Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most hated grammatical error [Merged]

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

People typing "could of" instead of "could have" or "could've"

I could of been a doctor if I was gramatically.... good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

javaboy wrote: »
    Well discrete mathematics is part of my job but I try to be discreet about it.

LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I can't bare it when people confuse bear and bare. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

I'll learn you better grammar.

I think you'll find that should be grammer with an "e".
    :p

I can't bare it when people confuse bear and bare. :D

I must admit, I was surprised to find the correct saying is "bear in mind"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭earlyevening

tech77 wrote: »

My mis-take.

I hate seeing those unnecessary hyphens too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Beautifying prose with superfluous words, especially "foreign" words, to suggest learning e.g. "inter alia".

"carpe diem" .... overused
    "faux pas" .... say "mistake"
    "prima facie" .... aagh!

kincsem wrote: »
    Beautifying prose with superfluous words, especially "foreign" words, to suggest learning e.g. "inter alia".

"carpe diem" .... overused
    "faux pas" .... say "mistake"
    "prima facie" .... aagh!

touché

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Amn't. Just die.
    Also, the way Irish people only score 23/24 out of 26 on pronouncing the letters of the alphabet. Dear god: A = ay, not ahh; H = aitch, not haitch; R = ar, not oar.

Now, to test Muphry's Law:
    Lizzykins wrote: »
    The amount of times I see them
    Lizzykins wrote: »
    like the grammar Nazi that I am.

Aghhhhhhhhhhhh! Clearly you're not.
    galah wrote: »
    The company I work for use American spelling rules, so we're forced to use commas before 'and' - it's so annoying.

A company uses..
    Also, that's an Oxbridge thing - the commas with "and".
    hco wrote: »
    Does be or do be!

shellyboo wrote: »
    You can evacuate people from something... the headline is merely omitting where they were evacuated from. Yes, the building was evacuated... but the people were also evacuated from the building.

You'd never say 'I evacuated' to mean you emptied your bowels. When you evacuate you evacuate something (your bowels or a building), or you are evacuated from somewhere. It's a transitive verb, it requires one or more objects. In this case, the object was omitted, but it's still implicit.

(OMG, cannot believe I can remember things from my syntax class in college :D)

EDIT: The word evacuate has lost all meaning. And I have lost all sense of perspective.

Evacuate is not a transitive verb. It's complex-transitive, ie it has an arity of 3.
    Wooohooo! I love Syntax class. My favourite module last year.
    Lots of little quirks like that in Hiberno English.

We need to kill them all. I speak Irish the Irish way, and English the English way.
    Tweeter wrote: »
    Nobody has picked up on this one yet. Using euros and cents as plurals.

E.g. 14 euros and 23 cents when of course it should be 14 euro 23 cent.

Drives me up the fcuking wall that one.

You, sir, are wrong. See below.
    The misuse of 'euros' bugs me, but by the same token, it baffles me why someone would INSERT an irregular plural into a language in this day and effing age. People have enough trouble learning English without the EU trying to confuse us all for the sake of uniformity across Europe.

Actually, the EU says use the s to pluralise. It says to use "Euro" as the plural in legislative contexts only, eg "... offenders will face a fine of Euro fifty."
    I always say "euros" and "cents". It's a little protest. I will not allow the EU to decide on my pronunciation.

Not a protest against the EU. A protest against the idiots in the Euro changover team who can't read a simple EU document.
    I hate when people use "I" wrongly at the end of a sentence.

eg. "I bought a drink for John & I."

It should be "I bought a drink for John & me" - you wouldn't say "I bought a drink for I."

Thank you. Not that I learned anything, just nice to know that not everyone sees the necessity to hyper-correct himself.
    ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I can't stand the so called 'soft t', i.e. when people pronounce Saturday 'Saherday' or Natalie 'Nahalie'. One of the weathermen on RTE always does it, grinds my gears!

