Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst housemates ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 bassnut

i lived in a house in galway with four others. one guy was so stingy he complained almost every time the heat was on for more than a half hour per day and i only ever saw him eating tayto sandwitches...if the heat was on he would constantly remind us that we shoould invest in a big wooly jumper and hat scarf like himself indoors!! .i always whacked on the heat whenever i wanted in my room in winter which caused constant arguments with this miser..anyways when we came to move out and the agent looked through our rooms to see their condition .. the walls in this guys room were black with mold and dampness from not using the rads at all n we promptly lost a big chunk of our deposit! bloody skinflint wouldnt spend christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Id kill to live with some of the mad for it loonbags yiv described :(

Im moving out but if I wasnt Ida been in this gaff two years. My female housemate NEVER goes out socially. Normally Id be out either on a Friday or a Saturday, the very rare weekend never, the occasional weekend both nights. I would honestly reckon she goes out maybe one weekend in ten. Main problem with this, if I get in at 7:30 on a Friday she is in the sitting room watching tv until about 10:30. If I go out Friday that is grand, but if I get up at midday-1pm Saturday (which I always do whether Ive been out or not) she already has the tv for the rest of the day, and will stay there, again, until going to bed around 10pm (though luckily she always goes out for her Saturday shopping around the time The Prem is on RTE :) ). Dunno how she lives like that. In all my time here I havent seen one man or female friend around the gaff :confused:

She isnt the worst, she lets me have the tv when there is champions league or an Ireland qualifier on that I need to see, and would clear off whenever I had a bird around, but most days it is just watching oul sh1te on Living TV. tbh there is little on I want to watch anyway, we only have the old 18 channel NTL and there is pretty much nothing worth watcing that I havent seen a million times before but still, I miss relaxin on the couch channel hopping.

On the plus side she isnt a clean freak, I can leave empty cans or a dirty dish in the room no sweat :) But when I was room hunting I just never seemed to come across the dirty party house with empty cans on the windowsill and doob smoke emanating from a living room blasting dance/rap that I want to live in :( Everyone I know in work lives in that type of gaff :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

shane86 wrote: »

Im moving out but if I wasnt Ida been in this gaff two years. My female housemate NEVER goes out socially. Normally Id be out either on a Friday or a Saturday, the very rare weekend never, the occasional weekend both nights. I would honestly reckon she goes out maybe one weekend in ten. Main problem with this, if I get in at 7:30 on a Friday she is in the sitting room watching tv until about 10:30. If I go out Friday that is grand, but if I get up at midday-1pm Saturday (which I always do whether Ive been out or not) she already has the tv for the rest of the day, and will stay there, again, until going to bed around 10pm (though luckily she always goes out for her Saturday shopping around the time The Prem is on RTE :) ). Dunno how she lives like that. In all my time here I havent seen one man or female friend around the gaff :confused:

She isnt the worst, she lets me have the tv when there is champions league or an Ireland qualifier on that I need to see, and would clear off whenever I had a bird around, but most days it is just watching oul sh1te on Living TV. tbh there is little on I want to watch anyway, we only have the old 18 channel NTL and there is pretty much nothing worth watcing that I havent seen a million times before but still, I miss relaxin on the couch channel hopping.

On the plus side she isnt a clean freak, I can leave empty cans or a dirty dish in the room no sweat :) But when I was room hunting I just never seemed to come across the dirty party house with empty cans on the windowsill and doob smoke emanating from a living room blasting dance/rap that I want to live in :( Everyone I know in work lives in that type of gaff :(
    in all fairness do you think thats a bad flatmate?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    Nah. He just felt left out and needed to nitpick:pac:

shane86 wrote: »

You realise the mostly likely explaination for why you heaven't....is becuase your the household looneytune.

I'm currently looking for a new place to live and in the past week have met some complete nut jobs. One prospective house had one rule which could not be broken on any ocassions. That rule was that only the 4 peoplewho lived there were allowed in the house, no friends or other halfs were allowed over and if this happened you would be asked to leave along with them. I had to ask her repeatedly to repeat herself as I could'nt believe it.

Another house with 5 lads told me and two otehr guys that they were only looking for a female. One of the lads living there told me "figure that she'll put out if we get her drunk".

