Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

This is going to be nerdy, but at least it's conclusive.

I'm watching Thursday's episode from David's first scene. Here's what he and the ther actors are doing with their hands.

1. David is making a phone call. Esther is eating breakfast.
    2. Dermot is balancing a notebook on a large book and writing recipes into it. Jo is rattling keys and putting her handbag away.
    3. Christy is stocking shelves. Sean is making a Suggestion Box and presenting some petition forms.
    4. Orla and Jo are drinking coffee. Suzanne works the register. Tommy picks up a menu. Sash presents money and takes her change. David and Suzanne hug.
    5. Carol is drinking tea and flicking through a newspaper. Yvonne picks up and organises her phone and handbag. Louie closes a door.

And so on, ad infinitum. EVERY character in EVERY scene does something with their hands, or carries something, or opens and shuts a door, or puts something away. ACTORS LIKE TO BE DOING THINGS. If you put those ten or tweve people in order of the difficulty of what their hands do, David and Louie would be joint last.

There is no special treatment here, and no point being made. Just a lot of people who aren't used to seeing a disabled person on television in a role that is not defined by his disability.

That's very understandable, and I wouldn't hassle anyone for it. I'm always hyper-aware of someone's disability at first, before things settle down into normal conversation. It's a human thing - but we shouldn't project it onto Fair City. In this one instance, they are breaking real boundaries, and doing it quietly and well.
    Great points made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

deelite wrote: »
    I've seen the PP warning at the start of the Late Show - does this now mean that we will see PP at the start of Fair City. Sometime back I noticed that in most of the kitchen scenes there were a number of Kelloggs cereal boxes conveniently placed - there was no PP warning then.

I wonder how much An Post are paying for this - considering on This Morning some company paid over 100K to have their coffee machine placed in the kitchen.....

It has been happening a lot in FC in fairness, we have seen regular brands, I know that when Wayne was practicing with the cocktails, he then started to use 7up bottles :D

I am guessing the rules have changed and warnings will have to given..

This week on Fair City,

Charlie confides in Bella his determination to marry Esther. Esther decides to surprise David by urging him to see Suzanne and she even plans a going away party for him. Later Charlie reveals to Esther that David is going to contact his father. Horrified she decides she has to tell him what really happened between them. Esther tells David that his father wanted to let him die at birth. David tells her he is not going to contact his father. Later in the week, he offends Esther by asking her why she wears a wig. At his going away party, she debuts her new look.

Barry and Vivienne meet for the first time in weeks and get over the awkward moment after Barry rejected her. The two share a tender moment when she asks him to help her with Denzo. However, Denzo warns Barry to stay away from his mother. Charlotte tries to ruin Barry's chances with Vivienne but Vivienne tells her she is not a servant. After their date, the pair get romantic in the house.

David tells Suzanne that he can't commit to her but that she deserves to be happy. After David is provoked into attacking Mark, he tells Suzanne he is worried for her safety. Damian tells Suzanne he is thinking of taking Mark back-packing for the summer. David blurts out to Damian that it was Mark who beat Suzanne up and that he is dangerous. Suzanne admits to Damian that she deserved the attack after everything she did. She thinks Mark needs help.

Caoimhe persuades Robert that he should go out for drinks with her. At the Station Bar, Robert watches a drunken Caoimhe getting increasingly rowdy. Caoimhe jumps on him and kisses him. They are escorted out by Finn telling them the bar is closing. Neasa and Finn get stuck in the office together without their phones, where they agree to be friends. Later in the week Caoimhe is arrested after a run in with a guard.

Esther, Charlie and Suzanne gather to say goodbye to David. They are heartbroken when he leaves. A crying Suzanne is shocked to get a phone call from Sarah's distraught mother Rebecca saying that she has not heard from her in months. Suzanne and Dolores begin to question where Sarah is.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

1. David is making a phone call. Esther is eating breakfast.
    2. Dermot is balancing a notebook on a large book and writing recipes into it. Jo is rattling keys and putting her handbag away.
    3. Christy is stocking shelves. Sean is making a Suggestion Box and presenting some petition forms.
    4. Orla and Jo are drinking coffee. Suzanne works the register. Tommy picks up a menu. Sash presents money and takes her change. David and Suzanne hug.
    5. Carol is drinking tea and flicking through a newspaper. Yvonne picks up and organises her phone and handbag. Louie closes a door.

