Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst housemates ever?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

This thread makes me appreciate the fact that I no longer share.
    Some of those stories are dreadful!

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭khmk

I lived with a girl for about 6 months and I noticed she had a lot of men friends over, but she always asked me to "not be around when they call" At first I was like ok whatever. But then I got tired of it and refused to leave my home when ever she had a male friend over. Turned out she was a prostitute and wanted me to leave when her male "friends" came to visit. I moved out the next day.

Is this Candy's dumpy flatmate?

we were only jumping on the beds to freak you out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Belinda_Coopers

khmk wrote: »
    Is this Candy's dumpy flatmate?

we were only jumping on the beds to freak you out.
    I could handle jumping on beds, the rest was a little much for me.:eek:

you mean the awkward silence and rustling of change?

once lived in a flat in Cork where the woman next door could be heard groaning in a Cork accent.

like a whiney banshee.

With sexy results.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Ivicia

I have lived in a lot of rented places over the years and most of them have been fine.

In college I lived with the same people for 2 years and we spent the days laughing. We lived in an awful house (there was grass growing on the stairs) but it was next door to a shop. The owners gave us a 10 pound kitty so we could have hola hoops, taytos and coke for breakfast (sometimes we used it for milk and stuff). We were the only students they ever liked cos we use to basically lick their arses. Every Christmas they use to give us a box of USA, box of taytoes and 24 cans of coke and a hola hoop each.

When I started working, I lived in a 6 bedded house with a mixture of freaks (except me of course). My mates loved coming round as they said it was like watching a sit com cos there was always about 3 agruments going on and someone smoking a joint (I only allowed the dope smoking before 5pm and after 8pm cos I hate the smell).

One girl I lived with was really fab looking and bang on trend but OMG she was such a slob. I use to go to her room and pick up the plates and cups she pushed under the bed. Her mother use to ring her 3 times a day (pre mobile days) and eat ya if she wasn't in (her mother hated me for a finish). She was a really nice girl though but she did steal a John Rocca cardi on me though cos she's raid my room for clothes cos she couldn't find anything in her own room. I use to try and tidy it for her.

My last flat mate was just odd, odd, odd. He lived in 2 counties cos of his job (when I moved in first he was based in Clare but was moved to the cork branch) and he use drive back to Clare at 9 o'clock at night (once a week) and then go back to Cork (his home home) in the morning.

He'd put a wash in and read the free newspapers but he kind of read them out loud in a lo voice - use to drive me nuts. After I went to bed (bout 20 mins after he arrived) he use to go from the living room to his bedroom about 20 times and bang the doors. I never said anything cos I felt sorry for him cos he obvs didn't have a washing mashine and didn't have the cop on just to throw a bag into the laundry. One morning I banged the door but almost broke the glass so didn't do that again.

I moved out and when I told him I was leaving he kept going on about meeting u for a drink!!!!!! We never went drinking together.

My friend reckoned he wanted to ask me out all along and that was the reason he didn't give up the room. The banging the doors was in the hope of getting me out of bed.

Oh thank god I don't share anymore.

Ivicia wrote: »
    I have lived in a lot of rented places over the years and most of them have been fine.

In college I lived with the same people for 2 years and we spent the days laughing. We lived in an awful house (there was grass growing on the stairs) but it was next door to a shop. The owners gave us a 10 pound kitty so we could have hola hoops, taytos and coke for breakfast (sometimes we used it for milk and stuff). We were the only students they ever liked cos we use to basically lick their arses. Every Christmas they use to give us a box of USA, box of taytoes and 24 cans of coke and a hola hoop each.

When I started working, I lived in a 6 bedded house with a mixture of freaks (except me of course). My mates loved coming round as they said it was like watching a sit com cos there was always about 3 agruments going on and someone smoking a joint (I only allowed the dope smoking before 5pm and after 8pm cos I hate the smell).

One girl I lived with was really fab looking and bang on trend but OMG she was such a slob. I use to go to her room and pick up the plates and cups she pushed under the bed. Her mother use to ring her 3 times a day (pre mobile days) and eat ya if she wasn't in (her mother hated me for a finish). She was a really nice girl though but she did steal a John Rocca cardi on me though cos she's raid my room for clothes cos she couldn't find anything in her own room. I sue to try and tidy it for her.

