Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Ryan Megathread!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Eh.....I was bluffing......a bit like G.Ryan!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Send 99 in your place.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭bilko1234

deadhead13 wrote: »
    I assume your talking about Jenny Houston. She, aswell as the other regular Ryan standin Dave Fanning, has the same agent as Gerry i.e. Neol Kelly. "Keeping it in the family" I think its called.
    Maybe I'm wrong, but is it not Evelyn "The Cheerleader" Cusack who's in the "Hot Seat"....?

I'm sure your right. I can't listen to the show anymore without muttering darkly at the radio - so I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

Evelyn Cusack is a weather presenter as far as I know...Would it be Evelyn O Rourke??????????

DT100 wrote: »
    Evelyn Cusack is a weather presenter as far as I know...Would it be Evelyn O Rourke??????????
    Jesus, I'm so sorry.....Apologies to Ms Cusack.
    Evelyn O'Rourke it is then!

I see(hear) he's back! And what a surprising lineup of items!
    The papers of course, catch up on the world news.

Talking to a Dublin Bus man who is going to be let go(Gerry all sympathetic explaining to us stupid listeners how tough it would be with the mortgage and all that - like he'd f***ing know!)
    Then, a chat with a fellow RTE "star", Jenny Houston (is she american? I hope to God she is and not some Irish girl who went to the states for, like, 3 months one summer). He managed to name drop mention in this conversation, Disneyland, the 02 arena, that he was back stage with Aerosmith, Denis Desmond, Harry Crosbie

I had to turn off then as I had to get out of the car!

He is becoming strangely compulsive listening for me!!!!! Please help me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭2fivers

Jenny Houston (is she american? I hope to God she is and not some Irish girl who went to the states for, like, 3 months one summer).

Canadian.

I see(hear) he's back! And what a surprising lineup of items!
    The papers of course, catch up on the world news.

Talking to a Dublin Bus man who is going to be let go(Gerry all sympathetic explaining to us stupid listeners how tough it would be with the mortgage and all that - like he'd f***ing know!)
    Then, a chat with a fellow RTE "star", Jenny Houston (is she american? I hope to God she is and not some Irish girl who went to the states for, like, 3 months one summer). He managed to name drop mention in this conversation, Disneyland, the 02 arena, that he was back stage with Aerosmith, Denis Desmond, Harry Crosbie

I had to turn off then as I had to get out of the car!

He is becoming strangely compulsive listening for me!!!!! Please help me!
    Ha Ha
    He then pondered out loudly,"Am I a socialist...????"
    He did this without any hint of irony whatsoever...!!!
    GRyan...Socialist!!!!. He can be accused of a lot of things, but never of being a socialist.

Did he do the papers today? Did he mention that Dunphy was taking a paycut?

And did anyone see Evelyn on the Panel last night? Desperate

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Did he do the papers today? Did he mention that Dunphy was taking a paycut?

He somehow seemed to miss the glaring headlines on the front page of the tabloids about Dunphy's paycut! Nob Nation was based around some of the big RTE names taking a paycut so he had to mention it when doing the intro for that, and then when Evelyn was with him she made a comment about it and he joked that he'd heard nothing about it. I wonder who the next martyr will be...

And did anyone see Evelyn on the Panel last night? Desperate

Evelyn's husband is "deputy head of schedule planning for RTE television and radio" - friends in high places.

I'm speechless at the implication that you are drawing, family relations getting people positions in RTE!?!?!?!!

Seriously though, her display on the panel was interesting. She said almost nothing, and it seemed like the 3 regulars ignored her for the duration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭jonny oxford

He somehow seemed to miss the glaring headlines on the front page of the tabloids about Dunphy's paycut! Nob Nation was based around some of the big RTE names taking a paycut so he had to mention it when doing the intro for that, and then when Evelyn was with him she made a comment about it and he joked that he'd heard nothing about it. I wonder who the next martyr will be...

