Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[MERGED] Your Main PC - Pictures, specs and discussion <IMAGE HEAVY>

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Now do some artsy ones with the side on.

im no shutter bug mate:o. the camera is not the best. but here goes anyway:cool:
    [IMG][/img]IMG_3525-1.jpg
    [IMG][/img]IMG_3523.jpg

I need to do it a night when theres no light pouring in the window..too many reflections on the perspex

I gotta look in to getting a bigger window for it..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭deceit

dwighet wrote: »
    Much better now....Sweeeeeeeeet as a nut:cool:
    /IMG_3521.jpg[/IMG][/IMG]

It looks 100 times better now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

dwighet wrote: »
    I gotta look in to getting a bigger window for it..

Let me know if you do €10 offered for the current one!

no worries..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Really nice build dwighet, what temps are you getting gaming with both cards in xfire?

glynf wrote: »
    Really nice build dwighet, what temps are you getting gaming with both cards in xfire?

Thanks...The insperation came from your build..
    The top card gets to 72c @1070/1500 with the power limit at +20%.
    msi afterburner fan settings ramped to 50% @70c

CPU gets to 65ish @ 4.8ghz..Bit higher if the coal fire is on for both cpu and gpu
    Thats playing bf3 for hours on ultra settings..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

T2Rk5l.jpg

nmQcgl.jpg

0MXn2l.jpg

Needs a good dust already :o

New speakers needed to finish it off, those Yamahas have been faithful servants but they're about 15 years old at this stage!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Can I just make a small suggestion to people posting large pictures here.

1. Upload the images to imgur
    2. Choose the 'Large Thumbnail' option under sizes.
    3. Copy the 'Linked BBCode' box and paste it here.

This will give you a reasonably sized preview picture that won't break the layout, and you can click it to be linked to the fullsized version:

3dctSl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

What model is the iron, Dec? Looks like an electrolux but it could be the new morphy richards one

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Yeah mine are a bit huge. Fixed.

What model is the iron, Dec? Looks like an electrolux but it could be the new morphy richards one

i think we should start a poll for the craic...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Apologies for the crappy quality, I've been at this PC all night. Case has been a nightmare to set up and then I had boot issues. Just took some quick ones as I was going along.

So I got the Thermaltake GT10 Snow edition.
    422871_10151141389047422_860797079_n.jpg
    423920_10151141389642422_857201345_n.jpg

My old PC on the right (CM690 Nvidia Edition). Time for surgery.
    527119_10151141389457422_1460591287_n.jpg
    375849_10151141389567422_18073190_n.jpg

This is a look at the top of the inside of the CM690 as I'm about to say goodbye to the air cooler :P
    539422_10151141389812422_912584686_n.jpg

Replaced by the ever-so-troublesome Corsair H60.
    557349_10151141389972422_1661693607_n.jpg

Everything installed and a lot of cable tidying done.
    563237_10151141390172422_39118428_n.jpg

Exterior of the case. Note the hot-swappable bays which are in my opinion terribly designed compared to other hot swappable drives. What's the point of hot swappable drives when you have to screw all the drives in? On a positive note the back of the bays have built in SATA power cables for all 5 bays (you need only 1 SATA power cable to power the 5 hard drives)
    318299_10151141390342422_1524201987_n.jpg

Closing the case. The door and the hard drive bay have locks on it so people can't go removing your HDs/opening the door.
    318303_10151141390452422_675397436_n.jpg

Another view with the door swung open. Really like the door. If you lie it on its side you can switch how it opens so it sits on the case frame instead of flapping open. Also note the flaps on the door fan so you can change airflow. To top that off its wireless (there's a circuit built into the door and case frame so when you close the door a connection is made to the fan).
    534249_10151141390922422_559904917_n.jpg

Another crappy photo of the interior. The H60 refused to boot and looking online most people had reported faulty motherboards as a result. Turns out the locking screws on it put too much pressure on the CPU. I loosened them up and the PC posted. Temps are 27 on idle and about 45 on load, i7 OC'd to 3.6ghz at the moment from 2.8
    309235_10151141391027422_207011827_n.jpg

Finally a terrible picture of it running with the LEDs on. The LED colours can be changed via control panel on the top, as well as alternating 'disco' lights'. There's also a fan control and proper native USB 3.0 support.
    422881_10151141391062422_509118914_n.jpg
    424586_10151141391167422_908651169_n.jpg

Evil Red
    527152_10151141391397422_1085363292_n.jpg

Overall despite some design flaws its a really good case. There's room for double radiators at the top and I think that's where I'll go next. Cable management is awesome at the back as the back panel sticks out a bit.