One room was so small that to get into the room you had to partially open the door and squeeze through directly onto the bed. The room was about 4 foot by 7 foot and the bed barely fit inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 propertypin.com

bassnut wrote: »
    i lived in a house in galway with four others. one guy was so stingy he complained almost every time the heat was on for more than a half hour per day and i only ever saw him eating tayto sandwitches...if the heat was on he would constantly remind us that we shoould invest in a big wooly jumper and hat scarf like himself indoors!! .i always whacked on the heat whenever i wanted in my room in winter which caused constant arguments with this miser..anyways when we came to move out and the agent looked through our rooms to see their condition .. the walls in this guys room were black with mold and dampness from not using the rads at all n we promptly lost a big chunk of our deposit! bloody skinflint wouldnt spend christmas.

Oh really the problem was you always had your rads on wasting money. i told you many times to turn them off and you didnt, you were my worst housemate ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »

Awful. I would gladly swap with the lunatic alcoholics who decide to throw mad house parties on a Tuesday night like some here described. At least they sound like a bit of craic.

It wouldnt be as bad if she watched decent tv, then I could sit in and watch too. Even merely watchable TV like Coronation Street or Pop Idol, **** it says I. But her favourite shows are as follows:

Sex and th City, Americas Top Model, Dancing on Ice, Big Brother and....the very worst....

Strictly Come Dancing. The worst thing about SCD was it seemed to have started in about August and wasnt over until Christmas, and seemed to be on for about 2 hours a night and once during the week. Most of these reality shows last only a month or two ffs :(

Ive always ended up living with older folks. My first gaff was a couple and an oul fella. The owner was sound, his missus....meh. The oul lad was gas, he didnt touch a drop of drink during the week, used to go away at the weekend, quite litreally not a can of his in the fridge, but he would get off work one weekday per fortnight, head to Sheriff St (where he grew up), get absoloutely tanked and fall in the door talking hilarious sh1te around 10pm, often with a random oul bird in tow. Up the next morning for work lhalf cut saying to me "jaysus who in the **** is that yoke in me room" :pac:
    Another house with 5 lads told me and two otehr guys that they were only looking for a female. One of the lads living there told me "figure that she'll put out if we get her drunk".

Once saw an ad in very broken English on Daft which went pretty much "we are looking for a girl, or even two girls! to share one room in our house with us nice funny guys"

Play--aaaa..... :) They clearly reckoned that while one girl might mean sex two girls alone in a room together clearly meant they would be doing girl on girl in the middle of the night. I had a mental image of them rigging up a hidden camera.
    You realise the mostly likely explaination for why you heaven't....is becuase your the household looneytune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Oh really the problem was you always had your rads on wasting money. i told you many times to turn them off and you didnt, you were my worst housemate ever.

Is this a genuine comment? Did you really live with that guy? Or are you joking? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

"figure that she'll put out if we get her drunk
    That's quality, I'm still laughing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

I was working on a job in the UK a few years back, it was only supposed to be for a few weeks but when it got extended I decided to rent a room in a flat.
    One of the guys was this real nice, quietly spoken 40 year old.
    He was extremely friendly and polite.

A couple of weeks after I'd moved in I was having a few scoops with the lads from work, who were locals.
    Yer man came in and came over talking to me for a minute.
    After he was gone the local lads were looking quite shocke and were asking "do you know who that was"?
    They became even more shocked when I told them I was living with him.

Turns out he was this absolute psycopath who would make Francis Begbey look like Derek Mooney.
    Everyone in the town was terrified of him and he'd just recently gotten out from a long strech for armed robbery.

I wasn't overly concerned as he was so sound to me so I stayed put.
    A few weeks later I had my first experience of his darker side.
    He came in late from the pub when everyone was in bed.
    I was awoken by this unreal commotion coming from the kitchen.
    I cautiously headed to investigate and there was yer man going bersek.
    He claimed he'd cooked something in the oven and when he'd gone to
    the toilet someone had nicked it.
    He was emptying all the food out of the fridge and freezer and throwing it out the 5th floor window onto the street.
    He said he'd throw all the food out, next would come our belonings and finally he'd throw us out the window unless someone admitted stealing his food.