The "soft 't'" of which you speak soes not result in Saturday being pronounced as "Saherday", but rather as "Sasherday". I HATE that, with a passion. "Saherday" is a glottalisation of the stop, not a lenition(softening).
    tech77 wrote: »

I hope I'll find you're being sarcastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭dip

Putting in apostrophes in every word that ends with the letter 's'.

See here, here and here.

Argh!:mad:

I think it's hilarious that obl himself made mistakes during that long superior rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

You actually read it all:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

The one that realy irritates me is when people say:

You can't have your cake and eat it.

Yes, I can!

Get it right, or don't say it.

P.C. wrote: »
    The one that realy irritates me is when people say:

You can't have your cake and eat it.

Yes, I can!

Get it right, or don't say it.

what's the bloody point in having cake if you can't eat it?!!!

^^^^^^^

should that be what's the point of or what's the point in? feck I'm confusing myself now!

The correct saying is:

You can't eat your cake and have it.

It is quite simple. You can have your cake, and then later, you can eat it.

You can not eat your cake, and expect to still have it. Once it is eaten, it is gone!

Not very difficult when you think about it. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I think it's hilarious that obl himself made mistakes during that long superior rant.

I stated that it was a scientific experiment to prove Muphry's Law. I wasn't so much incorrect, per se, I was merely aiding the scientific method...

Yeah, that sounds about right.

obl wrote: »
    I stated that it was a scientific experiment to prove Muphry's Law. I wasn't so much incorrect, per se, I was merely aiding the scientific method...

Yeah, that sounds about right.

are you intentionally misspelling Murphy's? that's the second time you've made the error.

The correct saying is:

You can not eat your cake, and expect to still have it. Once it is eaten, it is gone!

My brain hurts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I don't know if this one is correct but it was in a film called Malice. Nicole Kidman and Baldwin (forget his first name :confused:) were in it

To paraphrase:
    "I saw a letter"
    "What did it say?"
    "It didn't say anything, it read ........"

So now you have it. You can't say something like "What did that newspaper article say?"
    Insert read for say.

I've never heard anyone use "read" so could just be Hollywood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

The correct saying is:

It works both ways. You can't have your cake, as in you can't have it indefinitely, and eat it. The word "and" is important. It ensures that the words 'have' and 'eat' are mutually exclusive*. Ergo, it can be read and spoken either way.

In terms of the melody of language, it obviously sounds better to read it with the 'have' first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭c-note

you can eat half your cake?

anyway one of my most hated is

"he was sat beside me"

c-note wrote: »
    you can eat half your cake?

anyway one of my most hated is

"he was sat beside me"

Then it would definitely have to be 'you can't eat your cake and halve it'

are you intentionally misspelling Murphy's? that's the second time you've made the error.

Look up Muphry's Law in Google.

@obl: nice escape. With wriggling like that, you could be a politician!

It works both ways. You can't have your cake, as in you can't have it indefinitely, and eat it. The word "and" is important. It ensures that the words 'have' and 'eat' are mutually exclusive*. Ergo, it can be read and spoken either way.

In terms of the melody of language, it obviously sounds better to read it with the 'have' first.

No, because if you say to me: you can't have your cake and eat it.

I will say: yes, I can! :D

But if you say: you can't eat your cake and have it.

I have to agree, as it is physicaly imposibly for me to still have something after I have eaten it.

It is not about the melody of the language, this is why so many people get it wrong. They are more interested in it sounding nice than they are in it being correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

There is loads of grammatical errors I don't like:p

I'm not gonna argue with ya PC over something so simple. Suffice to say, we'll have to agree to disagree. The word 'have' can be read different ways, so technically, we are both correct. Either way, it's not technically a grammatical error.

Look up Muphry's Law in Google.

was thinking that was a bit of an obvious boo boo!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭fionnmar

When people refer to the 'first criteria' or 'second criteria' we need to meet. The singular of criteria is criterion. Drives me mad.

fionnmar wrote: »
    When people refer to the 'first criteria' or 'second criteria' we need to meet. The singular of criteria is criterion. Drives me mad.

sounds like a member of the starship enterprise