)
    4. Cathal Sheahan (Legion)
    5. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
    6. Shane Cronin (Spa)
    7. James O’Donoghue (Firies)
    8. Liam Kearney (Capt.) (Spa)
    9. Kieran Murphy (Glenflesk)
    10. Padraig de Brún (Firies)
    11. Paudie Clifford (Fossa)
    12 Gary O’ Sullivan (Listry)
    13 Lee O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
    14. Craig Hickey (Spa)
    15. Conor Keane (Legion)

Fir Ionaid:
    16. Jerry Cronin (Gneeveguilla)
    17. Padraig O’Sullivan (Gneeveguilla)
    18. Mathew Rennie (Fossa)
    19. Tadhg O’Shea (Fossa)
    20. James McCarrick (Glenflesk)
    21. Jack O’Neill (Legion)
    22. Matthew Moynihan (Spa)
    23. Gavin Kelly (Glenflesk)
    24. Dara Rice (Fossa)
    25. Donal Lyne (Legion)
    26. Conor Herlihy (Gneeveguilla)
    27. Josh Flynn (Firies)
    28. Paudie Healy (Glenflesk)
    29. William Courtney (Firies)
    30. Peter McCarthy (Legion)

Bainistíocht
    Bainisteoir: James Fleming

Treanálaí: Nigel Shevlin

Róghnoirí: John Keane, Dermot O'Mahony, James Cahillane, Denny Buckley

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

DDC1990 wrote: »
    We were very quick starting a row against Mayo and Donegal to kill time. Its not exclusive to Tyrone.

We use cynicism as a last resort however.

Its a primary tactic of Tyrone's.

We're in for a rough ride.

In the drawn league match against Tyrone this year Kerry fouled the likes of Harte and Donnelly in the middle of the field to prevent attacks. The foul count was 34 by Kerry to 14 by Tyrone. It's more subtle but it's still cynical and I'm not sure it's a last resort.

Not saying Tyrone are any better ha, I just think Kerry aren't naive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Jesus fair play to the Nari's. We played East Kerry in the first round and thought they would go on and walk it. I'd say they did too though. Massive win

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Great win for the Naries- got their tactics spot on and fully deserved it

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

whats the latest draw for the minor championship or it that all on hold until the Kerry minors are finished?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

aveytare wrote: »
    In the drawn league match against Tyrone this year Kerry fouled the likes of Harte and Donnelly in the middle of the field to prevent attacks. The foul count was 34 by Kerry to 14 by Tyrone. It's more subtle but it's still cynical and I'm not sure it's a last resort.

Not saying Tyrone are any better ha, I just think Kerry aren't naive.

Was at the game and the free count is more representative of the refereeing performance on the day rather than any cynical tactic from Kerry.

I can't remember who, possibly Donnelly, threw a punch straight to the face of a Kerry player, right in front of the referee and he gave a yellow card. Was afraid of the home crowd and blew the whistle after every roar.

Free counts can tell a false story (see the dirty cynical Dubs against pure clean Fermanagh a fortnight ago) ;)

Actually now that I think of it, it may have been Joe McQuillan refereeing. It was some combo of McQuillan, Hughes and Brannigan I think, none of whom show much love for the green and gold.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Ach I don't know, I just think all the top teams are cynical. Maybe some moreso than others but I wouldn't necessarily say it's a last resort for any of them either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

I don't care what anyone says, Tyrone are a horrid, aggressive, ugly, cheating, cynical, mouthy team who are bad for the game.

Mayo were a breath of fresh air on Sunday.

whats the latest draw for the minor championship or it that all on hold until the Kerry minors are finished?[/QUOTE

All the results from the championship so far

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/competitionFixturesResults/98651/m_i_n_o_r_c_h_a_m_p

Looks to be no draw made for the next round.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭munster87

Ronan Quill a brother of Declan?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

All the results from the championship so far

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/competitionFixturesResults/98651/m_i_n_o_r_c_h_a_m_p

Looks to be no draw made for the next round.

What happened West Kerry that they conceded to Spa?

D'Agger wrote: »
    What happened West Kerry that they conceded to Spa?

I know ya I just noticed that as well when looking at the results,I cant remember hearing or reading anything about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

munster87 wrote: »
    Ronan Quill a brother of Declan?

Yes

Celebrations tonight in Strand Road,they won the U21 Championship this evening

Kerins O'Rahillys 2-15
    East Kerry 2-09

Teams below,

Kerins O’Rahillys

1. Robert O’Connor
    2. David Murphy
    3. Martin Tierney (c)
    4. Tommy Begley
    5. Karl Mullins
    6. Cormac Coffey
    7. Mitchell Donnelly
    8. Diarmuid O’Sullivan
    9. Cian Sayers
    10. Gavin O’Brien
    11. Jack Savage
    12. Brian Scannell
    13. Gearoid Savage
    14. Padraig Griffin
    15. Ronan Quill

Fir Ionaid:
    16. Shane Foley
    17. Derek Horgan
    18. Shane O’Sullivan
    19. Gavin Ryan
    20. Daniel Nix
    22 Eoin Carroll
    23. Ryan Carroll
    24. Dylan Ronan
    25. Gary Nolan
    26 Ben O’Neill
    27 Jack Shortt
    28 James O’ Connor
    29. Donagh Buckley

Bainistíocht

Bainisteoir: Ray Walsh

Roghnóirí: Dave Keane, Morgan Nix, Shane Ronan.