No he did mentioned the newspaper stories about Dunphy . He talked about the fact that Eamon Dunphy was on Ireland AM being interviewed about taking a pay cut, Gerry spoke of being surprised that Dunphy would do this but said fair play to him or something to that effect, I don't think he had to mention it because of nob nation. Gerry didn't sound like it was something he was thinking of doing though;)

Ah sorry, I was obviously on the phone or something when he spoke about this, my mistake!

No problem, shur I suppose theres no harm in doing some work during the day, as long as it doesn't become a habit!

Anyone hear Gerry asking for emails today on what people thought of the show? I think he was asking for opinions on what people liked and disliked, just caught the end of it myself.

He's gonna be one depressed fella if some of the people from boards decide to contact him:D

I'm sure his emails would be heavily filtered by his "team!" No doubt the only ones to get through would be the ones that would massage his ego!

I doubt he's sheltered from all criticism, but having said that, listening to him you do get the impression that he is somewhat isolated from some public opinion about his show. Of course could be just that he decides it's better to ignore it.

A few months back Gerry was talking about people "googling" their own names, he said he tried it and was very shocked about the terrible things people had said about him and wouldn't be doing it again.

So perhaps there is a section of "his team" dedicated to limiting his exposure to certain "opinions":P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

I think he may be in for a shock... It wouldn't have to be Boards users who let him know what they think...There's now a large group of people who believe that the €11,500 p.w. earning broacdaster is very much out of touch with a country who's €200 p.w.* earning dole queues are growing daily.

"It's terrible, Gerry. I cant pay the mortgage, and I'm going to be evicted.

"Yes. It's terrible. I understand."

"No you dont, Gerry. You couldnt possibly."

(*that is €200 p.w. if they're lucky, of course.)

Well, the poll in the sindo yesterday shows how deluded his rant against the paycuts on friday was. Gerry may, just, have done himself some long-term damage. It will be interesting to see want the next set of JNLR results will bring.

I doubt he's sheltered from all criticism, but having said that, listening to him you do get the impression that he is somewhat isolated from some public opinion about his show. Of course could be just that he decides it's better to ignore it.

A few months back Gerry was talking about people "googling" their own names, he said he tried it and was very shocked about the terrible things people had said about him and wouldn't be doing it again.

So perhaps there is a section of "his team" dedicated to limiting his exposure to certain "opinions":P
    He has a production team in place to acertain that no negative items about him get on air. You will always hear him reading out an email or text in support of his lovely family or lovely holidays or lovely U2 "pals" or lovely property developers etc etc..but never any negative opinions.
    How refreshing it was when Eamon Dunphy was on Newstalk and he promised to read every email and broadcast as many as possible, including the negative ones (and some were EXTREMELY negative).
    On the (very) odd occasion when someone with a negative comment gets through, Gerry cracks up!!!!
    I always remember a couple of years ago some guy rang up about getting financial support from the government for a new pier for a town in North Dublin. Gerry suggested that he wants to forget about government finance and go to the property developers like Harry Crosbie to get finance. This guy scoffed at this and said "we all know that you go weak at the knees when your within a hundred yards of a millionaire..!!!"
    Well, GR went ballistic. " WHAT...?? TAKE THAT BACK...!!! I AM NOT A WANKER!!!TAKE THAT BACK NOW....WE'RE GOING FOR A BREAK!"
    So he is VERY sensitive to criticism and only likes to hear good thinks about himself.