My last flat mate was just odd, odd, odd. He lived in 2 counties cos of his job (when I moved in first he was based in Clare but was moved to the cork branch) and he use drive back to Clare at 9 o'clock at night (once a week) and then go back to Cork (his home home) in the morning.

He'd put a wash in and read the free newspapers but he kind of read them out loud in a lo voice - use to drive me nuts. After I went to bed (bout 20 mins after he arrived) he use to go from the living room to his bedroom about 20 times and bang the doors. I never said anything cos I felt sorry for him cos he obvs didn't have a washing mashine and didn't have the cop on just to throw a bag into the laundry. One morning I banged the door but almost broke the glass so didn't do that again.

I moved out and when I told him I was leaving he kept going on about meeting u for a drink!!!!!! We never went drinking together.

My friend reckoned he wanted to ask me out all along and that was the reason he didn't give up the room. The banging the doors was in the hope of getting me out of bed.

Oh thank god I don't share anymore.

Maybe they all moved out.

Did you talk much by any chance?

If i smoked round your place i couldn't stick it till 8 o clock tbh.

Captain Buzzkill And The Bringdowns.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,674 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

theZer wrote: »
    Im currently living with a terrible housmate... Firstly, the girl clearly has some serious defecits, mainly emotional. She has no capacity to interact on any level. For example, she can't ask for money when the rent is due (she will either sms or leave a note at my door), she will completely ignore you comming into the place even if you walk right past her. Another healthly habit of hers is that she will scurry into her room upon your arrival, and literally stay in there for hours, eating all meals in there. After living with her for 5 months, i feel a bond with her like i feel with a bum off the street. Her only attempt to bond with me was at the beginning, when she divulged extremely private information about people i knew, that was told in confidence.

Her second major flaw is her laziness/uselessness. The girl is just a complete slob, leaving food in sauspans, plates, cups, rubbish everywhere for days- leaving the kitchen unsanitary. Even when she decides to clean, its the bare minimum, with plates still half dirty.

One day she is going to make some guy extremely miserable!
    Been there: Im pretty sure its called depression. keep an eye on it.

Maybe they all moved out.

Did you talk much by any chance?

If i smoked round your place i couldn't stick it till 8 o clock tbh.

Captain Buzzkill And The Bringdowns.

Just because it was a long post doesn't mean I talk a lot IRL.

You sound just like one of the dope smokers I use live with who collected his dole every week on time ( the only thing he did on time), never had his rent cos he spent it on dope and booze but spent his lazy arse days giving out about 'what was wrong with society'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 minderbender

once lived in a pretty shiity flat with a late middle aged donegall guy who liked to let it be known that he was ex ra and had done time... used to find it hard to sleep when he came in pissed at 3 am and tuned the radio into that horrible noise you get between long wave stations at top volume,,,, fu....er

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I lived with a couple and another girl 3 years ago. The girl was forever inviting workmates over for house parties, which i didn't mind at the start. But then it started to get messy. Chairs, glasses, mirrors got broken, even the ironing board was inexplicably cut in half. Some sicko even went for a No.2 on our stairs one nite. But the worst had to be when they intentionally kicked in the door of my bedroom (which was downstairs and locked) and threw all kinds of ****e against the wall and tore all my posters. They also put superglue into my hairgel :mad: The girlfriend and boyfriend stuck to each other rigidly, spending nearly all their time upstairs together, so much so that i could literally go a full week without seeing them. They were that unsocialable and were always together - one could not even go to the pub without the other. When they did show their face in the sitting room they would just sit there and play the Sims on their PSP. They they were both 19 but acted like a married pair of 50 year olds. How sad! I moved out after 5 months of putting up with way too much crap.

Just because it was a long post doesn't mean I talk a lot IRL.

You sound just like one of the dope smokers I use live with who collected his dole every week on time ( the only thing he did on time), never had his rent cos he spent it on dope and booze but spent his lazy arse days giving out about 'what was wrong with society'.

Do I?

Do I really?

says the person on the internet at 5.08 a.m. :rolleyes:

It was a joke.

Keep making assumptions.

Its what you reminded me of but obvs I am making an assumption.

I don't normally make assumptions/judgements but you did it first ie: I talk too much.

I also don't normally post at this hour but that's not the issue.

Now we're OT and I hate OT postings, they are annoying so I'll stop now.

Its what you reminded me of but obvs I am making an assumption.

I don't normally make assumptions/judgements but you did it first ie: I talk too much.

I also don't normally post at this hour but that's not the issue.

Now we're OT and I hate OT postings, they are annoying so I'll stop now.

again,

the key word is Joke.

you looking for a flat mate?

again,

the key word is Joke.

you looking for a flat mate?

Okay Okay

And no never again, see my first post...

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭madmac187

Ok I have lived with Hans mole man from the simpsons. This guy was mean with cash wouldn't pay a bill or anything. Watching tv in the dark we usually thought he was aspleep because of his wheezing.

Another guy who wouldn't pay a bill, called Timmy. This guy was a real rehab. Never washed himself, had stink crusty mates, eat other peoples food, had a stutter and would take an hour to string a sentence and never washed his cup when he drank creoten all the time, just kept putting the same **** in constantly despite mold.

Yet another tard who rode one girl in the house that thought he was a great lad and then told all his mates and took her underware.

Yet yet another mongo that broke up plaster slab walls playing hurling indoors with a slitar and hurley sprong chukker.

So as you can see I have had lots of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

madmac187 wrote: »
    Ok I have lived with Hans mole man from the simpsons. This guy was mean with cash wouldn't pay a bill or anything. Watching tv in the dark we usually thought he was aspleep because of his wheezing.

Another guy who wouldn't pay a bill, called Timmy. This guy was a real rehab. Never washed himself, had stink crusty mates, eat other peoples food, had a stutter and would take an hour to string a sentence and never washed his cup when he drank creoten all the time, just kept putting the same **** in constantly despite mold.

Yet another tard who rode one girl in the house that thought he was a great lad and then told all his mates and took her underware.

Yet yet another mongo that broke up plaster slab walls playing hurling indoors with a slitar and hurley sprong chukker.

So as you can see I have had lots of luck.

Honestly?

Sounds like you're really crap at choosing housemates. Maybe you should move in with friends or get your own place?

yeah man i think so the best time I ever had was in 2nd year with a korean guy and his mates they may be different but don't knock them.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,301 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Honestly?

Sounds like you're really crap at choosing housemates. Maybe you should move in with friends or get your own place?
    And spelling, you forgot spelling.

Don't live the following I think:

First years in college.
    Big Groups that know each other
    Gaa Heads always do damage because they can't do it at home
    Skobes
    People that won't pay bills
    People who don't wash
    And Assholes in general

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

Had an eastern European once.

What?

Just joshing, he was my favourite. No, my worst tenant was an Irish guy who was a really good fellow, but a terrible, terrible person to live with. Was always late with bills and rent, was extremely noisy, and would come back at all hours of the night 2-3 times a week with a bunch of mates, all pissed, then start doing cocaine and ketamine in my living room. The other tenants were so annoyed I had to evict him...I didn't have many qualms about doing so, he got his fair warnings, and could only bribe me with free drugs for so long.

Yeah had that too man best thing to sort that is ring cops pretend to be a neighbour when he answers they get carted off:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

amcalester wrote: »
    I just remembered another.

I was on a year away in canada and moved into a house. On my first day in the place I was sitting on the porch and this nakid girl ran outta the house and down the street screaming, the cops brought her home a few house hours later. This was just the start, it got weirder and weirder.

u HAVE to post the rest....its like watching the start of a brilliant movie then it gets turned off:(i need to know the rest:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

A few years back we had this guy stay with us for RAG week. To call him a moron would be an understatement. He was the human Barney Gumble.

The first night, he got hammered on cheap beer and stripped naked. (For some reason he always got naked after a few cans.) There was this girl living in the flat across the way who was always complaining to the warden when she heard other flats making noise. So she obviously heard the commotion going on (Gumble was playing Gigi D'Agostino) and called the warden.

He came up and told us to keep the noise down, that he was aware it was RAG week and that he knew this girl was a bit weird. Then as he was turning to go, Gumble shouts to the warden, "will I kill the bitch?'

Over the course of the week, the guy vomited in the sink, ate all our food and broke a plate with his huge arse by sitting on it. The toilet was destroyed all week, bits of s.hite all over the ground and everything. Not only did he take your food from the fridge, but he put his big hand into your plate and grabbed half of it away. There were about 10 traffic cones accumulated, and inexplicably, a huge grey knickers.

My other flatmate came home from a 10am lecture to find Gumble completely naked in his bed, with the sweaty sheets stuck to him. Earlier on i had walked in on him **** in front of porn in the living room.

His friend came over too, he was another big lug, who just stared at you without saying anything. I was actually afraid of him and honestly thought he was going to rape me. Anyway the two of them got drunk one night and fell asleep on the sofa. They had both stripped off to their underwear so we rolled one onto the other and covered their hair with shaving foam.

When they woke up it was awkward as they both had huge erections. I can still hear that thick Cork accent screaming, "gedoff me ya f**got." That was hilarious, he was all quiet for the rest of the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Jonh McCririck, George Gallaway and that Nikki woman were all pretty awful

• Registered Users Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭Demonique

Spore wrote: »
    Towards the end of our tenure (we stopped speaking for four months before) I came back during lunch (worked around the corner from the place) to find a seventeen page letter addressed to me! What a fúcking freak! Couldn't talk to me like? I never read her shítty letter and took pleasure in telling her this.

You should have posted it online for boards.ie to have a laugh at
    Krieg wrote: »
    I <3 these threads

Never personally had any horrible housemate, but I did live in an apartment where you could hear the tenant upstairs beating his girlfriend senseless every so often

Did you call the police?

I was going home with my mother one day and whilst waiting for her to arrive I was having a lie-in. The knackery couple in the house next door were screaming at each other. I could hear them through the walls.
    I called the police on them.

When I went out to the car with my mother we saw six or seven gardai coming out of the house, maybe they had a reputation?
    MaryCat! wrote: »
    I lived with a guy in uni who had a ton of weird pets, like rats, snakes and things. Which is cool, so long as they are kept in their cages. He used to let them out around the house. Worst was when he was cooking, I was often cooking at the same time and his freaking rat would be crawling on his back and shoulder the whole time! GROSS!

Hey now, nothing weird about keeping snakes as pets.

Stupid to cook with them on his person, it could have fallen into the pan and become ratatouille.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

madmac187 wrote: »
    Don't live the following I think:

Big Groups that know each other

Did that.

Very very bad move.

But I'm safe now. :D

Hey bigmentdisease You are a legend you know that!!!:) Whats the worst anyone has done to someone to get back at them??????

A few years back we had this guy stay with us for RAG week. To call him a moron would be an understatement. He was the human Barney Gumble.

The first night, he got hammered on cheap beer and stripped naked. (For some reason he always got naked after a few cans.) There was this girl living in the flat across the way who was always complaining to the warden when she heard other flats making noise. So she obviously heard the commotion going on (Gumble was playing Gigi D'Agostino) and called the warden.

He came up and told us to keep the noise down, that he was aware it was RAG week and that he knew this girl was a bit weird. Then as he was turning to go, Gumble shouts to the warden, "will I kill the bitch?'

Over the course of the week, the guy vomited in the sink, ate all our food and broke a plate with his huge arse by sitting on it. The toilet was destroyed all week, bits of s.hite all over the ground and everything. Not only did he take your food from the fridge, but he put his big hand into your plate and grabbed half of it away. There were about 10 traffic cones accumulated, and inexplicably, a huge grey knickers.

My other flatmate came home from a 10am lecture to find Gumble completely naked in his bed, with the sweaty sheets stuck to him. Earlier on i had walked in on him **** in front of porn in the living room.

His friend came over too, he was another big lug, who just stared at you without saying anything. I was actually afraid of him and honestly thought he was going to rape me. Anyway the two of them got drunk one night and fell asleep on the sofa. They had both stripped off to their underwear so we rolled one onto the other and covered their hair with shaving foam.

When they woke up it was awkward as they both had huge erections. I can still hear that thick Cork accent screaming, "gedoff me ya f**got." That was hilarious, he was all quiet for the rest of the day.

Sounds to me like he had you and not enough lithium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Sounds to me like he had you and not enough lithium.

I might agree, but I don't know what you're saying.

He had a bigmentaldisease and no anti-psyc meds. ;)