East Kerry
    1. Aaron Farrell (Spa)
    2. Shane Courtney (Glenflesk)
    3. D.J. Murphy (Gneeveguilla)
    4. Cathal Sheahan (Legion)
    5. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
    6. Shane Cronin (Spa)
    7. James O’Donoghue (Firies)
    8. Liam Kearney (Capt.) (Spa)
    9. Kieran Murphy (Glenflesk)
    10. Padraig de Brún (Firies)
    11. Paudie Clifford (Fossa)
    12 Gary O’ Sullivan (Listry)
    13 Lee O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
    14. Craig Hickey (Spa)
    15. Conor Keane (Legion)

Fir Ionaid:
    16. Jerry Cronin (Gneeveguilla)
    17. Padraig O’Sullivan (Gneeveguilla)
    18. Mathew Rennie (Fossa)
    19. Tadhg O’Shea (Fossa)
    20. James McCarrick (Glenflesk)
    21. Jack O’Neill (Legion)
    22. Matthew Moynihan (Spa)
    23. Gavin Kelly (Glenflesk)
    24. Dara Rice (Fossa)
    25. Donal Lyne (Legion)
    26. Conor Herlihy (Gneeveguilla)
    27. Josh Flynn (Firies)
    28. Paudie Healy (Glenflesk)
    29. William Courtney (Firies)
    30. Peter McCarthy (Legion)

Bainistíocht
    Bainisteoir: James Fleming

Treanálaí: Nigel Shevlin

Róghnoirí: John Keane, Dermot O'Mahony, James Cahillane, Denny Buckley

mspcact2_138.gif

keane2097 wrote: »
    Yes

any good?

i played with Declan underage on the Kerry set up and he was the best player ive ever played with. such a shame he never fulfilled his talents.

any good?

i played with Declan underage on the Kerry set up and he was the best player ive ever played with. such a shame he never fulfilled his talents.
    He would have waltzed onto pretty much any other county team in Ireland at the time, he was racking up scores for Kerry in the league & then, come championship time, he was left on the bench. I can only assume his lack of pace is what hindered him from selection but he had pretty much everything else in his locker.

any good?

He wouldn't be as good as Declan but he'll be a senior club footballer alright I'd expect.

The one thing about all the Quills is that they work unbelievably hard to get the best out of themselves which is a great trait.

Declan was very good. I wouldn't say he failed to fulfill his talent, he might just not have been quite good enough to oust the Kerry players ahead of him at the time, or maybe he was hard done by in selections sometimes.

The one thing about all the Quills is that they work unbelievably hard to get the best out of themselves which is a great trait.

hmmm dunno about that, Declans weakness was his work rate IMO when it came to the business end of the year, he just didnt want to put his body on the line which was a shame as he was a sensational player and could have been a superstar with 4 or 5 all starts...it just wasnt to be.

agree with your second point though, he had the Gooch as a direct rival for 3 or 4 years and there as only going to be one winner there unfortunately.

hmmm dunno about that, Declans weakness was his work rate IMO when it came to the business end of the year, he just didnt want to put his body on the line which was a shame as he was a sensational player and could have been a superstar with 4 or 5 all starts...it just wasnt to be.

agree with your second point though, he had the Gooch as a direct rival for 3 or 4 years and there as only going to be one winner there unfortunately.

I meant working hard in terms of practise etc., rather than on field workrate and that.

unfortunately nowadays you need both.

I know, playing football used to be great craic :pac:

any good?

You a former Kerry minor Homer?

whats the latest draw for the minor championship or it that all on hold until the Kerry minors are finished?

They must have seen us chatting about it,they made the draw for the Minor Championship

Spa v Shannon Rangers
    East Kerry v Dingle
    Dr. Crokes v Kenmare District
    Mid Kerry v St Brendans

The quarter finals will be played on Wednesday August 26th.

http://www.kerrygaa.ie/news/364256/Keanes_Supervalu_Killorglin_Minor_Football_Championship_Draw

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭dobman88

Kerry ladies going very well against a good Mayo side. Have the commentary on in work and the lads doing a great job as usual.

Cora Staunton having a nightmare which is helping Kerry.

The goals helped open the game up which suits Kerry down to the ground.

Yeah sounded like 2 crackers too.

2-13 to 1-8.

dobman88 wrote: »
    Yeah sounded like 2 crackers too.

2-13 to 1-8.

Megan O Connell had two shots,

The first one she had a shot from the 13 metres line,rattled the crossbar and Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh out jumped the full back to fist the ball to the net.

The second goal Megan finished it from a similar place to where she took the shot in the build up to the first goal in off the crossbar it went.

Megan O Connell had two shots,

The first one she had a shot from the 13 metres line,rattled the crossbar and Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh out jumped the full back to fist the ball to the net.

The second goal Megan finished it from a similar place to where she took the shot in the build up to the first goal in off the crossbar it went.

The first one must have been hit at a ferocious speed. The lads on radio kerry were very excited by it anyway. Great to see Kerry doing well across the board this year.

O Mahoney got married Saturday on some beach in Portugal or some place like that.

hardly the ideal preparation for Sunday and there is word he is not playing, which i hope is incorrect.

O Mahoney got married Saturday on some beach in Portugal or some place like that.

hardly the ideal preparation for Sunday and there is word he is not playing, which i hope is incorrect.

Said on radio kerry this morning that he was given permission for a few days leave and will be back with the squad asap. He'll be playing imo if that's the case.

Can hardly begrudge the man a wedding. He has a life outside of the sport. Owes Kerry nothing at this stage.