EDIT: My full specs:
    Core i7 860 @ 3.6ghz
    Gigabyte P55 UD3
    Corsair H60
    8GB Corsair RAM
    MSI GTX 570
    Corsair TX850 PSU
    OCZ Summit 60GB SSD
    3 x 1TB WD Caviar Green
    1 x 750GB Samsung F1

• Registered Users Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

^^^^^^^^^Now that is how you do it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Nice build cherryghost-that case is sweet, white is indeed the new black :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭Thor

Added two ssd's to my setup, not the normal type of picture you would expect, but damn does it look pretty.

Untitled.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Wow! Is that RAID+TRIM? How does it perform in general vs 1 SSD - is it actually noticeable?

Monotype wrote: »
    Wow! Is that RAID+TRIM?

Sadly, not yet, waiting for Intel to release the RSTe drivers to include raid on my rampage IV extreme. They sadly have yet to do so, but have said it's going to be soon.

Thor wrote: »
    Added two ssd's to my setup, not the normal type of picture you would expect, but damn does it look pretty.

Untitled.jpg

very impressive..:cool: im only getting half that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

what SSDs are they? does that make 3 total? how does raid affect boot times?

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    what SSDs are they? does that make 3 total? how does raid affect boot times?

Kingston Hyper X 3K 240GB. Just using two. Boot times are as you would expect, fast as hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

2ilo96p.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

ngbbs473643d1a8a5f.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 54,007 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

yfKrUl.jpg

qVGBUl.jpg

ZTcIml.jpg

QaL00l.jpg

FsBj6l.png
    (is that a good score?)

I adore the case. Regarding the buttons it feels like im launching a nuclear bomb lol

Thanks to Tea Bag for the help

• Registered Users Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭spix

Nice system, try run heaven with these settings below. Should be approx 135 fps

1920x1080
    4aa
    4af
    tessellation normal

What are the temps like on the 2 cards? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Yakuza42

Hey Guys,

Thought I would post some pics of my work machine that I built a while ago.
    I know I need aftermarket cooling cos the Intel stock just doesnt cut it at anything above 3.7Ghz after 5 mins stress test.

Specs:

ASRock E77-ITX
    Lian Li PCQ08
    i7 3770k @ 3.7 GHz
    Corsair Vengeance 8GB Ram
    Nvidia Quadro 600
    Corsair Force SSD 120Gb
    1Tb 7200 Rpm Storage

• Registered Users Posts: 54,007 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

spix wrote: »
    Nice system, try run heaven with these settings below. Should be approx 135 fps

1920x1080
    4aa
    4af
    tessellation normal

What are the temps like on the 2 cards? :)

are those settings only in pro edition ?

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭Digy123

Headshot wrote: »

Love that case so much! The only thing is i think a drive takes the look away from them,I would reccomend you do this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBzqpn2160o He has a tutorial up too :)

Also i would like to add,Your Build is Great very nice work some great parts in there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Recently got a few new bits of equipment. Latest spec is as follows:

Asus P5Q-E
    Intel E7300 @ 3.7GHz
    Hyper 212 EVO
    4 GB PC6400 OCZ Reaper (435 MHz @ 5-5-5-15)
    2 x Sapphire Raedon 5770
    250 GB Hard Drive
    750 GB RAID 1 Drive
    Corsair 500R
    600W OCZ Stealth Xtreme
    Windows Vista Business (64 bit)

CPU-Z Validation of Overclock:
    2498395.png

A Closeup

PC_w_EVO_Closeup.jpg

Full Size: (It's a bit blurry so I'll try to get a better one)
    PC_w_EVO_Full.jpg

I have started tidying the cables and I have bought two braided cables so far (the 24 pin and CPU cable). The next plan is to braid the rest of the cables myself, starting with the Graphics card cables and going on from there. I also have two DVD drives, so I think if I get rid of the larger one (the silver one you see sticking out of the top) that will help everything look a little better as well.

I think there should be a little more headroom left in the CPU as well and I would hope to get it up to about 3.8GHz and that is the reason the timings are so loose on the RAM and the voltages are a little high. It is staying cool though and only reached 58°C after 4 hours of Prime 95, so I don't think it's the temperature that is holding me back.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭YuM

Thanks for the help all.

Here's some (poor) pics of the finished product, bits arrived a week ago.

Corsair R650D case
    i5-3570k
    Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 OC 950M, 3GB
    ASRock Z77 Extreme4
    16GB-Kit Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 MHz CL9
    Corsair Hydro Series H100
    Samsung SSD 830 256GB
    3 x Be Quiet Silentwings2 120 x 120
    Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.D
    Super-Flower Amazon 80Plus 650W

JPQ1r.jpg

JF9Xz.jpg

1NztZ.jpg

Booted up - read the error code - powered down - inserted the RAM... promised myself to do a better job of cabling, installed the OS I bought (fek) - downloaded Win 7 (English) reinstalled the OS (German key worked yah! ).
    Installed a few games - hugely impressed - low noise - herself not complaining - win ;)
    Gently OC'ed CPU to 4.4 MHz, GPU to 1050 / 1525 all nice and stable.
    Decided to get a wee bit nerdy then and ........

PC idle, room temp 18c - CPU package temp 26c - GPU 35c
    T9cjq.jpg

Prime 95 - 30 mins
    yRpQl.jpg
    All good, CPU 60c - heat source on the right is the stock corsair 200mm fan ramping up.

ohe2y.jpg
    Corsair H100 & the 3 Be Quite Silentwings2 doing their job.

Started up FurMark. 15 min burn in test 1920 x 1080
    B0I92.jpg
    GPU fans ramped up at 50c maxed at 85c, not going there again.
    The Heaven test is kinder.

External: with panel back on.
    Y2JAE.jpg

Of course this test is not even close to accurate since the front panal was off for the internal pics and I had to change the camera temp range for the last couple, but I figured the pics were nice and they give some idea where hot spots are.

Note to me: NZXT FS-200 Enthusiast Silent Case Fan - 200mm: don't fit in any case but NZXT ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Case NZXT Switch 810 (FANTASTIC! case, couldnt praise it enough)

ASUS Maximus V FORMULA Z77

i5 2550k CPU (from previous build, might upgrade soon)

MSI 670GTX Power Edition (cannot wait to push this card as hard as I can)

Two 128gb ssd's setup in RAID (I think)

2TB Seagate Baracuda

Thermaltake Toughpower XT 875W (from previous build)

8GB Mushkin Enhanced Silverline (from previous build may upgrade, advice/req's needed)

Coolermaster V8 CPU cooler

4x140mm (3 fans are pushing air out from the top of the case and one pushing air in from the front) These are stock fans that came with the case but christ they shift a massive amount of air. Had planned to upgrade these in the future but will more than likely stick with them as the are doing a great job cooling the room.

3x120mm Zalman "Golf Fans" The Golf Fans are basically means that the blades of the fans have little dimples on them like you would on a golf ball. They are meant to be quieter than standard fans and I think they are.

20120914233549.jpg

20120914233053.jpg
    ^^^^^ Not much to note here but the top tray cover folds out to revel 2x USB 2.0 and 2x USB 3.0 ports as well as headphone/mic, LED button for rear lights and a reset switch. Also the bottem try cover pulls off so and you can put in a hotswappable drive. Cover can go back on while drive is in so as to keep everything looking nice and neat. There are two vents on the cover to provide a wee little bit extra cooling for the hotswappable drive.

20120914232910.jpg

20120914233647.jpg

20120914232006.jpg

20120914232817.jpg

20120914232006.jpg
    ^^^^^ Will have to do some cable tidyin here with the hotswappable drive.

20120914232837.jpg
    ^^^^^ I LOVE the look of this cooler. Im not 100% convinced of the performance as the cooler is already 3 years old but I guess I'll have to wait till I benchmark. I have the fan to the left of the cooler blowing air into the case directly onto the cooler. The cooler pulls air from its left hand side, so its getting "clean" air blown directly onto so I think things work well in that regard.

20120914233205.jpg
    ^^^^^ Picture of the 2x120mm fans. They are meant to be blowing air in the direction of the CPU and Graphics card but they are leaning more towards the Graphics card. May have something to do with having a large card in the case though. There is also a horribly unfriendly USB 3.0 cable that refuses to be told what to do. Will have to look into hiding this cable in the future.

20120914234232.jpg
    ^^^^^ One great feature of the MB that I didnt know about until I powered it up was that there is red lighting on the MB itself that is designed to look like circuitry. Looks great in person. This is definately something ASUS should be expanding on in the future. Kinda reminds me when you get augmented in Deus Ex or maybe it doesnt I dunno its late. *edit* Nope, it reminds me of Tron

20120914234250.jpg
    ^^^^^ This is the total lighting in the case during the boot and when motoring along. Not much to note here. May add some discreet LED lighting stripes to add some colour.

20120914234719.jpg
    ^^^^^Picture of when everything is tidied away.

Nice, easy and simple seems to sum up the build up.

Im very happy with the final result. The case is very easy to work with and its soft on the eye. It stands out but at the same time isn't to "blingin" either. Its my first white case and I wouldnt have a problem going with white again. I was toying with the idea of making this build watercooled (well more than toying with the idea I bought a 360mm radator plus some accessories) but ultimately I decided that I wanted a less busy look so I scaled things down.

I haven't done any performance tests yet so I will post those when completed.

Any advice/comments/critisisms/notable faults are welcome, so please dont be shy...........not that any of ye are :D