I tried to convince him that nobody would have taken it but to no avail.
    I quickly looked around and fortunately found his food in the microwave, he'd obviously gotten it confused with the oven.

A couple of weeks later I was walking home late one night.
    I saw a commotion outside a Nite Club and there was yer man, taking on about 6 bouncers, waving a pool ball round his head in a sock.
    He was going beserk but as I passed he just stopped and says "alright mate, did you have a pleasant evening? see you later".
    And the madness continued.

It all came to and end one day.
    I'd gotten to the bottom of our street and it was insane.
    There were police everywhere, they had the bottom of the road cordoned off and no cars could pass.
    I walked on up and there was a crowd congregating outside our building.
    Turned out that 2 cops had called to see yer mand because he was supposed to be signing on at the police station but wasn't.
    The situation quickly escalated and he lamped one of the cops and took the other one hostage.
    He'd locked him up and after cops showed up outside he's started shooting at them with an Air rifle.

Took about 6 hours for the police to eventually get him out.
    As they were bundling him into the cop car he shouts over "sorry about the mess mate, I'll clean it up when I get back".
    Needless to say, I never saw him again.

He wasn't actually that bad a flatmate but he was definitely the craziest.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

after reading all these horror stories, i'm just wondering which would be worse...

living on yr own in a bedsit or sharing a house with people u don't like??

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

Jesus! Some of the stories here are making me wish I'd put UL as first choice so I could stay at home :P!

I went to France for a term in 4th year, the host family was a nightmare! The daughter was really bossy (I was a bit of a doormat then, and had crap French so I didn't really know what she was asking me to do).
    She used me as an excuse to go out every weekend even though I didn't want to, especially considering the mother though 8 am was a lie-in!
    She was constantly borrowing money off me, and €140 went missing from my room, which never turned up. At the time I was keeping a strict eye on how much I was spending, so I know I didn't spend it by accident.
    The mother was a nurse who worked really odd hours, and the state of the house was shocking. There were cobwebs and dust all over the place, she never cleaned, and food was left to go mouldy in pots- until I did the dishes.
    The mother insisted on having dinner at 10 every night, and got really pissed off with me when I didn't wait up. It meant I wasn't getting to sleep till bout midnight every night, even though I had to be up at 6 for school.

Worst part was that the mother didn't believe in vaccinations- even though it's illegal not to get them in France! They took me to this doctor in Marseilles who FAKED THE VACCINATION CERTS for the daughter- because she wanted to work in a hospital!! So relieved to get home, they were fu.cking psycho!!!

None of that even compares to what my friend went through in Spain though. I would never let anyone go through one of those agencies ever again!

Sorry 'bout the length :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I saw a commotion outside a Nite Club and there was yer man, taking on about 6 bouncers, waving a pool ball round his head in a sock.
    He was going beserk but as I passed he just stopped and says "alright mate, did you have a pleasant evening? see you later".

hilarious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Perrin

After reading some of these horror I think got lucky

Lived with a guy who was just like father stone
    o the boredom

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭redarmyblues

A friend of mine lived in in London, in the early 1990,s. One evening as he walked up to his flat he noticed a lot of police activity outside. He had a bad feeling and turned around and walked straight into two guys from MI5 who were following him.

His flatmate had been caught that day with a load of AK47's in the boot of his car. Bad so very Bad.

My ex once walked in a flatmate who was sitting in an armchair wearing her underwear and watching porn....................or was that me.

Oh i can't believe i forgot about this chap. This guy was lovely its just a funny story, the earlier girl i posted about drove me up the wall, also forgot to say she didn't sleep with any sheets and didn't have any of her own towels, she'd take our dirty ones to use.

Anyhow, i had moved into a new place which was pretty basic and i'd bought a canvas wardrobe thing as no storage in the room. My father was bringing it around but i had to work last min so gave him the keys. So up the stairs he goes and the door opposite him is open. In it is my male flatmate in his bed nekid above the duvet with three other guys, and another fellow in his boxers sitting on a chair watching them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

LolaDub wrote: »
    . So up the stairs he goes and the door opposite him is open. In it is my male flatmate in his bed nekid above the duvet with three other guys, and another fellow in his boxers sitting on a chair watching them!!

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

This thread is brilliant, it's after providing me with so much entertainment ha ha!
    Some real lunatics out there...I wouldn't say I had any stand-out housemates who were into AK47's and heroin, but the majority of them were just dirty, horrible feckers.
    What is the story with the amount of people out there who just stew in their own sh*t??? It's shocking. Is it an Irish thing or what? Doesn't take much effort to keep things clean...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,369 ✭✭✭irishgeo

jesus was thinking or renting out a room in my house.

after reading this ill not bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

I lived with a "chef" last year, he was sound as first then i dont know he just turned into a right aul goon. but for someone studying cooking and being a chef he was filthy!!! he'd have so much food in his press, expensive stuff he'd cook with. but he used to just leave it there to go mouldy. the smell in the house was awful.

i actually remember one weekend when he was working his mother dropped a bag of meat over to him, couple of steaks and a duck, i stuck it in the fridge and told him its in there when he got home. so that was grand, until about two weeks later myself and my other housemate realised it was the same meat in the fridge. the smell was nasty, and it took over the whole kitchen for days! yuck!!

also cant understand how he ever thought washing greasy pans/oven dishes and pots first was a good idea! making a cup of tea was disasterous. the amount of cups that slipped out of my hands from grease i couldnt count on my two hands and feet!

he was a great man for blaming myself and my other housemate for everything that was dirty/broken in the house.

his girlfriend stayed with us for 2months (we were originally told it would be for a week!) so when we brought it up with him that it was time she went,she never cleaned or done anything around the place, and she was like an elephant walking across the floorboards upstairs! he would always throw it back in our faces saying he'd never have a problem if we wanted to moved guys in.

at the end of the college year we were all moving out. and had to clean the house from top to bottom before leaving, he decided 2weeks earlier to feck off and not come back. he was "working" :rolleyes:

who007 wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek:

I have no explanation! He was a nice chap though! He'd go out drinking with his mates a lot and tell them they could sleep on our sofa or all pile into bed together. Sometimes though he wouldn't come back and we'd have some random drunk guy banging the door down at dodgey hours screaming for our couch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭who007

LolaDub wrote: »
    I have no explanation! He was a nice chap though! He'd go out drinking with his mates a lot and tell them they could sleep on our sofa or all pile into bed together. Sometimes though he wouldn't come back and we'd have some random drunk guy banging the door down at dodgey hours screaming for our couch...

Yeah and I suppose he probably saved you the expense of buying any gay porn.. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

I lived with this girl that every time I went away she had ppl staying over using my bed and leaving stains all over my bedclothes...ewwwwwwwwww

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 thieveslikeus

I once shared a house with a guy who seemed a little bit strange. He was away on business quite a lot so i wasn't really that concerned about him. One day the landlord arrives round and says he's kicking the bloke out cause he hasn't paid rent for months on end. Landlord asks him to leave and he does so quietly.

A couple of days later I get a knock on the door, guards, looking for him. He's due in court but hasn't turned up. They wont tell me what for.

Curiosity gets the better of me so I have a nosey through the pile of his post thats sitting unopened, I know this was wrong but I did it. So I find a 'contacts' mag on page 6 he has advertised his services. Lets just say that he's into some pretty outrageous stuff and he charges for the privelidge.

The most frightening thing of all was the 'can accomodate' in his ad. I'm as liberal as the rest but not keen on the idea of living in a sado masochism brothel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭thermo66

Kya1976 wrote: »
    I lived with this girl that every time I went away she had ppl staying over using my bed and leaving stains all over my bedclothes...ewwwwwwwwww
    Eh .... lock your door !!! DISGUSTING !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

AH, I ask you, what's the point in having

"Castlebel Vanilla and Bergamot Luxury Soap Bar"

in the bathroom if it becomes covered in pubes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

irishgeo wrote: »
    jesus was thinking or renting out a room in my house.

after reading this ill not bother.

Jesus would make a good flatmate, you'd never run out of bread, fish and wine.

What did you tell him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

TheZohan wrote: »
    Jesus would make a good flatmate?

i heard he could be a bit preachy!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

When i was in college,i lived with a lad who only showered 3 times in the 9 months...wasnt the biggest hit with the ladies