They are so insensitive to David and his disability just because Dermot can balance a notebook while writing recipes into it and then Jo has a go at him by rattling keys and then putting them into her bag!
    I used to think alot more of Christy but stocking shelves while sean makes a suggestion box. More of Suzanne's bullying with her new boyfriend, showing him how she is able for a cash register and then she goes and hugs him.

And they say nothing every happens in Carrigstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Kazbah wrote: »
    As if Christy would be so supportive of Carol now. He's not a saint!

But there's a lot of other things as well that just WOULDNT happen.. Louis telling Yvonne about how he was going to propose to Carol, and the Yvonne convincing Carol to change her mind... Also, there is no way Jo's character would take having a fair with such a nonchalant attitude. That whole thing happened far too quickly as well..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Sarah doesn't appear to have updated her facebook page since the end of March! :)

http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100002260782826&sk=wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Buttton

This may sound stupid, requisite newbie here, but Sarah's bisexual? At least according to her facebook :D I don't remember that ever being established but I've only started watching in the last few years. Just threw me a little when I read it :p

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Long Room Hubba

Elmo wrote: »
    They are so insensitive to David and his disability just because Dermot can balance a notebook while writing recipes into it and then Jo has a go at him by rattling keys and then putting them into her bag!
    I used to think alot more of Christy but stocking shelves while sean makes a suggestion box. More of Suzanne's bullying with her new boyfriend, showing him how she is able for a cash register and then she goes and hugs him.

And they say nothing every happens in Carrigstown.

I honestly don't understand what you mean here. I wasn't delivering a synopsis of the story. I was responding to a particular argument about the use of the character David.

I get that you're slagging someone about something, but I'm not sure who or what. Could you spell it out for me? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Buttton wrote: »
    This may sound stupid, requisite newbie here, but Sarah's bisexual? At least according to her facebook :D I don't remember that ever being established but I've only started watching in the last few years. Just threw me a little when I read it :p

She had thing going with Rita Doyle once ;)

Poor Sarah doesn't seem to have any friends on FB. No wonder nobody is missing her. :D

Saw these spoilers for next week!

Tuesday 26th
    Barry and Vivienne enjoy their breakfast together in Vinos and Vivienne bemoans the fact that her children are so against their relationship. Barry tells her that she needs to start having a life of her own and they can fend for themselves. He finally begins to relax and enjoy Vivienne's company. In the Hungry Pig, Damien and Suzanne chat about Mark and worry about his state of mind and how they are going to confront him.

Suzanne is then shocked when she meets Sarah's mum Rebecca and realises how little she really knows about her daughter. She tells Suzanne that Sarah was pig-headed and self-righteous, and that she's only trying to get in contact because her nana is unwell. Bob checks Rebecca out. Philip becomes suspicious when he interrupts Jo texting Tommy. Jo tries to pretend that she is playing a game on her mobile phone. Philip then stirs things by saying to Dermot and Jo that she spends too much time with Tommy working on the Tidy Towns competition.

Zumo and Mark arrive back from their job in Belfast and Zumo thanks him for his hard work. Decco watches them resentfully. Bob meets with Rebecca and promises to help find Sarah for her. Damien tells a shocked Laura about Mark and she insists that Damien is not to blame for his violence. Laura infers that Mark is a thug and dangerous. Mark arrives back into the house and is unrepentant when he is confronted about his actions. He tells them that he gave Suzanne what she deserved.

Barry's good mood is broken when he comes face to face with Sarah's mother in the Hungry Pig. She becomes hysterical when she realises that no-one knows where she is and she could be hurt, or worse. Barry does his best to practise damage limitation and tells her there is no need to go to the Garda. He guides her out of the diner so he can talk to her on her own and convince her that Sarah is fine.

Back in the Halpins, Damien continues to question Mark. He admits that he was confused by Damien letting Suzanne hit him and why Damien didn't strike back. Tommy and Jo have lunch together and chat to Philip in the hope that he thinks their friendship is platonic. Barry brings Rebecca back to his house and encourages her to talk about Sarah so he can gather as much information as possible. He then lies to Rebecca saying that Sarah was always speaking badly of her.

Philip defends Jo against Dearbhlas's slagging. But Philip is horrified when Ben reveals to him that he saw Jo and Tommy kissing, by saying that 'Tommy likes kissing'. Denzo angrily asserts to Vivienne that she is better off without Barry. Mark lies to Damien and promises him that his violent days are behind him. Barry gets Sarah's mum very drunk at his house. He then fakes an email from Sarah's account to himself, saying that she is fine.

Wednesday 27th
    In the morning, Bob notes that Rebecca's car is still outside Barry's house. Inside, Rebecca is insisting that Barry reads the email to her. His email is devised to further estrange Rebecca from Sarah, and hearing it makes Rebecca cry. In Vivienne's home, she is despondent when she has not heard from Barry, who stood her up the day before. Denzo suggests that they use Mark to stash the newly-stolen phones.

Philip watches Jo closely at breakfast and pushes all his suspicions about Jo aside when she plays happy families with Dermot. Mark chooses the Bishops over his own family when he agrees to stash the stolen phones in the Halpins' house. Denzo is slagged about his friendship with Mark.
    In the Station bar, Tommy excites Jo by stealing an intimate moment in public. Bob is hurt to hear that Sarah has contacted Barry and not him. Barry steels himself to manipulate Rebecca into not contacting Sarah.

Mark does his best to cover his guilt when Laura queries what's in his backpack. Vivienne is hurt to see Barry hug an emotional Rebecca, who is saying goodbye to him. And despite Denzo pretending not to know who Rebecca is, Vivienne decides that Barry deserves a chance to explain his actions. The Dillons plan a barbeque and when Judith suggests inviting the Faheys, Dearbhla notes Tommy's reluctance to have them there. Mark does his best to separate his growing friendship with the Bishops and his family life.

Bob questions Sarah's email saying that she was never as vindictive as that. Vivienne and Barry meet up and she quizzes Barry about Rebecca and her staying the night. Barry swears nothing untoward happened. But when she presses him he walks out saying he won't be subjected to a 'kangaroo court'. She follows him out, but feeling under pressure, he breaks it off with Vivienne. He leaves a devastated Vivienne on her own.

Sean is shocked to learn that his former friend enjoys working as the 'muscle' for the Bishops. Mark warns Sean not to say anything. A distraught Vivienne calls at Barry's begging him to change his mind about their relationship. He tells her it will 'never work' and is anguished when he watches her walk away.

Thursday 28th
    Jo uses money from her joint account with Dermot to pay for a weekend away for her and Tommy. Dermot meets Tommy - who has just got a call for a job. Dermot admits to Tommy that money is really tight in the Fahey household. In the Halpins' house, one of the stolen phones in Mark's rucksack starts ringing. Damien goes to answer it and they are shocked to discover all the stolen phones. Decco is annoyed to learn that the stolen phones he bought from his contact are faulty. Mark calls to the house and realises he left his phone at home, but he stays in the Bishops' house playing the Xbox with Denzo.

Sean meets Damien but keeps Mark's involvement with the Bishops from Damien. Barry is disturbed when Bob keeps asking about Sarah and why she was so mean to her mother. He feels more pressure when Suzanne enquires about Sarah. Vivienne is hurt when she realises that all her children are relieved that Barry and her broke up. Jo continues with her plan asking Dolores to cover her shift in the Helping Hand.

Mark arrives back to the house looking for the phones and reveals to Laura and Damien that he has been holding them for the Bishops. He argues with them and storms out of the house. He arrives back to the Bishops and offers to 'sort out' the troublesome supplier. Tommy arrives at the hotel to do his job and is sent up to a room. He knocks on the door and is shocked to see Jo at the door. She is dressed to thrill and he is taken by the extravagance of Jo's plan. Back in McCoys, Dermot worries about money and how he is going to keep his family afloat.

Damien and Laura bicker over Mark and what they should do. Sean reveals to a horrified Damien Mark's ongoing involvement with the Bishops. Vivienne rejects Barry's olive branch. Jo is shocked when she learns that her liaison with Tommy is costing her more than she expected. She is forced to pay Tommy €100 so he can go back to his boss with the money he earned on his 'job'. Damien is devastated when the Bishops warn him off and Mark stands by them.

Jo goes to pay for the room and is again forced to borrow from Tommy when she doesn't have enough money. Tommy is annoyed when he realises that the staff in the hotel thinks he is a hooker. Mark psyches himself up to inflict a beating. Later, Damien arrives home and is horrified to find Mark sitting on the sofa covered in someone else's blood.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I honestly don't understand what you mean here. I wasn't delivering a synopsis of the story. I was responding to a particular argument about the use of the character David.

I get that you're slagging someone about something, but I'm not sure who or what. Could you spell it out for me? :(

LOL a friendly jibe towards your post, irony about things happening in Fair City and joking at how un-PC Fair City and its actors really are! Over all I was joking, obviously it wasn't great joke :(

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Long Room Hubba

No worries, Elmo, just me missing the point.

Reminds me of this old Apres Match sketch: http://bit.ly/c31KTZ

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

She had thing going with Rita Doyle once ;)

Poor Sarah doesn't seem to have any friends on FB. No wonder nobody is missing her. :D

She didn't get the chance to add any,she's probably snowed under with friend requests :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭starryeye

Starryeye here folks,

I have just received an email to inform me that my account of starryeye is to be deactivated immediately. As I will be history soon I just felt that I would like to express clearly and emphasise this point which I need to make. I wish to apologise to Angel and to all members for my bullying here on this thread. I am deeply ashamed of my actions and the unpleasant atmosphere it caused here. I am very sorry for all the trouble I have caused.

I was going to post again here as ye were very gracious to me in inviting me to post again. Thank you. I know though that C-J would not leave the matter rest after the matter was in the past. Due to that I fear I could not come back as the bully tag was still very much attached to my name which I deserved but I found to be difficult to cope with. Sincere best wishes and Slan leat.
    From Starryeye.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

I don't know what this is about starryeye but fair play for the apology and if everybody has moved on and asked you to continue posting,I can't see why you should deactivate your account.:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

No wonder Ester has diabetes what with eating in the hungry pig and drinking in Mcoys morning day and night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Sigourney

Check out Paul's sunglass tan lines on either side of his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

starryeye wrote: »
    Starryeye here folks,

I have just received an email to inform me that my account of starryeye is to be deactivated immediately. As I will be history soon I just felt that I would like to express clearly and emphasise this point which I need to make. I wish to apologise to Angel and to all members for my bullying here on this thread. I am deeply ashamed of my actions and the unpleasant atmosphere it caused here. I am very sorry for all the trouble I have caused.

I was going to post again here as ye were very gracious to me in inviting me to post again. Thank you. I know though that C-J would not leave the matter rest after the matter was in the past. Due to that I fear I could not come back as the bully tag was still very much attached to my name which I deserved but I found to be difficult to cope with. Sincere best wishes and Slan leat.
    From Starryeye.

am excuse me?! I am not to blame for your obvious issues, i simply made a joke of the fact that you kept saying you were leaving then kept coming back, to lighten the mood of the board! I really think you need to talk to a professional, this is an internet forum, none of us are friends here, acquaintances maybe!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭jos28

Did anyone else notice that FC was in movie mode again tonight ?

jos28 wrote: »
    Did anyone else notice that FC was in movie mode again tonight ?
    I didnt really notice that.
    I am really looking forward to seeing Christys newly improved shop. It will certainly freshen the place up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

max life wrote: »
    I didnt really notice that.
    I am really looking forward to seeing Christys newly improved shop. It will certainly freshen the place up.

i read somewhere about how all the confectionary and groceries are always in date, i find that attention to detail bizarre but highly applaudable! :) is it just me or is denzo the most painfully bad actor in the show, i cringe everytime he comes on the screen!

• Registered Users Posts: 55,470 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Thanks starryeye.... now everyone, back to Fair City! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

C-J wrote: »
    is it just me or is denzo the most painfully bad actor in the show, i cringe everytime he comes on the screen!

He's certainly in the running but then again there are a lot of contenders for that dubious accolade. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

How hot was Neasa in that blue t Shirt tonight in the surgery...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭ameliajane

I'm not too keen on Denzo either. I think Decco's scowl is hilarious.
    I'm not too keen on Louis's hair either. I think he has gone a bit OTT with the gel if you pardon the pun.

I have had to repeat this post as I deleted my old one by mistake. I'm new to all this posting. Instead of edit I pressed delete.

Looking forward to the Sarah story that will unfold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭ameliajane

I'd love to see how Mark turns out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Very hot...mmmm.........and caoimhe too!!:D

She is always hot ! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

ameliajane wrote: »
    I'd love to see how Mark turns out.

Dead I think

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

C-J wrote: »
    i read somewhere about how all the confectionary and groceries are always in date, i find that attention to detail bizarre but highly applaudable! :) is it just me or is denzo the most painfully bad actor in the show, i cringe everytime he comes on the screen!

Confectionary? Grocieries? 99% of what I see are non perishable goods and the likes of shampoo, conditioner, wine etc. Infact, I've never seen such a small shop sell so much shampoo & conditioner!! :D

As for Denzo and him being the worst actor - don't speak too soon. Caoibhe's drunken scene is coming tonight - and judging by last nights snippet, it's gonna be bloody woeful! :D