bilko1234 wrote: »
    He has a production team in place to acertain that no negative items about him get on air. You will always hear him reading out an email or text in support of his lovely family or lovely holidays or lovely U2 "pals" or lovely property developers etc etc..but never any negative opinions.
    How refreshing it was when Eamon Dunphy was on Newstalk and he promised to read every email and broadcast as many as possible, including the negative ones (and some were EXTREMELY negative).
    On the (very) odd occasion when someone with a negative comment gets through, Gerry cracks up!!!!
    I always remember a couple of years ago some guy rang up about getting financial support from the government for a new pier for a town in North Dublin. Gerry suggested that he wants to forget about government finance and go to the property developers like Harry Crosbie to get finance. This guy scoffed at this and said "we all know that you go weak at the knees when your within a hundred yards of a millionaire..!!!"
    Well, GR went ballistic. " WHAT...?? TAKE THAT BACK...!!! I AM NOT A WANKER!!!TAKE THAT BACK NOW....WE'RE GOING FOR A BREAK!"
    So he is VERY sensitive to criticism and only likes to hear good thinks about himself.

:D:D:D

I would love to have heard that! I don't understand how he has so many "fans" when the majority of people you speak to about him can't stand him. I am filled with hope that some day soon a disgruntled victim of the recession will tell him where to shove his Louis Copeland suits and Shanahans lunches!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Him and el Plank too.

I remember that Kenny read out a comment that said he had the charisma of a 'sick-bag', to which he replied that the person was 'scum'.

Here's a very funny remix of the incident (not work safe!):
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yYvB25-qPK4

Managed to catch the repeat of Gerry's newspaper review last night and it was "interesting".

Here was Gerry Ryan "man of the people", defender of the downtrodden. We got an impassioned , 5 minute ,defence of the sit-in protestors at Waterford Glass.

Would it be cynical of me to suggest this is a subject, Gerry would normally quickly gloss over? The man has no shame. Just take the ffing cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Would anybody really miss having that fat pompous arse on the radio every morning, or God forbid, on the tv again! RTE would recover but Ryan would struggle to get a contract anywhere close to that at elsewhere.

If Eamon Dunphy left RTE he'd take the viewers and advertising revenue with him. Dunphy is a top broadcaster and a real star. Gerry Ryan, Ryan Tubridy.. overpaid averageness - especially the latter!

Great vid DublinWriter. The Plank is quite good on the radio but also scandalously overpaid!

Would anybody really miss having that fat pompous arse on the radio every morning, or God forbid, on the tv again! RTE would recover but Ryan would struggle to get a contract anywhere close to that at elsewhere.

Yes I think many people would miss him, the Gerry Ryan Show has a large listenership, granted it has been falling in recent times but it is still a large audience to say the least.

While he may not get a contract as lucrative as he is on now, as it was negotiated in stronger economic times, I'm sure commercial radio would gladly employ him.

Sorry to tell you, given your seemed aversion to the man;) but he is currently on TV with operation transformation. Perhaps give it a miss eh?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

ah hes listenable to. but he seems to have an enormous amount of sick days..........hes always on about a flu or virus or something and hes always on a course of antibiotics............i mean its no wonder hes sick all the time with the amount of antibiotics he takes. even one course a yaer in my o is too much.

ah hes listenable to. but he seems to have an enormous amount of sick days..........hes always on about a flu or virus or something

Yip loads of sick days, wonder if he ever gets in trouble for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

I do recall years ago he was complaining about having a terrible "flu" to the on-air doctor who was discussing winter illnesses, and the doctor politely told him that if that was the case, he was a medical curiosity, as there was no record of the influenza virus in the country at that time, so he most likely had the common cold.

Perhaps it was being told he had something common that did it, but whatever the reason, Ryan got the hump, & the tone of the interview changed. To this day every time he has a runny nose, listeners are informed by Ryan that he has the "flu".

I would loved to have heard that:D he does seem like a man who could get offended and freak out if his opinions were challenged.
    To this day every time he has a runny nose, listeners are informed by Ryan that he has the "flu"

Yip he sure does this can be very annoying he does it so regularly, you're often left thinking "Jaysus Gerry will ya shut up theres nothin' wrong with ya". Sometimes the detail he goes into in describing his symptoms is tedious.

That and the slurping and chewing noises he emits frequently, headwreakin' at times, you just have to switch off:mad: